Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tiesto playing the o2 in march

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 version1

nice..hope i can pull some money together...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,607 ✭✭✭VinylJunkie

5 Stabbings countless arrests and a night of horrible Trance awaits.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭creativedrinker

hope he does a set like the elements of life tour... his new stuff aint the best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

Enjoy
    and more Burberry than you'll see at Paris fashion week

old gregg wrote: »
    and more Burberry than you'll see at Paris fashion week

Actually it's a perfect opportunity to flog them glow in the dark ski masks I have in the garage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭Alkers

Is it gonna be a 5 hour set job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

I heard Aslan are supporting him...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,463 ✭✭✭run_Forrest_run

I heard Aslan are supporting him...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭PatrickD32

Enjoy

ha hah

all scummers looking to hear 'diageo' for strings :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

PatrickD32 wrote: »
    ha hah

all scummers looking to hear 'diageo' for strings :pac:

Diageo for strings, know the one thats one too many.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Four-Percent

Davei141 wrote: »
    Diageo for strings, know the one thats one too many.

They're all too many!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Mma423

Get wit the times no one wear burberry no more and im going to the concert and im not a scumbag im going because i love tiesto for along as i can remember .. Yeah the sets gonna be till 3 in the morning he be playin 4-5 hours nd his support b4 thats at half 6 and someone asked abou the set list hes played in the states so im sure yel find the list on google wouldnt say it would be aslan it be an irish ir english dj my bets on john o callahan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

not gonna get into the tiesto slagging as its about as fresh as his sound, (see what i did there) but i would actually like to be at this, for about an hour.

mainly because i've never been and i want to see and hear for myself how magnificent the sound supposedly is, patricularly for a dance music event.

E55 entry? well, i'd pay it to see certain individuals (bowie, d.mode, fleetwood tack or doves) so im sure some wont mind paying it for tiesto but i can only imagine marco v or tall paul or someone else of similar has been ness will be added to the bill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭jtsuited

Mma423 wrote: »
    Get wit the times no one wear burberry no more and im going to the concert and im not a scumbag im going because i love tiesto for along as i can remember .. Yeah the sets gonna be till 3 in the morning he be playin 4-5 hours nd his support b4 thats at half 6 and someone asked abou the set list hes played in the states so im sure yel find the list on google wouldnt say it would be aslan it be an irish ir english dj my bets on john o callahan

the funniest thing is, the poster edited because of a mistype!!!One can only wonder what it looked like before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Táck

the internets great like that. "i am board" on the facebook status update, gets me everytime!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭thecommander

Yeah the sets gonna be till 3 in the morning

1am curfew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,004 ✭✭✭ironclaw

Tiesto for as long as I can remember never had a support act. In fact he said at some stage, I'll see can I find the interview, he finds it undermining. The whole reason for his show is that fact its one DJ, one night.
    1am curfew.

Yeap. 12pm I would say. Doors are at 6pm, kick off at 8 at a guess.

And yes, it will be an absolute scum fest. Just have a look at the DVD and the Ireland section. Makes me ashamed to be Irish. You get none of that on the continent and abroad. Totally different audience and a much better experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

ironclaw wrote: »
    And yes, it will be an absolute scum fest. Just have a look at the DVD and the Ireland section. Makes me ashamed to be Irish. You get none of that on the continent and abroad. Totally different audience and a much better experience.

That's something thats always got me thinking..... Why is it that Ireland's music events always attract scummers en masse? Imagine a Chemical Brothers gig in Marlay Park.... I like them but I really couldnt go to it.

Would be a good study alright. I believe its alcohol based. I was at a Tiesto gig in Spain last summer, not an ounce of trouble (This was at a Spanish equivalent of Octoberfest). The cops even looks bored. No one was out of line or hammered. Didn't see on fight or altercation. While we come here or England, total different story.

Its also the market that big DJ's attract. People want to say they've "been there" I suppose. Like mainstream Ibiza / Croatia I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭thecommander

In alot of countries scum don't have a few hundred quid to blow on a gig/festival.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,373 ✭✭✭Executive Steve

In most other countries you just don't know the local people well enough to be able to pinpoint who the "scum" are (and I hate that phrase anyway).

Dutch / German / French / Spanish / Italian "scum" are all identified in completely different ways. The subtle cues one takes for granted at aiding you in being able to identify someones' socio-economic strata simply do not coincide with the general UK / Irish variety.

There's no more or less trouble at your average well run Irish event of any type than there is anywhere else on the continent, believe me. I've had Norwegians express slackjawed amazement at how chilled and peaceful Dublin was on a busy Saturday night with so many drunk people around.

In most other countries you just don't know the local people well enough to be able to pinpoint who the "scum" are (and I hate that phrase anyway).

Dutch / German / French / Spanish / Italian "scum" are all identified in completely different ways. The subtle cues one takes for granted at aiding you in being able to identify someones' socio-economic strata simply do not coincide with the general UK / Irish variety.

There's no more or less trouble at your average well run Irish event of any type than there is anywhere else on the continent, believe me. I've had Norwegians express slackjawed amazement at how chilled and peaceful Dublin was on a busy Saturday night with so many drunk people around.

Your quite right and I ain't one to tar with the same brush. There are genuine people as well. Sure, that happens on all socio-levels and walks of life.

But I feel Irish events are very alcohol fueled while on the continent and further afield it doens't happen. Even working from a First Aid point of view at these events in Ireland, it nearly 100% alcohol or alcohol related.

Anyway, back on thread, anyone know if Tiesto is doing any in-store stuff seeing as this is a world tour leg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

I was thinking of going with my gf but I know this will attract alot of 'scum' (seems to be the term being used in this thread) and I'm not into fighting or any of that, we just wanna go, enjoy the music and have a laugh like a lot of ppl im sure but u know the way it is at some of these events.

So im unsure what to do, I'd love to go and see him but at the same time I have my doubts

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    I was thinking of going with my gf but I know this will attract alot of 'scum' (seems to be the term being used in this thread) and I'm not into fighting or any of that, we just wanna go, enjoy the music and have a laugh like a lot of ppl im sure but u know the way it is at some of these events.

So im unsure what to do, I'd love to go and see him but at the same time I have my doubts

If you have tickets, go. I have 5 seated tickets and I'm bringing the gf. Standing will be another story. Don't bring anything of value and I've recommended to all the girlies to leave the bags at home. Car Keys, Phone and Wallet. That's it.

But to be fair, I've been to alot of his gigs and they do attract young and old. You also get a fair few couples, which is equally surprising.

On a side note, heard on some other boards that the O2 are putting the finishing time at 10.30? Must be a miss communication. I Was expecting 12 but certainly not 10.30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭Omega28

We have'nt got tickets but I was going to buy them, I'd certainly be buying seating anyway, I wouldn;t want to imagine standing!

Im unsure, I really don't want the hassle at all from a little 'scumbag'.

I thought the curfew was 11pm for the O2? I could be wrong on that though but I always thought it was.

Dylanmc111 wrote: »
    We have'nt got tickets but I was going to buy them, I'd certainly be buying seating anyway, I wouldn;t want to imagine standing!

Im unsure, I really don't want the hassle at all from a little 'scumbag'.

I thought the curfew was 11pm for the O2? I could be wrong on that though but I always thought it was.

You won't get hassle. The O2 to their credit has good staff and the security is second to none. They said everyone is being full body searched and alcohol sales only to over 21's. I doubt you'll have any hassle.

But tickets will be an issue. It's Sold Out and the current Tout price is about €100 a ticket.

The curfew is a weird one. Seems to depend on the event. I was brought to Beyonce last year and I'm almost sure it was 11.00 when it finished.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 925 ✭✭✭billybigunz

But tickets will be an issue. It's Sold Out and the current Tout price is about €100 a ticket.

I am close to tears trying to comprehend this. That people like yourselves could be content with such mediocrity in your life, such souless nothing. Throwing money at something, a problem I suppose that is your life. I always wondered why a lot of people accepted bad jobs and being a bit overweight, why it never made them sick to their stomach. Are they happy? Are people happy at a Tiesto 'concert' seeing a man play a cd of trance music for a few hours, standing like the messiah himself. And for this you will pay €100? Half your weekly wages.

