Childhood Dreams & Wishes That Didn't Come True?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭dammitjanet

Giselle wrote: »
    I wanted to be the pink Power Ranger.

It didn't happen.

Ah the days when they were just power rangers, not super ninja mutant deadly power rangers who ride bikes and stuff...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

When I was younger I convinced myself that i wasn't from earth and that one day my own "race" would come and take me.

This obviously never came true and i found out in later years that being double jointed was not a charactaristic of aliens!

Also I wanted to be the green power ranger, that turned into the white one in the movie!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

I never got a blow job off Kylie Minogue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

orourkeda wrote: »
    I never got a blow job off Kylie Minogue, no matter how many times I cut out her mouth in posters of her

FYP:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I always wanted a Furby. Infact I would still love to have one, but I don't think they make new ones any more.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4tYmlO9sg8&feature=related

Funny grumpy Furby
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KY__ig0xeY&feature=related

Furby Tells a story
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNNAAT9Xye8&feature=related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Ah the days when they were just power rangers, not super ninja mutant deadly power rangers who ride bikes and stuff...

A power ranger who was a super-mutant-ninja-bike-riding-alien would have been good too.

Dammitjanet! Love that name!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

I always wanted a Furby. Infact I would still love to have one, but I don't think they make new ones any more.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4tYmlO9sg8&feature=related

Funny grumpy Furby
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KY__ig0xeY&feature=related

Furby Tells a story
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zNNAAT9Xye8&feature=related

You can still have a Furby if you're a good girl (or boy) and have a paypal account!

http://shop.ebay.co.uk/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m38.l1313&_nkw=Furby&_sacat=See-All-Categories

Furby's love Ebay. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

You can still have a Furby if you're a good girl (or boy) and have a paypal account!

http://shop.ebay.co.uk/?_from=R40&_trksid=p3907.m38.l1313&_nkw=Furby&_sacat=See-All-Categories

Furby's love Ebay. :pac:

Did a google search just there, and there's even a Furby adoption agency!Ha Ha.:D
    http://www.adoptafurby.com/
    The original were my favorite, but I'd say most probably aren't working now as they're so old, wish they re-released them in shops.
    I remember a girl in primary brought one in and hid it in the press, the thing started talking away during the class and the teacher kept saying "who's talking/or making them noises?" we were in stitches-took her a while to cop it was a Furby hiding in the press!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

A Herrrugh Cock :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭chocgirl

I wanted this snowman that you could make icepops with, I forget it's name. I think they must have sold out around christmas time because my mother seemed to have an army of people telling me it didn't work. I wanted it for about 2 year:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

Still haven't made it into space and its looking less and less likely every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

I wanted a pair of x works but mammy said they were only for knackers so I got levis instead :(

Moral of the story - Mammys are always right!

careful now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭__________

I always wanted one of those "hoverboards" from back to the future, I even took the wheels off my skateboard to no avail. I was just left with a "board".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭Slidinginfinity

SadieSue wrote: »
    For some reason I always wanted a pop swatch ... I have no idea why now though, they are horrible looking LOL Damn you early 90's!

Had one, the feckers were huge and ULGY. Mine was all black with a white face.

All I really wanted for god only knows how many years was a Nintendo NES Mario /duck hunt combo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

__________ wrote: »
    I always wanted one of those "hoverboards" from back to the future, I even took the wheels off my skateboard to no avail. I was just left with a "board".

That movie is completely, totally and utterly responsible for a craze in Dublin (maybe elsewhere, don't know) called scutching.

This entailed kids waiting at traffic lights for cars, trucks, vans that had someting to grab on to and then doing so.

You would then hand on for dear life .. just like Marty McFly did.

Long story short, three broken ribs, left arm fractured in three places with full arm plaster and left wrist fractured with just forearm plaster.

Chest needed stitches and Barry McGuigan Sweatshirt ruined .. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Superpowers. I haven't given up hope yet.

