Beggars / homeless people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Holsten wrote: »
    Nothing, because I don't want to.

I really could not give a **** about them.

Good for you. But see how you feel if someday you end up in that kind of desperate situation. Sure, it'll probably never happen to you, but be grateful for that and spare a thought for the person with nowhere to live, no friends, no money and no hope, before you make such stupid comments.

gsxr1 wrote: »
    I lived on the first house on Lamb Alley . Just off Thomas street. There is track suit clad scum that deal heroin there every hour, every day. I seen them.. Beat the **** out of a garda one day, and every other day , rob or smash a car.
    I seen it . it happens. Every day. really.
    When you give most of these folk money. They take it straight to this place(or others like it) and give to the scum dealers. There was a girl. skinny,Irish,black around the eyes who begged out side the cash machine on Dame st. She took her profits out side my door. Twice a day. She is no longer there anymore. .

You have to judge each person individually. Obviously not all homeless people are heroin junkies and scumbags. It's not that hard to tell who's genuine and who isn't.

A homeless guy in Dublin once asked me to go into the shop and get him some sausage rolls. He even wanted to give me his loose change to pay for them, probably all he could afford (I didn't take it). So I got him a proper sandwich and a drink and he was really grateful. So there are some genuine homeless people, and it's not my place or anyone else's to judge them or how they got there. We don't know what circumstances transpired for a person to sink to that level. Even if it was their own fault that doesn't change the reality of their situation now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,167 ✭✭✭gsxr1

aidan24326 wrote: »
    A homeless guy in Dublin once asked me to go into the shop and get him some sausage rolls. He even wanted to give me his loose change to pay for them, probably all he could afford (I didn't take it). So I got him a proper sandwich and a drink and he was really grateful. So there are some genuine homeless people, and it's not my place or anyone else's to judge them or how they got there. We don't know what circumstances transpired for a person to sink to that level. Even if it was their own fault that doesn't change the reality of their situation now.

I admire your generosity. Really. to see the good in people as you did , is a gift.
    I was in the thick off it for a while in lamb alley. When in that situation its hard to have compassion for those who target you.
    That statement was sooooo wrong I know. But I was just so ****ed off with peeps stealing and begging from me every day. As soon as I walked out side. Even to leave the bins out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

aidan24326 wrote: »
    Good for you. But see how you feel if someday you end up in that kind of desperate situation. Sure, it'll probably never happen to you, but be grateful for that and spare a thought for the person with nowhere to live, no friends, no money and no hope, before you make such stupid comments.

Giving them money isn't going to improve their situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,415 ✭✭✭The Pontiac

I do give them money sometimes depending on how genuinely desperate they look. I agree it can encourage them, but a 50 year old beggar that's homeless and an alcoholic..well I don't think it's going to change anytime soon for them. I nearly always give them a few smokes too if they ask..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Sad thread is sad.

Regardless of giving or not giving them money/food, having a small amount of compassion will cost you nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭MickShamrock

Nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I donate to the Capuchin Day Centre instead of giving money to beggars. The provide meals, laundry, showers and advice. Money much better spent.
    Sometimes I may throw a €1 and shrapnel into a cup if it's cold and they are friendly. I always try to address them if they ask me for money though rather than ignore them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 640 ✭✭✭Michaelrsh

I don't give money to people who randomly come up to me in the street and ask me for money, simple because there is a high probability that they'll use it for drug and I don't want to contribute to their drug problem. Not to say that it's true for all homeless people, there are most likely people out there who genuinely need the money for a hostel etc., but you really can't tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭Glenster

They're everywhere, like rats, they use the money you give them to buy heroin you know.

I never give them money but I always feel irrationally guilty when walking past them.

If someone is collecting for the simon community i'll give a few euros.

Scrooge had the right idea. Send them to the workhouse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 920 ✭✭✭Menengroth™

there's a lad at one of the traffic lights on the naas road/long mile junction every morning going up to each car and begging. up until last week there was another lad doing the exact same thing, think new guy forced old guy out ¬_¬

anyway, i never give them anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I would never give money to anyone who has a baby or child with them but I don't have a problem giving a couple of quid when I have it regardless of what they are going to spend it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 960 ✭✭✭tipperaryboy

would give to the genuine but most of the time its hard to tell who is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭thirtythirty

neil_18_ wrote: »
    because I can never tell if they are genuine or not, you know the ones with the shiny new nike runners!

I judge it on shoes, followed by a look at the rest of their clothes, followed by their general demeanor.

I don't give to anyone who comes up to me looking for money. If they have both the energy and mental state to be actively approaching people, it generally means they're not legit. You can see it in their eyes.
    neil_18_ wrote: »
    I would not and never have given a Roma gypsy money, not out of racism,

Never a Roma gypsy woman, or male under 40/50. If it's a Roma middle aged man and he doesn't have nice shoes, then probably ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

When I had a job, I'd occasionally give out change and sometimes food. Would also give money to buskers I liked and drop change in tip jars. That's all stopped for the time being being cause I'm now on the dole.

About 2 years ago I had a big bag of change I was bringing to the machine in supervalue to count. En route, stopped and had coffee with some mates, sitting outside.

Along comes the galway legend that is Warty Nora and is asking folks for money. Impulsively I gave her the entire bag of change - now there was nothing bigger than 20c in there, but it still was likely pushing 20 quid or more.

The result - she sat down with us and started a non-stop speed monologue about all her medical woes. I lost any karma I got for giving her change by having to shoo her away so I could continue chatting with my mates.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

where is the option that says

Nothing,it only encourages begging , help should be provided by welfare state we shouldn't even need charities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭eightyfish

I never give money to Romanian Gypsies (because going on anecdotal evidence, and that's all I have, they're not homeless) or people who sit beside ATMs (aggressive begging). I do give money when I have it to quite obviously homeless people, and I'm more likely to if its very cold. I don't mind if they spend it on drink and drugs because, really, how else are you going to cope?

I think its better to give a descent amount to Focus every now and then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭EraseAndRewind

my dad used to see a bunch of staving looking kids always begging outside his workplace so he bought them all mcdonalds one day

they looked at the food and ****ed off a nearby bridge...little s hits

he never again gave to anyone begging:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭Kivaro

my dad used to see a bunch of staving looking kids always begging outside his workplace so he bought them all mcdonalds one day

they looked at the food and ****ed off a nearby bridge...little s hits

he never again gave to anyone begging:(

Wait. They jumped off a bridge after looking at a Big Mac?
    No wonder your father does not give to anyone begging anymore.

m@cc@ wrote: »

Not in the long run, but if you're starving a bit of food won't go astray for now. In any case I generally don't give money, but I have given food to people a couple of times when I knew they were genuine. Some have said that these homeless people should sort out their situation but it's easier said than done. There are support groups like Focus but they're probably limited enough in what they can do. Without an address you can't even claim social welfare. No doubt some have alcohol and/or drug problems, throw in depression aswell maybe, and with no support of family or friends it would be very difficult to drag yourself out of that mire. Where would you even begin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,097 ✭✭✭conorhal

It depends on the beggar is the simple answer, some people are in obvious distress and I'm happy to give them cash or whatever they need, but I would never give a red cent to shambling junkies or gypsies.
    There was a fascinating documentary on the BBC (I think) a while back that followed Roma beggars for a year of undercover filming through Berlin, Rome and England ...and what it revealed was shocking. Roma begging is essentially organized by a small number gypsy crime families and the proceeds go exclusively to them. The showed a photograph of a Roma shanty town in the 90's that today looks like a pikey Bel Air with mansion lined streets, all built with the proceeds of begging. As for the beggars themselves, to give money to them is effectively the same as giving money to slavers and child traffickers as these are people that are bought and sold for profit, they live their lives locked up and beaten up when quotas are not met (which explains the aggressive begging, often it’s desperation). Giving to such people only encourages and maintains a form of modern slavery.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 322 ✭✭EraseAndRewind

Kivaro wrote: »
    Wait. They jumped off a bridge after looking at a Big Mac?
    No wonder your father does not give to anyone begging anymore.

lol *reminds self to re-read post before clicking 'submit':P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blow69

Begging is just the lowest of the low. I throw the odd coin into a buskers hat but don't expect me to give money just because you don't have any. I'm not going to give money to someone who isn't even trying to get themselves out of the gutter.

