Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Big Trouble Brewing in the Passport Office.

• 22-03-2010 2:08pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Just on liveline now, it appears all war is breaking out at thge passport office with one woman going on hunger strike and others are not going to leave the building until they get there passports. People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just on liveline now, it appears all war is breaking out at thge passport office with one woman going on hunger strike and others are not going to leave the building until they get there passports. People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.
    I don't really blame them, they've probably already laid down the best part of grand for their holiday and are set to lose all their money and holidays due to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.

Business as usual so - hardly newsworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭BLACKEN

REVOLUTION!!!! John get me gun!!!................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

Stinicker wrote: »
    The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

LMFAO :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Talk to Joe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The whole 300000 or so of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

Business as usual so - hardly newsworthy.
    yeah those filthy public servants, how dare they strike. i bet they're eating babies on all their tea breaks as well.......

*yawn* more sensationalist bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I'm sure this won't go on much longer, once Joe Duffy has turned against you it's game over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I must admit listening to the stories the poor people had to tell i was so :mad:, theres a revolution brewing people, people are not going to be pushed around and treated like crap anymore by lazy imcomptent overpaid public servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't really blame them, they've probably already laid down the best part of grand for their holiday and are set to lose all their money and holidays due to this.

I wonder if those people would have any comeback.. I mean you pay a fee for your passport so you should expect to have the service provided for you

heard a guy on the radio yesterday who was going to be unable to attend a relatives funeral because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

the queue was pretty big earlier - didn't look like anyone was pi$$ed off or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wonder if those people would have any comeback.. I mean you pay a fee for your passport so you should expect to have the service provided for you
    You'd think so, especially on the fast track option that cost what is it €70? Probably not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Finally standing up for ourselfs. good see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I must admit listening to the stories the poor people had to tell i was so :mad:, theres a revolution brewing people, people are not going to be pushed around and treated like crap anymore by lazy imcomptent overpaid public servants.

so its just gonna be a kinda royal rumble.... public sector workers against the rest of us....or will some of the underpaid/overworked public servants jump ship.

I will watch from the sides if you dont mind (not a big fan of violence) ..... I can sell tickets... that'll get us out of the recession...sell tickets to other countries to view the mass brawl..... huge fight removes plenty of people and we get money in selling tickets to view it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm trying to apply for a passport at the moment but my first application was rejected due to glare on my glasses. Thank **** I haven't booked the flights already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Tempted to go down there for the craic.

This hunger strike nonsense has to stop, it's not relevant.

I'm trying to apply for a passport at the moment but my first application was rejected due to glare on my glasses. Thank **** I haven't booked the flights already.

Why are your glasses angry?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I was in a nightclub recently where i had to pay an extortionate fee to gain entry and wait for long periods at the bar to get served drink.
    Furthermore,none of the people who served me appeared either very efficient or very mannerly.
    This private sector and its employees are a disgrace...we should stop spending our money in thses places.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Tempted to go down there for the craic.

This hunger strike nonsense has to stop, it's not relevant.

I'm going on hunger strike until I get my dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Why are your glasses angry?

They don't like having their picture taken. My glasses are very insecure.

Degsy wrote: »
    I was in a nightclub recently where i had to pay an extortionate fee to gain entry and wait for long periods at the bar to get served drink.
    Furthermore,none of the people who served me appeared either very efficient or very mannerly.
    This private sector and its employees are a disgrace...we should stop spending our money in thses places.

Well, if nightclubs were funded by public taxes, you might have a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,441 ✭✭✭jhegarty

You have a choice of nightclub , but not of passport office.

Don't go to the nightclub it will shut down and those people will be out of a job. The same doesn't apply to the passport office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

**** sake, what is it with hunger strikes!!

Get fired...hunger strikes

No passport... hunger strikes

Shreddies...hunger strikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

Jaysus! A hunger strike. Awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

cause it worked for Sands

O wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

You can get your passport through the post office, think it's about €5 extra, but no queing involved, just send off your details in an envelope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Shutting down the passport offices is a good strategy for industrial action. You don't want to give the people who pay your wages the option of emigrating if they decide enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I really hope there will be a picture released of the hunger stiker and that they will be morbidly obese. Please God, please.

