Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Change the National Anthem, Amhrán na bhFiann??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

your opinion doesn't count.

And I suppose yours does?
    look tommorow when thousands will sing irelands call proudly. unlike the other anthem the people know the words ;)

Ah, so this how you deal with not knowing the words of the national anthem. I bet you're a great craic at parties.

"Right lads, turn off this Michael Jackson bollocks, I don't know the words. Instead, we're going to sing Material Girl by Madonna."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 345 ✭✭Randy Shafter

your opinion doesn't count. look tommorow when thousands will sing irelands call proudly. unlike the other anthem the people know the words ;)

Who let the troll out of its cage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I'm not patriotic at all but I really like our anthem, particularly the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Now this should be our new national anthem:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Who let the troll out of its cage?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Celtic_Tiger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

I don't care about the national anthem, or rugby, or any sports. The only thing I take issue with is this:
    Gerard.C wrote: »
    We have one of the greatest anthems in the world, one that is enriched with history and pride. It is an honor to sing it everytime I do, and anyone who isn't proud to sing it is an ignorant pig.

Then...
    Not nearly enough people are as proud to be irish as they should be these days.

It goes on...
    It's about time some people get a bit of national pride in themselves, they might even feel better about things if they do!

I have no interest in patriotism. I find it a meaningless and potentially dangerous concept. You can be proud of people and their achievements but I fail to see how where your mother was when she gave birth bares any relevance on this pride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,680 ✭✭✭Tellox

YOUR OPINIONS ARE INVALID

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

Those Nazi's had a great anthem!

/godwinzz

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,550 ✭✭✭Min

i think the anthem should be irelands call becoz it has more emotion and means more :)

I can't stand that crap.

I admire the players who don't sing it. It belongs in the grave with the Celtic Tiger, property speculators and ours hopes of being in the 2010 world cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Come back netwhizkid - all is forgiven...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

Isn't changing the anthem because of a **** political party making that party more important than the anthem?

That's arse backwards.

We have a fantastic anthem, second only to the French anthem for angrying up the blood :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,284 ✭✭✭Gerard.C

Antbert wrote: »
    I don't care about the national anthem, or rugby, or any sports. The only thing I take issue with is this:

Then...

It goes on...

I have no interest in patriotism. I find it a meaningless and potentially dangerous concept. You can be proud of people and their achievements but I fail to see how where your mother was when she gave birth bares any relevance on this pride.

First of all, why even bother to break up my one quote into 3 parts? Thats kinda sad.

Secondly, finding patriotism dangerous, in 2010? What is your idea of patriotism? Burning Union Jacks in the middle of London to stick it to the brits or something?

Its not just about where someone was born, to think that is just silly. I have grown up in Ireland, learning the History of my ancestors and elders in my family. We have every right to be proud to be from Ireland.

Patriotism doesnt take over my life - in fact, its probably insignificant in fairness. But, I am very proud to be irish, and I wont listen to some snot nosed response from someone "taking issue" with it. How could you possibly take issue with someone being proud to be from their home country?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

patriotism is the last refuge of a scoundrel. are you a scoundrel gerardc?

Oh I am yeah. A big mad huge scoundrel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,252 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

dlofnep wrote: »
    Ivan Drago for president?
    Always prefer the Hunt for Red October version myself:

Great stuff :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

Considering it's our national anthem, not very many people seem to know all the words too well!
    I've noticed on many occasions that people from other countries will blast out their anthem proudly ... where as Irish people will do the same, but forget half the words, make them up or improvise.
    Perhaps that's because it's in Irish, which a large percentage of people forget after they leave school

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,040 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

What about this? You wont have to worry about people forgetting the words.

Yeah, but you will have to worry about a load of scangers going around screaming "Adrian" and punching random passers-by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Yeah, but you will have to worry about a load of scangers going around screaming "Adrian" and punching random passers-by.

Doesn't that happen anyway?

