An open letter to the lady on the bus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,302 ✭✭✭JohnMearsheimer

I've seen lots of drug addicts, drunks and knackerish behaviour during my Dublin Bus experiences.

Cork buses are really peaceful in comparison. There is a guy on the No. 8 that seems to sign to himself. Once an old lady sat in front of me on the bus, she had thin white hair and I could see little things moving around in it. I felt bad for her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Shryke

Buses can be depressing.

I had a seven year old demand that I give him my seat. There were others. His mother stood there smiling so I told him push off you little bollix.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

I remember being on a buseireann bus once (can't remember where ). Anyhow... the bus was fairly empty. Here's me getting into my paper and all that when I noticed a chap get on. Looked a bit rough, but how in ever I noticed the carry pack he had in a bag. Off he went down the back of the bus.

About 2 hours into the journey, I got up to stretch my legs and looked down the back. There was your man sprawled across the back seats with a can of Tuborg in his hands. Close by was a few empties, and as I got a bit closer I could smell a lovely fresh whiff of p1ss coming up the bus. Then I looked down and seen a stream of liquid on the ground the whole fcuking length of the bus :(

I can only assume that as he was getting sloshed, he p1ssed into a can, it fell and travelled the length of the bus. Lucky I was getting off at the next stop....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,688 ✭✭✭kerash

13-03-2010
    Ballina-Dublin bus eireann, I board @ Longford, Driver plays 'county music' the whole journey, I forgot my ipod, I tried to read, but when he sings and along and slaps his thighs furiously to larry, brendan and richie, I begin to lol yet I want to cry. It was a long journey to Dublin...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Was commuting to college back in the day. Got on bus as per usual with me mates. weren't many seats left - two mates sat together and i took the spare seat in fonrt of them meaning there was a spare seat beside me. So anyhow couple of stops on some auld lad gets on the bus langered. I feel the dread growing and sure enough he sits beside me. I pretend to be asleep and for a whiel this works and he asays nothing. But soon enough being langered he starts talkign. Now I shoudl mention I had long hair at the time. The guy starts telling me I'm a lovely looking lass. I'm like "what ? I am guy!" but he's not hearing me what with being so langered and continues whispering sweet nothings to me. My mates are behind me making noises consistent with both shock horror and amusement. Anyhow this continues for a bit until he starts getting a bit frisky and tires putting his arm around me:eek: So at this point enough is enough and I raise my voice and push past him to stand up for the rest of the journey........hahaha. That'll teach me for having long hair :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

I boarded the 54A one fine afternoon last summer. Paid the fare and all was well (or so I thought).

As I reached the top of the stairs, I noticed a middle-aged junkie down the back with the kex around the ankles and a fairly noticeable 'turtle-head' poking out. :eek: The upper deck was empty apart from an elderly tourist couple who were sitting at the front and seemed to be completely oblivious to the ****ty misadventures behind them. So much for Cead Mile Failte!

Didn't want to stay around for the drop, so I immediately turned on my heels, scrambled down the staris as quick as possible and took a seat in the lower saloon. Nevetheless, it was impossible to enjoy the remainder of my journey with that image (and smell) still fresh on my mind.
    Some people have no shame! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭xw2lj9uspm1eyh

Here's mine I was on the way home from cork to limerick and i got on the bus in cork bus station.I was sitting down on my own the other seat was free .Anyway i was tired after a days work so i fell asleep after the bus pulled out i woke up in Charleville in a daze.Had a dead leg and i started lifting it up and down to get the blood moving but wasn't there this gal beside me.I was rubbing her leg up and down.Went bright red said sorry while she was giving me the evils and i pretended to be asleep for the rest of the journey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I changed jobs recently and get the bus to work after driving for a few years and I like it. The rare moron that I encounter on the bus is far less dangerous than the ones I used to encounter behind the wheel every morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 631 ✭✭✭neil_18_

Used to see drunks all the time on the 17a in finglas comin home from school. Old men, they did no harm tbh, just sat there talking.

Although one day i was on the 17a, just me and 2 other people upstairs, they were a couple, sitting 2 seats behind me. The conversation that followed was so entertaining that i switched off my ipod to listen, with my earphones still in obviously, so they wouldnt know i was listening. :D

Apparently the man had slept with 'Pamela', so the girlfriend wasnt happy at all! He says he doesnt love Pamela. Then the next few minutes was :

"Pleeeeeeease give me another chance, i dont love her, pleeeease. Pleeease don't leave me, i love you, i dont love her, pleeeease."

