is anyone else disgusted at this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

dotsman wrote: »
    I honestly don't think you understand NAMA.

Nobody has actually paid off anyone's debts. The debts have moved from the bank's balance sheets to NAMA's Balance sheets. The sole purpose of this was, rather than have a developer claim bankruptcy now and walk away from his/her debt, he/she can repay that debt over the life of NAMA (circa 10 years), thus he/she repays a lot more (ideally the full debt, with interest).

Do you honestly believe that they'll pay their debts in ten years? If you believe this then at best your incredibly optimistic and at worst living in a dream world. For God's sake read between the lines, NAMA is designed to support developers for another housing boom. This will happen according to Stephen Kinsella. What's wrong with letting these developers go to the wall, use ECB money to fund a proper recovery plan (investing in physical infrastructure etc) as opposed to saving the hides of the people that got us in this mess in the first place? If they were economically viable they wouldn't need state support like this. When times were good, they were happy to ignore the state (when it suited them) and build houses at artificially high prices. It's probably one of the worst economic policy decisions taken since DeValera's protectionism. It'll leave us no room to develop a real economy, just debt for the next thirty or forty years.

If you think I'm wrong about NAMA, what do you think about Joseph Stiglitz's criticism of the plan?
    "Countries which allow banks to go under by following the ordinary rules of capitalism have done fine. The US has let 100 banks go this year alone, as did Sweden and Norway in their crises." As well as commenting that in Ireland, "this bank bailout is a simple transfer from taxpayers to bondholders, and it will saddle generations to come. The only thing that might give you solace is that, as chief economist of the World Bank, we see this type of thing happening in banana republics all over the world. Whenever a banking crisis happens, the financial sector uses the turmoil as a mechanism to transfer wealth from the general population to themselves. I’ve been very disappointed to see that it has happened, not only in banana republics, but in advanced industrialised countries."
    Source: thepost.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭dotsman

El Siglo wrote: »
    Do you honestly believe that they'll pay their debts in ten years? If you believe this then at best your incredibly optimistic and at worst living in a dream world.
    Will every debt be repaid? No. Some developers will go to the wall. Those that survive, will survive by repaying their debts. I'd rather 80 cent to the euro over 10 years, than 30 cent to the euro today.
    For God's sake read between the lines, NAMA is designed to support developers for another housing boom. This will happen according to Stephen Kinsella.
    :confused:There's absolutely nothing in that article about NAMA. Kinsella's article appears to very much support the ideals of NAMA.
    What's wrong with letting these developers go to the wall,.
    They all go to the wall, we go to the wall. Weather you like it or not, too much of our economy became dependant on construction. I get the feeling you would rather have this country collapse, just to "get back at the developers" rather than see this country recover (and some/many of the developers survive).
    use ECB money to fund a proper recovery plan (investing in physical infrastructure etc) as opposed to saving the hides of the people that got us in this mess in the first place?
    What ECB money? If we renege on the debts already in place, who the hell would lend to us (besides the IMF).
    If they were economically viable they wouldn't need state support like this.
    Some are not economically viable and will go to the wall. Others will be economically viable in years to come if they can survive the downturn.
    When times were good, they were happy to ignore the state (when it suited them) and build houses at artificially high prices.
    And people were happy to pay these prices. And vote for politicians who supported this economic policy. And accept their tax reductions, And accept their wage increases.Over the past 10 years, this country was very happy to fcuk itself up in the name of short term profits.

It's probably one of the worst economic policy decisions taken since DeValera's protectionism.
    I agree. It was one of our worst economic policies of all time. But what's done is done. I'd rather fix the damage than just moan about it.
    It'll leave us no room to develop a real economy, just debt for the next thirty or forty years.
    There won't be an economy if we let the country go to the wall. Forget 30 to 40 years. We need to survive the next 3-4. Once stabilised, then we can look to the future. That's what NAMA is about - stabilising the economy. It's not a magic fix and won't turn the country around. It will, however, stop the current massive decline, draw a line in the sand and allow us to begin to go about growing the economy again.

dotsman wrote: »
    Will every debt be repaid? No. Some developers will go to the wall. Those that survive, will survive by repaying their debts. I'd rather 80 cent to the euro over 10 years, than 30 cent to the euro today.

