Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What does it cost you for a good night out?

• 15-03-2010 9:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Talking to a couple of mates recently and the cost of a good night came up.

one mate told me on a good Saturday night he could spend up to €200 for a night out on the Town.
    starting in one of his mater at about 5pm , 6 cans of beer, chippy on the way out to the Dart. off into Town for a few pints 5 or 6.. over for grub back to the pub 5 - 6 more various drinks.

bit of craic a few cig's and more small drinks and a couple of pints of larger. Off to the Night Club cost to enter €15 more drinks for the night and more craic. fall out the door of the Night Club over to Abra Cababra spend about a €10, que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

usually my dignity

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

A bottle of booze and a condom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,959 ✭✭✭✭scudzilla

Wifey and i went to town for the first time in ages on Sat night as a few of my mates were over from Wales.

Free lift into town, went to the bar in Temple Bar pub, 1 pint of Guinness and a double whiskey and lemonade, 17.50!!! :eek::eek::eek:

Taxi back to Swords was 25 notes, total cost of evening hit around 200euro, won't be coming back into town again any time soon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭liah

Dunno. There's usually a party at my gaff on the weekends, all weekend (fri-sunday evening), so I don't really do nights out anymore.

No point wasting money to listen to people shout at each other over crap music when I can have a load of fun with a load of people in the comfort of my own home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

starting in one of his mater

You got that arseways.
    The mater is where all partied out Dubs end up.
    Either that night..... or else 9 months later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Night out starting at 5pm and eating 3 meals and drinking 25-30 odd drinks? Sounds like the same stories I heard every monday in school :rolleyes:

Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town. I like getting pissed the odd time, but ill do that in my house rather than pay a fortune to go listen to ****e music followed by verbal diarrhoea (god bless spell check) from the taxi driver on the way home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

scudzilla wrote: »
    Wifey and i went to town for the first time in ages on Sat night as a few of my mates were over from Wales.

Which town?
    Stee wrote: »
    Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town.

Which town?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

scudzilla wrote: »
    went to the bar in Temple Bar
    Thats where it all went wrong...

A good night out for me can cost as little as 10euro, or as much as 50-60euro...it all depends on who I'm with and where:) For example I went to a gig on Fri night last, cost was around 25euro including ticket cost and I had a great night:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Stee wrote: »

Night out for me would rarely break 50 quid if I go to town.
    Which town?

Bargaintown by the sounds of it.

♫ Hurry on down to Bargaintown ♫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Become a hermit-you save a fortune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Which town?

Which town?

you know which, the only one worth mentioning.
    Dublin, of course

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

Well the taxi soiling charge is €120

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Talking to a couple of mates recently and the cost of a good night came up.

one mate told me on a good Saturday night he could spend up to €200 for a night out on the Town.
    starting in one of his mater at about 5pm , 6 cans of beer, chippy on the way out to the Dart. off into Town for a few pints 5 or 6.. over for grub back to the pub 5 - 6 more various drinks.

bit of craic a few cig's and more small drinks and a couple of pints of larger. Off to the Night Club cost to enter €15 more drinks for the night and more craic. fall out the door of the Night Club over to Abra Cababra spend about a €10, que up for an hour and get a Taxi home €30 at about 4 am. Is He mad or wat?
    €200 for dat?

Being an alcoholic can be expensive.

Would be about €100-120 for a night in my local "town". A night in the local pub, about €50.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

A good night would be 40euro.. A normal enough night would be 25.. A cheap class night would be whatever price buckie and 6 cans was selling for that day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

in a weird way the amount i spend seems to relate how good/bad the nightclub is. **** music in a **** nightclub-ill drink myself stupid. good music and i dont drink as much as im up dancing, not standing beside the bar doing rounds of ripoff shots because the place is so ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

Which town?

Borris-in-ossory

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭el oh el

never seem to be able to remember the next day... loads anyways...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Stephentlig

20 - 30 euros, if I'm on my own.

Pax Christi
    Stephen <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,892 ✭✭✭ChocolateSauce

That depends entirely if my good nights involve drink or drugs. If drugs, about 20 euro, if drink, about 40 euro, if sober, about 10 euro.

Considering I do exactly the same thing regardless, I do whichever I haven't tried in a while.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

few bottles beforehand in the house - €10
    bus into city centre - 1.60
    4 or 5 pints in the pub - 20 odd

toss up between late bar and niteclub... either way, no more than 3 or 4 more pints.

taxi home - 6 or 7e if split.

between 50 and 60 would be the norm. I occasionally hit 70 if I buy a kebab....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 499 ✭✭Beanmachine

Going into town least i could get away with would be €70 most would be anywhere up to €200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,336 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

I'm in Madrid atm and it can be very cheap (for rich North Europeans).

I live next to the city centre so I can walk in and out but even the metro only costs a euro. Pre-drinking consists of a few litre bottles at €1.50 each, you can get them as cheap as €0.78 in some supermarkets. If you go to certain bars, you can get €1 beers which taste good. Most places, you can get glasses for about €2, tops. Then, when you head to a bar which plays music, you might pay €8 in and you'll get a free drink. If you go to a proper nightclub, you might pay as much as €20 in but get two free drinks. Then walk home or get a nightbus (€1.50) or wait til 6am and get the first metro for a euro.