Do you think they want to be this 'low'? Going from where they are to getting something like a part time job is a long, almost impossible journey. also need accommodation and qualifications. It angers me so much when I see scumbags/scobes causing trouble and who will never amount to anything, because they are brainless and because they don't want to. And yet they/their parents receive multiple handouts from the government and complain when it is cut by 3 or 5%. These also happen to be the people who can afford to turn their council houses into fcuking Disneyland for ten weeks during Christmas. Something is seriously wrong there.

It's a band aid for a bullet wound, sure. But giving them little comforts (things we take for granted) such as going to sleep without hunger can help.
    Glenster wrote: »
    Scrooge had the right idea. Send them to the workhouse.

Yeah because employment is plentiful nowadays, especially for unqualified people.

Let's get one thing straight.

Homeless people are just people down on their luck, maybe they lost their job or got hooked on drink or drugs or have mental health issues, there are dedicated centers (in dublin anyway) who deal with these people (although they are a bit stretched at the moment with cuts and that).

Beggars are grasping scum who want something for nothing, who want a free ride. Give money to a beggar if you want, if you have loads of money and want to feel like a bigshot but dont think for a second that you are helping the needy. You are giving money to moraless, idle, layabout dropoffs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,021 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I did onetime and was generous. I gave a fella a tenner one day feeling sorry for him. I went and had my dinner and then fancied a few pints. I see my man inside with his buddies sculling pints to beat the band!!! I still would depending on the situation. I just hate them rotten roma gypsies with a passion though.

Conan! wrote: »
    Yeah because employment is plentiful nowadays, especially for unqualified people.

My point exactly, build a workhouse, send them there and then brick it up after they've gone inside. Simples.

You know you should be in government. You seem to have the ideal logic.:rolleyes:

Let's get one thing straight.

Homeless people are just people down on their luck, maybe they lost their job or got hooked on drink or drugs or have mental health issues, there are dedicated centers (in dublin anyway) who deal with these people (although they are a bit stretched at the moment with cuts and that).

Beggars are grasping scum who want something for nothing, who want a free ride. Give money to a beggar if you want, if you have loads of money and want to feel like a bigshot but dont think for a second that you are helping the needy. You are giving money to moraless, idle, layabout dropoffs.

Well they have nothing to offer, hence the 'begging'.

With that logic you could accuse the people of Haiti of being scum. Are they not begging for money beacuse they too now have no food and shelter because of something that happened in their lives?

Way to generalise there Glenster. No doubt some beggars are dropouts/junkies/scumbags or whatever else you're having, but you can't say that automatically applies to all homeless people. Like I said in an earlier post you don't know a person's situation or how they got where they are, and who are you to judge? And how do you know they're all lacking morals, do you know each homeless person that well?

You seem to be confusing 'homeless' with 'begging scumbag junkie', they're not the same thing. Sometimes maybe, but only sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 913 ✭✭✭Ronan Keating

Glenster wrote:
    I'll tell you one thing, the day I'm elected emperor of Dublin there will be a lot fewer beggars on the street and the kebab shops will have a lot more tasty, tasty meat.smile.gif

Seriously though, we should kill and eat all the tramps. It's the only way they'll learn.

Aye. Hacksaw to the heart.

Conan! wrote: »
    Are they not begging for money beacuse they too now have no food and shelter because of something that happened in their lives?

I wish I were as innocent as you, I really do.

Irish beggars only want the money for booze and drugs, there are food and shelter programmes in Dublin that cater for people down on their luck.

Also have you seen some of the people they employ in Tesco?

A gibbon in a nappy could get a job there.