(Sadly I'm not sure I'm joking)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

chocgirl wrote: »
    I wanted this snowman that you could make icepops with, I forget it's name. I think they must have sold out around christmas time because my mother seemed to have an army of people telling me it didn't work. I wanted it for about 2 year:mad:

This is what I was going to post...Mr Frosty! You could make slush puppy drinks with it too. I asked Santa for it a few years in a row but never got it. The stuff that came with it was full of E numbers and all that crap so I understand now why I didn't get it, but back then I thought Santa hated me :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I wanted a Millenium Falcon. No not the toy, I mean an actual real life-size Millenium Falcon.

In the inceasingly unlikely event that I ever become a billionaire I have a plan to buy a plot of land and build a full-size walkaround set like the one from Empire Strikes back.

http://www.blueharvest.net/images/falcon.shtml

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Rylan

I wanted to have "The Force". My older brother convinced me he had it and made me do all his housework so that I could get to level 1 ,2 ,3 ect of the force. He also convinced my friend too and we used to fight over who had more force. :p

Also wanted one of those watches that could switch off tele's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Rylan wrote: »
    I wanted to have "The Force". My older brother convinced me he had it and made me do all his housework

The force can have a strong influence on the weak-minded.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I wanted to be the pink Power Ranger.

It didn't happen.
    bazmaiden wrote: »
    Also I wanted to be the green power ranger, that turned into the white one in the movie!

I was a Power Ranger, I was the green one, my mate got white cos it was his idea, we even had the original Dragon Dagger and Saba swords!

My sisters are the pink & yellow rangers. Go Go Power Rangers.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=64047375#post64047375

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

This is what I was going to post...Mr Frosty! You could make slush puppy drinks with it too. I asked Santa for it a few years in a row but never got it. The stuff that came with it was full of E numbers and all that crap so I understand now why I didn't get it, but back then I thought Santa hated me :(

Oh, I always wanted one of those too :mad:

Had a Soda Stream for a week till I broke it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 6,485 Mod ✭✭✭✭silvervixen84

I really wanted a pre computer 2000 but never got one, and my best friend from school had one, so whenever I was at her house I'd ask if I could play with it. Was so envious of her at the time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,990 ✭✭✭Darksaga87

Me and a few friends tried to build a huge lader out of a tree house so we got get to the moon, we had to work at night time so we could see where the moon was and work towards it.

One day we tried to climb it (it was massive!!!) and the thing fell and we all landed on the ground all battered and brusied, walking away defeated we said,
    "One day we will make it there, we just need a better plan"

Never happened......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

I always wanted to be a guest on Parkinson and walk down the steps on his show and have a chat with the friendly grandfather-type figure :o Even though I've always known I'll never have a modicom of fame, a part of me died when I heard he was retiring...I knew my dream would never come true :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

the little plastic army men....had thousands...still in a bag in the attic.
    green=americans/grey=germans/yellow=chinese
    couldnt get enough of them.

i mainly wanted FREEDOM....just to be allowed up the town by myself etc... or go to the lake, which was 200 m from my house. used to go anyway, but if i got caught one of the parents would go down and cut the swing (it went out over the lake, quiet fun and dangerous) and id get me arse redened.

then after school each day we would go out and make a base, and do stuff in it until it was captured by the other group or burned....we used to have fights etc... with the others as well
    used to stop for a while when people would get their heads split open from stones or badly bruised.

ohhh and tresspassing in the nearby meat processing plant....lots of hooks etc to play with

just asked my dad what i wanted as a child....."a slap"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,833 ✭✭✭✭Armin_Tamzarian

OutlawPete wrote: »

I feel your pain brother, it was indeed the holy grail of BMXs.
    Got some second hand yellow and black yoke that didn't even have mag wheels instead.
    I was devastated.
    Worse though was when some little cnunt from down the street got one of these.
    God I hated that little bollix...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

i had 3 dreams as a kid be a rockstar, footballer or wrestler none of these came true im still quite devastated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭gonnaplayrugby

i wanted to be either a proper rugby or soccer player :)

my dream was to play for juventus!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

When we were driving to Cork once we passed a very interesting looking tunnel in the side of a road (in retrospect it was probably a drain, or even slightly more exciting, a badger's set) and I REALLY wanted to explore it (I was going through my Famous Five phase). My parents promised me we'd stop on the way back and I could rummage around inside (and find the evidence of some crime, or hidden gold of course) but naturally we never did :(