Catweazles Half-Ironman or Chicken challenge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,830 ✭✭✭catweazle

Monday - an easy 1000m in the pool followed by a bit of stretching and Jacussi. Legs in ok shape not as stiff as previous LSR's.

Tuesday - Left it a bit late at lunch so knocked off a km to get back to work in time, 7k

Wednesday - 1500m Did 200m w up and 800m drills. Decided upon an impromptu 500 TT with pull bouy. Finished in 9.29. Happy enough with this, started steadily and after ten laps feeling good i pushed it. I am getting to the stage where I need another lesson. It was pretty easy to hold the pace, so my technique is the main limiter now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭interested

catweazle wrote: »
    It was pretty easy to hold the pace, so my technique is the main limiter now

No harm getting someone to review your stroke at this stage but your technique may not be your only limiter. A TT with a pull buoy is a reasonable test of your arm pull obviously and may simulate the buoyancy offered by a wetsuit in open water.

However, imho, there are other things that may be limiting your speed - such as stroke rate, swim fitness and endurance etc etc. Based on bike and in particular your recent running miles Im in no way questioning your fitness but trying to point out that maybe that fitness is not helping you necessarily swim faster.

One suggestion - put the pull buoy between your legs and do 100 straight at say 80% perceived effort. Could you hold that time for 750 metres ? Your stroke allows you to swim that fast for 100 so what is stopping you repeating the 100 time for 6.5 additional 100's ? A lack of swim fitness may mean that 4 into a set of 8 100's your stroke shortens, you start moving your head more, your avg time per 100 goes up ...

Again, all just an opinion triggered by your consideration that your stroke is limiting you from going faster. Since I havent seen your stroke its unfair for me to say either way - just offering another possibility.

Dont go killing yourself in the pool before you get that quick run in connemara out of the way though eh ;)

Ya I was just looking forward to a good swim today as I cant do the midweek LSR at lunch, the local tri club are talking about going out on the lake next month so I am looking forward to that even though the memories from last year are still fresh. The feeling of pain in my head and utter breathlessness when I started out in the water was like nothing i had experienced before.

What I meant was in my head that would be my planned pace for a sprint Triathlon. The stroke count for me does goes up when I go fast maybe from 16 to 18 in a 20 metre pool. If I went any faster than what I was going today my technique would go on me, it would be like my swim threshold.

So I finished up that TT feeling strong, I think I could hold that pace for another 500m if I needed to. A note here is the use of the pull bouy with all the running lately any time I have swam lengths i have used it. I find it very easy to swim with the pull bouy, not so without.

I have meant to ask you about the kicking with the kickboard and times you and El Director are talking about. I tend to do 200m and 200m front and back but I am not going all out on these. Do I need to be kicking as hard as I can when I do these to see any real improvement.

I find it very easy to swim with the pull bouy, not so without.

With the amount of run mileage no harm but ...
    its probably a good reason there to switch from a 200 kick to something a little more focused ... one suggestion might be ... doing something like 6 * 50's kick ... good strong, fast kick ... not too deep with the feet, keep splash above water to a minimum. The shorter distance reps should allow you to kick as fast as you can and get some rest (20 seconds to start with) - it'll prevent you wandering through the set and definitely should give you more from your time.

Its a fair comment about increasing stroke rate leading to your stroke getting a bit messy - the key thing when trying to increase the rate is to 'keep the stroke long' - as in insure you're still pushing out below the hip on each stroke ... since if you 'skip' that section of the stroke to go faster you loose alot of stroke efficiency and power.

Wednesday evening 7.5 miles in 1.02 - Garmin HRM out of power but had lidl one for swimming in the bag, nice and low heart rate whenever i checked (finger placed on pad).

Thursday afternoon again pressed for time at lunch, covering someone else so have to stick rigidly to the hour break, 7k in 40 minutes AHR = 133

Thursday night turbo session - This was tough, Vo2 max sessions again I dont really know what these are, it might have been in my head but i definetly felt like I was sucking in huge amounts of air near the end of each burst. Shagged but controlled shagged :D

Friday - 1000m straight swim with pullbouy, no watch to keep it easy.

Have a poker tournament that I should probably go to tonight as most of the mates are going + the mates have noted that mrs C is away in Dublin tonight, a little bit worried about this as I am not keen on going drinking so close to the marathon. I might get knocked out early and pretend to go home in a huff.

It will be the usual dirty looks and pints dropped in front of me, Ireland has such a drink culture some of them will take it personally if you have a coffee in front of them.

Tomorrows log will no doubt be full of sinful admissions and guilt trips over the drinking ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

It will be the usual dirty looks and pints dropped in front of me, Ireland has such a drink culture some of them will take it personally if you have a coffee in front of them.

Try having bottles of beer instead and after they've had a few they won't notice if you take a toilet break and refill your bottle with water :). Obviously it'll only work on coloured bottles like Heineken, Bud, etc but you can manage your intake better on your terms if you alternate between 1 beer/ 1 water or even stay on the water after a few beers. I had a great night one time on 2 bottles and swigging water to beat the band after that :p.

p.s. think I'm sorted on the registration front with BB having a mate collect them. Thanks again.

Thats not a bad idea though I can imagine trying to wrestle my keys off someone afterwards who is telling me I cant drive home after ten bottles. I live in the sticks so I would be fuming handing over the 50 euros for the taxi with a car sitting outside the place, I will have to sneak off pretending I was sick

Might see you in Connamara so but you would want to be doing a very very slow LSR for me to catch up

Fair play I didnt get much hassle from the mates over not drinking, got caught straight away in a round and was handed a Heineken and swiftly was passed another. But after that we settled down for the tournament so no more drinks were coming then.

Was going very well for a while but I got caught going all in with AK and lost to a pair of 5's :mad: Enjoyed it though, I have played a little bit on on-line and with mates but this was my first time at a tournament

No hassle after about not drinking, i think the lads realise I am taking this Marathon very seriously so didnt try to push drink on me.

So no hangover but only a 4 mile run today, not sure what to do for the day now as Mrs C is up in Dublin. Hopefully there is some sport on TV

4.6 miles in 40.25 mins AHR = 147

Run today - Another cracking day weatherwise - it has to lash on the day of the race the way things are going.

12.3 miles today in 1.53 around Salthill, Garmin seems to have uploading problems so no idea of HRM, plenty of runners on the prom these days.

Starting to get bored the last few days, I am not sure if I am missing the training or just having loads of time and not knowing what to do with it. Mrs C is up in Dublin again (family illness), normally I would be making hay and doing double sessions but cant be doing that with the taper.

I am worried about my eating as well, I hardly lost any weight over this marathon schedule, maybe 2 kilos since January and I am conscious that I will put it back on with interest over the next few weeks if I am not careful.

Scheduling wise though things are going well, something was nagging me on the Swinford 1/2 Ironman for a while now and I twigged it a few weeks ago. July 25th is our 2 year wedding anniversary, tread carefully Catweazle. The summit went well not only did I get the green light to enter it, I also might have her lined up to do the swim section for one of my mates if he calves it. Although I will have to treat her to a posh hotel and dinner that night, I am thinking the Icehouse in Ballina! Not going to book it at 8 tomorrow but i assume it will still be available when i start work

Delighted that the friend is still on for it, he still hasnt learnt to swim yet though so thats where Mrs c comes in. I thought of Mrs Interested as well but I have a feeling she would be giving my friend a 10 minute head start on me if she did it. You couldnt marry Interested without liking the water :D

Very little done training wise I can see the pack of wolves bunching up behind me in the run challenge sensing my weakness. Nothing monday, 5k tuesday and my usual burst on the last day of every month to boost my challenge rankings. I was going to have a crack at 2000m duing lunch and jump EC and Izozard but have lost my goggles so 15k on the exercise bike to bump Causeway down a place.

6m tonight, really enjoyed this, started out at 9 minute pace but went down to 8 minute pace for the last three AHR=143

Delighted that the friend is still on for it, he still hasnt learnt to swim yet though so thats where Mrs c comes in. I thought of Mrs Interested as well but I have a feeling she would be giving my friend a 10 minute head start on me if she did it. You couldnt marry Interested without liking the water :D

Good stuff ... the ramblings of a man on a taper - smooth move on the anniversary race as well champ.
    Got my own Swinford entry this morning - but July seems an age away with snow still on the mountains.
    After cursing me and my great idea to go for a 2km open water swim in March all this week, the better half has finally stopped mentioning about her frozen feet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭griffin100

Scheduling wise though things are going well, something was nagging me on the Swinford 1/2 Ironman for a while now and I twigged it a few weeks ago. July 25th is our 2 year wedding anniversary, tread carefully Catweazle.

you're either extemely brave.................or very very stupid:D

My purchase of a new wheel set cost me a set of Michael Bubble tickets and a night in dublin before sound was restored with the picture at home. As a double punishment she's making me go with her. Triathlon and in particular Iron Man training in conjunction with a young family and a wife who thinks I've become obsessed about IM can make for some interesting times. Me, obsessed, never.....just because I train almost every day and try and fit every family activity on the weekends around my long bike doesn't mean I'm obsessed....does it?

Its a good time of year to try and pull something like that off. Our company gets block holidays around those dates so Mrs C will be comfortable enough knowing there will be at least a week abroad all going well around those dates also. Holidays are another story, I am refusing to do the boring 2 weeks on the beach this year so interesting times ahead. No doubt you will, be laughing at me as I head off for two weeks R & R in some beach resort later.

Swinford now booked as well, some of those mountains that we will be expected to cycle over are on view on my commute to work. All snowcapped at the moment, it will be a nightmare cycle.....put that out of my mind when signing upon the dotted line.

Its a good time of year to try and pull something like that off. Our company gets block holidays around those dates so Mrs C will be comfortable enough knowing there will be at least a week abroad all going well around those dates also. Holidays are another story, I am refusing to do the boring 2 weeks on the beach this year so interesting times ahead. No doubt you will, be laughing at me as I head off for two weeks R & R in some beach resort later.

Swinford now booked as well, some of those mountains that we will be expected to cycle over are on view on my commute to work. All snowcapped at the moment, it will be a nightmare cycle.....put that out of my mind when signing upon the dotted line.

The profile doesnt look too bad to be honest - although some local knowledge of the route communicated in a timely fashion will be expected Mr Weazle of the Cat variety :)

wrt to being obsessed with IM training allegations ... my advice is to start talking about it all wistfully ... as if its some sort of new religion ... inner thoughts and all ... probably wont work but the partner in question will soon be more embarassed (in my case, further embarassed) by my behaviour at social gatherings leaving me invitably with more time to train ;) so utterly simple I could pin a tale to it and call it a fox of an idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭griffin100

wrt to being obsessed with IM training allegations ... my advice is to start talking about it all wistfully ... as if its some sort of new religion ... inner thoughts and all ... probably wont work but the partner in question will soon be more embarassed (in my case, further embarassed) by my behaviour at social gatherings leaving me invitably with more time to train wink.gif so utterly simple I could pin a tale to it and call it a fox of an idea

F_200708_August30ed_354109a.jpg
    I have a cunning plan....

Jesus that was stressful, me and Online entries dont agree. Got into Ballina, signed up at 1.55 when I saw it available saw I forgot to put in Galway on the thing and stupidly risked all by going back and putting it in. After constant refreshes and errors from Maithu I gave up and luckily spotted I had an email from them in my inbox so using this I got in. Total compulsive tri shopping, this morning I had no intention of trying to enter Ballina, come 2 pm nothing was more important to me.

You can see the entrants after which is a nice touch, after spotting three "targets" as well for this year. It will be a good test on how much I have hopefully improved as I will be looking to "crush them" :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,377 ✭✭✭pgibbo

Jesus that was stressful, me and Online entries dont agree. Got into Ballina, signed up at 1.55 when I saw it available saw I forgot to put in Galway on the thing and stupidly risked all by going back and putting it in. After constant refreshes and errors from Maithu I gave up and luckily spotted I had an email from them in my inbox so using this I got in. Total compulsive tri shopping, this morning I had no intention of trying to enter Ballina, come 2 pm nothing was more important to me.

