House Parties and Noise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Its the weekend, relax!

That's easy to say - but when you have two young children who can't sleep and neither can you or your partner and the music is blaring out at 4.30am then it's out of order.

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours. It's when it disrupts everyone else around it that's the problem. People have a right to live without excessive noise and have their night's sleep ruined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

JupiterKid wrote: »
    That's easy to say - but when you have two young children who can't sleep and neither can you or your partner and the music is blaring out at 4.30am then it's out of order.

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours. It's when it disrupts everyone else around it that's the problem. People have a right to live without excessive noise and have their night's sleep ruined.
    I agree but if you dont mention it to them then how will they know next time? I mean if one of my neighbours called in the day after and asked if next time i'd keep the bass down then i would. If they dont know theres a problem then they cant fix it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Tootle

Kiera wrote: »
    I agree but if you dont mention it to them then how will they know next time? I mean if one of my neighbours called in the day after and asked if next time i'd keep the bass down then i would. If they dont know theres a problem then they cant fix it.

Anyone with any bit of sense would be aware that the music at their party may annoy the neighbours. I dont think its up to the neighbour to point out the problem. If my neighbours had small kids I wouldn't be so selfish as to hold a party, whichever night of the week. Or I would at least have the courtsey to tell them and give them my number to ring if it was too loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,187 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I live next door to a nest of students who love to start up their desperate boomy autotuned music after they're back from the pub until 4/5am.
    The walls in these houses are paper thin so I can hear them shouting and screaming all morning and the same crap in the evening before they go out.

I can't express my hate for these people in civil words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The tools downstairs from me used to play sh1te 90s chart dance (e.g. Culture Beat, Haddaway) and "ragga" (e.g. Shaggy, Chaka Demus and Pliers) which just added insult to injury. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Giving out about people having parties, you must be like....old...

You know what they say, if it's too loud, you're too old...

You know what they say, if black arterial blood is pouring from a sucking chest wound, you probably should have turned it down when you were asked.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours.
    I believe the cutoff point for excessive noise in residential areas is 9pm.
    kowloon wrote: »
    I live next door to a nest of students who love to start up their desperate boomy autotuned music after they're back from the pub until 4/5am.
    The walls in these houses are paper thin so I can hear them shouting and screaming all morning and the same crap in the evening before they go out.

I can't express my hate for these people in civil words.
    Talk to the housing section in the local college/uni, just give them a buzz and arrange a meeting to explain your position, they'll take it from there.

Take your homes and peace of mind back, people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,954 ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    I believe the cutoff point for excessive noise in residential areas is 9pm.

Talk to the housing section in the local college/uni, just give them a buzz and arrange a meeting to explain your position, they'll take it from there.

Take your homes and peace of mind back, people.

Well said, Amhran Nua.:) I have a "live and let live" philosophy but playing loud, booming music at 4.30am is taking the p*ss.:mad:

I'm going to get on to the area residents association to see if something can be done about these parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 needhelp

when i was doin my MA in college, i lived with a mixed bunch who loved after parties

invested in ear plugs.... works a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dudess wrote: »
    The tools downstairs from me used to play sh1te 90s chart dance (e.g. Culture Beat, Haddaway) and "ragga" (e.g. Shaggy, Chaka Demus and Pliers) which just added insult to injury. :mad:

Maybe he had one of these:

That's a classic Dudess, c'mon now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Whereabouts was this, if you don't mind my asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Kiera wrote: »
    Its the weekend, relax!

Some of us work weekends.

I don't mind most house parties unless I'm completely wrecked. I'd be a hypocrite to complain.
    At the same time though, y'know, turn that crap down and fuuuuck off! :pac: I'm aching for sleep here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,701 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ergo wrote: »
    actually, once was having a big house (apartment ) party in Australia - the management showed up and cut off the electricity to get the music down

so that's my "After Hours" suggestion: cut off their electricity! in a safe way of course....sometimes trip switches are just inside or outside the hall door....
    i usde to do security, one of the things we did was make sure the apartment blocks were in order
    if some one complained about a party id go to the door

tigger;hello i'm hear because of a complaint about the noise please turn it down a bit i'm all for a bit a fun but people are complaining and its in your contract

party peeps; er f off or we will kill you etc

wanders down to power boards which are in a locked room turns off and on the power

tigger; hi i'll turn off n the power for the night next time

worked a charm although it made some people scary mad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Maybe he had one of these:

That's a classic Dudess, c'mon now!
    Hmmm... it's no Banana Phone, but it's good I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

It's after 4am in the morning and I can't get a wink of sleep because of a friggin huge party in a house immediately behind mine.:mad:

Don't get me wrong - I've no problem with people throwing parties - hell, I threw a few pretty wild ones myself now and then. But loud, booming, repetitive techno music in a housing estate at this time in the morning is seriously out of order in my books...

