English words and expressions used in Ireland only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

homeOwner wrote: »
    Some of our peculiarities are due to the direct translation from how you would say it as gaeilge:
    eg Bhi me tar eis dul isteach - I was after coming inside

To be honest though, our version makes sense. The English one is a pile of bollocks!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭flowersagogo

stabber...straight thats been stabbed out and re-lit

ps some of our names for cannabis are good too...my favorite is -moody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

One thing I have often heard my father saying (if something is empty) is "There isn't a tint in it"
    meaning, it's empty

Is this proper english, I never heard anyone else saying it.

i hope nobody from the racist taxi driver thread reads this-call a spade a spade.....gets funny looks abroad(here too these days)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

Hold Your Whist

Meaning 'hang on a minute' or 'wait a while'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

It was only when I worked in London that I realised that to put something on the long finger was a uniquely Irish expression.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

UpCork wrote: »
    Hold Your Whist

Meaning 'hang on a minute' or 'wait a while'.

"Whist" is in use in the North East of England...meaning "Shut up a second"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Chicken Run

Also possibly a West thing - "above" and "below" to refer to places..... no matter what altitude they're at.... ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Nodster

Why do we usually nod our heads in agreement when someone says "you know yer man, whats his name?...."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

CiaranC wrote: »

That's a great article:
    "
    ........the second-person possessive adjective your, largely in inner-city areas of Dublin, has an alternate form when the subject is plural: yezzer.
    • Would youse ever get yezzer shoes on?
    • Take yezzer coats in case it rains.
    "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

I am not sure if its a rural Cork thing or if it occurs elsewhere, but people saying things like

They were dog rough meaning they were very rough
    I was dog tired meaning I was very tired.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

homeOwner wrote: »
    Delph (as in kitchen plates) - english people have never heard of the word.

I wonder is it Delft as in
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delftware

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Annuv

dub02 wrote: »
    I live with alot of Jamaicans and Trinidadians here in New York and they to use a broken form of English too (alot worse than ours btw) called patois or creole.

Like ours, its funny but very interesting, I've come to the conclusion that like my Caribbean friends...I'm from a small island too thats being influenced by a larger country so in order to create some differences or identity we've developed small changes in the most basic of things....the language, food, mannerisms

On a side note...they absolutely love it when i say "whats the story" or call them "horse" or "boss". Also, how can I put this mildly... sometimes you can hear a country twang off the Trinidadians:eek: i do be in tears especially when they say "hey boy" I read somewhere before that centuries ago Irish farmers from the west immigrated to the Caribbean so who knows.

Irish surnames are also very common throughout the Caribbean islands...i have friends with Prendergast, McDonagh, Brown etc...:)

You might the book "To Hell or Barbados: The Ethnic Cleansing of Ireland" interesting, it explains why there are so many Irish names found in the Caribbean and also the expression/accent similiarities. Particulary interesting is the story of the Redlegs in barbados

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

MungoMan wrote: »
    I wonder is it Delft as in
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Delftware
    Correct, that is exactly where it comes from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭M O N T O

Sap / Spa/ Mongo?

Don't think theyre used anywhere else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 monkles

"Who took the current off your bun?!?" and 'craetureen'. Or putting 'een' at the end of words in general!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,094 ✭✭✭Pete M.

C U N T I S H

May even only be used with regularity in my home town in easht mayo.

Also, I do love to tell foreigners, especially yanks, that the traditional response to 'slainte' is 'yacuntcha'...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,920 ✭✭✭mel.b

Great thread :) As an Aussie living in Ireland these things stand out like a sore thumb to me!

Some i've noticed (some already mentioned)
    - yer man
    - I'm just after...
    - it's in the press
    - using 'so' at the end of sentences, such as 'open the door so', or 'let's go home so'
    - using 'well' such as 'i'm well good' or 'that's well enough'
    - bold to refer to cheeky or naughty
    - ye for you really bugs me (especially when it is written - one person I work with always writes 'ye' in emails)
    - when referring to age, using 'since' such as 'he's six since Sept' rather than saying 'he was six in Sept'
    -Grown women referring to their mums as 'mammy'

One that really stumped me recently was 'they're a good line then?' after I told her that my brother and girlfriend were expecting. I thought she was referring to their genes (!) when it actually meant 'have they been together for a long time?'

'root' as others mentioned does have another meaning in OZ, however 'root' to have a look around is used in OZ. Someone also mentioned 'yonder' and that would also be used in oz, as 'I'm down yonder', or 'it's out yonder'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭DublinWriter

Annuv wrote: »
    You might the book "To Hell or Barbados: The Ethnic Cleansing of Ireland" interesting, it explains why there are so many Irish names found in the Caribbean and also the expression/accent similiarities. Particulary interesting is the story of the Redlegs in barbados
    No word of a lie, I once worked with a lad who was a redhead Cork 'Norrie' who the previous summer had been working the building sites in NYC - only the blacks could understand him and they had to translate what he was saying to the Italian Union Foreman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Gowl...

Shades=Guards.

Describing a 'fight' where you had the upper hand you could say "I fcuked him down on the ground." This would mean that you threw him on the ground".

Fcuked means to throw something.

Down in my neck of the woods "I will ya"=No...

Chipper/Chippy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Like A Fox

Sound = Thanks

I always thought it was a universal one, until I used it in front of a friend from Dublin who had never heard it before! :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

M O N T O wrote: »
    Sap / Spa/ Mongo?

Don't think theyre used anywhere else?

Spastic and especially Mong are widely used in England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭PostHack

No word of a lie, I once worked with a lad who was a redhead Cork 'Norrie' who the previous summer had been working the building sites in NYC - only the blacks could understand him and they had to translate what he was saying to the Italian Union Foreman.

A friend of my dads used to work on the building sites in New york, probably in the seventies. Would have been his first time out of Kerry. When he was talking to the yanks he'd be saying that "the craic at home is mighty". They were fascinated that a young innocent Irish lad like him was able to get hard drugs in rural Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Like A Fox wrote: »
    Sound = Thanks

I always thought it was a universal one, until I used it in front of a friend from Dublin who had never heard it before! :eek:

I used to live in the north of England and it is widely used there. Its also widely used around Limerick and most places i know. Dubs are strange:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

The jacks...

where does that come from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 249 ✭✭bernyh

"Put on your pants?!?!"

I still find it hilarious when ppl call trousers "pants"... to me "pants" either means underwear or that something is rubbish!! (Scot's slang!)

If colleagues ask me "how are you?" my natural reply is "i'm fine" but mostly ppl start to ask me what is wrong with me, or am I in a mood, cos in Dublin if you don't say "I'm grand or that's grand".. there has to be something wrong?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

InTheTrees wrote: »
    The jacks...

where does that come from?

Somebody once told me it was an army phrase. I'm sure somebody can confirm.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

falan wrote: »
    Gowl...
    A great one - I use it all the time. It just has the same meaning as "muppet" - i.e. a generic insult. Although I've seen it used here as a slang word for... gee.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Only ever heard it as the latter