Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House Parties and Noise

• 28-03-2010 3:15am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

It's after 4am in the morning and I can't get a wink of sleep because of a friggin huge party in a house immediately behind mine.:mad:

Don't get me wrong - I've no problem with people throwing parties - hell, I threw a few pretty wild ones myself now and then. But loud, booming, repetitive techno music in a housing estate at this time in the morning is seriously out of order in my books...

Am I right to be pissed off or just becoming an auld frump?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭duckygalway

JupiterKid wrote: »
    It's after 4am in the morning and I can't get a wink of sleep because of a friggin huge party in a house immediately behind mine.:mad:

Don't get me wrong - I'ne no problem with people throwing parties - hell, I threw a few pretty wild ones myself now and then. But loud, booming, repetitive techno music in a housing estate at this time in the morning is seriously out of order in my books...

Go join them!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I threw a few pretty wild ones myself now and then.
    But loud, booming, repetitive techno music in a housing estate at this time in the morning is seriously out of order in my books...
    Heh, that's common order at parties now

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

When their music stops playing........blare your own at full volume.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Ask them to turn the base down a bit.

If they don't, call the cops.

Or call over in the morning, wake them up when their hangovers are kicking in and tell them to keep it down next time

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Cheers guys.:D I'm pleasantly surprised at all the supportive replies.:)

I've no problem with parties but I think that it's common courtesy to tone the music down after about midnight and deffo by 1am. This party's music is still blaring out full blast at 4.20am.

I've called the Gardai. They say they can't do all that much except to call in and tell them to turn the music down. The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my back garden.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭duckygalway

The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my bac garden.:mad:

Did you call the Gardai the last time too?!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

Cheers guys.:D I'm pleasantly surprised at all the supportive replies.:)

I've no problem with parties but I think that it's common courtesy to tone the music down after about midnight and deffo by 1am. This party's music is still blaring out full blast at 4.20am.

I've called the Gardai. They say they can't do all that much except to call in and tell them to turn the music down. The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my bac garden.:mad:

well I'm thinking the Gardaí calling in and telling them to turn it down would sort it out.....but shame it has to come to that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Best way to deal with your problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭ergo

actually, once was having a big house (apartment ) party in Australia - the management showed up and cut off the electricity to get the music down

so that's my "After Hours" suggestion: cut off their electricity! in a safe way of course....sometimes trip switches are just inside or outside the hall door....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

If it's a predominantly rented area comprising house shares (as opposed to a place with e.g. lots of young families) then it's to be expected on a Friday/Saturday night. Every single Friday/Saturday night would be a bit much (especially when there are people who work weekends) but now and again, I personally wouldn't have a problem with, and I work some weekends.
    House parties on a week-night though are out of order - the muppets who used to live in the apartment below me had regular absolutely floor-shaking parties that spilled out onto the street, on week nights, which often went on til 8am. :mad:
    The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my bac garden.:mad:
    Well that's just sh1tty form no matter when...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

Burn their house down!

The music ended about half an hour ago.:) Finally.:rolleyes: The Gardai must have called in. I can still hear screams and hollers from the revellers. There's been quite a few parties at this place at this stage including one or two on week nights. I don't think it's a rented house either - I reckon it's some 19 year old and his mates with a free gaff.

I live in a settled estate in the 'burbs built around 30 years ago with families of all ages. Parties are fine as long as the music stops or gets turned way down at a decent enough hour - not at 5.15am in the morning.:(

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Two words: It's Saturday!:cool:

**or was...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Only once have I gone over to ask someone to turn the music down (at about 3 in the morning on a weekday when I had to work the next morning).

Walked over in my bathrobe and slippers. It was crowded, so I had to push my way to the DJ. Didn't make it half way there b4 I somehow ended up with a beer in my hand chatting away. Left the party at 830 to go to work (still pissed).

Have used earplugs ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Giving out about people having parties, you must be like....old...

You know what they say, if it's too loud, you're too old...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some weekends: fine.

Every weekend: windows going in.

Weeknights: house getting set alight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

Had the same problem here last night OP. I live on the top floor in an apartment complex and neighbours TWO floors down were dancing, shouting and blaring their music (open windows) across the complex up til about 2:30am. We thought it must have been a neighbout on our floor because of the dancing. We could 'feel' it in our apartment. I couldn't believe it was coming from two floors down.

Baxtards. Will be lodging a complaint on Monday. Their neighbour beside them has two young kids who most likely didn't get a wink of sleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,267 ✭✭✭concussion

Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 covers noise pollution. What I find bizarre is that the Gardaí can't shut down late night parties even after receiving complaints.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/act/pub/0007/sec0108.html#zza7y1992s108

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

concussion wrote: »
    Section 108 of the Environmental Protection Agency Act 1992 covers noise pollution. What I find bizarre is that the Gardaí can't shut down late night parties even after receiving complaints.

