men wearing ugg boots WTF!

13»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,048 ✭✭✭✭Snowie

Mc Love wrote: »
    I have seen them on kids (boys) must been aged around 7-10. Was the weirdest thing!

kinda like when you wake up naked beside your gran :confused:?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

MaybeLogic wrote: »
    I was laughing at them guys too,during the cold spell,as my toes were getting frostbite.
    Toes are for the weak, frostbite is a sign of manhood.
    orourkeda wrote: »
    The youth of today are so soft.

I wore sandals in the snow.
    I actually saw an old man wearing sandals the other week in Eurospar, he was a lilly flower though as he was also wearing socks.
    I'll be honest.

I have worn her Ugg type boots.

But in my defense, I was hungover, in a dressing gown and I couldn't find my slippers, and my feet were cold.
    Hungover isn't an excuse, drinking whiskey is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭overexcitedaj

kinda like when you wake up naked beside your gran :confused:?

YA WHA? :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 amandakola

i haven't actually seen any guys wearing the offending footwear on Irish streets yet. but when they first appeared on the D4 girl scene years ago I remember hearing that they were originally quite popular with male surfers in australia.
    not sure if that's true... but i can see it. those boots are made from sheepskin right? and if there's one thing australia has a lot of it's sheep. and surfers.

personally, as much as i wouldn't be seen dead in Uggs, I think they might actually look okay on a hot aussie surfer.
    but on some irish turd walking down grafton street.... i just imagine the only boys who'd wear them would also wear designer sunglasses and perhaps some kind of horrible leather manjewellery. ick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,160 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Yeah a lot of blokes wear them over here but they're horrific lookin.

As for them being worn in Ireland, they're meant as slippers yet the oompa loompa brigade wear them in the pissing rain and then wonder why the the suede exterior gets dirty! :rolleyes:

Some people are just idiots, including blokes who wear them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

I gave up trying to understand male fashion choices when I saw my first scumbag on the bus in a stripy (brown/yellow - like a bee) hoody. I thought to myself "he looks like a fecking eejit and will probably get laughed at by everyone he passes once he departs this bus".

However, sure enough with 2 months their entire populace were wearing them. :confused: Seems it doesn't matter how stupid you look as long as you match the cookie cutter set out by your peer group.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Carter96

I'll be honest.

I have worn her Ugg type boots.

But in my defense, I was hungover, in a dressing gown and I couldn't find my slippers, and my feet were cold.

Wouldn't do it as a fashion statement. But as a comfy thing, it was grand.

I'd be more worried at the fact they seemed to fit you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭DanGlee

Seriously, I don't know what the big issue is!

I frist saw a guy wearing them in Manchester and did have a second take as it was the first time I saw them on a man, but he looked pretty cool and pulled them off well. When I got home I went onto the Ugg website to find they are for men and women.

I was considering getting a pair and after reading this post, I'm almost defo going to get a pair, they are feckin awesome!
    Get with the times gets, its 2010, men as allowed to look cool to you know!

And look at it this way, if your single, you would probably get women coming up to you, sparking up a convo in the pub about them, at which point you can point out they are unisex and actually originally made for men... and the proceed to have sex with her :)

NB: I'm not single, I have woman and child!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 104 ✭✭bealfeirste5

Leave the uggs to the ladies thank you!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

Is this a joke thread :eek::D girls wearing them ugly things is bad enough :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

A more laddish version and for half the price...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,938 ✭✭✭caseyann

lcrcboy wrote: »

Now thats just wrong,Now all guys have to start doing is wearing women's pink pjs to shop :D#

I think the cycle of gender transfer has begun:eek: so when yous going to start giving birth :D oh wait http://abcnews.go.com/Health/story?id=5302756&page=1:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I have, and wear Ugg slippers. Most comfy things ever :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

Saw a roughly 45-50 yr old man in Jervis Centre wearing them yesterday,jeans tucked into them and all.

Wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,893 ✭✭✭Davidius

I didn't know what ugg boots were until I read this thread.

I don't see why you would, it's seems like a very girly thing to be at. Each to their own I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

Some tosser in his mid thirties skipped the que in front of me.....I was pissed but then looked down to see he was wearing UGG boots.....I quietly smiled to myself :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

I personally think that it should be left to the fairer sex but Ronnie Wood wears them:eek:

And he is a bonafide legend

http://www.snowriver.com/uggs-and-more/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/ron.jpg

But for us mere mortals its 100% ghey