They scream Adrian before doing it? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭O Riain

rugbylover guy how old are you? you cant be above 14 if you like Irelands call the song is too cheesy to be taking seriously, even the yanks would be laughin at that one.
    As for Amhran na bhFiann it is our national anthem and was written when we became a nation once again after a long struggle, it was penned to represent this struggle and what it meant to gain our independence.
    It is not the fault of the anthem that the people in the country do not know the words, that is their own shame and to change it would be to embarrass ourselves, our country and our proud history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 452 ✭✭Aldito

Ireland's call was only written to accomodate prods up north...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Seloth

Ok this thread is an epic fail.

Just because somthing means somthing now dosent mean it always will.Political partys rise and fall,change their attitude.You know the Democracts in the USA...Obamas party((For those who dont know))Where seen as how Republicans((John McCain)) are seen today.

Tis like removing a swastika from any relgiouse building,art or stautes etc because of its use of the Nazi for 20-30 years despite being around for 5,000 years as a symbol of peace.

Jaysus this Anti FF bs is starting to get ridiculouse lads...when I saw the "Is it time for us to revolut" thread I thought that was bad...but this is jsut silly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

chin_grin wrote: »
    Nah, this.

This is the funniest thing i've seen in ages.
    D4RK ONION wrote: »
    "Gap of danger" apparently.
    Is that something like that barney them 300 Greek lads had ?
    nobody cares about you lot. your the type who suddenly become rugby fans when 6 nations rolls around
    Ross O 'Carroll-Kelly ?
    johngalway wrote: »
    We have a fantastic anthem, second only to the French anthem for angrying up the blood :D
    See this is my only real problem with national anthems in general. They are an outdated concept from old europe before we discovered beaurocracy to stop us killing each other. Nationalism is a dangerous concept imho. As against that as others pointed out veryf few understand the words so lets just leave it as it.
    They scream Adrian before doing it? :eek:

lol - would be good if we trained them to do this - at least you would have warning and could duck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

Amhrán na bhFiann is grand, nice anthem rhymes and all.

Ireland's call is shite, simple as that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Kaiser2000 wrote: »
    Always prefer the Hunt for Red October version myself:

Great stuff :)

What planet are you on?......... Zog? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Antbert

Gerard.C wrote: »
    First of all, why even bother to break up my one quote into 3 parts? Thats kinda sad.
    Sad how? It highlighted my point.
    Secondly, finding patriotism dangerous, in 2010? What is your idea of patriotism? Burning Union Jacks in the middle of London to stick it to the brits or something?
    I dunno, is that your idea of patriotism? In case I wasn't clear the first time, what with my breaking your post into 3, I'll clarify where I get the "dangerous patriotism" idea from:
    Anyone who isn't proud to sing it is an ignorant pig.

And...
    Not nearly enough people are as proud to be irish as they should be these days.
    Should be? Why should I be proud to be Irish? I can be proud of some Irish people, but why should I be proud to have been born in Ireland? (I wasn't even born here, but that's irrelevant).

Its not just about where someone was born, to think that is just silly. I have grown up in Ireland, learning the History of my ancestors and elders in my family. We have every right to be proud to be from Ireland.
    I'm not denying you the "right". I just think it's a pointless sense of pride.
    Patriotism doesnt take over my life - in fact, its probably insignificant in fairness. But, I am very proud to be irish, and I wont listen to some snot nosed response from someone "taking issue" with it. How could you possibly take issue with someone being proud to be from their home country?
    See above. In case I was unclear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭seekers

Patriotism is love of ones own country, something which has fallen out of fashion, in the past people died for it. now it is about pride in ones own place in the country. people put in enormous effort in preserving the environment, cleaning towns and villages, preserving our traditions, playing our games. Singing our songs including the national anthem and most important, speaking our language

Antbert wrote: »
    Sad how? It highlighted my point.

I dunno, is that your idea of patriotism? In case I wasn't clear the first time, what with my breaking your post into 3, I'll clarify where I get the "dangerous patriotism" idea from:

And...

Should be? Why should I be proud to be Irish? I can be proud of some Irish people, but why should I be proud to have been born in Ireland? (I wasn't even born here, but that's irrelevant).

I'm not denying you the "right". I just think it's a pointless sense of pride.

See above. In case I was unclear.

Haha, and thats me done with you....