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/1992/en/act/pub/0007/sec0108.html#zza7y1992s108

Gardai aren't mentioned in the act, and have no power in relation to this.
    Gardai deal with crime - noisy parties come under Civil law not Criminal law... tis a civil matter.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

Don't get me wrong - I've no problem with people throwing parties - hell, I threw a few pretty wild ones myself now and then. But loud, booming, repetitive techno music in a housing estate at this time in the morning is seriously out of order in my books...

softcock

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Always wondered about the Gardai calling it a civil matter.
    Could these neighbours not be done for distrubing the peace.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

I've called the Gardai. They say they can't do all that much except to call in and tell them to turn the music down. The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my back garden.:mad:
    Technically that's true but in reality they can do pretty much what they like. I live in a housing estate with a fairly heavy student presence and the mother of all house parties got kicked off on the Monday night during rag week. The neighbours and myself called the guards repeatedly, ended up having two squad cars literally clear the house and confiscate all the booze. The residents had to pick up all the tinnies as well. I wouldn't recommend this as a regular strategy however. For dealing with students in particular its better to go talk to the college authorities, PM me if anyone wants further details.

As per the environmental protection act cited above, you are entitled to bring a civil case against the owner of the property in the courts, and they can and will be fined up to €3000 for egregious infringements, just make sure you record times, dates, and get signed statements from neighbours - this does not need a solicitor. The hard part is often finding out who the owner is, for that there's the PRTB, land registry, and Google searches for the house address to find old Daft adverts and whatnot.
    Hank_Jones wrote: »

People are constitutionally entitled to the peaceful enjoyment of their homes, and your right to throw a party falls short of someone else's childs right to a good nights sleep, or someone's right to get a good nights sleep before they go to work in the morning. There are very few things more damaging to the health than continued interruption of sleep.

"Thats just how it is" doesn't cut it, I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Tootle

cafecolour wrote: »
    Only once have I gone over to ask someone to turn the music down (at about 3 in the morning on a weekday when I had to work the next morning).

Walked over in my bathrobe and slippers. It was crowded, so I had to push my way to the DJ. Didn't make it half way there b4 I somehow ended up with a beer in my hand chatting away. Left the party at 830 to go to work (still pissed).

Have used earplugs ever since.
    Ha ha ha Brilliant!

I used to live in NZ and they had Noise Control 'Police'. If the Noise Control were called they gave you a warning and told you to turn down the music. If they had to come out again, they would confiscate the sound equipment and you could collect it from the police the next day (I presume there was a fine). You'd also get a written warning following the first call, that if they were called for another incident, you would be fined.

It worked brilliantly. We were always aware of the level of noise (and we had many parties!). Whoever was providing the sound equipment was cautious of having their stuff confiscated and therefor were careful with the bass after a certain hour.

I'm a real grouch with lack of sleep but the occassional party at the weekend I wouldn't mind. Mid-week is not on.
    If the estate has a management company, you could contact them and they would contact the owners to make a complaint.

Failing that , I would get yourself a lawn mower and take to the grass at 8am! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 806 ✭✭✭AssaultedPeanut

Had the same problem last night around here (Dublin 5 area).
    I wouldn't usually care but it was so freakin' loud, I live a across a park about the size of a football pitch with a road either side, away from the house that was having the party and I could hear everything perfectly.

I have Jusitce - we are your friends stuck in my head all morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭greener greene

The last party they threw, they chucked tinnies and cig butts into my back garden.:mad:

Should have thrown them back ;)

Had the same problem last night around here (Dublin 5 area).
    I wouldn't usually care but it was so freakin' loud, I live a across a park about the size of a football pitch with a road either side, away from the house that was having the party and I could hear everything perfectly.

I have Jusitce - we are your friends stuck in my head all morning.

Sounds like a good party. I love that tune!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Somebody didn't get invited... hate that, was a whopper of a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

Its the weekend, relax!

That's easy to say - but when you have two young children who can't sleep and neither can you or your partner and the music is blaring out at 4.30am then it's out of order.

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours. It's when it disrupts everyone else around it that's the problem. People have a right to live without excessive noise and have their night's sleep ruined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

That's easy to say - but when you have two young children who can't sleep and neither can you or your partner and the music is blaring out at 4.30am then it's out of order.

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours. It's when it disrupts everyone else around it that's the problem. People have a right to live without excessive noise and have their night's sleep ruined.
    I agree but if you dont mention it to them then how will they know next time? I mean if one of my neighbours called in the day after and asked if next time i'd keep the bass down then i would. If they dont know theres a problem then they cant fix it.

Kiera wrote: »
    I agree but if you dont mention it to them then how will they know next time? I mean if one of my neighbours called in the day after and asked if next time i'd keep the bass down then i would. If they dont know theres a problem then they cant fix it.

