Big Trouble Brewing in the Passport Office.

• 22-03-2010 03:08PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭

Just on liveline now, it appears all war is breaking out at thge passport office with one woman going on hunger strike and others are not going to leave the building until they get there passports. People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Just on liveline now, it appears all war is breaking out at thge passport office with one woman going on hunger strike and others are not going to leave the building until they get there passports. People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.
    I don't really blame them, they've probably already laid down the best part of grand for their holiday and are set to lose all their money and holidays due to this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

People are being treated like animals according to some callers with the staff shuting the shutters in peoples faces, and taking tea breaks every 5 minutes:mad:.

Business as usual so - hardly newsworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 158 ✭✭BLACKEN

REVOLUTION!!!! John get me gun!!!................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,098 ✭✭✭Stinicker

The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭miju

Stinicker wrote: »
    The Public sector and unions are nothing but scum, everyone of them should be sacked and not be given any dole either.

LMFAO :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

Talk to Joe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,008 ✭✭✭✭kippy

The whole 300000 or so of us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭murf313

Business as usual so - hardly newsworthy.
    yeah those filthy public servants, how dare they strike. i bet they're eating babies on all their tea breaks as well.......

*yawn* more sensationalist bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

I'm sure this won't go on much longer, once Joe Duffy has turned against you it's game over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

I must admit listening to the stories the poor people had to tell i was so :mad:, theres a revolution brewing people, people are not going to be pushed around and treated like crap anymore by lazy imcomptent overpaid public servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

ScumLord wrote: »
    I don't really blame them, they've probably already laid down the best part of grand for their holiday and are set to lose all their money and holidays due to this.

I wonder if those people would have any comeback.. I mean you pay a fee for your passport so you should expect to have the service provided for you

heard a guy on the radio yesterday who was going to be unable to attend a relatives funeral because of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

the queue was pretty big earlier - didn't look like anyone was pi$$ed off or anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I wonder if those people would have any comeback.. I mean you pay a fee for your passport so you should expect to have the service provided for you
    You'd think so, especially on the fast track option that cost what is it €70? Probably not though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 36,031 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

Finally standing up for ourselfs. good see

EVENFLOW

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

I must admit listening to the stories the poor people had to tell i was so :mad:, theres a revolution brewing people, people are not going to be pushed around and treated like crap anymore by lazy imcomptent overpaid public servants.

so its just gonna be a kinda royal rumble.... public sector workers against the rest of us....or will some of the underpaid/overworked public servants jump ship.

I will watch from the sides if you dont mind (not a big fan of violence) ..... I can sell tickets... that'll get us out of the recession...sell tickets to other countries to view the mass brawl..... huge fight removes plenty of people and we get money in selling tickets to view it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

I'm trying to apply for a passport at the moment but my first application was rejected due to glare on my glasses. Thank **** I haven't booked the flights already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Tempted to go down there for the craic.

This hunger strike nonsense has to stop, it's not relevant.

I'm trying to apply for a passport at the moment but my first application was rejected due to glare on my glasses. Thank **** I haven't booked the flights already.

Why are your glasses angry?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

I was in a nightclub recently where i had to pay an extortionate fee to gain entry and wait for long periods at the bar to get served drink.
    Furthermore,none of the people who served me appeared either very efficient or very mannerly.
    This private sector and its employees are a disgrace...we should stop spending our money in thses places.

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Tempted to go down there for the craic.

This hunger strike nonsense has to stop, it's not relevant.

I'm going on hunger strike until I get my dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Why are your glasses angry?

They don't like having their picture taken. My glasses are very insecure.

Degsy wrote: »
    I was in a nightclub recently where i had to pay an extortionate fee to gain entry and wait for long periods at the bar to get served drink.
    Furthermore,none of the people who served me appeared either very efficient or very mannerly.
    This private sector and its employees are a disgrace...we should stop spending our money in thses places.

Well, if nightclubs were funded by public taxes, you might have a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,138 ✭✭✭jhegarty

Degsy wrote: »

You have a choice of nightclub , but not of passport office.

Don't go to the nightclub it will shut down and those people will be out of a job. The same doesn't apply to the passport office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,847 ✭✭✭bleg

**** sake, what is it with hunger strikes!!

Get fired...hunger strikes

No passport... hunger strikes

Shreddies...hunger strikes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 564 ✭✭✭2ygb4cmqetsjhx

Jaysus! A hunger strike. Awesome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

cause it worked for Sands

O wait...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

You can get your passport through the post office, think it's about €5 extra, but no queing involved, just send off your details in an envelope.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,377 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Shutting down the passport offices is a good strategy for industrial action. You don't want to give the people who pay your wages the option of emigrating if they decide enough is enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

I really hope there will be a picture released of the hunger stiker and that they will be morbidly obese. Please God, please.

SomeFool wrote: »
    You can get your passport through the post office, think it's about €5 extra, but no queing involved, just send off your details in an envelope.

It's still processed by the passport office.