Could you live in the Wild without Fire or Sharp Tools?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,689 ✭✭✭✭OutlawPete

Nature gave us brains instead, everything we do could be considered perfectly natural.

Just because humans do things, does not make it natural.

I don't believe that nature would have us do anything that is not instinctive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭Thomas828

Oh no, forget it! I've lived all my life in the city, first Belfast and now London. I would never for a minute consider giving up all the mod-cons and creature comforts that come with city life. I wouldn't kid myself. I wouldn't last more than a day in the wilderness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Yes I could!

/wipes ass with poison ivy.

Fire IS natural though!

It's 'natural' in the context that am referring to.

I mean 'natural' as in 'instinctive' for us as humans.

In your definition of 'natural', Cars are natural as we create them from nature.
    Man discovered that he could kill to survive, .

Yes, but there are Vegan tribes who live on Raw food and don't kill animals and they still survive to this day.

Vegan Tribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

OutlawPete wrote: »

For something to be really unnatural, at some point in the events leading up to it happening, something outside nature must have had an influence.

Bonito wrote: »
    /wipes ass with poison ivy.

It was the mushrooms killed the fool in Into The Wild .. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Yeah but instinct is the need to survive. And the need to survive is natural. The world that we live in today has been built from a natural progression. Leave humans on a desert island to survive with nothing but their instincts and in a few thousand years they'll have exactly the same as we have now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Nature does things out of necessity.. making things easier is necessary in our case, simply to survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,813 ✭✭✭TPD

It was the mushrooms killed the fool in Into The Wild .. :)

I thought it was that he ate some plant he shouldnt have? At the end he's in a panic looking through his book and reading the descriptions of the spines on teh backs of the leaves or something, and realises he ate the poisionous ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

I think you're right about this, I also think that we have no idea what is instinctive for us any more!

I remember reading a story not that long ago (can't find a link) about a guy who was adrift at sea for a long time. He was able to fish but obviously had no way to cook them, for weeks on end he just ate the raw flesh. After a while his body needed the nutrients that he couldn't get from the flesh only and he started craving the eyes, brains etc (which contained the nutrients).

So something that we would all (most of us anyway) consider disgusting became the instinctive thing for this man to do.

I think if marooned on a desert island the instinctive thing for us all is to survive, and that would include using all of our knowledge to create tools, fire and anything else that would help us survive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Actually Ive been thinking and living on a deserted island would be great in a swiss family robinson kinda way

the first thing ill make is a coconut phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Leave humans on a desert island to survive with nothing but their instincts and in a few million years they'll have exactly the same as we have now.

If it takes a few million years then they must be some of the stupider humans...

I thought it was that he ate some plant he shouldnt have? At the end he's in a panic looking through his book and reading the descriptions of the spines on teh backs of the leaves or something, and realises he ate the poisionous ones.

From an interview with Sean Penn I gathered it was a mushroom as they said some were growing near the bus.

In the film it focuses on that book - either way a lot of controversy follows the whole thing.

Some say that making a movie about someone that did such a foolish thing is wrong as it make spark caopycats and in essence we are celebrating stupidity on some level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,037 ✭✭✭BrianD3

No fire, no tools, nothing pointy? Probably no hunting or trapping skills. Little or no knowledge about plants apart from obvious stuff like eating berries (at certain times of the year) I think very few people would survive long term, they'd slowly waste away. There are feck all calories in berries, mushrooms and insects. Are you going to risk eating carrion without having any means to cook it.

And without fire, many people would probably die from hypothermia well before they starved to death.

nibtrix wrote: »
    If it takes a few million years then they must be some of the stupider humans...

I meant a few thousand :o

I think you're right about this, I also think that we have no idea what is instinctive for us any more!

I remember reading a story not that long ago (can't find a link) about a guy who was adrift at sea for a long time. He was able to fish but obviously had no way to cook them, for weeks on end he just ate the raw flesh. After a while his body needed the nutrients that he couldn't get from the flesh only and he started craving the eyes, brains etc (which contained the nutrients).

So something that we would all (most of us anyway) consider disgusting became the instinctive thing for this man to do.

Exactly, which is the point of the thread, I did have one :p
    I think if marooned on a desert island the instinctive thing for us all is to survive, and that would include using all of our knowledge to create tools, fire and anything else that would help us survive

Quite correct and it is that element of knowledge that I am attempting to remove by asking what would you eat if all you have are your bare hands and teeth.

For a start, the two biggest food addictions we have in this world would be gone.

Bread and Sugar.

Can't eat raw bread as without Fire, bread is inedible.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,722 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Are there any female passengers? They could survive on my fap juice. It's full of nutrients, or so I tell my missus

Off out folks, Bobos for a Burger .. :pac:

Thought I'd leave you all to your RAW food.

Here's Bear Grylls eating a raw fish, good luck with the parasites folks .. :p

antodeco wrote: »
    Are there any female passengers? They could survive on my fap juice. It's full of nutrients, or so I tell my missus

What will the male passengers survive on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭InKonspikuou2

I lived for a month in a Kogui community in the jungles of Colombia. No electricity, no running water and man made huts and hammocks as beds. Collected water from the mountain streams and boiled it, collected wood, ate fish, hunted animals and picked veg and fruit. My friend was half Kogui so we got accepted to stay in with them. Unbelievable experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,638 ✭✭✭PeakOutput

you could not make fire.

why not?
    What would you and wouldn't you, be willing to eat in order to survive??

i would eat anything i knew would help me survive as would 99.9% of people because thats what our body will force us to do
    Everything that is in the wild, is available to you.

accept fire and sharp objects apparently

Rules:

there are no rules in the wild so what are you talking about?