It was great entertainment tbh, stuff fair city could only dream of! :D

Then on the 16a, this youngfella gets on, not a scumbag now really, just a dope. He was on the phone to his mate, and they had they most retarded conversation. Obviously i could only hear him but the conversation was...

Ye i'm in Santry
    No
    You're gay
    No you're fat
    Ye, your aul wan,
    You're gay

Great conversation :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 230 ✭✭nucking futs

It's threads like this that make me realise how boring my life is :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I got a bus from Dublin to Cavan once & there was a bunch of you scobies on it - when we left Dublin, one of them shouted in utter bemusement, "Jaysiiis, where've all the bleeedin' lights gone?"

stovelid wrote: »
    I changed jobs recently and get the bus to work after driving for a few years and I like it. The rare moron that I encounter on the bus is far less dangerous than the ones I used to encounter behind the wheel every morning.

Exact same.. I miss driving the car, but not the journey to and from work. Traffic did my nut in..

Now I have a nice half hour with my ipod and by comparison to this thread, a handy bus journey. Work pays for it too :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Now I have a nice half hour with my ipod and by comparison to this thread, a handy bus journey. Work pays for it too :D

Absolutely.

I'm tackling a large backlog of books, not to mention keeping with podcasts. It's great.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

Wow, I've seriously been missing out on some hardcore bus-action since I left the country.

People ****ting on the bus in Ireland?
    I've seen it in parts of China where they still plow fields with oxen and figured they just had a long way to go.

Guess I'm just naive. :(

Is it really all that bad? Maybe I'm blocking out the memories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

My bus story is somewhat different to most told here, thus far!

When I was in second year at college in Waterford, I used to travel home at the weekends on the bus, its a long journey to Dublin, all in all it takes about 3 1/2 hours (no bypass in those days)

The bus stops in Carlow for about 15 minutes to wait for the other students going to Dublin. It was a fairly busy Friday evening and so I was seated on the back row, there was one available seat next to me. A girl got on and sat down (she was gorgeous) beside me and smiled!.

After the bus had pulled off, about 20 minutes into the onward journey i glanced over at her right next to me and she looked back, I really really wanted to start a conversation with her, but its not me - I hadn't the confidence at all. She paused for a second in anticipation and resumed reading her magazine.

I sighed, this happened a few times during the bus journey at one point she kinda rested against my arm. At this point we're in Naas - and a few seats had become free. (She probably could have moved to a free double seater)

A man from Eastern Europe got on and sat near us on down the back - he looked at us and asked us did either of us know the best way to get to Monaghan after Bus Aras. I happened to know this. And duly obliged.

The girl resumed her reading but along the Naas road - became a slight bit distracted - In so far as she stopped reading the magazine and initiated a series of pretty serious glances toward me!! I simply knew she wanted me to talk to her, this was torture for me!

As we trundle along Eden Quay - I'm very much aware that our destination isn't far away. I wished for all the traffic lights to turn red! Turning into Bus Aras, she finally faces me and looks me square in the eye for 2 seconds. But nothing... I had nothing I could do. The Eastern European guy - turns to us and thanks us both! Meanwhile everybody else is standing up getting bags from overhead compartment etc, but she and I remain until the last second. Before getting off she smiles (in a sort of sad way) at me and we go our separate way..

I've never saw her again.:(

That was 2004/05.

Moral of the story, life is short, just do it and have no regrets.

stovelid wrote: »
    Absolutely.

I'm tackling a large backlog of books, not to mention keeping with podcasts. It's great.

Tried books for a bit but I use the half hour for boppin about here on the mobile instead. Easier than readin a book wit the ipod..
    On the bus right now actually, happy out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

DamoDLK wrote: »
    My bus story is somewhat different to most told here, thus far!

(snip)

That was 2004/05.

Amen to that!

In fact I know that very girl you're talking about. I'm currently banging her! Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Lanaier

That was 2004/05.

Aww man WTF??

I thought you were going to say you married her or something!

Did you get the confidence at least?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

bonerm wrote: »
    Amen to that!