You can see the entrants after which is a nice touch, after spotting three "targets" as well for this year. It will be a good test on how much I have hopefully improved as I will be looking to "crush them" :D

Always nice to have a target or two to aim for! :cool:

I nearly did the same thing. Decided earlier this week that I wasn't doing Ballina as it's 2 weeks after Kilkee and the week before Carna. Then I had a mad urge to sign up for it today. Glad I decided against it and let logic prevail. My OH would have gone nuts if I was gone 4 weekends in a row - Kilkee, Jog in the Bog, Ballina & Carna - not to mention picking up an injury!

Ballina is a great event though. One I really enjoy. Oh well......next year.

Sounds like taper is tough....stick with it. Must be rewarding to know all the hard work is done but frustrating having to wait for the big day now.

BTW, the lads are calling this evening for a demo of the site. Hope I remember everything! :D

If you are stuck give me a shout..........missus is away in Dublin again so I will be on my tod anyways when I come back from run.

Watching Liverpool doesnt appeal to me as much as last nights game.

I had same issue and decided that Carna was too close to Swinford but was mad to do something so Ballina was in.

Are you doing Jog in the bog, my mate is on to me to do that, its tempting as it is so close to the house but 65 euros is pricy enough....x 2 no doubt as well, as Mrs C for some reason expects me to pay for the honour of any participation from her good self. Although it would be a good much needed cycling session for Swinford

First time this year running in the rain, thought I had snuck out between showers but got caught in a downpour halfway through. Loved it - decided it was the excuse I needed to run fast and belted through the last two miles.

5 miles 40 minutes

Kudos to Pgibbo who I drove by on the way home as well who also seemed to be strangely enjoying the sh1t conditions

5 mile run Saturday 43 minutes

8.5 mile run on Sunday 1.08 around Oranmore

Cross training today and had signed up for a round of golf with a few friends, was very nervous about this with the weather but it was best 2 scores from 4 so there was no backing out. So with major concern about getting a cold I went out like the Michelin man with about 6 layers of clothes and wets over them. I played pretty well (for a 21 handicapper), even had an eagle putt on a par 5 with a massive wind behind me, I walked off with a par :mad:

Was delighted with the general consenus to call it a day after 9, nearly there now and weather is shaping up to be good for the weekend, looking forward to it now, cant wait to get a decent run in after all this tapering

Kudos to Pgibbo who I drove by on the way home as well who also seemed to be strangely enjoying the sh1t conditions

I was enjoying it when you saw me alright as it was only raining. I wasn't so happy a few minutes before that when my legs had hail stones the size of golf balls bouncing off them! :D Thankfully the rain doesn't bother me and wouldn't stop me going for a run.

I'll be out in Connemara cheering my OH on this weekend. Let me know if you want me to carry some spare gels or water or something for you. Just in case.... ;)

I should be ok planning to wear tight shorts so am going to stick the gels under them (only a slight variation to what I used to do with tight jeans and socks in my single days) but I am worried about my Garmin charger. Its gone awol I assumed I had left it at work but no sign of it today. Did you mention you have a mate that has a 310 if it doesnt show up

No harm in having a gel or some steroids in your pocket though in case I gorge on my own ones too early, where are you expecting to hang out at to cheer Mrs Gibbo on?

Yes, a buddy does have a 310 so let me know if you need the charger.

Not sure where I'll be yet. Need to look at the route and talk to OH to see what she thinks. I will keep you posted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭DustyBin

All the hard work done now catweazle - just give it a lash and enjoy yourself in Connemara
    Jaysus, with all the races on this weekend it's like writing christmas cards and trying to think up of something a little different to say on each one, after the 5th or 6th card you end up just writing 'Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year' on all of them!!

