Big Trouble Brewing in the Passport Office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

SomeFool wrote: »
    You can get your passport through the post office, think it's about €5 extra, but no queing involved, just send off your details in an envelope.

I'm pretty certain they are processed in the same place and there is a backlog of 40k passports at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

It's still processed by the passport office.

Yes, but at least you can then hunger stike in the comfort of your own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

glad I got my passport just recently. I found the staff to be fast happy and helpful. cork btw.

I say that if the public sector want better pay they should nominate 10% of their fellow staff to be canned and the pay redistributed. same with taxis, they could vote for licenses to be revoked

Makes a change, it's usually just tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

kippy wrote: »
    The whole 300000 or so of us?

No you're ok, he just wants shot of the 299,999.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

jhegarty wrote: »
    You have a choice of nightclub , but not of passport office.

Don't go to the nightclub it will shut down and those people will be out of a job. The same doesn't apply to the passport office.

The passport office arent alloweed to hire anymore staff when it gets busy...its busier than ever with fewer staff and they're making less money to boot.
    If a niteclub had more customers,thier profits would increase and they'd get more staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

I must admit listening to the stories the poor people had to tell i was so :mad:, theres a revolution brewing people, people are not going to be pushed around and treated like crap anymore by lazy imcomptent overpaid public servants.

You think its easy for the rest of us to watch? Many of us want nothing to do with these tactics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Degsy wrote: »
    The passport office arent alloweed to hire anymore staff when it gets busy...its busier than ever with fewer staff and they're making less money to boot.
    If a niteclub had more customers,thier profits would increase and they'd get more staff.

Fecking off home early doesn't help. I'd like to see nightclub staff trying to shut a place down at 12am and then expect to still get paid for the hours they didn't work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

murf313 wrote: »
    yeah those filthy public servants, how dare they strike. i bet they're eating babies on all their tea breaks as well.......

ah now we're scum but we wouldn't be eating babies..........not without a bit of jam or something on them anyways :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

If a nightclub member stopped working because the club was "too busy", they'd be out the door pretty sharpish. That's the difference with the public sector - when they have to get the finger out, they throw a strop because they know they'll get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,362 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

This is what they get for showing Some Mothers Son on TG4 last night. I suppose the passport staff can be lucky they didn't show Falling Down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liveline is rising up! Cracking radio.
    I suppose the passport staff can be lucky they didn't show Falling Down.

ITV4 on Thursday.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Could the people in Dublin who urgently need a passport get one in the Cork passport office? You can drive down there is about three hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

mike65 wrote: »
    Liveline is rising up! Cracking radio.

ITV4 on Thursday.

:D That union guy is being laid into right now by a caller, fair play to her.

Stinicker wrote: »
    Could the people in Dublin who urgently need a passport get one in the Cork passport office? You can drive down there is about three hours.

Do the Dubs not need a passport to get into Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hunger strike? Muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Carolyyn

The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

What an uninformed ignorant opinion. Does your world view also cover firefighters, nurses, doctors, teachers, social workers, etc?
    You'd be much smarter to direct your energy and anger at your local politicans who represent the government that are setting all workers up to fight each other based on a public / private sector divide. The "divide and conquer" tactic is working spectacularly well for them serving as a convenient distraction from their own failings to do anything about unemployment
    Most of the people working in the Passport Office are lowly paid clerical workers earning under €30,000 a year, many rearing families and paying Dublin price mortgages. They are very angry at being scapgoated in the last budget with a whopping 5% levy while no such penalty was applied to the private sector.
    Finally be very careful about dismissing unions and referring to them as "scum". Unless you are an employer yourself you may very well need them as you stand your ground against an abusive or bullying boss in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

Don't troll in here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 768 ✭✭✭6ix

Like many jobs, there have been layoffs where I work. I have to do more work, and I'm paid 10% less for it. The difference is that I can't throw a strop and not do my job. If I don't get on with it, I'll be fired. The passport office people have the luxury of knowing their job is safe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

super-rush wrote: »
    Don't troll in here again.

How can anyone defend overpaid workers in our public service? Our Public and civil service is split between the lazy useless PS elite who get far too much pay the guys on the coal face, like nurses etc. Trade Unions only ever cause trouble and listening to Joe and to hear they have decided to only give passports to those who have a death in the family.

I think one thing this raises is why we need both National ID cards and why we should join schengen.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

If a nightclub member stopped working because the club was "too busy", they'd be out the door pretty sharpish. That's the difference with the public sector - when they have to get the finger out, they throw a strop because they know they'll get away with it.

No,its because thier workload has gone up and thier wages have come down to bail out the corrupt bastards in the private sector such as bankers and property developers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,501 ✭✭✭✭Slydice

Trouble?

Big Trouble?

In Ireland?

Are ye féicin jokin me?

Ireland wouldn't shift it's arse when it priests were becoming really familiar with it or bankers were having a good ole time with it.

Trouble... Nah

There'll be féic all trouble.

This is Ireland after all.

We're all Irish.

We wouldn't lift a finger.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Carolyyn wrote: »
    Most of the people working in the Passport Office are lowly paid clerical workers earning under €30,000 a year, many rearing families and paying Dublin price mortgages.
    30k is actually a good wage for the workload and benefits for a clerical officer. It's not lowly paid.
    They are very angry at being scapgoated in the last budget with a whopping 5% levy while no such penalty was applied to the private sector.
    5% whopping? Also it wasn't a levy - it was a pay cut. The budget before was the levy...

There seems to be the notion at times that the PS/CS are the only people who've had a pay cut in any shape or form! Very frustrating.
    Finally be very careful about dismissing unions and referring to them as "scum". Unless you are an employer yourself you may very well need them as you stand your ground against an abusive or bullying boss in the future.
    I think you'll find most private sector employees aren't a member of a union and so won't be using them at any time in the near future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Do the Dubs not need a passport to get into Cork?
    No they just need to be drugged, bound and gagged like everyone else that needs to go to Cork

No,its because thier workload has gone up and thier wages have come down to bail out the corrupt bastards in the private sector such as bankers and property developers.

I think you'll find that most people are working harder these days for less money, but most don't have the luxury of working to rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 178 ✭✭eirmail

I bet you all the union leaders have valid passports, they might have got in and renewed them a couple of months ago if they had something coming up.

Rest assured though, of the 40,000 waiting to be processed there will be nurses and teachers amongst them. If some nurse misses her honeymoney this easter do you think the union leaders would care? not a chance.

eirmail wrote: »
    I bet you all the union leaders have valid passports, they might have got in and renewed them a couple of months ago if they had something coming up.

Rest assured though, of the 40,000 waiting to be processed there will be nurses and teachers amongst them. If some nurse misses her honeymoney this easter do you think the union leaders would care? not a chance.

Whats going on here then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

How can anyone defend overpaid workers in our public service? Our Public and civil service is split between the lazy useless PS elite who get far too much pay the guys on the coal face, like nurses etc. Trade Unions only ever cause trouble and listening to Joe and to hear they have decided to only give passports to those who have a death in the family.

I think one thing this raises is why we need both National ID cards and why we should join schengen.

There are ways of getting your point across without calling people scum.

I think you'll find that most people are working harder these days for less money, but most don't have the luxury of working to rule.

most being more than 50 percent?

So more than 50 percent of the working population have taken pay cuts have they?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Fianna f***ing fail must be busting their hole laughing, Joe bloggs v Joe bloggs and not a word about the devious malcontents who set all this in motion:mad: