Election Results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 Red_Niamh

Maynooth Students' Union Sabbatical Team 2010/2011*

President: Aengus Ó Maoláin
    Vice-President Welfare & Education: Liz Murray
    Vice-President Coms/Dev: Rob Munnelly
    Finance Officer: Declan Meenagh
    Ents Officer: Pat Byrne
    Cultural Affairs and Irish Officer: Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin
    St. Pat’s Rep: Mícheál Hughes

*Pending any appeals lodged by candidates before 5pm on Tuesday 2nd March 2010

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

Red_Niamh wrote: »
    President: Aengus Ó Maoláin
    Vice-President Welfare & Education: Liz Murray
    Vice-President Coms/Dev: Rob Munnelly
    Finance Officer: Declan Meenagh
    Ents Officer: Pat Byrne
    Cultural Affairs and Irish Officer: Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin
    St. Pat’s Rep: Mícheál Hughes

Males 6 Females 1

Ohhhh yeahhhhh :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 DarkBlue_18

So does the newly elected SU take over duties this semester or is it the year beginning September 2010 that they will become the SU?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 EireOctavian

So does the newly elected SU take over duties this semester or is it the year beginning September 2010 that they will become the SU?
    Officially they take office in July, and start work from then. The current president and others are still in office.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

He was in the bar and I snuck in to see what was going on. He ran In and about thirty of us opened the door slightly to listen in. They went through all the candidates one by one, one hundred for so and so etc, and then Aengus's result was halfway being read out when everyone ran in screaming and grabbed him. It was wonderful:) also, I recieved the highest number me votes ever cast in the history of our college elections. :) thanks to everyone. Well done team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 EireOctavian

banquo wrote: »
    He was in the bar and I snuck in to see what was going on. He ran In and about thirty of us opened the door slightly to listen in. They went through all the candidates one by one, one hundred for so and so etc, and then Aengus's result was halfway being read out when everyone ran in screaming and grabbed him. It was wonderful:) also, I recieved the highest number me votes ever cast in the history of our college elections. :) thanks to everyone. Well done team.
    Rob what were the numbers for your result?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Fantastic Rob! And well done Aengus and Declan, delighted for you guys!

James, Lou, hard luck. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭princess_calico

banquo wrote: »

holy ****!!!!! Rob im so proud of you!!! It sounds like a fantastic exec! Well done to every one, I know you're going to do a great job!!! :D:D:D

Aengus, Liz, Rob, Declan, Caoimhin, Pat, Shmick, USI, I am damn proud of you guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭JBoyle4eva

Rozabeez wrote: »

James, Lou, hard luck. :(

Can't win 'em all. It's just extremely bittersweet that the 2 sabats who I wanted to work with are elected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

Brilliant Exec for next year!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

Kiwi_knock wrote: »
    Congrats to Liz seeing as she has recently became a member of Boards. Hopefully she will stay a member and not just have used us for her election campaign

This is a very important point. It's something I'd definitely second, that all the people who used boards would continue to find another use for it after even if it is outside of the NUI Maynooth section.

Well done to everyone!! Absolutely delighted that Aengus won president! Should be a good year next year and lets just hope they all do well!!
    x

ps...i know i only joined around the campaign but I like it a lot here so I'm setting up home here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 Pajoe89

Well done to everyone who was elected. Really promising Exec for next year who can build on the good work from this year. Hard luck to Gav, I know he wasn't a fav among a lot of folks here, but he was a genuine guy and ran a very good campaign. If anything else, he caused everyone to up their game during the campaigning and was a factor in it being so entertaining.

USI, so glad it got passed and despite peeps giving criticisms about USI funding etc, it was down to the hard work and commitment from Yes campaigners in NUIM that it got passed and for 3 years! Like on the other thread, it was disgusting some of the NO campaigners tactics the last day, using shoddy fear tactics and pathetically misinforming literature.

Also, those that attended the shindig at Parson Street, cheers for stalling out. Was great to see so many candidates, their teams and yes campaigners all chilling together and having a laugh. For the rest, it was great to see ye all in Brady's as well. By far my highlight of a great last few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

Effluo wrote: »
    Males 6 Females 1

Ohhhh yeahhhhh

I think maybe the more important point is that on the exec there are now 3 Labour, 1 FEE, only 1 FFer, 1 unknown and Liz.

Anyone up for renaming Maynooth Student Union the Maynooth Soviet Union? :D

I'm not too bothered really! I'm barely into politics as it is!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

IN SOVIET MAYNOOTH, EXEC VOTES YOU!

I heard the constitution was being changed to make them Exec for life. Might pass at Union Council considering all us loony lefties are there!!:D

You never know! Everyone happy though?

ya it was a pretty good election. Best one in a long time. The turnout i guess speaks for itself. Mind you I love elections, most probably were sick of it by the end. A good group got in. Not everyone that I had hoped for but they will work well together I reckon.

kellief wrote: »
    You never know! Everyone happy though?

Yes and no. Yes happy about president, VP Comms, Pats and finance.

Not happy that I wasn't let in to the count. At one point I contemplated dropping in to the room mission impossible style, then realised that that would literally be impossible because the venue doesn't have ceiling windows (as it is a dank hole). :rolleyes:

Yes changes need to be made in the election and counting process. Campaigning needs to be streamlined, cost effective and fair to all candidates. Mind you some ran thinking it was in the bag and perhaps should have developed their campaign a bit more.

In terms of the count. I too was annoyed that it wasn't public as i'm sure a few would liked to have been in there from an interest perspective. My only reason why we weren't allowed was a space issue but this could be accommodated easily enough i'm sure

It was a closed count because people weren't being quiet in the room last year. More noise = more difficult for counters to concentrate = mistakes more likely to be made. In fairness to the team this year, it was an efficient count once it got going.

Having said that, I was seriously peeved that I wasn't let in. I am quite capable of observing quietly. As, I'm sure, are most people genuinely interested in the count (most people might think being genuinely interested in watching bits of paper being counted is something of an oxymoron - obviously we will have to disagree on this :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,362 ✭✭✭K4t

Well done everyone.

I met Aengus coming out of the Roost a few hours ago and said well done and he said thanks, then remembered I didn't know who had won! I had faith! Knew banquo would win and was confident Pat would.

p.s. Pat I'm sure will do a superb job. He is all about the craic but having talked to him on several occasions and knowing the lads he hangs around with, the job will be carried out properly and efficiently. Great group of lads.

Fair point on the noise issue. But I do agree. I too am perfectly capable of being quiet. But looking at some of the candidates campaign teams, the ability to stay quiet is less likely then them possessing the ability to speak Mongolian!

I think a solution might be to have the count in the library... Maybe in one of the conference rooms? That way we could observe from outside if we want and would have to be quiet(ish) as well. Space inside for the count would be an issue probably, but not if they arranged it so that only the candidates and tallies whose votes are being counted are allowed in the room when they're being counted. So only ents candidates and tallies in during the ents count for example. Everyone else could watch from outside... Or they could have held the count in the common room. Just closed it up for the day and let people watch from outside. I prefer the library option though - much warmer for spectators.

Hopefully in the new library there will be larger conference areas or something so that the count can go on behind glass (to stop noise getting through) but which will still let people see in.

Ya Library would be good idea. I was also thinking common room, which wouldn't be no problem once canteen is built. I'd even go so far as to have it as polling station as I think arts block gets way too clustered and it would prevent campaigners from doing the sneaky walk through the arts block routine a couple times a day.

I did that sneaky walk on Wednesday :)

Though in fairness, I covered up the t-shirt as I went through. Not as bad as Conor Curly who voted the same time as I did. He put his ballot papers down next to mine and said loudly - "What's that, did someone say vote for Conor Curly? Conor Curly for Finance?"

I just looked at him. Anyone whose manifesto is based on killing a celebrity is clearly not worth electing. He didn't get my vote. He didn't get many votes actually.

He was a f&%$ing twit to be honest. His confidence came off as being a gobs"*&e and I had no time for him. I'm sure he's a decent guy but one of those heads who are a pain to the majority of others. Declan got my vote and he'll get my vote for whatever he decides to run for. He's a good genuine guy and a good ethic and stands up for his beliefs. At hustings he had me cracking up and didn't fuddle around any question.

I think it was a wise decision for any candidate who came out in support of USI. Most of them did fairly well in the votes. It was stupid for most to sit n the fence, although I could understand why. But it was refreshing to see Declan, Shmick, Gav and a few others to just say YES rather than just give a politician answer.

I dunno, there are some people I would have loved to get voted in, but such is life! I'm happy enough though.
    I hope that they all do what they say they will, but one thing is for sure, we're going to have a good newspaper!!
    On the whole vote counting thing, does it make such a difference? I think if they moved the voting so people could watch, surely they could have let in a few people yesterday? Or you could ask to be someones tally!
    Conor's campaign annoyed me as well, he also took to slagging Declan on his own facebook page at one stage as well, which was completely unfair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭theredletter

Delighted with results. Voted for both James and Liz and was happen which ever got the job, so happy out! Aengus will be brilliant, so will Rob and the rest will do a good job I'm hoping!