Tiesto playing the o2 in march

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Hecan charge what he likes he's a legend !!

Best nite ever!! Shook the man's hand - unreal. Thank you Tiesto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

I am close to tears trying to comprehend this. That people like yourselves could be content with such mediocrity in your life, such souless nothing. Throwing money at something, a problem I suppose that is your life. I always wondered why a lot of people accepted bad jobs and being a bit overweight, why it never made them sick to their stomach. Are they happy? Are people happy at a Tiesto 'concert' seeing a man play a cd of trance music for a few hours, standing like the messiah himself. And for this you will pay €100? Half your weekly wages.
    Oh do **** off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

was over at 1.30am in the end :D

have to say not into dance or trance at all but by the end I was bouncing around even though I was working the gig LOL he may have converted me :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

ironclaw wrote: »
    I'm going to be honest and say I can't see it. Depends on the line "Half your weekly wages" the meaning's I take from that is:

1) A direct order i.e. "You should halve that employee's weekly wage"

or

2) A statement of fact i.e. "€X's is half my weekly wage"

Anyway, its miles off topic. Every person has the right to an opinion.

I liked last night, was a good laugh with the mates. However, as predicted the clientele wasn't very varied indeed :)

was it full of people who live on €196 a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

was it full of people who live on €196 a week?

Not the biggest fan of Tiesto myself but went with a few mates for the laugh

It actually had a good mix of a crowd. I didn't see any trouble at all and everyone seemed to be on a good buzz

Was an incredible spectacle, he has some setup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

if you can't see knackers at a tiesto gig, you are a knacker. end of story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

jtsuited wrote: »

good retort :rolleyes: Just to blow that well backed up statement of yours out of the water. I was working this gig and have to say there were next to no people there as I would usually class as "knackers" (and as I'm in the 02 ALOT I know the sort)

Just to further backup that point there weren't major security problems either on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

So your trying to tell me this is the first Trance gig in Ireland not to have a lot of "knackers" attend?

Pull the other one!

So your trying to tell me this is the first Trance gig in Ireland not to have a lot of "knackers" attend?

Pull the other one!

Clearly a knacker. Or at the very least wears a Subaru jacket.

I knew what to expect from replies coming in here but seriously lads it's old. Some people don't progress or maybe they just stay loving the same stuff they always had and I say fair play to them and so be it.

One other thing I've REALLY started to notice among people's opinion is that for, a lot, whom I know personally and of, they seem to think that techno, is a status symbol, or maybe house, deep house etc. Maybe I just got a bad bang of shít from the whole vibe but that's what I see. :D

If we all listened to the same music can you just imagine how boring that would be? Everyone is entitled to their own opinion though, I acknowledge that and although I look upon this little episode with a smile and even an odd laugh at some of the slaggings, I wish people didn't try as hard to make others feel bad because of their choice of music.

This could go on cause I would admit, I really despise certain genres but from now on I am a changed man, I'm off to join a monastery after writing this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭karlm37

In fairness i'd rather be a 'knacker' and enjoy myself at gigs rather than stand in the twisted pepper surrounded by c***s stroking their chins and commenting on how clear the hi-hats sounds... Not sayin i dont like techno or anythin, jus glad listenin to it hasn't turned me in2 a snob like most people in this thread! When exactly did dance music become so classist?

I'm not saying everyone who listens to Trance is a 'knacker' actually far from it, however im pointing out that any gig that is advertised in the mass media or gone viral will attract people who go expecting everyone to be dressed up and have pockets full of glowsticks.

Ive actually come to the point where I won't be attending anymore festivals in Ireland as your guaranteed to meet some of these folk who disrupt the atmosphere and get some people looking over their shoulders.

Now I'm no salt of the earth, In fact I grew up in Finglas, but I do know how to act on a night out and respect that people want to have a good time. They don't need me openly taking drugs or squaring up to someone because I don't like the look of him.

Oh and just because I openly slag some genres of music, I'm not disrespecting them I just have an opinion which is welcomed to be challenged.

Far off topic now :)

Jay D wrote: »

One other thing I've REALLY started to notice among people's opinion is that for, a lot, whom I know personally and of, they seem to think that techno, is a status symbol, or maybe house, deep house etc. Maybe I just got a bad bang of shít from the whole vibe but that's what I see. :D
    huh? if you're a knacker and you're into deephouse, techno etc., you're still a knacker.
    If you see a done up stupid looking micra/civic/whatever coming up the road, and you were a betting man (which i am incidentally), which music would you put your money on to be blasting out of it? Hardhouse/Trance or Deep House?

