Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,608 ✭✭✭Spud83

I registered but never got an email to confirm it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,610 ✭✭✭jaykay74

same here, i registered yesterday. no email. Maybe they just don't send one at registration. anyone get one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,574 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Osu wrote: »
    How do you become a full member?

D oul brain seems to not have awoken yet this morning.

once you are logged in https://www.joinmust.org/members/free-to-full-member.php

jaykay74 wrote: »
    same here, i registered yesterday. no email. Maybe they just don't send one at registration. anyone get one ?

Na, they said it would send an email to confirm registration.

Just went through it again there to see if it will come thorugh, it seemed to ask for a lot more information today.

I can't login to the site because I don't have a MUST member number, and I was never asked to set a password.

Headshot wrote: »
    They are snowed down atm, they are really busy

Yeah I get that, but surely its an automatic thing not someone sitting there having to send out emails.

LOL, I'm too fast for you ninja deletes. If you want it removed let me know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,018 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

They are snowed down with work atm due to the big increase in new members. Patience is the key atm

Yeah I get that, but surely its an automatic thing not someone sitting there having to send out emails.

LOL, I'm too fast for you ninja deletes. If you want it removed let me know.
    I Deleted by accident, the joys of using a mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,803 ✭✭✭✭Paul Tergat

I ordered the scarf/hat from them. Hope it arrives before the Milan game...

I Deleted by accident, the joys of using a mobile

I hope it isnt an iphone, Keane will not like that!

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    I ordered the scarf/hat from them. Hope it arrives before the Milan game...

If not you should be able to get them outside the ground.

As far as I know the ones going outside the ground generate the same cash for MUST.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,843 ✭✭✭GSPfan

Wow the MUST members number has risen from 61,000 to 82,000 in two days.

If not you should be able to get them outside the ground.

As far as I know the ones going outside the ground generate the same cash for MUST.

aye i guess, would just then give my others to someone else...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭nicklauski

p_larkin99 wrote: »
    aye i guess, would just then give my others to someone else...

Did you get sorted for tickets P? Just wondering as Ill be heading over as well.

nicklauski wrote: »
    Did you get sorted for tickets P? Just wondering as Ill be heading over as well.

yeah it looks that way, with some help from one of the lads on the tickets thread. What flight are ya on? If you dont want to derail the thread just throw me a PM

whats the story with the protest, is that still going ahead?

I thought it has been changed to the Liverpool game, no?

edit : From the sun re Veloso
    United winger Nani has urged Alex Ferguson to press ahead with his bid for Sporting Lisbon star Miguel Veloso. Midfielder Veloso has been one of the most sought-after players in Europe since last summer, with Manchester City, Chelsea and Arsenal all interested in him. Nani said: "I know there are many rumours regarding Manchester United's interest in Veloso but I can't decide whether he comes. I know him well because he was a team-mate of mine and I know he has the quality to play for a club like United. The football here is hard but he is someone who can do well at a big club. And I know he already has the opportunities to leave Sporting." Veloso, 23, has been in superb form for Sporting this season and scored in both legs of their Europa League win over Everton.

I thought it has been changed to the Liverpool game, no?
    Never heard that

edit : From the sun re Veloso

Not sure at all on Veloso. Same him in the home leg v Everton and wasnt too impressed. Same really for the return leg.

A player in that mould I'd much prefer would be Rodwell. Looks good on the ball, tall, athletic and the fact he can also play CB would be very advantageous. Id say the prices you would have to pay for the 2 wouldnt be too far from each other either.

Never heard that

There was talk of teaming up with the Liverpool crowd SOS and mounting a joint protest but I haven't heard anymor. Much like I haven't heard anything on the Milan Protest in a few weeks.
    Last I heard of it was when I was booking flights and that was 3 weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭antod

SIGN OF THE TIMES ... fans protest against the Glazers at Wembley
    Related Stories
    Joel Glazer
    Glazers: We’re not selling Utd

THE GLAZER family have rejected new speculation by saying: Man Utd is not for sale

* Red Knights ... no Red Dwarves

IAN McGARRY - The Inside View

Email the author

Published: Today
    Add a comment Add a comment (15)
    A GROUP of rich and well-connected Manchester United fans sat around a table in a London law office last week.

Nine of them, all well off from dealings in the financial markets, decided they wanted to save their club from the Glazers.

They gathered against the backdrop of fan unrest at Old Trafford and mass protest against the American family's debt-laden ownership.

Hell, they even went to the trouble of asking for the backing of the Manchester United Supporters Trust, who have so far not committed.

Then, when news of the revolution 'leaked' late on Monday night, the saviours were called the Red Knights.

Sound like a fairytale? That's because it is.

Led by football financier Keith Harris, Red Knights have less chance of buying England's biggest club than Orville has of flying.

Orville's puppet master - another Keith Harris - is no relation to the self-styled leader of the Red Knights.

But when it comes to pulling strings in takeovers, lifelong United fan Harris is almost always quoted.

Keith Harris
    QUOTED ... Keith Harris

In fact, if you Google his name alongside football you will get 84,000 search results in under a second.

It's safe to say that here is a man who likes the sound of his own voice. Last Friday, it was Harris who headed the round table of Red Knights.

Among them, were some of the brightest men in the UK banking industry.

Jim O'Neill is head of global economic research at investment bank Goldman Sachs. A close friend of Alex Ferguson, he was briefly on the United board.

Mark Rawlinson is a senior partner in law firm Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer. He was an advisor to United during the Glazer takeover five years ago.

Paul Marshall is co-founder of one of the City's most influential hedge funds. Then there's Richard Hytner, another high-flier, who is deputy chairman of Saatchi and Saatchi's global company.

Each of them have two things in common: They are United fans but don't have anywhere near enough money to buy out the Glazers.

We could name more but the picture is already pretty clear - they're all faceless.

Their grand plan: To find 40 rich United fans to chip in £20million each for a takeover. Eureka, I hear you cry!

Quantcast

Simply find, recruit and persuade JUST the 40 to spare that in the middle of the worst recession for 50 years.

That only gets the Red Knights up to £800m. That's OK, as apparently if they raise that, they are confident they can borrow £200m.

But hang on, isn't debt the reason they want to buy it from Malcolm Glazer?

On that matter, yesterday it was announced the debt dropped from £538.1m to £507.5m.

Red Football Ltd, the Glazers' holding company for United, revealed turnover was up 19 per cent for the six months up to December, compared to the year before.

Then there's the small case of Red Knights' bid being £200m short of the £1.2bn current value. And who will actually run the club if they gain control?

Red Knights would boldly put themselves up for that task on the basis that the whole thing was their idea.

Let's get this straight. Nine fans want to buy the club with other people's money.

As one City expert said yesterday: "They've as much chance of buying United as my gran has of playing."

But that's OK, as long as Harris gets a chance to promote himself as the Svengali of football takeovers.

He was involved in Randy Lerner's Aston Villa buyout and Thaksin Shinawatra's at Manchester City. More recently, he failed to find buyers for Everton and Newcastle.

This is not the first time he has claimed an interest in United - it's the third.

So what chance of him leading the club out of the Glazer era to a promised land?

Well, let's just say the Red Knights are more likely to turn out to be Red Dwarves.

Read more: http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/2875432/Red-Knights-More-like-Red-Dwarves.html#ixzz0h7QXyqnH

can u put the link first next time please, so i can see its the sun and i can stop reading there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭antod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

antod wrote: »

Whilst a lot of what the economist says is all well and good, I'm afraid the devil you know is not better than having a debt free club under the control of many investors.

I'm sorry but I'd rather be spending fúck all on transfers and having a secure club for the future than not knowing if the club will be around in 15-20 years at the top level because the Glazer's debt.. oh sorry.. our debt.. has risen to over a billion and it sends us down.

He also gives the example of the Yankee's where one investor took full control over the course of ten years. I'd seriously doubt that would be allowed to happen in the case of United. And it at least wouldn't be possible for him to saddle the club with debt without the intervention of others.

They're a virus to the club and need to be removed as soon as possible. The piece strikes me as a columnist just attempting to be different from everyone else in welcoming the takeover bid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭Smegball

antod wrote: »

Very interesting article, certainly brings up a few interesting points. Maybe the ideal of the Red Knights actually sounds better than it would turn out to be. The figures released yesterday were promising regarding the increase in revenues and turnover.

That point in the article about the prospect of arguments in the consortium is interesting, definitely would be something which could happen, and as seen in Liverpool could cause massive problems.

England U21s is live on ESPN at 5.45

we should see a number of utd players namely Welbeck and smalling

edit smalling and cleverley start

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

did anyone get an email from MUST asking them to sign up to show support and all that?

i am already a member so i assume it must be just a pledge rather then a membership drive, but i did not like the, well to be nice ill say, misleading headline on the link

http://action.joinmust.org/page/s/AreYouUnited/?source=email1&utm_source=MUST&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=email1

have a look for yourselves if you didnt receive the email

"back the bid for supporter ownership"

thats false advertising tbh, unless there has been a new development today that i was unaware of? (been at a funeral all day)

The Red Knights have not proposed to allow the supporters run the club have they?

England U21s is live on ESPN at 5.45

we should see a number of utd players namely Welbeck and smalling

edit smalling and cleverley start

any noteworthy performances?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Well England are being beaten fairly easily, not sure about performances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,574 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Johner wrote: »
    Well England are being beaten fairly easily, not sure about performances.

Smalling partly at fault for the second goal imo. Not the only one, but his part of the problem was that he didn't really do anything, didn't try to take control of the situation.

Every time I have seen him play (which i will admit straight off is only 3 or 4 occassions) I have seen him at fault, or partially at fault for a goal. I've not been impressed with our 12million replacement for the inevitably departing Vidic ;-D

Smalling partly at fault for the second goal imo. Not the only one, but his part of the problem was that he didn't really do anything, didn't try to take control of the situation.

Every time I have seen him play (which i will admit straight off is only 3 or 4 occassions) I have seen him at fault, or partially at fault for a goal. I've not been impressed with our 12million replacement for the inevitably departing Vidic ;-D

that smilie saved me a rant :D

i have the same feeling on Smalling, each time i have seen him he has not impressed me, same as yourself its only been about 4-5 times though

he definitely didnt cost 12 million btw, possibly with add ons, but 12 million would be ridiculous up front