Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oxegen 2010

• 23-02-2010 2:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭

I was a little bit upset missing oxegen this yr, but now i see that Eminem & Jayz are billed for it, Im much looking forward to been in the labour ward!!

Might they be trying to stir up controversy a-la Glatonbury? I dont think ticket sales were too fantastic last yr!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

xcarriex wrote: »
    I was a little bit upset missing oxegen this yr, but now i see that Eminem & Jayz are billed for it, Im much looking forward to been in the labour ward!!

Might they be trying to stir up controversy a-la Glatonbury? I dont think ticket sales were too fantastic last yr!

why arent you going to have brown sauce any more?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I was a little bit upset missing oxegen this yr,

Oxygen is early this yr?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Jay Z is the dirt worst. Pure ****e

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

the fact that jay-z is playing is massive. win win really. if you don't wanna watch him you don't have to, there's plenty of other stages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Jay Z sucks!

So does Eminem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

Might they be trying to stir up controversy a-la Glatonbury?

whats controversial about jay-z and eminem :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

Helix wrote: »
    whats controversial about jay-z and eminem :confused:

Jay-z is rubbish... all he does is sample and remix... pure muck!

can handle M&M's specially the peanut ones :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Gonna be an even bigger skobe magnet than usual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Why did they pick him to headline? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    Why did they pick him to headline? :mad:
    In an attempt to appeal to the largest possible market, thus ensuring a sellout festival and maximising profits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,974 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Gonna be an even bigger skobe magnet than usual.

Precisely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 129 ✭✭xcarriex

There not my kinda music tbh, but i thought in general Oxegen was aimed at the indie/pop/rock genre(label it what you will), now correct me if im wrong, i just remember that year Jay-Z play Glastonbury, that Liam Gallagher had some choice words to say (i dont take his opinion seriously) about how they werent the proper acts to be playing a festival such as Glastonbury and there was some debate over it,

Yeah i understand that there a plenty of other stages and from previous experience i have had the best fun, and found some great new music to check out, i just mean that the headline act, going on previous years, would be of the indie/pop/rock variety, i.e. Kings of Leon (though a well deserved break from ox) The Killers,Snow Patrol etc,

Thats just my little opinion, Though i guess its good too see them catering for the masses :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31 Mona Lott

I take it it'll be a slim or shady chance that Eminen will actually appear this time? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 705 ✭✭✭keepkeyyellow

well that's me not going this year:) I was disgusted with thr amount of pure scum around the place last year and with Jay-Z, Eminen, and the Black Eyed Peas playing this year it's gonna turn into a horse fair...

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Yay! Means I will be going to Electric Picnic instead now! Was trying to decide which, but the skank factor has won me over and allows me not to participate. Although, some young ones could be looking for a nice fella to give them a fingering...luv

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Whats wrong with you people. Jay-z is a legend, eminem wouldn't be too far behind him either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Jay-Z, Eminen, and the Black Eyed Peas? Scangfest 2010! I would not fancy camping for that one at all.

It'll make the Mitzuturbo Rally look like a quiet night in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

Have to say I'm actually pretty happy with this years line up! I thought last years was cat. With the exception of Jay Z headlining (I mean wtf like?) I think its a good solid mix. Something for everyone rock, pop, dance, alt...you name it.

Wasn't even guna think about oxegen but the line up may persuade me to take a day trip up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,590 ✭✭✭Pigwidgeon

It's a terrible lineup this year. Seriously who thought Jay Z and Eminem would be good headliners? As someone said, I would not fancy camping this year. I'd say fires and robbing will be even bigger than usual this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The knacker element will be turned all the way up to 11 this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Jay-Z is fantastic and by all accounts put on a great show at Glastonbury last year - don't see the problem, people upset Snow Patrol and Kings of Leon aren't available for the 17th time? Eminem I wouldn't be too pushed about seeing, ditto Black Eyed Peas but there's different stages for different tastes, unlike Electric Picnic where every act is an over-the-hill 90s group or a new, but unheard of specialist in maudlin crap

By the way 'OP - Muse, Kasabian, Vampire Weekend, Temper Trap, Broken Social Scene and Florence and the Machine are also playing - sounds good to me

Well, apart from been heavily pregnant, the line up would be enough to persuade me to save my €300 and do something else! I do thnk the Shambola factor will be off the richter scale!

Jay-Z is fantastic and by all accounts put on a great show at Glastonbury last year - don't see the problem, people upset Snow Patrol and Kings of Leon aren't available for the 17th time? Eminem I wouldn't be too pushed about seeing, ditto Black Eyed Peas but there's different stages for different tastes, unlike Electric Picnic where every act is an over-the-hill 90s group or a new, but unheard of specialist in maudlin crap

I do agree some of the acts are WAY over-played at the festival, buuuuuuuut from experience they main stage has been more aimed at having a band & not a hip hop artist, im not saying the said acts arent good, i think that Jay-Z is a massive selling artist, i do think there is some better bands suited to people who go to Oxegen for a certain genre of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Ah man this is gonna be Turbo Deaaaadddllllyyyyyyy... Get me a case of 24 Cylindrical Gold in and wreck it...

Electric picnic please...

By the way 'OP - Muse, Kasabian, Vampire Weekend, Temper Trap, Broken Social Scene and Florence and the Machine are also playing - sounds good to me

wtf like? thank fcuk theyre not playin this year, kol, seen them 3 times, the same feckin gig over and over again! ponces.