Thats a very condescending post. To each person their own. I would not pay €100 to see Tiesto. Far from it. Last time it was €75 and I only went because it was a freebie. I only went last night as I got tickets at a discount. Wouldn't go to something out of principal if it cost over €60, far better things to be done with that type of money.

I would consider a lot of things a waste of money but a concert with 5 mates for the laugh isn't one of them. I don't drink so I think alcohol is a waste of money. But what do I care, it pays for my Diaego dividend shares at the end of the year. I would consider however coming onto a thread at 11.30 to give out about how bad Tiesto is a considerable waste of time. People have likes and dislikes, its a fact of life.

And if €100 is half your weekly wages, who has the bad job on this side of the argument?

Thats a very condescending post. To each person their own. I would not pay €100 to see Tiesto. Far from it. Last time it was €75 and I only went because it was a freebie. I only went last night as I got tickets at a discount. Wouldn't go to something out of principal if it cost over €60, far better things to be done with that type of money.

I would consider a lot of things a waste of money but a concert with 5 mates for the laugh isn't one of them. I don't drink so I think alcohol is a waste of money. But what do I care, it pays for my Diaego dividend shares at the end of the year. I would consider however coming onto a thread at 11.30 to give out about how bad Tiesto is a considerable waste of time. People have likes and dislikes, its a fact of life.

And if €100 is half your weekly wages, who has the bad job on this side of the argument?
    Yeah that is half my daily gross julio, have a read again and try and do the math.

. And for this you will pay €100? Half your weekly wages.

I'm going to be honest and say I can't see it. Depends on the line "Half your weekly wages" the meaning's I take from that is:

1) A direct order i.e. "You should halve that employee's weekly wage"

or

2) A statement of fact i.e. "€X's is half my weekly wage"

Anyway, its miles off topic. Every person has the right to an opinion.

I liked last night, was a good laugh with the mates. However, as predicted the clientele wasn't very varied indeed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

Hecan charge what he likes he's a legend !!

Best nite ever!! Shook the man's hand - unreal. Thank you Tiesto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭DepecheHead101

Oh do **** off.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

was over at 1.30am in the end :D

have to say not into dance or trance at all but by the end I was bouncing around even though I was working the gig LOL he may have converted me :D

I'm going to be honest and say I can't see it. Depends on the line "Half your weekly wages" the meaning's I take from that is:

1) A direct order i.e. "You should halve that employee's weekly wage"

or

2) A statement of fact i.e. "€X's is half my weekly wage"

Anyway, its miles off topic. Every person has the right to an opinion.

I liked last night, was a good laugh with the mates. However, as predicted the clientele wasn't very varied indeed :)

was it full of people who live on €196 a week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

was it full of people who live on €196 a week?

Not the biggest fan of Tiesto myself but went with a few mates for the laugh

It actually had a good mix of a crowd. I didn't see any trouble at all and everyone seemed to be on a good buzz

Was an incredible spectacle, he has some setup

if you can't see knackers at a tiesto gig, you are a knacker. end of story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

jtsuited wrote: »

good retort :rolleyes: Just to blow that well backed up statement of yours out of the water. I was working this gig and have to say there were next to no people there as I would usually class as "knackers" (and as I'm in the 02 ALOT I know the sort)

Just to further backup that point there weren't major security problems either on the night.

So your trying to tell me this is the first Trance gig in Ireland not to have a lot of "knackers" attend?

Pull the other one!

So your trying to tell me this is the first Trance gig in Ireland not to have a lot of "knackers" attend?

Pull the other one!

Clearly a knacker. Or at the very least wears a Subaru jacket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

I knew what to expect from replies coming in here but seriously lads it's old. Some people don't progress or maybe they just stay loving the same stuff they always had and I say fair play to them and so be it.

