Standing Ovation for the Passport workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭problemchimp

Fuk this crap..

Thread is now about ships.. My favourite was the Titanic.

How about ye?
    do you need a passport to go on the QE2

You dont need one to get the ferry to britain anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

She no longer sails.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

Eventualy. So they should live with feck all now just because of an uncertain eventuality?

This whole be glad you have a job is absolute bull, why should people be made feel guilty about giving out when the conditions are bad?

This mentality of making peopel feel guilty for having jobs is stupid, noone can complain about their job being crap anymore because "at least you have one".

BTW, I am unemployed, I just think other unemployed people doing it are fcuking asshats.
    You made the same mistake I did :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

Iolar wrote: »
    OMG it's Il duce
    Long time no see :)

Would you like a replica of my fine hat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,763 ✭✭✭✭Crann na Beatha

She no longer sails.
    Fair enough, I better get me money back so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

What does the go-slow actually involve on the ground. Haven't seen this explained in any of the news outlets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Its the toy boat I play with in the bath :)

Really? Ican make a better suggestion of playthin...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

What does the go-slow actually involve on the ground. Haven't seen this explained in any of the news outlets.
    It involves reducing throttle usually going in or out of port or in stormy conditions. If you are on the ground then you are not in a ship, probably a lorry.

Iolar wrote: »
    I thought you dont like Russians:P
    Nah, Its the frogs I hate.

Damn Henry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

is this thread still about ships?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

wouldnt call it a ship .. but this boat from Waterworld was kickáss

http://www.catamarans.com/images/Lagoon/440/waterworld_01.jpg

DrumSteve wrote: »
    is this thread still about ships?

I've think so.. But I think people are going off topic a bit. Bad form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,329 ✭✭✭bullpost

SS Central America

Sank with gazillions of California Gold Rush gold on board

The story of her recovery is one of the best adventure books you'll ever read:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ship-Gold-Deep-Blue-Sea/dp/080214425X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1269620853&sr=8-1-spell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Tbh I'd sack the lot of them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Apparantly the JFK is free to take away.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Morlar wrote: »
    Tbh I'd sack the lot of them.

Off-topic.
    reported.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Degsy wrote: »
    Off-topic.
    reported.

Your saying I went a bit overboard with that one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

TheBastard wrote: »
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0326/pay.html

They must be lacing their tea and Coffee with LSD!

What a shower of [EMAIL="f@ckers"]f@ckers[/EMAIL] though- and as for the guy in the video
    with his "i've had 2 pay cuts - sob sob" story, i fell like giving him a kcik up the hole, i've had 2 pay cuts and could lose my job- there isnt a chance the public sector workers will be made redundant!

**** the public service cry babies:cool:

I am about to read through the rest of the pages, but thought your post deserved a response first. On the last thread about the pasport guys that was locked I stated this as well.

As the general public hold opinions like yours, I bet you think we are all lazy and do nothing all day as well; I really hope that as action continues you suffer more.

Look at what happened when the passport guys took some action; people where seriously effected. Apart from health which is the sector I work in I really hope you guys get even more effected. The impact which a few days of action had on this country, could not have hapened if before the action the staff just sat on their hands all day.

So for me now, if the general public feel that way about public sector workers, I really hope you get much more of it over the coming months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

Odysseus wrote: »
    I am about to read through the rest of the pages, but thought your post deserved a response first. On the last thread about the pasport guys that was locked I stated this as well.

As the general public hold opinions like yours, I bet you think we are all lazy and do nothing all day as well; I really hope that as action continues you suffer more.

Look at what happened when the passport guys took some action; people where seriously effected. Apart from health which is the sector I work in I really hope you guys get even more effected. The impact which a few days of action had on this country, could not have hapened if before the action the staff just sat on their hands all day.

So for me now, if the general public feel that way about public sector workers, I really hope you get much more of it over the coming months.

wtf?? read the thread sham.

what was the ship in ullysees 31??
    that was pretty cool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,752 ✭✭✭Odysseus

wtf?? read the thread sham.

what was the ship in ullysees 31??
    that was pretty cool

My apologies, this is the first interesting PS thread I have ever since here.

On topic, mine is a model ship in a bottle my that used to belong to my Dad.

Swinging this thread back on topic I'd personally go for this version of the Enterprise:

http://www.nerdesque.com/2010/03/09/ion-enterprise/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭TheBastard

Odysseus wrote: »

Well the simple thing is nobody wants paycuts, NOBODY. but if you worked in the private sector and the boss says "we are making less than we are paying out we have to give all staff 15% pay cut"- you have to accept in- if you argue they say "well we can get someone in to take your place" But for some reason public service workers believe that even though the government cant pay the rate they where 2 years ago and the word there is CANT!!! You guys go on strike! I really think they should be sacked! and i hope They do sack these Cnuts that wont work! so what if your not on high wages- you get paid for what level your education deserves- if your just a pen pusher with a leaving cert do you think you deserve 50K a year?? If you worked in the private sector with no 3rd level educaton or no trade- you'd get paid 25K-30K as thats all you deserve!
    i really hope you lose your job and get with reality!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Well the simple thing is nobody wants paycuts, NOBODY. but if you worked in the private sector and the boss says "we are making less than we are paying out we have to give all staff 15% pay cut"- you have to accept in- if you argue they say "well we can get someone in to take your place" But for some reason public service workers believe that even though the government cant pay the rate they where 2 years ago and the word there is CANT!!! You guys go on strike! I really think they should be sacked! and i hope They do sack these Cnuts that wont work! so what if your not on high wages- you get paid for what level your education deserves- if your just a pen pusher with a leaving cert do you think you deserve 50K a year?? If you worked in the private sector with no 3rd level educaton or no trade- you'd get paid 25K-30K as thats all you deserve!

Clerks don't and never have been paid 50 K in Ireland, they aren't asking for much, just that they don't get cuts.

I say again, tough **** on you for having a job where you are expendable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I say again, tough **** on you for having a job where you are expendable.

Every job in the private sector is expendable, not because people deserve to be fired but because they demand results and have to make tough business decisions based on the bottom line. Public sector workers have the massive safety net of unions and are pretty much unfireable. What is your point - everyone join the public service and live in a fantasy land of guaranteed security and benchmarking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭MoodeRator

Thunderbird 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,057 ✭✭✭Krusader

How could you wish another person to lose their job just 'cause they don't agree with you on boards. Get a life:rolleyes:
    and keep this on topic,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Normandy SR-2