If you wouldn't put your money on the former, then frankly you're a terrible gambler.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

huh? if you're a knacker and you're into deephouse, techno etc., you're still a knacker.
    If you see a done up stupid looking micra/civic/whatever coming up the road, and you were a betting man (which i am incidentally), which music would you put your money on to be blasting out of it? Hardhouse/Trance or Deep House?

If you wouldn't put your money on the former, then frankly you're a terrible gambler.

None of them. I'd bet they'd have a guy in the back seat playing norwegian bagpipe music.

You lose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

If you can't see knackers at any type of dance gig then you're blind. House, deep house, electronica, dubstep, techno etc will all attract a certain amount of scum. It's like in any walk of life, there will be good and bad

This is true although, I think jt is talking more about the miniority scumbags who are there for trouble and to wave their glowsticks about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

Fcukin hell! The amount of stigma, and i think its more so fear, that some of the people in here surround these so called "Knackers" with; just because of the type of music they listen to (trance usually) is absolutely shockin.

I mean what is your problem with them? I've never seen tiesto but i've been to my fair share of other big trance gigs like armin van buuren and the likes and a few planetloves and had an excellent time usually because of the people there, just enjoyin the buzz.

Someone said if you didnt see any knackers there then you must be a knacker. Imagine that, goin to a gig for a good time and good people without judgeing them on where they're from or what car they drive... :rolleyes:

I think when you get past 25 your tolerance for being around dirty slices just hits the floor.

God man you do talk some shíte :eek:

Here lads, watch this 2 litre Civic engine put into that Micra coming down the road, bet ya he's banging out that new TRANCE tune wait and ya see.
    No he's not, bet it's that House one doing the rounds.
    Ok how much you wanna bet?

Er tenner...

right it's on.

wait he's actually banging out hard house, this was a shít bet.

Man let's wait till the next one comes along and we go all in.

I used to work in Ladbrokes and betting is a mug's game :D (DON'T TRY THAT AT HOME KIDS)

That post made me cringe.

ah don't worry I'm well used to seeing your type stand back, act cool and judge.

I'll get over it.

That post made me cringe.

I'm more of a sneer than a judge.9

I'm more of a ponce than a judge.9
    Fixed :pac:

Some people just take themselves far too seriously.

Fixed :pac:

Some people just take themselves far too seriously.

Well the consequences for not are fairly dire. Tiesto concerts, bad skin and unemployment are the result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

Fcukin hell! The amount of stigma, and i think its more so fear, that some of the people in here surround these so called "Knackers" with; just because of the type of music they listen to (trance usually) is absolutely shockin.

I mean what is your problem with them? I've never seen tiesto but i've been to my fair share of other big trance gigs like armin van buuren and the likes and a few planetloves and had an excellent time usually because of the people there, just enjoyin the buzz.

Someone said if you didnt see any knackers there then you must be a knacker. Imagine that, goin to a gig for a good time and good people without judgeing them on where they're from or what car they drive... :rolleyes:

Ever go to the Tivoli theatre for a trance gig? No? Well the reason you won't be going in future is the last 2 tivoli gigs had a few stabbings and bottlings. One had riots. I went to plenty of trance gigs and learned to just ignore them, but you need to be seriously intoxicated to ignore them. It gets boring fast trying to avoid eye contact with some paranoid munter or trying to convince somebody you didn't spit on them cause its bloody raining out.

I guarantee that the people posting here about snobbery wouldnt set foot in a trance gig unless they were off their tits on drink and/or drugs.

God man you do talk some shíte :eek:

Here lads, watch this 2 litre Civic engine put into that Micra coming down the road, bet ya he's banging out that new TRANCE tune wait and ya see.
    No he's not, bet it's that House one doing the rounds.
    Ok how much you wanna bet?

Er tenner...

right it's on.

wait he's actually banging out hard house, this was a shít bet.

Man let's wait till the next one comes along and we go all in.

I used to work in Ladbrokes and betting is a mug's game :D (DON'T TRY THAT AT HOME KIDS)
    LOL.

Cringeworthy indeed.