Oxegen 2010

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 81,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Worst oxegen lineup ever!!!!

"The robin in the garden,

That was me,

I'm still here, Loving you..

Until we meet again. "

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

yimrsg wrote: »
    Muse, Kasabian & Prodigy have played loads of gigs in Ireland recently so its a bit samey and wouldn't have the same draw if they only come over now and again.

Muse played twice in Ireland last year. I would not say that is loads of gigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Haven't been in about 3 years. It was gradually getting worse every year with the underage scum so can't imagine what this year will be like. Pity, back in the early days of Oxegen/Witness it was always a great weekend.

No doubt Electric Picnic will go this way soon enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭conky_05

Michael B wrote: »

No doubt Electric Picnic will go this way soon enough too.

....and that's where the Life Festival comes in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

There are some acts I'd like to see: Mumford & Suns, John Mayer, Faithless, Stereophonics and Temper Trap. But with ****e headliners like that, I'll be keeping clear. If the government bombed Oxegen that year, Ireland's IQ would probably jump up about 20 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,740 ✭✭✭Naos

I'm just happy that it means the scum will stay here in Ireland whilst I venture into Europe for bigger & better festival again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Muse played twice in Ireland last year. I would not say that is loads of gigs.

Yeah slight sensationalism by me but its not like they're only over here once or twice in 4 or 5 years? Fans have had plenty of opportunities to see them also so it sorta dilutes their ability to draw in a big crowd. Its not like RATM or Pearl Jam who are rarities over here and would have huge fan bases who might miss out on tickets if they only did one or two shows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭xcarriex

Emmpty wrote: »
    Why two rappers to headline? I'm really disappointed with the line up so far. I just hope there are lots of good smaller bands still to be announced. And maybe a bit of arctic monkeys..

Artic Monkeys were EPIC the year i seen them, they had some ****ty time like 2 on the saturday and it was raining but was amazing, cant remember who came on after that, i do remember The Strokes The Who and James Brown..... Now THAT was a line up :)

Young, pregnant, with x's in your name...Are you sure you're not dying to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

do ye reckon faithless will be on the o2 stage or that??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭xcarriex

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Im 23, hardly young, im very HAPPILY pregnant, and yes my impending motherhood has ensured that im learning to enjoy some finer things in life so oxegen will be way down that list,

I dont see why a thread about oxegen needs to have such personal remarks all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,810 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Line up needed a bit of shaking up, Kings of Leon - you get a better show from their cd, f.ucking brutal on stage. As mentioned before- snow patrol?? i'd rather see a snow man than those shower of pretentous twats. As for electric picnic, it's a totally different audience, ex hippies, parents with kids and an assortment of trying desperately hard to be cool students and "real music fans", you know the type who only like obscure rubbish. Rap or hip hop or whatever you want to call it may not be to everybodies taste but Jay Z has had 11 No.1 albums in a row in the states, you can't tell me that was an accident or a fad. The man is a bone fide musical genius. I had no plans to go to this year but if at all possible, i will now.

Love the lineup this year.. Fekin savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Meh. Knackerville. Lollapalooza FTW :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

That's not very nice! Arent you just back from a site ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,996 ✭✭✭latenia

If you pause the video at 00:32 you can pinpoint the exact moment hip-hop died:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

News just in:
    MCD have shocked the scummer nation with news that both Eminem and Jay-Z are to headline this year's upcoming Oxegen festival.
    The promotion company has been working with Dublin City Council to eradicate the knacker population.
    A 2 hour meeting with MCD and Dublin City Council resulted in success by luring two knacker favourites, Jay-Z and Eminem to headline the so called "rock & roll festival".
    "It's the only way we'll get them all in the one place at the same time", explained a Dublin City Council employee.
    The plan is to drop a large canister of toxic gas overhead onto the unsuspecting scumbags.

Source: My dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Stay on topic please.

I was just thinking.... Lads get your Dutch Gold soon. It's all gonna be gone the week leading up to the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 Snas

This lineup makes me cry. :(

Would I get into Electric Picnic at 17? :P

Snas wrote: »
    This lineup makes me cry. :(

Would I get into Electric Picnic at 17? :P

Most likely yeah. I've never been checked for ID (except going to get a pint in the main arena) so I wouldn't really worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Eminem and Jay-Z are great, it's their fans that are the problem

Edit: Does this mean that the Daft Punk rumours aren't true? Goddamn it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Gillington

antodeco wrote: »
    Yay! Means I will be going to Electric Picnic instead now! Was trying to decide which, but the skank factor has won me over and allows me not to participate. Although, some young ones could be looking for a nice fella to give them a fingering...luv

Well i'm sure there'll be enough Anto's and Deco's at Oxegen so enjoy EP!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

phasers wrote: »
    Eminem and Jay-Z are great, it's their fans that are the problem
    Doesn't thinking they're great make you a fan?

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Doesn't thinking they're great make you a fan?
    Yep. Now shut up or oill batter ya

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 45 cartman555

simply the BEST oxegen line up EVER! actually probably even the best concert line-up ever in Ireland! JAY-Z and EMINEM! still cant believe they could get acts that good!:D usually the oxegen line-up is muck but this year its gunna be amazing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I love Jay-Z, Eminem, BEP and Florence and The Machine. Wish I was allowed go.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,574 ✭✭✭falan

Each to their own, but i certainly wont be going to Oxegen. It was good in the early years but now its gone too commercialised for me. I'm gonna take my chances at EP,Indiependance and life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,649 ✭✭✭Catari Jaguar

Jesus wept. Who'd have thunk the ****test festival ever could get ****ter?

A mix of D4 trendies AND knackers. That impending massacre will sort out my two most hated demographics.