What does it cost you for a good night out?

• 15-03-2010 10:31PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Talking to a couple of mates recently and the cost of a good night came up.

one mate told me on a good Saturday night he could spend up to €200 for a night out on the Town.
    starting in one of his mater at about 5pm , 6 cans of beer, chippy on the way out to the Dart. off into Town for a few pints 5 or 6.. over for grub back to the pub 5 - 6 more various drinks.

bit of craic a few cig's and more small drinks and a couple of pints of larger. Off to the Night Club cost to enter €15 more drinks for the night and more craic. fall out the door of the Night Club over to Abra Cababra spend about a €10, que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

usually my dignity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

A bottle of booze and a condom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,065 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Wifey and i went to town for the first time in ages on Sat night as a few of my mates were over from Wales.

Free lift into town, went to the bar in Temple Bar pub, 1 pint of Guinness and a double whiskey and lemonade, 17.50!!! :eek::eek::eek:

Taxi back to Swords was 25 notes, total cost of evening hit around 200euro, won't be coming back into town again any time soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Dunno. There's usually a party at my gaff on the weekends, all weekend (fri-sunday evening), so I don't really do nights out anymore.

No point wasting money to listen to people shout at each other over crap music when I can have a load of fun with a load of people in the comfort of my own home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

starting in one of his mater

You got that arseways.
    The mater is where all partied out Dubs end up.
    Either that night..... or else 9 months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Night out starting at 5pm and eating 3 meals and drinking 25-30 odd drinks? Sounds like the same stories I heard every monday in school :rolleyes:

Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town. I like getting pissed the odd time, but ill do that in my house rather than pay a fortune to go listen to ****e music followed by verbal diarrhoea (god bless spell check) from the taxi driver on the way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

scudzilla wrote: »
    Wifey and i went to town for the first time in ages on Sat night as a few of my mates were over from Wales.

Which town?
    Stee wrote: »
    Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town.

Which town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,731 ✭✭✭✭entropi

scudzilla wrote: »
    went to the bar in Temple Bar
    Thats where it all went wrong...

A good night out for me can cost as little as 10euro, or as much as 50-60euro...it all depends on who I'm with and where:) For example I went to a gig on Fri night last, cost was around 25euro including ticket cost and I had a great night:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Stee wrote: »

Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town.
    Which town?

Bargaintown by the sounds of it.

♫ Hurry on down to Bargaintown ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Become a hermit-you save a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,755 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Which town?

Which town?

you know which, the only one worth mentioning.
    Dublin, of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

Well the taxi soiling charge is €120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Talking to a couple of mates recently and the cost of a good night came up.

one mate told me on a good Saturday night he could spend up to €200 for a night out on the Town.
    starting in one of his mater at about 5pm , 6 cans of beer, chippy on the way out to the Dart. off into Town for a few pints 5 or 6.. over for grub back to the pub 5 - 6 more various drinks.

bit of craic a few cig's and more small drinks and a couple of pints of larger. Off to the Night Club cost to enter €15 more drinks for the night and more craic. fall out the door of the Night Club over to Abra Cababra spend about a €10, que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

Being an alcoholic can be expensive.

Would be about €100-120 for a night in my local "town". A night in the local pub, about €50.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

A good night would be 40euro.. A normal enough night would be 25.. A cheap class night would be whatever price buckie and 6 cans was selling for that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

in a weird way the amount i spend seems to relate how good/bad the nightclub is. **** music in a **** nightclub-ill drink myself stupid. good music and i dont drink as much as im up dancing, not standing beside the bar doing rounds of ripoff shots because the place is so ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Which town?

Borris-in-ossory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭el oh el

never seem to be able to remember the next day... loads anyways...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

20 - 30 euros, if I'm on my own.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

That depends entirely if my good nights involve drink or drugs. If drugs, about 20 euro, if drink, about 40 euro, if sober, about 10 euro.

Considering I do exactly the same thing regardless, I do whichever I haven't tried in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

few bottles beforehand in the house - €10
    bus into city centre - 1.60
    4 or 5 pints in the pub - 20 odd

toss up between late bar and niteclub... either way, no more than 3 or 4 more pints.

taxi home - 6 or 7e if split.

between 50 and 60 would be the norm. I occasionally hit 70 if I buy a kebab....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Going into town least i could get away with would be €70 most would be anywhere up to €200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,574 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm in Madrid atm and it can be very cheap (for rich North Europeans).

I live next to the city centre so I can walk in and out but even the metro only costs a euro. Pre-drinking consists of a few litre bottles at €1.50 each, you can get them as cheap as €0.78 in some supermarkets. If you go to certain bars, you can get €1 beers which taste good. Most places, you can get glasses for about €2, tops. Then, when you head to a bar which plays music, you might pay €8 in and you'll get a free drink. If you go to a proper nightclub, you might pay as much as €20 in but get two free drinks. Then walk home or get a nightbus (€1.50) or wait til 6am and get the first metro for a euro.

Typically, I'll have two or three litre bottles here (less than €5), a few one euro beers (prob another €5) and then head to a disco and get my two whiskey and cokes with the the free drinks for about €20, at most. That's about €30 in total and it's enough drink for me. Then, I walk home. I love this city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Varies a lot for me, I try to keep it around €90. Hate seeing the empty wallet after a night out though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Most I ever spent in a night out was probably somewhere between 120 - 150 Euro, on an average night I spend about 50, less if I'm not drinking. Those include drinks, access to a night club ( if any ) and food afterwards and possibly a taxi as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Spent a few days in Berlin there and the booze flows at the merest touch of a euro. Twenty quid and you're in a gutter talking to your choice of dead celebrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'll spend whatever I have in my pocket, if it's €50 I'll get by on that, if it's €500 I'll probably manage to spend all that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wow OP, your mate eats a lot on a night out!

I could get away with €20, all depends on where I end up going.

I could have a fantastic time at a house party for €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

A few years ago,could easily spend €100+.Now with unemployment and a years backpacking behind me,thats down to between 20 and 50 and could still have a good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Holsten wrote: »
    Wow OP, your mate eats a lot on a night out!

Well he's a big lad with a big apatite and loves junk food drink and women!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Sometimes I've woken up with more money than I went out with (brother is a manager of a bookies and they were out for the grand national all paid for by work) and some nights I've spent €300. Some nights I've only had 10 bottles of stella for a euro each. They were all class nights. A good night out is what you and your friends your drinking with make of it not how much you spend or where you go or whatever.