In fact I know that very girl you're talking about. I'm currently banging my cousin! Cheers.

Ya flippin Git.
    Lanaier wrote: »
    Aww man WTF??

I thought you were going to say you married her or something!

Did you get the confidence at least?

Ah things have changed in my life, this was just one experience, I was only a kid. Older now and less likely to let that happen again! (i hope)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

conorhal wrote: »
    I've noticed that too. The Poles won't tolerate that kind of nonsense because they still come from a culture that demands a degree of respect for others.
    Here in Ireland on the other hand we've destroyed all notion of respect for other people, so if you lay a hand on some knacker you're "opressin' me U-man roites!", that or the little fecker is as likely to stab you as look at you.
    As a result we've turned into a bunch of sheep that will bow our heads and tolerate any indignity rather than stand up for ourselves against these wolves.

For example, last weekend my dear 'ol ma was on the dart home and some 50yr old drunk was staggering about the carriage abusing people before whipping it out and taking a slash all over the place. Then he invited some young girls down the end of the carriage to come have a look at his handiwork.
    My mum was more appalled at the fact that not one person said a word then she was at the drunks actions. There were more than a few big strapping lads that could have ejected the eejit who instead took to staring out the window. It's just sad.

Was on a Dart one night after a few beers and there were 2 knacks on it with biros spitting paper at a group of students who ignored them. A man in his fifties accross the aisle told them to stop. They then sat down beside him and started hassling him. it started getting worse so I told him that if there was trouble I would give him a hand & a guy sitting behind said he would too. Eventually one of the knacks hit him in the face. I went for that knack to clock him but didn't get a chance as practically 15-20 people got up and grabbed that knack and pinned him on the seat behind and proceeded to batter him. I held the other fella up against the window to stop him getting battered. I still saw the uppercut punch that broke the first knacks nose as he was pinned down on the seat(it was a beaut).
    Then all the passengers threw them off the train and kept them off till the cops arrive. It was nice to see so many people working together to batter scumbags trying to intimidate ordinary people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

I remember back when I was in college I met a girl on a bus trip from Limerick to Dublin. We got chatting, she was in 2nd year, so was I. Got talking about a whole load of stuff we were interested in. Gave me her number and all. Only found out a while later that she meant 2nd year in secondary school :o. Had told my friends about the girl I met who'd given me her number, the slagging I got. Anyway not long after that they got my phone and texted all kids of crap to her, and that was the end of that. She'd be in her 20's by now probably. One of those memories that you'll never forget.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

prinz wrote: »
    I remember back when I was in college I met a girl on a bus trip from Limerick to Dublin. We got chatting, she was in 2nd year, so was I. Got talking about a whole load of stuff we were interested in. Gave me her number and all. Only found out a while later that she meant 2nd year in secondary school :o. Had told my friends about the girl I met who'd given me her number, the slagging I got. Anyway not long after that they got my phone and texted all kids of crap to her, and that was the end of that. She'd be in her 20's by now probably. One of those memories that you'll never forget.

How the hell could you confuse a 13 year old with a 19 year old!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,096 ✭✭✭conorhal

Gmol wrote: »
    Was on a Dart one night after a few beers and there were 2 knacks on it with biros spitting paper at a group of students who ignored them. A man in his fifties accross the aisle told them to stop. They then sat down beside him and started hassling him. it started getting worse so I told him that if there was trouble I would give him a hand & a guy sitting behind said he would too. Eventually one of the knacks hit him in the face. I went for that knack to clock him but didn't get a chance as practically 15-20 people got up and grabbed that knack and pinned him on the seat behind and proceeded to batter him. I held the other fella up against the window to stop him getting battered. I still saw the uppercut punch that broke the first knacks nose as he was pinned down on the seat(it was a beaut).
    Then all the passengers threw them off the train and kept them off till the cops arrive. It was nice to see so many people working together to batter scumbags trying to intimidate ordinary people

That's deeply heartening to hear, but sadly it's the exception rather than the rule.
    As a society we seem to have grown very tolerant of anti-social behavior, driven I believe by the aggressive drive to deconstruct society and any kind of collective morality by the kind of elites that are driving social policy. These elites see 'society' and any form of collectivism as a threat to the kind of aggressive 'rights without responsibility' individualism that they promote and they really hate the concept of accountability too.