Typically, I'll have two or three litre bottles here (less than €5), a few one euro beers (prob another €5) and then head to a disco and get my two whiskey and cokes with the the free drinks for about €20, at most. That's about €30 in total and it's enough drink for me. Then, I walk home. I love this city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,904 ✭✭✭cian1500ww

Varies a lot for me, I try to keep it around €90. Hate seeing the empty wallet after a night out though :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Misty Chaos

Most I ever spent in a night out was probably somewhere between 120 - 150 Euro, on an average night I spend about 50, less if I'm not drinking. Those include drinks, access to a night club ( if any ) and food afterwards and possibly a taxi as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Spent a few days in Berlin there and the booze flows at the merest touch of a euro. Twenty quid and you're in a gutter talking to your choice of dead celebrity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'll spend whatever I have in my pocket, if it's €50 I'll get by on that, if it's €500 I'll probably manage to spend all that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Wow OP, your mate eats a lot on a night out!

I could get away with €20, all depends on where I end up going.

I could have a fantastic time at a house party for €20.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

A few years ago,could easily spend €100+.Now with unemployment and a years backpacking behind me,thats down to between 20 and 50 and could still have a good night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

Holsten wrote: »
    Wow OP, your mate eats a lot on a night out!

Well he's a big lad with a big apatite and loves junk food drink and women!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Sometimes I've woken up with more money than I went out with (brother is a manager of a bookies and they were out for the grand national all paid for by work) and some nights I've spent €300. Some nights I've only had 10 bottles of stella for a euro each. They were all class nights. A good night out is what you and your friends your drinking with make of it not how much you spend or where you go or whatever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭__________

About 400-17-40-25-46 38 HUTT HUTT!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

I spend about €100-€120 when I go out.
    Well the taxi soiling charge is €120

Well worth it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I'd generally spend €30-€50, including taxis, drinks and entry to wherever I'm going. I rarely go out without pre-drinking, and dont have too many drinks wherever I go. It's much better that way. The only times I'd spend more than that is if I go to the pub straight from work or college. I try to do that as little as possible!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I cant remember what a good night out is, let alone what it would cost. My current riveting social life currently costs me around 70 quid. Alot of that is taxi money.:mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭Doubs

From Killarney, night could cost anything between 60-120 quid depending on how giddy things get.

Moved to London last year & rarely spend more than £60/70 on a night out in what is apparently one of the world's most expensive cities - the price of drink at home is ridiculous.

In fact, the price of the majority of things back home is ridiculous! Happy I decided to leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

Agricola wrote: »
    I cant remember what a good night out is, let alone what it would cost. My current riveting social life currently costs me around 70 quid. Alot of that is taxi money.:mad::(

Yep, if I didn't have to get a taxi, a normal night out would be around 60 lids. I try to get a foreign driver, last time I got damo from dublin, I got an earache and a 25 euro taxi fare, with Jonny foreigner it was a quiet drive for 14 euro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭zonEEE

When i have money

2 bottles of wine (one for before and one for after) - 10 euro
    Bathsalts and plantfood - 30 euro
    Into nightclub - 10 euro
    Drink in night club -40 euro

Normal night out

Into nightclub - 10 euro
    Drink in night club - 10 euro

Going out can be rather expensive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,787 ✭✭✭g5fd6ow0hseima

Gram of MDMA - €70..... thats it. Oh yeah, taxi home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

Drinks before - 10
    Bus in - 1.50
    Entry - 10
    Drinks - 20
    Food 5-10
    Then walk home

I've managed to go clubbing in London for a tenner

Drink(bottle of white lightning) - 2
    Bus - 1
    Free entry
    Drinks 80p each
    Bus - 1

Oh yeah. Do a night on drugs, plant food 11 for a gram. Night sorted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭vicecreamsundae

ah white lightening!! i couldn't get over how cheap that was when i was in bristol.. drink so much. would end up having a wee glass with my cornflakes in the mornings too just cos it was cold and there was soo much of it haha.

my nights out are pretty cheap.
    we always predrink [tenner or less] and don't leave the house til around midnight. entry to club might be 5-7, [i dont really go to flashy places], usually drank enough by the time i get there, but might have a couple shots or drink..if there are drink deals i will go for them. spend about a tenner.
    always get a food after. another 5-6.
    and generally walk home.
    can do it for 20-30. well, can do it for less if i'm broke, and still have a great time. might have spent about 50 once or twice if i was buying shots for people, but NEVER spent over 100 quid or anything near it.. i'd be sickened -would rather buy a dress!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

I used to spent a lot, esp cause I was mad for buying folks drink, but now I'm on the dole and gotta be cheap. I do the obvious (drink at home b4, drive bavaria, no taxi, no chipper). Plus there's 2 keys things to keep a night cheap:

1 - Keep a low tolerance. A bottle of jame will now last me a week instead of a night. Gotta do significant blocs of non-drinking days in between the drinking to keep yourself a cheap date.

2. Don't do rounds. I hate to say it, but rounds always make you spend more (and drink more) than you would alone. Will absolutely burn money away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

zonEEE wrote: »
    When i have money

Into nightclub - 10 euro
    Drink in night club -40 euro

Normal night out

Into nightclub - 10 euro
    Drink in night club - 10 euro

Going out can be rather expensive

Are you Fr. Jack Hackett by any chance? BTW you can get a litre bottle of Toilet Duck for only €2.49 in Spar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Depends on how much the brazzer charges for the BJ at the end of the night

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Some nights I will spend €30. Others it could be up to €100.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

__________ wrote: »
    About 400-17-40-25-46 38 HUTT HUTT!!

Nobody could get away with a night that easy on the pocket, get it 'nobody';)........ah:o,coat please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭NoQuarter

definitely 100 at least!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

I judge a good night out by the company of who I'm with. I can't associate a figure with that.

Ususally it's a minimum €5 for the nitelink though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭Btwndeyes

Spent 15 Euro last night. snook myself and a litre of vodka into the club via bathroom window ^^.
    the 15 was for a chinese and then McD's for breakfast as we didnt actually make it home :):D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,571 ✭✭✭✭Frisbee

Generally between 30-50 euro.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

A plane ticket to Amsterdam.