:confused:There's absolutely nothing in that article about NAMA. Kinsella's article appears to very much support the ideals of NAMA.

If you read the article, he was talking about the next housing boom in 2020, which is what the gov't are banking on, save the banks and developers now, build 'em up again then. Honestly, is this not plausible? The "ideals of NAMA" isn't NAMA, I'm supportive of the ideals of Marxism, it doesn't mean that I want it.
    They all go to the wall, we go to the wall. Weather you like it or not, too much of our economy became dependant on construction. I get the feeling you would rather have this country collapse, just to "get back at the developers" rather than see this country recover (and some/many of the developers survive).

Do you think I'm that spiteful that I'd rather see our entire economy contract to the level of the 1930s just to "get back at the developers"? That is an absolutely retarded statement and is totally untrue. I know our economy was linked heavily with developers, that's why I'd rather see a break away from it. I'd rather see higher tax and pay higher tax to support actual economic growth and infrastructure, rather than stabilise a minority. Construction might have been big 2-3 years ago, it has significantly contracted to warrant some other alternative.
    What ECB money? If we renege on the debts already in place, who the hell would lend to us (besides the IMF).

Where do you think we're getting the money for NAMA from? Borrowed from Europe, but it's still our money (the state) who's borrowing it and we're the ones going to have to pay it back. Honestly, do you not think it's absolutely undemocratic to be using tax payers money to sub a private industry?
    Some are not economically viable and will go to the wall. Others will be economically viable in years to come if they can survive the downturn.

Yes but they're still receiving state support, they're private entities, they should all be subject to the market, it's capitalism and they jumped on that bandwagon when it suited.
    And people were happy to pay these prices. And vote for politicians who supported this economic policy. And accept their tax reductions, And accept their wage increases.Over the past 10 years, this country was very happy to fcuk itself up in the name of short term profits.

Yes, let's blame ourselves, it's really the people's fault and not the fault of unscrupulous banks and shoddy developers who were pushing out houses to beat the band. Also it wasn't any fault of the media or government, no there was no orthodox of "get on the ladder before it's too late".
    I agree. It was one of our worst economic policies of all time. But what's done is done. I'd rather fix the damage than just moan about it.

"What's done is done", we're being told to be positive but defeatist? I'm sick of hearing this line, it's just a cop out, what's done can be undone if we invest now in the proper infrastructure and not propping up a failed banking system. It's worked in Sweden, why can't it not work here.
    There won't be an economy if we let the country go to the wall. Forget 30 to 40 years. We need to survive the next 3-4. Once stabilised, then we can look to the future. That's what NAMA is about - stabilising the economy. It's not a magic fix and won't turn the country around. It will, however, stop the current massive decline, draw a line in the sand and allow us to begin to go about growing the economy again.

There will, because we can invest in actual industry now. It won't take 30 years, it could be done in less time. Example would be energy, if we invested in some nuclear energy and renewables, we'd have energy security at the cost of €30 billion. What company isn't going to be attracted to a country with not only low energy costs but energy security. Also ESB runs as a profit making semi-state body (i.e it has to make a profit) if it was fully public, then we'd change this legislation, take a hit on energy investment (i.e. not proift making, more profit supporting). Quick example, extremely effective according to Anthony Sweeney (another economist).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

Who cares about him, its all down to the gov who are dopes he should be jailed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

i snubbed an invite to glenda dog gilsons birthday aswell that night im suprised that didnt make the news to be honest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,916 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Still nice to see that even former Miss Worlds will put out for a degenerate gambler that's twice her age if they think they'll have some money thrown at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Dancor

She said her boyfriend was asleep when she tried to contact him in the early hours of the morning so they had arrived in Morocco by the time he got her messages.

He must feel like a tit. His misses fecking off with some bloke like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Glenda gilson's eyebrows freak me out... she always looks ****in surprised or somethan...

Why so serious surprised?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Sick fucking country. It's a fucking disgrace so it is, letting these creatures parade around the place with our fucking money while hospitals are closed, children are being taught in rat infested prefabs. I honestly don't know why we put up with this, I'm sick of it.

Now they are going on strike due to government cuts - ON THE DAY - when after FOUR years of waiting for an MRI scan for our child!
    http://www.rte.ie/news/2010/0309/pay.html

UN-FCUKIN' BELIEVABLE!!!

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 331 ✭✭Rookster

This is the world that Bertie created. All his buddies like Michael Fingleton,Sean Dunne, Johnny Ronan etc can swan around living the high life even though they are stone broke. The banks will not touch them because it is all one cosy cartel. It is an unjust country and the politicians are lucky that we are such a cowardly and spineless race of people. It would not happen in some countries.

Rookster wrote: »
    ...It would not happen in some countries.
    I dare one to try it in France.
    While not the perfect example of state stability, at least the public organise and protest more, making their opinions known more visibly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭DULLAHAN2

Biggins wrote: »
    Now they are going on strike due to government cuts - ON THE DAY - when after FOUR years of waiting for an MRI scan for our child!

UN-FCUKIN' BELIEVABLE!!!

Your Right that is unbelievable its a joke i think the unions have the country ruined

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,391 ✭✭✭fro9etb8j5qsl2

I don't know.. he has a face you could trust though

Yeah, if your idea of trustworthy was gerry adams and cruella de villes lovechild..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Because guns don't come cheap, and the banks aren't lending for such items, or any items for that matter.

knives, baseball bats and petrol are all quite affordable items though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 899 ✭✭✭djk1000

knives, baseball bats and petrol are all quite affordable items though.

Have you seen the price of petrol? You'll need a loan for that soon too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

Good man Johnny!
    fair play to him i say!

if i had his money i would fecking live it up too.
    let the little folk pay. it's their role in society to do so.

Biggins wrote: »

UN-FCUKIN' BELIEVABLE!!!

I've said it before and people are probably tired of me saying it, it's fucking disgraceful. Unions are like the government, fighting for scraps while the patient suffers. They're absolute gangsters, looking after themselves, when the times were good they were ready to roll over for the government like a well trained poodle. Now, when the chips are down, unemployment is rising all they care about is that measley 6% pay increase or whatever they've sought. I'm all about workers rights, but not to the detriment of patients care, why the fuck do they go into this field, is it for the money? Sickening even just reading that article. Regardless of pay increases they were once entitled to, regardless of the shitty management of hospitals, does primum non nocere mean nothing anymore or is that just for idealistic fools?
    Seriously I'm disgusted by this government, how in the name of God can any human being with some level of compassion do this to those they're supposed to represent? Economy is one thing, but I don't think I'm alone in saying that the life of people matters more. Albeit the health care they deserve, the education they should receive and the employment opportunities that should be afforded them. It's amazing how much we're letting these bastards shit on us, while An Taoiseach spends €9 million on "Advisers", how many hospital beds or staff could that have paid for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 milnerrm

self-obsessed morons...absolutely disgusted by them!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

An Taoiseach spends €9 million on "Advisers", how many hospital beds or staff could that have paid for?

it would have kept the 3 wards open at the children's hospital, Crumlin, which were closed last year because they were short 9.5 million (ps. the famous voting machines cost 50 million + storgae @ 1 million per annum)
    ITS TIME TO GET THIS SHOWER OUT!

it would have kept the 3 wards open at the children's hospital, Crumlin, which were closed last year because they were short 9.5 million (ps. the famous voting machines cost 50 million + storgae @ 1 million per annum)
    ITS TIME TO GET THIS SHOWER OUT!

I'd love to get them out, but what's the alternative to a douche? A turd sandwich! It's vexing to think that what essentially would cost feck all (policy advice from leading academics, through reading their publications) €9 million is wasted, but at least the parents and children of Crumlin Children's Hospital can take solace in the fact that our 'glorious leader' understands what climate change is.:rolleyes: I really hate this government.