One other thing I've REALLY started to notice among people's opinion is that for, a lot, whom I know personally and of, they seem to think that techno, is a status symbol, or maybe house, deep house etc. Maybe I just got a bad bang of shít from the whole vibe but that's what I see. :D

If we all listened to the same music can you just imagine how boring that would be? Everyone is entitled to their own opinion though, I acknowledge that and although I look upon this little episode with a smile and even an odd laugh at some of the slaggings, I wish people didn't try as hard to make others feel bad because of their choice of music.

This could go on cause I would admit, I really despise certain genres but from now on I am a changed man, I'm off to join a monastery after writing this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭karlm37

In fairness i'd rather be a 'knacker' and enjoy myself at gigs rather than stand in the twisted pepper surrounded by c***s stroking their chins and commenting on how clear the hi-hats sounds... Not sayin i dont like techno or anythin, jus glad listenin to it hasn't turned me in2 a snob like most people in this thread! When exactly did dance music become so classist?

I'm not saying everyone who listens to Trance is a 'knacker' actually far from it, however im pointing out that any gig that is advertised in the mass media or gone viral will attract people who go expecting everyone to be dressed up and have pockets full of glowsticks.

Ive actually come to the point where I won't be attending anymore festivals in Ireland as your guaranteed to meet some of these folk who disrupt the atmosphere and get some people looking over their shoulders.

Now I'm no salt of the earth, In fact I grew up in Finglas, but I do know how to act on a night out and respect that people want to have a good time. They don't need me openly taking drugs or squaring up to someone because I don't like the look of him.

Oh and just because I openly slag some genres of music, I'm not disrespecting them I just have an opinion which is welcomed to be challenged.

Far off topic now :)

Jay D wrote: »

One other thing I've REALLY started to notice among people's opinion is that for, a lot, whom I know personally and of, they seem to think that techno, is a status symbol, or maybe house, deep house etc. Maybe I just got a bad bang of shít from the whole vibe but that's what I see. :D
    huh? if you're a knacker and you're into deephouse, techno etc., you're still a knacker.
    If you see a done up stupid looking micra/civic/whatever coming up the road, and you were a betting man (which i am incidentally), which music would you put your money on to be blasting out of it? Hardhouse/Trance or Deep House?

If you wouldn't put your money on the former, then frankly you're a terrible gambler.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

huh? if you're a knacker and you're into deephouse, techno etc., you're still a knacker.
    If you see a done up stupid looking micra/civic/whatever coming up the road, and you were a betting man (which i am incidentally), which music would you put your money on to be blasting out of it? Hardhouse/Trance or Deep House?

If you wouldn't put your money on the former, then frankly you're a terrible gambler.

None of them. I'd bet they'd have a guy in the back seat playing norwegian bagpipe music.

You lose!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 143 ✭✭dublin 16 lad

If you can't see knackers at any type of dance gig then you're blind. House, deep house, electronica, dubstep, techno etc will all attract a certain amount of scum. It's like in any walk of life, there will be good and bad

This is true although, I think jt is talking more about the miniority scumbags who are there for trouble and to wave their glowsticks about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭Diego Smartly

Fcukin hell! The amount of stigma, and i think its more so fear, that some of the people in here surround these so called "Knackers" with; just because of the type of music they listen to (trance usually) is absolutely shockin.

I mean what is your problem with them? I've never seen tiesto but i've been to my fair share of other big trance gigs like armin van buuren and the likes and a few planetloves and had an excellent time usually because of the people there, just enjoyin the buzz.

Someone said if you didnt see any knackers there then you must be a knacker. Imagine that, goin to a gig for a good time and good people without judgeing them on where they're from or what car they drive... :rolleyes:

I think when you get past 25 your tolerance for being around dirty slices just hits the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭Jay D

God man you do talk some shíte :eek:

Here lads, watch this 2 litre Civic engine put into that Micra coming down the road, bet ya he's banging out that new TRANCE tune wait and ya see.
    No he's not, bet it's that House one doing the rounds.
    Ok how much you wanna bet?

Er tenner...

right it's on.

wait he's actually banging out hard house, this was a shít bet.

Man let's wait till the next one comes along and we go all in.

I used to work in Ladbrokes and betting is a mug's game :D (DON'T TRY THAT AT HOME KIDS)