You've laid down serious mileage leading up to this, all you've got to do now is enjoy yourself. I'm very jealous cos I had planned to do conn as my first as well just didn't work out.
    If you start to struggle around HOTW keep an eye out for RedB - I have him sorted to give you a push up :p
    Oh, and don't be afraid to nick some of the figrolls that the ultra guys like RQ & Krusty leave out - that's what they're there for ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,469 ✭✭✭RedB

DustyBin wrote: »
    If you start to struggle around HOTW keep an eye out for RedB - I have him sorted to give you a push up :p
    Yeah - I'll be the guy collapsed at the side of the road with the oxygen mask on :D.
    Just had a close look at the hills on MapMyRun and seeing the seriousness of the gradiants and how long they go on for. They don't make hills like that around Limerick :eek:. I thought the finish of Ballycotton was tough but having the HOTW at that stage of a race is just cruel!
    It'll be head down, arms pumping, no talking, teeth clenching, heavy breathing, mental swearing stuff - and that'll just be on the bus on the way out :D.
    Anyway, enough about me - just wanted to wish you all the best of luck on Sunday. Hope you're hydrating like mad as well as carbo loading as it'll be warm out there. Don't forget the sunscreen as the song says and the breathable singlet, bodyglide, etc!

Cheers lads, I know the feeling Dusty, I will leave the messages of good luck for redb until Limerick as that is his main upcoming race. I will add to the many well wishers for Littlebug and leave it at that with Ronanmac out

Looking forward to getting started I didnt enjoy the tapering to be honest, i feel like I have put on a stone in weight. Redb no singlet for me, it will be a borrowed Galway Bay Half Marathon top that I have used for all 3 20 milers so it is well broken in.

Weather looks like it will be great, as far as when i started this programme back in December I couldnt have wished it to go any better as regards potential injuries, sickness, running weather, getting the milage in etc, so I am not going to be surprised if the weather is cracking. From all the hard luck stories on the Connemara thread I have a lot to be thankful for.

Hopefully the day will go well, I am still humming and hawing about what pace I will have a go at on the day, no doubt it will change mid race like it always does. My quickest times in shorter races have always been when I have gone hell for leather at the start and then just hang on for as long as I can. But I dont think I will do that here with those hills in the last 6 miles. I would have liked to have done some more hill work as I did very little but what harm. I have been told Achill is harder so I know what that one was like. So I am hoping to go out at 9 minute mile pace and play it by ear.

Anyways Tri season starts for me next week and I am looking forward to it.........I almost forget thats why I am doing this bloody marathon in the first place. Although If the day goes well and I enjoy it I can see me trying another one in the autumn as I enjoyed the training (except for the taper), Berlin looks fantastic!

It will be nice to have a go at breaking sub 20 in the Galway 5k series. I also have to finally work out how to swap the turbo wheel pin for the regular one and get out on the bike and swim but its nice to have the running far improved this year already compared to where I was this time last year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,832 ✭✭✭littlebug

Best of luck Catweazle. You've done all the hard work now just go and enjoy it. I'll watch out for a Galway Bay t shirt . I've spent most of the last week counting miles and times etc so I'm not even gonna start trying to figure out where you'll be passing me :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

Best of luck tomorrow, catweazle. I reckon the 9 minute pace strategy is a good plan, you could definitely go faster but it will leave you with some in the tank once you hit the hills and should bring you under 4 hours. You're a braver man than me, I don't think that I'd ever take on a marathon that wasn't pancake-flat! (I thought New York was hilly, for god sake!)

Good luck on the day, you'll have no bother if your training is anything to go by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭nomadic

Good luck tomorrow. The weather is looking cracking and i'm sure it'll be a fantastic day. Enjoy it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,793 ✭✭✭Macanri

Hehe, I couldn't not wish you thanks after seeing you post after mine on Iozards log (I was going to anyway - I swear).

Get to bed with you and have a good sleep. All the best for tomorrow, you have the miles done so just go with the flow tomorrow and see how you feel after 20. Enjoy your first marathon.