Speaking of cuts... another side effect:
    MORE than 14,000 patients of a Dublin hospital have yet to be told if there is a question mark over their X-rays.
    It follows the revelation last night that nearly 58,000 X-rays in Tallaght Hospital in Dublin were not read by radiologists over a four-year period.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/thousands-still-in-the-dark-over-xray-scandal-2093462.html

The problem is this, they, the Mafia in the Dail, won't give the money to see that treatments are done right at the time but later when all of a sudden the shocking shortfalls and consequences become apparent and thus the effect they have had - THEN - they rush in with money they have marvellously found somewhere! Too little and always too late for the dead!
    The Health Service Executive (HSE) was also unable to say why it failed to make it public in December.
    We all bloody know why! They didn't want the world to know Harney (who is being VERY quite please note! Where is she AGAIN?) and they are bloody useless AGAIN!

Meanwhile Harney is staying quiet, very quiet having disappeared off the scene again - and perhaps trying yet again, to ride out the storm.
    SERIOUSLY - is there anyone in this country that thinks this woman deserves to keep her job?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭the_dark_side

No, I certainly dont... and what I fail to see is how some members of the Dail, of an aknowledged level of intelligence, seem to grind to a pace of non production. I saw her interviewed in footage from 198? and she seemed bright, enthusiastic, highly communicative and someone who you would have thought to be a high achiever. But years (and the media) have worn her... her spirit has dwindled and hasnt even forced a smile since around 1999...
    seriously, health should be run by health professionals,
    trade and employment should be run by people with senior management experience,
    transport should be in the hands of transport managers etc etc

No, I certainly dont... and what I fail to see is how some members of the Dail, of an aknowledged level of intelligence, seem to grind to a pace of non production. I saw her interviewed in footage from 198? and she seemed bright, enthusiastic, highly communicative and someone who you would have thought to be a high achiever. But years (and the media) have worn her... her spirit has dwindled and hasnt even forced a smile since around 1999...
    seriously, health should be run by health professionals,
    trade and employment should be run by people with senior management experience,
    transport should be in the hands of transport managers etc etc

Yeh but the front line there the other week with Bill Cullen and all that, there was an FF representative on who countered this argument saying "that's a technocracy and we live in democracy". Yes because democracy has worked out so well in this country...:rolleyes: I agree with you though, the country would be better run with people that know how to run it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Resurrect Michael Collins. Bang-and the dirt is gone.

I've been informed that Harney supposedly is in New Zealand.
    http://boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=64842091&postcount=21
    I suppose she is checking out the health service there for herself!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

There was me thinking she just vanished into fat air.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,193 ✭✭✭Eircom_Sucks

too many tossers on here making light of the diabolical situation were in , im with the op " why do we just lie down and accept whats being done " ???

look at Brian Cowen and Mary Harney ( both disgusting fcuking jokes ) harney the minister for health ???? she hasnt looked after her own health

and biffo , what a joke

there all brown enveloped back handers the lot of them.

he gets paid more than Barack Obama for gods sake and he aint even president , they take 7 weeks off for xmas i mean wtf , why not make them work for their money for once

we pay to help banks to then screw us for our mortgages

and 1 poster said before , in the boom irish people where happy to pay high prices for houses , utter tripe , we had no choice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭Kersh

while the a tens of thousands of people are paying exponentially high mortgages on property that has halved in value

They shoudnt have taken out huge mortgages of up to 50% of their take home pay. I've said it before, I partially (as in 30%) blame anyone who took out a €2500 a month mortgage on €5k or less take home pay :rolleyes::rolleyes:

If they had have said "you know what, that 2 bed mid terrace house in a Dublin slum is not worth €400,000, Im not paying what you are asking" we wouldnt be in as much trouble as we are.
    People bought these houses partially cos they were told it will be worth a million in 3 years, so are just as greedy as the developers.

And dont go saying "well the banks gave out the mortgage" cos if thats how you view it then here is a drink with arsenic in it... take a sup . . I bet you wouldnt ;)

Take note - - Im not defending Ronan, im just commenting on the excerpt of someones post above, which I have taken on its own.

Wife and I wait FOUR years for the following letter:
    (now it looks that because of strikes notified to be taking place, its not worth the paper its written on!
    You will appreciate/understand why I have removed identifying details of the child.

24ctq2s.jpg