I do agree some of the acts are WAY over-played at the festival, buuuuuuuut from experience they main stage has been more aimed at having a band & not a hip hop artist, im not saying the said acts arent good, i think that Jay-Z is a massive selling artist, i do think there is some better bands suited to people who go to Oxegen for a certain genre of music.

there are other bands i would like to see headline too, but they're not making a line-up suited to me. loads of people will want to see jay-z, and tbh, he is a headline act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

the line up makes no difference,every year oxegen is a major scumfest.The same people who love eminem also made Kings of Leon somehow the biggest band in the world.
    Electric Picnic is a better crowd,Oxegen is just a day out for the crowd that used to go to Slane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

Do we even know yet who's headlining for sure? I'd expect Eminem, Muse, Jay-Z, Prodigy, Black Eyed Peas and Kasabian are all big enough to headline the main stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 Emmpty

Why two rappers to headline? I'm really disappointed with the line up so far. I just hope there are lots of good smaller bands still to be announced. And maybe a bit of arctic monkeys..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

unlike Electric Picnic where every act is an over-the-hill 90s group or a new, but unheard of specialist in maudlin crap

They played EP just last year and were immense. EP's lineup forces you to find out some new acts you never heard of and oldies you never knew about.

Back on topic. Its a good lineup this year but there is the major downer of the fans some of the acts attract. Another thing is that Muse, Kasabian & Prodigy have played loads of gigs in Ireland recently so its a bit samey and wouldn't have the same draw if they only come over now and again.

Checking the lineup further there is a few other acts from last years EP playing Oxegen; Simian Mobile Disco and Empire of the Sun.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 81,083 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

Worst oxegen lineup ever!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

yimrsg wrote: »
    Muse, Kasabian & Prodigy have played loads of gigs in Ireland recently so its a bit samey and wouldn't have the same draw if they only come over now and again.

Muse played twice in Ireland last year. I would not say that is loads of gigs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

Haven't been in about 3 years. It was gradually getting worse every year with the underage scum so can't imagine what this year will be like. Pity, back in the early days of Oxegen/Witness it was always a great weekend.

No doubt Electric Picnic will go this way soon enough too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭conky_05

Michael B wrote: »

No doubt Electric Picnic will go this way soon enough too.

....and that's where the Life Festival comes in :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,541 ✭✭✭Heisenberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

There are some acts I'd like to see: Mumford & Suns, John Mayer, Faithless, Stereophonics and Temper Trap. But with ****e headliners like that, I'll be keeping clear. If the government bombed Oxegen that year, Ireland's IQ would probably jump up about 20 points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭Naos

I'm just happy that it means the scum will stay here in Ireland whilst I venture into Europe for bigger & better festival again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭yimrsg

Minstrel27 wrote: »
    Muse played twice in Ireland last year. I would not say that is loads of gigs.

Yeah slight sensationalism by me but its not like they're only over here once or twice in 4 or 5 years? Fans have had plenty of opportunities to see them also so it sorta dilutes their ability to draw in a big crowd. Its not like RATM or Pearl Jam who are rarities over here and would have huge fan bases who might miss out on tickets if they only did one or two shows.

Emmpty wrote: »
    Why two rappers to headline? I'm really disappointed with the line up so far. I just hope there are lots of good smaller bands still to be announced. And maybe a bit of arctic monkeys..

Artic Monkeys were EPIC the year i seen them, they had some ****ty time like 2 on the saturday and it was raining but was amazing, cant remember who came on after that, i do remember The Strokes The Who and James Brown..... Now THAT was a line up :)

Young, pregnant, with x's in your name...Are you sure you're not dying to go?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭Dexters16

do ye reckon faithless will be on the o2 stage or that??

Rojomcdojo wrote: »

Im 23, hardly young, im very HAPPILY pregnant, and yes my impending motherhood has ensured that im learning to enjoy some finer things in life so oxegen will be way down that list,

I dont see why a thread about oxegen needs to have such personal remarks all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Line up needed a bit of shaking up, Kings of Leon - you get a better show from their cd, f.ucking brutal on stage. As mentioned before- snow patrol?? i'd rather see a snow man than those shower of pretentous twats. As for electric picnic, it's a totally different audience, ex hippies, parents with kids and an assortment of trying desperately hard to be cool students and "real music fans", you know the type who only like obscure rubbish. Rap or hip hop or whatever you want to call it may not be to everybodies taste but Jay Z has had 11 No.1 albums in a row in the states, you can't tell me that was an accident or a fad. The man is a bone fide musical genius. I had no plans to go to this year but if at all possible, i will now.

Love the lineup this year.. Fekin savage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭Wolflikeme

Meh. Knackerville. Lollapalooza FTW :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

That's not very nice! Arent you just back from a site ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭latenia

If you pause the video at 00:32 you can pinpoint the exact moment hip-hop died:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

News just in:
    MCD have shocked the scummer nation with news that both Eminem and Jay-Z are to headline this year's upcoming Oxegen festival.
    The promotion company has been working with Dublin City Council to eradicate the knacker population.
    A 2 hour meeting with MCD and Dublin City Council resulted in success by luring two knacker favourites, Jay-Z and Eminem to headline the so called "rock & roll festival".
    "It's the only way we'll get them all in the one place at the same time", explained a Dublin City Council employee.
    The plan is to drop a large canister of toxic gas overhead onto the unsuspecting scumbags.

Source: My dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Stay on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I was just thinking.... Lads get your Dutch Gold soon. It's all gonna be gone the week leading up to the weekend.