Am I right to be pissed off or just becoming an auld frump?

All I have to say I got home from one about 2 hours ago (and now stuck in work), im sooooo Fu$ked and all i have to say no matter how tired you are from listen to that cr4p music and noise, you will never feel this bad!!! oh how I love parties!!! .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

We are planning on having a house warming this friday (moved in last week).. and we only really have one neihbour.

We are a bit worried about how they will react at us having a party so our plan is to go into them after work today and tell them we are having a party, and will try our best to keep the noise and music down.

Plan on giving them our numbers incase it really is too loud. They are in their early 60s like. One of the lads suggested offering to send them away for a night to a hotel for a break and we would cover it :)... but i think thats a bit over kill..

What ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,257 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Invite them over for a few drinks to get to know you.

If they like you before it gets loud, then they're less likely to call the cops before calling you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Rabies wrote: »
    Invite them over for a few drinks to get to know you.

If they like you before it gets loud, then they're less likely to call the cops before calling you

...and don't forget to shave their eyebrows if they fall asleep.

we are in our 20s though and they are in their 50s. would be a bit weird asking them into the party. They do have a jacuuzi in their back garden though so mybe theyre hip..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

mad music at house parties is crap for real, i had neighbors that had themed karaoke parties, out of tune drunk funknerds screaming Celene and Maria till the wee hours, good god, that was torture. :mad:

We are a semi detached house with noone on one side.. spare living room on that side so plan to put the music there so the neighbours should barely hear it, andno god damn karaoke :)

theres a banjo, a guitar, a bodhrán, and several tin whistles so they will be locked away :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

lived in last apartment for about 5 years

new neighbours, early 20s moved in

house parties from about 8pm until 11:30am each day of each weekend

was working from early each morning and found it difficult to get work done and concentrate because I'd usually be woken up around 3am after going to bed at around 11.:(

complained to landlord

nothing happened, still loads of house parties

moved out to a new apartment

kinda glad I didn't try to talk to the neighbours cos I overheard one talking about having pills and methadone along with booze when she was trying to convince one of her mates to come round to the party. I don't think I'd have gotten on well asking people doing drink and drugs to cool it with their parties.

haven't and still don't really know anything that can be done to help sort out situations where people are waking you up in the middle of the night with their house parties:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭FruitLover

It's after 4am in the morning

As opposed to 4am in the afternoon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

neil_hosey wrote: »
    andno god damn karaoke :)

I'm moving out if there's no kareoke... and i'll be taking my fantastic singing voice with me... the neighbours should be paying to hear it in all fairness... :D

passive wrote: »
    Whereabouts was this, if you don't mind my asking?

I live in Blanchardstown (the older part - Coolmine). It's a very settled, family oriented residential area. The house is not a house full of students renting - of that I'm pretty sure.

I think it's a teenager or early 20something guy who still lives in his folks' place. He must have had a free gaff over the weekend.:rolleyes:

As I said before - house parties within reason are fine, booming music at 4.30 in the morning is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 czipownik

Nothing better than video recording of the events and passing material to your letting agents / property management company:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭joannaman

czipownik wrote: »
    Nothing better than video recording of the events and passing material to your letting agents / property management company:D

I'm sure the OP appreciates your advice, 9 months after the last reply!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

The kids want minimal dude.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Rabies wrote: »
    Ask them to turn the base down a bit.

If they don't, call the cops.

Or call over in the morning, wake them up when their hangovers are kicking in and tell them to keep it down next time

Ask for more bass guitar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,161 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

Kold wrote: »

The kids want minimal dude.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w5U92gcBASs
    This would go down quite well as well...