You notice that it took a middle aged man to stand up to those gurriers, probably because he was part of the last generation that was ever taught anything about respect or responsibility for your fellow man. God bless the older generations.
    I was on the Luas home one night when some drunk down the far end of the luas sat beside, and started racially abusing a black woman, who had to sit there and take it while everybody around her said nothing. Well, he was a giant thug and an absolute scummer by the looks of him, I wouldn't want to have to trade blows with him that's for sure but if enough people had stood up he would have had to back down, nobody did ....except for one little old lady, one of those hard as nails, weather worn inner city dubs that started poking him with her brolly and saying "aren't you ashamed of yourself picking on a woman, big man aren't you!" He got off at the next stop, embarrassed I guess. God bless little old ladies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

NothingMan wrote: »

Dark bus. How was I to know, it was a college bus, she said she was in 2nd year and was going home for the weekend.. my brain wasn't in gear. She was 14 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Lizzzard wrote: »
    On the bus one evening (around 8/9) two Members of the Travelling Community (I'll refer to them as knackers here, read on you'll find out why) got on the bus, STINKING drunk. Upstairs down the back they sat, kept to themselves until 3 young girls(14/15) got on and recognised them, started talking to them. Grand. Then the girls were getting off and a full bottle of Corona was thrown up the bus at one of their heads.

Long story short, Eastern European guy with his family stood up telling the two boys they would be treated like "pieces of siht" in his country, invites them to a fight outside the bus, floors one of them, I mean OUT COLD and the other ran off before getting what he deserved. Guy hops back on the bus to a round of applause and a pat on the back from his family.

It's funny how someone from a different nationality was able to show us how to deal with knackers acting like gobshties in our country. "pieces of siht" is right!!!!

And the bus/driver waiting for him.........
    Class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭Theta

NothingMan wrote: »

Having worked in an offo for nearly 10 years you would be surpised how hard it can be with some people to tell the diff between 15 and 25.

Few crazies on my local bus but nothing ever worth talking about happened to me.

Although on the same bus on a busy evening coming back from work ny nate was sitting down the back against the window with random people filling the rest of the bus when the crazy next to him whips it out and starts bashing away at himself. He had to bale it over the seats in front of him to escape.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,865 ✭✭✭Mrs Garth Brooks

I hate people on buses.
    Got on a bus once, walking down the aisle to find a seat. Certainly wasn't looking at the floor at some eejits foot out in front of me. I stood on it and he asks me what did i do that for. Was i meant to say sorry? Well i wasn't going to apologise for his lack of cop on. Im sorry i didn't break it for him now.

Another time, i was sitting on the inside seat, some old man came to sit down beside me and started feeling my leg and leaned over me. I was 20, he was 70. Sick old man. Got up to change seats.

Going back to college this year, getting rid of the car, there's no way im using a bus. Im buying a bicycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

conorhal wrote: »
    nobody did ....except for one little old lady, one of those hard as nails, weather worn inner city dubs that started poking him with her brolly and saying "aren't you ashamed of yourself picking on a woman, big man aren't you!" He got off at the next stop, embarrassed I guess. God bless little old ladies.

Medal for the little old dear. But it makes a point thou. Sometimes women can deal with these things better than guys. If a guy had said something the bully probably would have gotten aggressive and their would have been a barney. But because it was a little old dear who could be no threat to him he was just mortified into leaving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

I've seen lots of drug addicts, drunks and knackerish behaviour during my Dublin Bus experiences.

Cork buses are really peaceful in comparison. There is a guy on the No. 8 that seems to sign to himself
    . Once an old lady sat in front of me on the bus, she had thin white hair and I could see little things moving around in it. I felt bad for her.

One of my friends once announced all proud of himself that he had that guy figured out "He's not talking to himself, he's singing along to the radio!" took a while to explain to him why that was unlikely.

Getting a bus back to Dublin city centre ("town" :rolleyes:) from Oxegen when I was sixteen I was once treated to a rotund young gentleman, covered from head to toe in muck, loudly regaling his friend with stories of the guys he'd sucked off that weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I was once treated to a rotund young gentleman, covered from head to toe in muck, loudly regaling his friend with stories of the guys he'd sucked off that weekend.

That stuff must be very fattening I guess.