strange things that you've seen happen in pubs

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

At the end of one night, when I was outside and the bar was shut, I saw someone being thrown out. Why is that something? Well, the way he was thrown out was just like one of those TV shows, thrown out violently and landing on the ground as a result!

I've also seen some really bad scraps in my time as well as some under cover gardai rumbling a drug dealer in a club once.

I also saw someone stand up on the bar table and spray out drink like he was in Ibiza or something like that!

I also once saw a guy stripping in the smoking area, I promptly turned my head around and left the smoking area before I got scarred for life!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

I seen one fella playing cards and in comes some younger chap. The young chap hits the older fella onto the ground. He got some fright when the older fella jumped up and cut off a piece of his ear. They then went mental, crashing through the door and into to street. Kept on fighting in the mud and the blood and the beer.
    The two of em then went to grad guns, lunatics I tell ya. The younger chap got to his first. Pointing the gun at the ould chap he asks him, are you the bleeding pox bottle that called me Sue. The ould lad starts crying and tells him a big long sob story, the two of them hugged and came back inside for a drink. Supposedly the chap named Sue is never going to have a child called junior.
    That pub is some place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

A crowd of 20 something wannabe playboys landed into my local asking for the most expensive bottle of champagne. Barman informs him he doesent do champagne. They then ask for WKD,again informed he doesent do WKD,same thing again with shots,again the same outcome.

One then exclaims," Barman your nothing but a bollocks!" to which a local drunk and the end of the bar shouts out "10 outta 10 for observation young fella!"

The drunk got barred.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

lonad wrote: »

Any pr1ck that raises his hand to a woman deserves at least a visit to the hospital.

/sigh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

seanybiker wrote: »
    I seen one fella playing cards and in comes some younger chap. The young chap hits the older fella onto the ground. He got some fright when the older fella jumped up and cut off a piece of his ear. They then went mental, crashing through the door and into to street. Kept on fighting in the mud and the blood and the beer.
    The two of em then went to grad guns, lunatics I tell ya. The younger chap got to his first. Pointing the gun at the ould chap he asks him, are you the bleeding pox bottle that called me Sue. The ould lad starts crying and tells him a big long sob story, the two of them hugged and came back inside for a drink. Supposedly the chap named Sue is never going to have a child called junior.
    That pub is some place.

I wish there was an "Unthanks" or a "Dislike" button to press.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

MrStuffins wrote: »
    I wish there was an "Unthanks" or a "Dislike" button to press.
    I wish there was a "I couldnt give a bollox" button to press.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,646 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

seanybiker wrote: »
    I wish there was a "I couldnt give a bollox" button to press.

The "Submit Reply" button is the "I'm gonna say i don't give a bollox, but it's obvious that i do as i spent the time to reply" button.

The name didn't stick though, wasn't snappy enough!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭poisonated

They were giving out free pints in one of the pubs I went to. Good times!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

poisonated wrote: »
    They were giving out free pints in one of the pubs I went to. Good times!

A woman who used to work in our local opened up a pub and was handing out free drinks to us all night long...........pity the night before I tore my hand apart, had to go to hospital and had to stay on the antibiotics! :mad:

Everyone got fùckered except "armless Joe" here! Bad times!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

hiluxman wrote: »
    Was in the pub a bout a year ago and fella came in, ordered a pint of guinness, a handle for a shovel and a tube for a bicycle.

The barman dissapeared for a few min and apears back with the shovel handle and asks yer man is the tube for a 24 or a 26 inch wheel

Where else could ya get service like that at half 11 at night!

A week later the same fella appears, orders a pint of guinness and asks the barman has he got any slab nails. The barman dissapears for about ten minutes and eventualy appears back with a triumphant smile and bag of slab nails. He throws the bag on the counter and yer man says "I only want the one"

Ha ha ha, slab nail's and a shovel handle, f*ckin' hilarious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭SaKuRa

Was in some pub up in Belfast about ten years ago,the small fella from "cannon and ball" walks in wearing a full length fur coat,he was waiting for everyone to go,oh look its ur man,but some old lad gets up from sitting at the bar,and wrestles him to the floor,and then walks away,cannon gets up from the floor fixing his glasses,totally shocked,turns around and leaves the bar.

I've also seen some really bad scraps in my time as well as some under cover gardai rumbling a drug dealer in a club once.

I was in a pub in Tenerife about 7 in the evening when the Spanish equivalent of a SWAT team stormed in, all toting machine guns. They ushered a group of 4 English lads out the door at gunpoint and onto their bellies, cuffed them, searched their car, loaded them into a paddy wagon and carted them off. I assume it was drug related. The Spanish cops don't mess around.

When I worked nights, we'd occasionally go to an early house at the end of a weeks shift for one or two pints. Landed in one morning in July at about 8:45AM. An elderly gentleman was dancing enthusiastically on a table to Dustin the Turkey's "Just another Christmas tree" which was blaring out of the sound system. I stopped working nights soon after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭Bob Z

SaKuRa wrote: »
    Was in some pub up in Belfast about ten years ago,the small fella from "cannon and ball" walks in wearing a full length fur coat,he was waiting for everyone to go,oh look its ur man,but some old lad gets up from sitting at the bar,and wrestles him to the floor,and then walks away,cannon gets up from the floor fixing his glasses,totally shocked,turns around and leaves the bar.

Is that true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

remember seeing someone buying a sambucca. He was hammered and knocked it all over the table. Went up to buy a second one, came back to set it on fire and ended up setting the whole table alight for a few seconds. Was so funny he got such a fright!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭SaKuRa

Bob Z wrote: »
    Is that true?

100%,washington pub I think,as canon got off the floor his glasses were practically vertical :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

worked in a nightclub in tenerife for a few years, some of the stuff i saw was ridiculous. when people are on holidays they just lose complete run of themselves.

my favourite was a woman in her 50's at least. we had podiums and poles in the club, she was up giving it socks while her 2 daughters were a bit mortified. they decide its time they go home, mammys had enough. they try to get the mother to leave, in protest the mother strips off all her clothes on the podium, and keeps dancing. at this point all the staff are in tears/shock, when a few lads in the place decide to knick her clothes. we had to get the woman a bin liner and put it over to her for her to go back to her hotel. watchin her walk up the street will stay with me forever.

on a less funny note, some of the fights i seen were shocking. the worst generally involved local gangsters beating the ****e out of young lads on holidays where one of them said the wrong thing to the wrong person.

the spanish police dont mess about either though, they love beating the crap out of people.