Basically, you are back to nature.

not really there are sharp objects and fire in the wild
    So, could you live in the wild and if so, what would you exist on?

what your really asking is would we be willing to try and catch and kill an animal with our hands and eat it raw, if for some magical reason that was necessary then yes i would be willing to try it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,554 ✭✭✭✭alwaysadub

Being involved with Scouts for over 20years, i
    think i could do it :)
    As someone else posted though, without fire you could quite easily die from hypothermia-being outdoors at night can be quite cold!! With regard to killing animals and things,i think that if it came down to it in a life of death situation(life or death for me that is) that i would end up doing it for survival and eventually it would get to the stage where it would be if not exactly instinct,then part and parcel of daily life-it would more than likely freak me out the 1st few times to do it but,like everything in life,you do something for long enough,and it becomes the norm to you.

EDIT:Oh yeah i would also get quite pissed from all the drink from the plane's drink trolley,not to mention all the packs of peanuts to eat(you never said the plane was damaged in any way,just crashed :D)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Yes, I would survive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

What will the male passengers survive on?

breast milk . . . .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,382 ✭✭✭jimmyw

Off out folks, Bobos for a Burger .. :pac:

Thought I'd leave you all to your RAW food.

Here's Bear Grylls eating a raw fish, good luck with the parasites folks .. :p

I recently started looking at him in these extreme places. Jaysus I cringe at most of the things the guy eats, but interesting all the same

P.S I think he has Irish connections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Here goes me with loadsa quotes about the OP...OutlawPete :D
    Seen Into The Wild again last night and
    Everything that is in the wild, is available to you.
    Animals, Fish, Fruits, Vegetables etc are all aplenty.
    Ya must of copped by now that was mistake #1.
    if I could kill an animal or not.

Are humans by nature killers?

Is eating raw animal flesh an instinct or a learned behavior?
    The difference between every wild/natural borne surviving animal and humans is we "think" about it and they dont. Simple as.We "think" and have a conscience. We worry,sympathise,empathise,fantasise..all the "ises" about things we "think" we should be doing.They dont. If anyone asks me "how do i know?" ..well..i dont!

Simple fact is, we as humans are a completely different species, a unique species. Darwin (god love him he robbed some other lads (Spencer) theory and made it his own).
    nature is not complicated and tools should not be needed, nor fire either, in order to survive.
    Nature is complicated. Its amazing and plenty of animals, birds and fish use tools to survive.Check this out.
    We are not born with the ability to make fire, it's something we discovered.
    Yeh...eh..no **** sherlock. Every species is born with an inbuilt survival mechanism (heart beats,lungs process air,liver detoxifies etc). The features that make humans "unique" is our enhanced ability to (as we think it) to live a normal life. As far as we know, all wild animals just see us as another predator to be watching out for,hope they get a ride and make babies and find enough food to make it through till the next day. Hmmm...humans have survived for better or for worse ahead of most species?From a conscience point of view not a good thing. Is there a species out there fighting for our survival...eh...NO!!
    wrote:
    My question is can you live as nature intended.
    Would nature have not given us teeth sharp enough to rip whatever animals nature interned us to eat?
    We are living as "nature intended"..and we do have the teeth to do that.Check your mouth.Our canines/molars etc are still there for a reason. [/quote]
    If you think about it...and dont do it....then its not instinctive. Think about it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭SeanKev

PeakOutput wrote: »
    why not?

i would eat anything i knew would help me survive as would 99.9% of people because thats what our body will force us to do

accept fire and sharp objects apparently

there are no rules in the wild so what are you talking about?

not really there are sharp objects and fire in the wild

what your really asking is would we be willing to try and catch and kill an animal with our hands and eat it raw, if for some magical reason that was necessary then yes i would be willing to try it

It's a scenario ffs, he said despite your best efforts you couldn't make a fire so stop nitpicking everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

If you were in a plane crash and were stranded on a desert island with a few others and for whatever reason, despite your best efforts, you could not make fire.

Can the other people make fire? :P

I'd like to think I could survive but I mean all you really need is water and the odd morsel to sustain yourself for a couple of months. If fruit and veg are aplenty, then sure, no problem.

Just on the point of a desert island, did you know that the Arabic word for desert is Sahara? :D

Back .. *licks lips* .. lovely GBK burger, Bobo's was closed :)
    SeanKev wrote: »
    It's a scenario ffs, he said despite your best efforts you couldn't make a fire so stop nitpicking everything.

Thank you, at last .. someone with sense ;)

If I hadn't had the: 'no sharp tools' and 'no fire' rules, then you could all just sit on the beach all day and have a fcuking barbecue!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Back .. *licks lips* .. lovely GBK burger, Bobo's was closed :)

Thank you, at last .. someone with sense ;)

If I hadn't had the: 'no sharp tools' and 'no fire' rules, then you could all just sit on the beach all day and have a fcuking barbecue!!
    Never ask me to babysit again :pac: