Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Election Results

• 25-02-2010 11:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭

I'll be posting them on here from the Mature Students' room as they come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

A complaint that was made that the USI referendum was unconstitutional has been overturned (about 10 this morning), so the referendum is valid and will go ahead.

All the ballot boxes have been emptied and ballots are being sorted into piles. No counting of any position has begun yet.

Total elibigle, not actual voters: 7,626
    Quote to win: 1,144

USI and St. Pat's rep being counted now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

banquo wrote: »
    A complaint that was made that the USI referendum was unconstitutional has been overturned (about 10 this morning), so the referendum is valid and will go ahead.

BOO-YA! :D

Is there any room in the mature student's room?

Over 7,000 voters? Seriously?

Yes :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭CnaG

Yes :)

Hmm, how soon can I get a bus to Maynooth...

1 o'clock I think

ok, CnaG is on her way over to maynooth for the count :)

Micheal Hughes (schmici) is deemed elected as St. Pat's rep.

Counting of Irish and Cultural Affairs Officer has begun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 912 ✭✭✭Norrdeth

Oooooh the suspense!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

That is a HUGE turnout! :)

A large turnout like that worries me tbh. If it was up to me, it would have been snow and hail and a flu epidemic. Lower turnout favours Aengus and I.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Holda

Nonsense! Most of us have sense enough to see (especially after Tuohy's people were so head wrecking yesterday) that he wouldn't be any good for the college.

I'm especially annoyed about their rape of 'All You Need is Love'. Just plain wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Although in terms of voter turnout, its a great positive to see.

I'm still confident in you two. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

"Vote for Tuohy and you can beat me with this stick" - AAAAAARGH SHUT UP!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭Effluo

A large turnout like that worries me tbh. If it was up to me, it would have been snow and hail and a flu epidemic. Lower turnout favours Aengus and I.

I'd be of the same opinion unfortunately :(

Some people were just standing around the polling area getting people to stop and vote for Touhy, with numbers like that you'd wonder if it would matter what kind of campaigning anyone did. 7k+ it's only gonna be a few hundred who actually will be voting on merit.

300 in a facebook group doesn't seem so much anymore:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Redemptist

Tuohy does not have a chance. Honest to God, his campaign was brutal.
    Worry not, the students of Maynooth are not so foolish!
    There's ample hope

Just to clear up: that was 7,626 eligible voters. Actual voter turnout was 2,887 (by my calculations, there's no official number yet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭eevyhayes

I think Tuohy has as just a good chance as anyone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

eevyhayes wrote: »
    I think Tuohy has as just a good chance as anyone.

Well, there were only two people running for that position.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭eevyhayes

Well he has a good chance of getting it too, he had loads of voters yesturday and good look to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,081 ✭✭✭LeixlipRed

Good look to him indeed. He's a ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 metalking6488

rob deserves it!! his campaign was excellent! its not just about being a crowd pleaser, its also knowing what your doing!

For the record, I have no idea who Metalking6488 is, but I applaud his sentiment :D

USI part 1 has passed with about 70% of the vote. Part two is being counted now.

Irish Officer: Caoimhghín Ó Caoláin is deemed elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 jppbesq

Caoimhghín ~1100 votaí
    Naoise Ó Cearúil ~770 votaí

Tá Caoimhghín tofa. Go n-éirí leis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Good luck Rob, fingers crossed.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

jppbesq wrote: »
    Caoimhghín ~1100 votaí
    Naoise Ó Cearúil ~770 votaí

Tá Caoimhghín tofa. Go n-éirí leis.

Wow! Did not see him winning by that much!

*assuming that means Caoimhgín won*

can't believe naoise lost!! who doesn't know him?

USI part 2 passed. Ents and Finance being counted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Ataxia

Schmick and USI passed. Deadly. Arise ye workers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 297 ✭✭BarnhallBull

Caoimhghín tofa :cool:

Pleasantly surprised by that, thought Naoise would get it but I can't overstate the idiocy of publishing his piece in the candidates's handbook entirely through English!

Delighted Caoimhghín got it, a far more polished campaign IMO and he'll do very well i'm sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,168 ✭✭✭Ms. Koi

USI part 2 passed. Ents and Finance being counted.

I feel like I'm waiting on someone to have a baby here!
    Well done to everyone!!

Word is that it looks - as in nothing is definite - that declan has finance. We'll see if it goes to second preferences or not.

It looks like Pat Byrne has ents in the bag on the first count.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭Duddy

*fingers crossed for Declan*

Delighted with the results so far, No campaigners will be sickened:P

Right, I'm heading in now because they'll be starting on Comms soon. I'm sure someone else will keep ye all updated.

Best of luck Rob!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

this is the most suspence ever since Beethoven suspended a sheet of suspended cadences on a suspended bridge.

A recount is being done on Ents at the moment but nothing is definite at the moment.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,840 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

kellief wrote: »
    A recount is being done on Ents at the moment but nothing is definite at the moment.

Any provisional results there? Who's in with a shot? Recounts are usually done when there's no more than 100 or so votes between them right?

Will post in a few minutes, almost at official result.

F**K me this is tense!

It's unreal!!!!

Declan Meenagh has finance.

For defo?!??

DEADLY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Caxi

Another one down then.

Can't wait for Comms result; hoping Rob has Tuohy for breakfast. Or maybe supper if the suspense continues to roll like this.

Lads I feel sick! Feel free to come over to the SU...im a nervous wreck over here!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,810 ✭✭✭Seren_

F5 has become my new favourite button :pac:

Well done to everyone that's won so far! I can't imagine how nerve-racking it must be over there.

jesus someone really doesnt want tuohy 2get it!! bit harsh now and in fairness i do support rob!!

Every time that door opens my heart stops! it's good craic though and all of the candidates are all quite pale!!

So is it ents and comms being counted now???

kellief wrote: »
    Every time that door opens my heart stops! it's good craic though and all of the candidates are all quite pale!!
    maybe cos they're irish!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Caxi

jesus someone really doesnt want tuohy 2get it!! bit harsh now and in fairness i do support rob!!

C'mon man, have you seen the t-shirts? It's like the baby boom from around the time of Wham! has just come into proper fruition...