Anyone with any bit of sense would be aware that the music at their party may annoy the neighbours. I dont think its up to the neighbour to point out the problem. If my neighbours had small kids I wouldn't be so selfish as to hold a party, whichever night of the week. Or I would at least have the courtsey to tell them and give them my number to ring if it was too loud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,583 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I live next door to a nest of students who love to start up their desperate boomy autotuned music after they're back from the pub until 4/5am.
    The walls in these houses are paper thin so I can hear them shouting and screaming all morning and the same crap in the evening before they go out.

I can't express my hate for these people in civil words.

The tools downstairs from me used to play sh1te 90s chart dance (e.g. Culture Beat, Haddaway) and "ragga" (e.g. Shaggy, Chaka Demus and Pliers) which just added insult to injury. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

Hank_Jones wrote: »

You know what they say, if black arterial blood is pouring from a sucking chest wound, you probably should have turned it down when you were asked.
    :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Amhran Nua

Parties are fine, so long as the loud music is turned down in the wee hours.
    I believe the cutoff point for excessive noise in residential areas is 9pm.
    kowloon wrote: »
    I live next door to a nest of students who love to start up their desperate boomy autotuned music after they're back from the pub until 4/5am.
    The walls in these houses are paper thin so I can hear them shouting and screaming all morning and the same crap in the evening before they go out.

I can't express my hate for these people in civil words.
    Talk to the housing section in the local college/uni, just give them a buzz and arrange a meeting to explain your position, they'll take it from there.

Take your homes and peace of mind back, people.

Amhran Nua wrote: »
    I believe the cutoff point for excessive noise in residential areas is 9pm.

Talk to the housing section in the local college/uni, just give them a buzz and arrange a meeting to explain your position, they'll take it from there.

Take your homes and peace of mind back, people.

Well said, Amhran Nua.:) I have a "live and let live" philosophy but playing loud, booming music at 4.30am is taking the p*ss.:mad:

I'm going to get on to the area residents association to see if something can be done about these parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 needhelp

when i was doin my MA in college, i lived with a mixed bunch who loved after parties

invested in ear plugs.... works a treat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Dudess wrote: »
    The tools downstairs from me used to play sh1te 90s chart dance (e.g. Culture Beat, Haddaway) and "ragga" (e.g. Shaggy, Chaka Demus and Pliers) which just added insult to injury. :mad:

Maybe he had one of these:

That's a classic Dudess, c'mon now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Whereabouts was this, if you don't mind my asking?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Kiera wrote: »
    Its the weekend, relax!

Some of us work weekends.

I don't mind most house parties unless I'm completely wrecked. I'd be a hypocrite to complain.
    At the same time though, y'know, turn that crap down and fuuuuck off! :pac: I'm aching for sleep here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Tigger

ergo wrote: »
    actually, once was having a big house (apartment ) party in Australia - the management showed up and cut off the electricity to get the music down

so that's my "After Hours" suggestion: cut off their electricity! in a safe way of course....sometimes trip switches are just inside or outside the hall door....
    i usde to do security, one of the things we did was make sure the apartment blocks were in order
    if some one complained about a party id go to the door

tigger;hello i'm hear because of a complaint about the noise please turn it down a bit i'm all for a bit a fun but people are complaining and its in your contract

party peeps; er f off or we will kill you etc

wanders down to power boards which are in a locked room turns off and on the power

tigger; hi i'll turn off n the power for the night next time

worked a charm although it made some people scary mad

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Maybe he had one of these:

That's a classic Dudess, c'mon now!
    Hmmm... it's no Banana Phone, but it's good I suppose...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭GrizzlyMan

All I have to say I got home from one about 2 hours ago (and now stuck in work), im sooooo Fu$ked and all i have to say no matter how tired you are from listen to that cr4p music and noise, you will never feel this bad!!! oh how I love parties!!! .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

We are planning on having a house warming this friday (moved in last week).. and we only really have one neihbour.

We are a bit worried about how they will react at us having a party so our plan is to go into them after work today and tell them we are having a party, and will try our best to keep the noise and music down.

Plan on giving them our numbers incase it really is too loud. They are in their early 60s like. One of the lads suggested offering to send them away for a night to a hotel for a break and we would cover it :)... but i think thats a bit over kill..

What ya think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

Invite them over for a few drinks to get to know you.

If they like you before it gets loud, then they're less likely to call the cops before calling you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 977 ✭✭✭Abrasax

Rabies wrote: »
    Invite them over for a few drinks to get to know you.

If they like you before it gets loud, then they're less likely to call the cops before calling you

...and don't forget to shave their eyebrows if they fall asleep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

we are in our 20s though and they are in their 50s. would be a bit weird asking them into the party. They do have a jacuuzi in their back garden though so mybe theyre hip..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

mad music at house parties is crap for real, i had neighbors that had themed karaoke parties, out of tune drunk funknerds screaming Celene and Maria till the wee hours, good god, that was torture. :mad: