English words and expressions used in Ireland only

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Cian92

He's full of plamas (plawmoas). Until recently I didnt even realise this wasn't English. Apparently it is the Irish word for flattery - plámás

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,187 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Magic thread this......

Ah would ye ever feck off for God's sake.

Pantses in Cork for trousers (I thought they were knickers meself)

Alright Boyyyyy Cork again

one and one (fish and chips)

get out a that garden

as before, press, hot press,

the "pipes" were what my mam called the radiators.

the attic (the loft for loftier folk)

jalopy for car

fur coat and no knickers

go to the pictures (the movies)

duds for clothes

clothes for garments

kaks for undies

old man and old lady for the ma and pa

Gaff for the house

moh for the girl

chisellers for the kids

Great thread indeed and so much from different parts of the country too. I love it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

Wanes meaning a baby or toddler

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭TangyZizzle

Sound, cheers - Use upon exiting a bus, aimed at the busdriver as a compliment.

meet - kiss

s'craic - wats the craic.. but more country

boss, lad, horse - used affectionately towards a male friend

ma/da - have never heard that from another nationality. Even the more Eastern/Central European of my buddies will say 'mom'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,937 ✭✭✭implausible

Seloth wrote: »
    I dont know what part of Ireland your from but most place in the country use ye instead of you.
    changes wrote: »
    Wanes meaning a baby or toddler

Donegal is a different world altogether!

Being from the wesht, I get laughed out of it up here for using 'ye', whereas 'yous' is perfectly acceptable....:rolleyes:

"a han'lin'": a bit of bother (from handling?)
    "brave" : very, as in 'a brave han'lin', I was brave an' drunk last night
    "sir" : at the end of every sentence
    "thran" : awkward, I presume it comes from "trying", as in "she's wild thran"
    "takin' a hand" : mocking, taking the piss

It took months for me to figure out what the hell they were saying and I'm only from 2 hours down the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Saying somethings 'Deadly' as in fantastic..
    People here thinks its something dangerous... feckin' eedjits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 skylock

His a right Gomie.<his a right fool>
    Ya mong simalar meaning

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Damien1989

Well = Hello

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭MungoMan

Heard Dara O'Brien (the Irish presenter and comedian) on "mock the week" on the BBC last night.

He used the expression "giving out" as in the Irish version of "telling off"

Nobody in the UK would have known what he was talking about (except me, and a few others who crossed the Irish sea).

Nonetheless, everyone in the audience laughed at what he said.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

gagiteebo wrote: »
    I'm from Cavan and up there we say (not sure how to spell it :)) ojeous as in " Yer man is an ojeous bollocks" meaning he really is a bollocks, we say 'quare' a lot as well and one of my favourite insults is 'humpy bastard/hoo-er' :D

Is that 'odious'? It sounds like 'wojus' which I know and use but have never seen written down, but had never connected to 'odious' before, though it might be a coincidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭theCaffers

gagiteebo wrote: »
    I'm from Cavan and up there we say (not sure how to spell it :)) ojeous as in " Yer man is an ojeous bollocks" meaning he really is a bollocks, we say 'quare' a lot as well and one of my favourite insults is 'humpy bastard/hoo-er' :D

I love Irish spake:
    -Pay no heed to him
    -Ah shure I'm only coddin' ya/pullin' at ya
    -Ah sure feck it, it'll be grand
    -Gobsh*te
    -'What are ya at?' 'Divil a bit'
    -C'mere ta me you

Great thread :D

Its dyin out that one - I only heard the old guys using it and not in ages.We need to preserve these.PS I didnt know the official Oxford spelling utill now. ojeous

- 'coo orse' 'of course
    - 'head on him like a bastard calf'

and the charming

- '**** it to the fiery flames of ****'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭DrIndy

In donegal:

"The ass fell out of the sky" - meaning a sudden, unexpected downpour.

So funny reading this thread- all the phrases I use and don't realise it!

In australia - you get a few funny looks when you ask "hows the craic" and root really does mean something suprisingly different over here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 101 ✭✭Richard Noggin

Dublin ones: Me oul' segocha.

What ail ja? (What is wrong with you?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

I hate when people say "do be" ... what's wrong with using the normal, standard present tense?

"I do be in college on Mondays"

... I doubt if you got through primary school with lanuage like that, pal! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I hate when people say "do be" ... what's wrong with using using the normal, standard present tense?

It's grand. We get the picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,488 ✭✭✭pikachucheeks

stovelid wrote: »
    It's grand. We get the picture.

I just had to make sure :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

I don't get this one myself I think its a west of Ireland thing: again instead of against

as in : He threw me up again the wall :eek:

I just had to make sure :rolleyes:

Be careful though, primary school graduation can rest on these things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

hower ya horse?

peanuthead wrote: »
    I don't get this one myself I think its a west of Ireland thing: again instead of against

as in : He threw me up again the wall :eek:

Common in Kilkenny/Carlow too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,111 ✭✭✭peanuthead

Common in Kilkenny/Carlow too.

I used to think it was down to bad grammar but then I realised that it's actually a phrase. When I hear it I laugh to myself I think its the funniest, I used to think it sounded like something you would hear a traveller say

I guess they're just getting ahead of the crowd by dropping the -st the same as in among(st) and whil(e)(st).

It's "he thrun me up again the wall" though :D

Has anyone ever heard the word 'fornint'? No idea how it's spelled and can't remember if it means 'against' or 'out yonder'.

Is 'yonder' obsolete outside of Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 688 ✭✭✭UpCork

My relations in England think it hysterical that I'll say when speaking to them or in an email 'I'll be on to you soon', meaning 'Well talk soon'.

Cracks them up everytime I say it

The Plamas(?) one is great. I've only ever heard it in Clare.

Also down there is the only place I've heard Yera(?), was used in the same way as ah sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,786 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Has anyone ever heard the word 'fornint'? No idea how it's spelled and can't remember if it means 'against' or 'out yonder'.
    I have, usually the context was "it's fornints ye" meaning right in front of you, when you were looking for something.

There are three related words fornents, fornint and anent. Checking etmology now.

Link

/Random guess at there being a Dutch root (voor en naast)

Could be, my sources cite Scotland, see link above, but a lot of old Scots words have Nordic/Dutc links eg kirk, bairns etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭enda1

Some my Kilkenny relations...

Britches - Trousers
    Millin - Million
    Billin - Billion
    Sangwidge - Sandwich
    Hang - Ham
    "Up agin the wall there" - Up against that wall
    Quare - Strange or Very depending on context
    Whiste - Shut up/be quiet
    Knacks - (Dublin) Knackers

There are many more though but I've drawn a blank.

I love that one Britches though :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭homeOwner

MungoMan wrote: »
    The one that nearly everyone in Ireland uses incorrectly is "I'm after doing something". In England, if you say "I'm after eating my dinner", it means that you want to eat your dinner.
    In Ireland it means I have just eaten my dinner.

Some of our peculiarities are due to the direct translation from how you would say it as gaeilge:
    eg Bhi me tar eis dul isteach - I was after coming inside

But here are a few other ones -
    delph (as in kitchen plates) - english people have never heard of the word.
    bold (as in naughty) - they use it to mean brave
    messages (as in the shopping) - they never heard of that one either.