Urban Legends & Superstitions?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭eddie the eagle

the girl in foxrock who loved her dog too much. on the night of her 18th birthday she arrived home. unknown to her all her family and friends were waiting in the dinning room for her to come home for a suprise party. she heads for kitchen, strips, gets a can of dog food and and rubs it all over herself inviting the dog to clean it off. after a long wait the guest go looking for her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

bazmaiden wrote: »
    Isn't there one about satanic messages when you play "Stairway to Heaven" backwards??

And

There is an urban myth that Paul MacCartney is dead, and was replaced by a lookalike
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stairway_to_Heaven

have a listen yourself, it's nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Never pick up a GHD on the street.....'tis the banshees so it is....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stairway_to_Heaven

have a listen yourself, it's nonsense.

Ye i think there is another one about a Black Sabbath track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Family rescue small dog while on holiday, bring it home, turns out to be large rat.
    If you left out made up Slim Fast, worms appeared the nest day. Worms that ate the food in your stomach and made you slim :rolleyes:
    Person bits into southern fried chicken, discovers large puss bubble(or half a puss bubble) mayo was actually puss.
    Woman driving alone, notices car coming up fast behind her, beeping horn, etc. She speeds up, other car keeps after her, everntually gets away, pulls in at petrol station, goes to buy some thing in shop, cashier notices person in her back seat/running away from car/sees knife and rope on back seat.
    If your hand was larger than your face, you had cancer.

Some people will believe any old ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

the girl in foxrock who loved her dog too much. on the night of her 18th birthday she arrived home. unknown to her all her family and friends were waiting in the dinning room for her to come home for a suprise party. she heads for kitchen, strips, gets a can of dog food and and rubs it all over herself inviting the dog to clean it off. after a long wait the guest go looking for her :D

I heard one where a boyfriend and girlfriend over in Clontarf came home from a nightclub and got naked but in the middle of the action she's on her knees and pukes, boyfriend gets a mop and cleans it up and then comes back up and starts sagging her from behind again.

Only, that's what she thought.

And they say dogs are a man's best friend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

A tale went around my secondary school when I was in my final year that a lad went over to his gf's place when her parents were out, they start having anal sex on her parents bed but a horrible accident happens when he pulled out and sh1t went all over the covers so he just legged it and left her to deal with it. We being the gullible fools we were believed it.

I realised it may not have been entirely true when I heard very similar stories among other people who claimed to know friends that this also happened to (usually the story goes that it happens on a new white couch and the family dog gets the blame :rolleyes:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Charco wrote: »
    A tale went around my secondary school when I was in my final year that a lad went over to his gf's place when her parents were out, they start having anal sex on her parents bed but a horrible accident happens when he pulled out and sh1t went all over the covers so he just legged it and left her to deal with it. We being the gullible fools we were believed it.

I realised it may not have been entirely true when I heard very similar stories among other people who claimed to know friends that this also happened to (usually the story goes that it happens on a new white couch and the family dog gets the blame :rolleyes:).

There's a fun variation (I heard it from a cousin whose friend claimed it happened to him) where it's the lady using some "aids" on the guy.

Or the drunk guy who goes home with a girl from a nightclub to wake up in a caravan in the middle of a halting site (with or without other family members now present in the caravan).

There's always the possiblity that at some stage, something similar did happen someone of course, but it probably didn't just happen to your mates barbers cousin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

That Kel from Kenan and Kel was dead, I was crushed.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

if you sit on a cold surface you will get farmers

or the blackrock college school trip up to the north. one of the lads scores a girl and she brings him back to a hotel. they get even more pissed from the mini bar and she persuades him to let her tie him up. enter the room a jonny adair type character with a penchant for jail love

or the modern day urban myth. girl gets into a taxi driven by a black driver. he tells her to sit in the front. up pops his mate from behind the back seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Guy goes back to girls house and has sex. Wakes up in the morning and sees that she is gone and so is his wallet, he then looks around and decides to take a dump on her bed. When he is about to leave girl comes back in with rashers, sausages and eggs for the breakfast.

Other one...

Trinity med students took a corpse out on the piss around Dublin and had a great laugh.

When I was small, Mother told me that if I made a face and the wind changed it would stick like that.

Opening Umbrella in the house very very bad luck. Also putting new shoes on the table was terrible.

Forgot one major one: "The call is coming from INSIDE the house!!" :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Three girls out on the tear, go to a burger bar. One eats a burger with loads of mayonnaise on it. Feels ill shortly after. Goes to hospital to get stomach pumped. Semen of 5 different men found in her stomach, despite her not having given a bloke a blow job before/in ages.

Snuff films; porno in which one of the actors is actually murdered on film. Huge urban legend.

DazMarz wrote: »
    Three girls out on the tear, go to a burger bar. One eats a burger with loads of mayonnaise on it. Feels ill shortly after. Goes to hospital to get stomach pumped. Semen of 5 different men found in her stomach, despite her not having given a bloke a blow job before/in ages.

Heard a variation of this - referring to a Chinese restaurant in Athlone that was allegedly shut down after a female customer fell ill shortly after eating there and was found to have the semen of 5/13/201 different men in her stomach. (I think snopes does a good debunking of this one - not specifically for Athlone though!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Lots of those stories came around after the people seen the scene in Trainspotting.

Lost count of fools telling me that a mate of theirs shat some broad's bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

DazMarz wrote: »

Heard a similar one about Elton John, apparently he had his stomach pumped and the semen of numerous men was found in there. Of course the obvious flaw is how one man's semen would be distinguished from another man's. Its not like the hospital was going to waste time going genetic testing on the whole lot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Remember a couple of years ago a email went around saying woman that had their drinks spiked were giving a tablet that was used on horses that would sterilize them so the rapist would not be collared if there was a pregnancy

Heard a similar one about Elton John, apparently he had his stomach pumped and the semen of numerous men was found in there. Of course the obvious flaw is how one man's semen would be distinguished from another man's. Its not like the hospital was going to waste time going genetic testing on the whole lot.

on a similar note, the singer from spandau ballet i think it was, had his stomach pumped and they found horse semen.

and dont forget the gerbil and richard gere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

The gyspy lady who cursed the doctors wife for calling the gypsy children pigs. The docs wife then had a child with a pigs head - and a statue is dedicated to the child on the grounds of Mercer's Hospital (closed now it was near Stephen's greeen). That's why you should never call anybody names because your children will have heads like pigs

Secondly the one about the girl who went to meet the boyfriends parents and while trying to be posh asked his parents where the powder room was (she was dying to use the loo). They directed her to the "powder room" which was just that - a sink and a mirror - no toilet. She then proceeded to pee in the sink - however the sink colapsed under her weight and she was rushed to hospital...

And finally the one with the big garden party - where one of the guests had to use the loo for a "number two" and it wouldn't flush. So he scooped up the offending object in his hand and launched it out the window - and it landed on the hostess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

deelite wrote: »
    And finally the one with the big garden party - where one of the guests had to use the loo for a "number two" and it wouldn't flush. So he scooped up the offending object in his hand and launched it out the window - and it landed on the hostess.

I heard a version of that one, he fecks it out the window and goes back down to find every one giving him the evil eye. Then his girlfriend points out the "object" that had landed on the glass roof of the conservatory they were dinning in.

An other story, lad in college, goes out and pulls this girl. Back to her place. ends up in the bedroom. Notices that there is none of the conventional covers on the bed but a rubber/plastic sheet. Goes to do the deed, and the young lady asks him if he would put this knotted rope up his ass and tell her when he is about to come. He says ok, and away they go. As he comes, she yanks the rope out, and he evacuates all over the bed. And she gets off at this. He goes and cleans up and gets the hell out of there.
    Heard that story off a couple of people who had gone to NUI Maynooth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭An tSaoi

In [your local nightclub], there are fellas going round surreptitiously injecting you with dirty AIDS needles!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

http://jeffmilner.com/backmasking.htm

Link to Stairway backwards and some other songs. Not really urban legends but pretty cool :P

'Another one bites the dust' saying 'it's fun to smoke marijuana' is another good one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭powerfade

Everyone has heard about the guy/girl who was on acid/mushrooms went off on his own, housemates come home and he tellls them he had found a Leprechaun/Gnome and had locked him under the sink/cupboard. The housemates just think he is off his head and go and take a look and he has a poor down syndrome kid/dwarf tied up ****ting themselves...True story...:p

Also the one about the college student who goes to Dublin zoo after a night out, the rest of the housemates come home and he has got a penguin in the bath...would have loved if that had been true!! Although on a slightly similar actually true theme, my buddy did steal a camel from the circus in our small town one night and walked it back the street as everyone was milling out the nightclub...funniest thing I and many other have ever seen, although lucky the carny folk didn't catch him!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Bolag_the_2nd

my mate tried to convince me that she saw a lump of raw liver climb up a bottle of milk, what a tool, however, i havnt been able to look at raw liver ever since :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

Being told when you were younger that if you crossed your eyes and then someone/something hit you on the head your eyes would be crosseyed... FOREVER!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,228 ✭✭✭epgc3fyqirnbsx

That if you could shake some salt on a rabbits tail you'd be able to catch him

I can imagine my granny now 'That'll keep the little ba$tard busy for a few hours'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭Dubs

Guy and gal are doing anal sex and all goes well. Next day the guy notices a lump on his will. puts it off for a few days but it doesnt go away. He goes to see a doctor. The doctor pulls the foreskin back to reveal a popcorn curl :eek:

And daddy long legs are the most poisonous spiders in the world but cant inject their venom into you because there fangs are too small... fang part is true i believe.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight