Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Urban Legends & Superstitions?

• 04-03-2010 4:11pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭

Did you ever believe something when you were young that turned out to be an Urban Legend?

I believed Stan Laural was Clint Eastwood's dad.

I believed some woman bought a KFC in O'Connell St and eat it in the Cinema and it contained a Rat. She then ran screaming into the lobby with blood running from her mouth.

All lies, damn lies :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

OutlawPete wrote: »
    Did you ever believe something when you were young that turned out to be an Urban Legend?

I believed Stan Laural was Clint Eastwood's dad.

I believed some woman bought a KFC in O'Connell St and eat it in the Cinema and it contained a Rat. She then ran screaming into the lobby with blood running from her mouth.

All lies, damn lies :mad:

when you see a bag buried in the ground thats where a banshee lived.. always avoided them as a kid when i saw them..

still do......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

saluting a magpie whenever you see one

and

Believed in jesus/god for a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

"Ireland is the envy of europe".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,712 ✭✭✭neil_hosey

bazmaiden wrote: »

still do it!! especially when driving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Heard the KFC one too except that it was a mouse and it was in Tallaght.

Or the one that punters were regularly bitten by rats in the Stella cinema in Rathmines (Dublin)*

*somebody will verify this now and make a show of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭petes

and

Aren't they superstitions and not urban legends though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

and

That's a superstition really, but I've changed the thread title to include them anyway .. say 'thanks Pete' ;)

Insurgent wrote: »

You beat me to it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

A friend told me there was a company in Germany that built spaceships and if I sent them money and a drawing they'd build it.
    I'm still not absolutely certain he lied...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

In before the unavoidable snopes.com link or mythbusters reference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

Was told when younger that Marilyn Manson was actually that dude Paul from the wonder years. You know Fred Savage's charector Kevins geeky mate......once I told was hard to not believe it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Mama Cass choking to death on a ham sambo was actually an urban myth wasn't it? I believed that for years and years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

My mum told me if I eat my crusts my hair would grow nice and curly.

It was only one of many, many lies, told to me for my 'own good'.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

that Marilyn Manson was the geeky kid in The Wonder Years...

Edit:Glad i wasnt the only one!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

There was this woman (in her 50s) where I lived as a kid that dressed like a goth and had long jet black hair and wore heavy make-up kohl eyes and cycled an old fashioned bike as kids we were terrified of her she hated kids and pretended to jinx us if we look straight at her

Anyway rumor has it that she had killed a child and buried him in her back garden and took local cats and skinned them to make cushions

As kids she was terrifing yet interesting we loved playing Knick Knack (to see who was not chicken) I can still remember walking up her drive heart pounding, cold sweat and my legs not working fast enough when I knocked and legged it

Poor woman was totally innocent but just because she looked and dressed different she became our local "celebrity" and we really must have tormented the life out of her................I feel bad now :(

neil_hosey wrote: »
    when you see a bag buried in the ground thats where a banshee lived.. always avoided them as a kid when i saw them...

My mother's side of the family in Monaghan, are all nuts with that Banshee sh*t.

When I was a kid I use to be sitting outside on the door step in the back of the beyond (compared to Dublin) and I'd be scared senseless with their stories.

They'd be going on and on about how when the woman up the road died a wee white woman was screaming her head off and that the night this other man died they heard the wails of a banshee.

They'd talk like that for hours.

They told me if I ever seen a comb lying on a road when someone was ill it was a banshee's warning.

Don't get me started on "The Knock" :rolleyes:

Or the fcuking "Death rattle".

Had a row with a cousin of mine in a hospital when he started talking about that, gives me the willies, it does.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

this is an urban legend, could be true, heard it when I was 14. apparently 2 girls with braces were found in the public toilets in naas stuck together by the braces on their teeth, actually thinking about it now it was prob untrue but at the time hearing anything lesbian related was a big deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

stovelid wrote: »
    Mama Cass choking to death on a ham sambo was actually an urban myth wasn't it?
    That's right. It was actually a chicken sambo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

Size doesn't matter = UL
    Washing hands after the toilet = Superstition

Insurgent wrote: »
    That's a superstition really, but I've changed the thread title to include them anyway .. say 'thanks Pete' wink.gif

thanks man d'oh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

traveller women can put a curse on you are give ya good luck. when I was a kid one of them(she was a customer in a shop) told me I was gonna have luck with the ladies at the weekend, it didnt work :(

Others I remember also was when Trading Places came out they said Jamie Lee Curtis was a Hermaphrodite.

I wouldn't have cared with those bazookas though.

I treasure my little clip of her closing the door on Dan Ackroyd as he looks at her in the mirror, never losing that url ;)

Also, Jim Morrison was a CIA agent or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Dudess wrote: »
    That's right. It was actually a chicken sambo.

Ah now, lets correct the myths. She had a heart attack, due to complications arising from her obesity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

A girl drives in to get petrol in some petrol station in Limerick on the dock road.

While she's paying, the dude behind the desk notices some guy going into the back of her car and lying down on the floor.

He gets her to come inside the store and calls the cops.

They arrive and find the guy lying down on the back seat with a knife, rope and some tape.

Total arse of course.

OutlawPete wrote: »
    My mother's side of the family in Monaghan, are all nuts with that Banshee sh*t.

When I was a kid I use to be sitting outside on the door step in the back of the beyond (compared to Dublin) and I'd be scared senseless with their stories.

They'd be going on and on about how when the woman up the road died a wee white woman was screaming her head off and that the night this other man died they heard the wails of a banshee.

They'd talk like that for hours.

They told me if I ever seen a comb lying on a road when someone was ill it was a banshee's warning.

Don't get me started on "The Knock" :rolleyes:

Or the fcuking "Death rattle".

Had a row with a cousin of mine in a hospital when he started talking about that, gives me the willies, it does.

I stayed in my nanas as a child and one night outside I could hear whailing and lots of it my nana freaked out got out the holy water and sprinkled it all around the house and made me say a prayer I was totally freaked out by that

It turned out I learned in later years that it was only cats in heat also I was never allowed pick up a comb on the street because a banshee had dropped it

Isn't there one about satanic messages when you play "Stairway to Heaven" backwards??

And

There is an urban myth that Paul MacCartney is dead, and was replaced by a lookalike

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

When I was younger I believed that everybody is special in their own way.

As I grew up it became obvious that this is patently untrue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,352 ✭✭✭daveyboy_1ie

[-0-] wrote: »
    A girl drives in to get petrol in some petrol station in Limerick on the dock road.

While she's paying, the dude behind the desk notices some guy going into the back of her car and lying down on the floor.

He gets her to come inside the store and calls the cops.

They arrive and find the guy lying down on the back seat with a knife, rope and some tape.

Total arse of course.

Actually a scene from the film 'Urban Legends', except of course the clerk was ignored by the girl and got into the car to 'escape' the pest of a clerk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

Actually a scene from the film 'Urban Legends', except of course the clerk was ignored by the girl and got into the car to 'escape' the pest of a clerk

Haha. Sucks for her! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭MikeC101

Said film features scenes based on actual urban legends. (well, as "actual" as urban legends get)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭eddie the eagle

the girl in foxrock who loved her dog too much. on the night of her 18th birthday she arrived home. unknown to her all her family and friends were waiting in the dinning room for her to come home for a suprise party. she heads for kitchen, strips, gets a can of dog food and and rubs it all over herself inviting the dog to clean it off. after a long wait the guest go looking for her :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Isn't there one about satanic messages when you play "Stairway to Heaven" backwards??

And

There is an urban myth that Paul MacCartney is dead, and was replaced by a lookalike
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stairway_to_Heaven

have a listen yourself, it's nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,776 ✭✭✭Noopti

Never pick up a GHD on the street.....'tis the banshees so it is....

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stairway_to_Heaven

have a listen yourself, it's nonsense.

Ye i think there is another one about a Black Sabbath track

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Family rescue small dog while on holiday, bring it home, turns out to be large rat.
    If you left out made up Slim Fast, worms appeared the nest day. Worms that ate the food in your stomach and made you slim :rolleyes:
    Person bits into southern fried chicken, discovers large puss bubble(or half a puss bubble) mayo was actually puss.
    Woman driving alone, notices car coming up fast behind her, beeping horn, etc. She speeds up, other car keeps after her, everntually gets away, pulls in at petrol station, goes to buy some thing in shop, cashier notices person in her back seat/running away from car/sees knife and rope on back seat.
    If your hand was larger than your face, you had cancer.

Some people will believe any old ****e

the girl in foxrock who loved her dog too much. on the night of her 18th birthday she arrived home. unknown to her all her family and friends were waiting in the dinning room for her to come home for a suprise party. she heads for kitchen, strips, gets a can of dog food and and rubs it all over herself inviting the dog to clean it off. after a long wait the guest go looking for her :D

I heard one where a boyfriend and girlfriend over in Clontarf came home from a nightclub and got naked but in the middle of the action she's on her knees and pukes, boyfriend gets a mop and cleans it up and then comes back up and starts sagging her from behind again.

Only, that's what she thought.

And they say dogs are a man's best friend :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

A tale went around my secondary school when I was in my final year that a lad went over to his gf's place when her parents were out, they start having anal sex on her parents bed but a horrible accident happens when he pulled out and sh1t went all over the covers so he just legged it and left her to deal with it. We being the gullible fools we were believed it.

I realised it may not have been entirely true when I heard very similar stories among other people who claimed to know friends that this also happened to (usually the story goes that it happens on a new white couch and the family dog gets the blame :rolleyes:).

Charco wrote: »
    A tale went around my secondary school when I was in my final year that a lad went over to his gf's place when her parents were out, they start having anal sex on her parents bed but a horrible accident happens when he pulled out and sh1t went all over the covers so he just legged it and left her to deal with it. We being the gullible fools we were believed it.

I realised it may not have been entirely true when I heard very similar stories among other people who claimed to know friends that this also happened to (usually the story goes that it happens on a new white couch and the family dog gets the blame :rolleyes:).

There's a fun variation (I heard it from a cousin whose friend claimed it happened to him) where it's the lady using some "aids" on the guy.

Or the drunk guy who goes home with a girl from a nightclub to wake up in a caravan in the middle of a halting site (with or without other family members now present in the caravan).

There's always the possiblity that at some stage, something similar did happen someone of course, but it probably didn't just happen to your mates barbers cousin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

That Kel from Kenan and Kel was dead, I was crushed.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

if you sit on a cold surface you will get farmers

or the blackrock college school trip up to the north. one of the lads scores a girl and she brings him back to a hotel. they get even more pissed from the mini bar and she persuades him to let her tie him up. enter the room a jonny adair type character with a penchant for jail love

or the modern day urban myth. girl gets into a taxi driven by a black driver. he tells her to sit in the front. up pops his mate from behind the back seat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭gent9662

Guy goes back to girls house and has sex. Wakes up in the morning and sees that she is gone and so is his wallet, he then looks around and decides to take a dump on her bed. When he is about to leave girl comes back in with rashers, sausages and eggs for the breakfast.

Other one...

Trinity med students took a corpse out on the piss around Dublin and had a great laugh.

When I was small, Mother told me that if I made a face and the wind changed it would stick like that.

Opening Umbrella in the house very very bad luck. Also putting new shoes on the table was terrible.

Forgot one major one: "The call is coming from INSIDE the house!!" :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭DazMarz

Three girls out on the tear, go to a burger bar. One eats a burger with loads of mayonnaise on it. Feels ill shortly after. Goes to hospital to get stomach pumped. Semen of 5 different men found in her stomach, despite her not having given a bloke a blow job before/in ages.

Snuff films; porno in which one of the actors is actually murdered on film. Huge urban legend.

DazMarz wrote: »
    Three girls out on the tear, go to a burger bar. One eats a burger with loads of mayonnaise on it. Feels ill shortly after. Goes to hospital to get stomach pumped. Semen of 5 different men found in her stomach, despite her not having given a bloke a blow job before/in ages.

Heard a variation of this - referring to a Chinese restaurant in Athlone that was allegedly shut down after a female customer fell ill shortly after eating there and was found to have the semen of 5/13/201 different men in her stomach. (I think snopes does a good debunking of this one - not specifically for Athlone though!)

Lots of those stories came around after the people seen the scene in Trainspotting.

Lost count of fools telling me that a mate of theirs shat some broad's bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,406 ✭✭✭Pompey Magnus

DazMarz wrote: »

Heard a similar one about Elton John, apparently he had his stomach pumped and the semen of numerous men was found in there. Of course the obvious flaw is how one man's semen would be distinguished from another man's. Its not like the hospital was going to waste time going genetic testing on the whole lot.

Remember a couple of years ago a email went around saying woman that had their drinks spiked were giving a tablet that was used on horses that would sterilize them so the rapist would not be collared if there was a pregnancy

Heard a similar one about Elton John, apparently he had his stomach pumped and the semen of numerous men was found in there. Of course the obvious flaw is how one man's semen would be distinguished from another man's. Its not like the hospital was going to waste time going genetic testing on the whole lot.

on a similar note, the singer from spandau ballet i think it was, had his stomach pumped and they found horse semen.

and dont forget the gerbil and richard gere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭deelite

The gyspy lady who cursed the doctors wife for calling the gypsy children pigs. The docs wife then had a child with a pigs head - and a statue is dedicated to the child on the grounds of Mercer's Hospital (closed now it was near Stephen's greeen). That's why you should never call anybody names because your children will have heads like pigs

Secondly the one about the girl who went to meet the boyfriends parents and while trying to be posh asked his parents where the powder room was (she was dying to use the loo). They directed her to the "powder room" which was just that - a sink and a mirror - no toilet. She then proceeded to pee in the sink - however the sink colapsed under her weight and she was rushed to hospital...

And finally the one with the big garden party - where one of the guests had to use the loo for a "number two" and it wouldn't flush. So he scooped up the offending object in his hand and launched it out the window - and it landed on the hostess.