SomeFool wrote: »
    You can get your passport through the post office, think it's about €5 extra, but no queing involved, just send off your details in an envelope.

It's still processed by the passport office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

SomeFool wrote: »

I'm pretty certain they are processed in the same place and there is a backlog of 40k passports at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

It's still processed by the passport office.

Yes, but at least you can then hunger stike in the comfort of your own home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

glad I got my passport just recently. I found the staff to be fast happy and helpful. cork btw.

I say that if the public sector want better pay they should nominate 10% of their fellow staff to be canned and the pay redistributed. same with taxis, they could vote for licenses to be revoked

Makes a change, it's usually just tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

kippy wrote: »
    The whole 300000 or so of us?

No you're ok, he just wants shot of the 299,999.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

jhegarty wrote: »
    You have a choice of nightclub , but not of passport office.

Don't go to the nightclub it will shut down and those people will be out of a job. The same doesn't apply to the passport office.

The passport office arent alloweed to hire anymore staff when it gets busy...its busier than ever with fewer staff and they're making less money to boot.
    If a niteclub had more customers,thier profits would increase and they'd get more staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

You think its easy for the rest of us to watch? Many of us want nothing to do with these tactics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,084 ✭✭✭✭Stark

The passport office arent alloweed to hire anymore staff when it gets busy...its busier than ever with fewer staff and they're making less money to boot.
    If a niteclub had more customers,thier profits would increase and they'd get more staff.

Fecking off home early doesn't help. I'd like to see nightclub staff trying to shut a place down at 12am and then expect to still get paid for the hours they didn't work.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,486 ✭✭✭miju

murf313 wrote: »
    yeah those filthy public servants, how dare they strike. i bet they're eating babies on all their tea breaks as well.......

ah now we're scum but we wouldn't be eating babies..........not without a bit of jam or something on them anyways :p

If a nightclub member stopped working because the club was "too busy", they'd be out the door pretty sharpish. That's the difference with the public sector - when they have to get the finger out, they throw a strop because they know they'll get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭Itsdacraic

This is what they get for showing Some Mothers Son on TG4 last night. I suppose the passport staff can be lucky they didn't show Falling Down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Liveline is rising up! Cracking radio.
    I suppose the passport staff can be lucky they didn't show Falling Down.

ITV4 on Thursday.

Could the people in Dublin who urgently need a passport get one in the Cork passport office? You can drive down there is about three hours.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

mike65 wrote: »
    Liveline is rising up! Cracking radio.

ITV4 on Thursday.

:D That union guy is being laid into right now by a caller, fair play to her.

Could the people in Dublin who urgently need a passport get one in the Cork passport office? You can drive down there is about three hours.

Do the Dubs not need a passport to get into Cork?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Hunger strike? Muppet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 125 ✭✭Carolyyn

What an uninformed ignorant opinion. Does your world view also cover firefighters, nurses, doctors, teachers, social workers, etc?
    You'd be much smarter to direct your energy and anger at your local politicans who represent the government that are setting all workers up to fight each other based on a public / private sector divide. The "divide and conquer" tactic is working spectacularly well for them serving as a convenient distraction from their own failings to do anything about unemployment
    Most of the people working in the Passport Office are lowly paid clerical workers earning under €30,000 a year, many rearing families and paying Dublin price mortgages. They are very angry at being scapgoated in the last budget with a whopping 5% levy while no such penalty was applied to the private sector.
    Finally be very careful about dismissing unions and referring to them as "scum". Unless you are an employer yourself you may very well need them as you stand your ground against an abusive or bullying boss in the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Don't troll in here again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭6ix

Like many jobs, there have been layoffs where I work. I have to do more work, and I'm paid 10% less for it. The difference is that I can't throw a strop and not do my job. If I don't get on with it, I'll be fired. The passport office people have the luxury of knowing their job is safe.

super-rush wrote: »
    Don't troll in here again.

How can anyone defend overpaid workers in our public service? Our Public and civil service is split between the lazy useless PS elite who get far too much pay the guys on the coal face, like nurses etc. Trade Unions only ever cause trouble and listening to Joe and to hear they have decided to only give passports to those who have a death in the family.

I think one thing this raises is why we need both National ID cards and why we should join schengen.