Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Moon landing hoax

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

As for lubricants boiling off. Oils have a much higher boiling point for a start. A few have been developed from the military angle for use in ICBMs which work in space. A "solid" lube like graphite would face no such problems.

Hell they wore highly complex and sensitive mechanical watches(omega speedmasters) exposed to the vacuum of space(still do these days as its still flight approved). OK they were specially selected, but when the glass of one popped off on the moon, one of the guys used a non approved one (a Hamilton IIRC) on his second EVA with no probs. Another wore a rolex on the moon, though AFAIR not outside the suit so....

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Wibbs wrote: »
    Its a similar argument to the one earlier about the moon being like an oven or a fridge. The only way heat can be transferred in a vacuum is by radiation(or direct contact between two bodies)

FYI as was pointed out the feather was stored in the outside pocket of the aastronaughts space suit.
    Hell they wore highly complex and sensitive mechanical watches(omega speedmasters) exposed to the vacuum of space

The watch would have been fine as it was sealed (airtight). No comparison with the camera here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭mrplop

Squod doesn't want to listen, he's one of those people who refuses to accept he's wrong. Doesn't matter what you say he'll always be right - in his own mind anyway.

Am I the only person that finds his deliberate misspelling of the word "Astronaut" incredibly irritating and unfunny?
    Amazing that a group of people would risk their lives traveling 250,000 miles for the betterment of mankind and muppets still find time to insult them.

mrplop wrote: »
    Squod doesn't want to listen, he's one of those people who refuses to accept he's wrong. Doesn't matter what you say he'll always be right - in his own mind anyway.

Am I the only person that finds his deliberate misspelling of the word "Astronaut" incredibly irritating and unfunny?
    Amazing that a group of people would risk their lives traveling 250,000 miles for the betterment of mankind and muppets still find time to insult them.

Making derogatory, personal statements about another user isn't acceptable. It especially isn't acceptable to imply that another user is a "muppet." Red card given.

The apollo lander was never successfully tested on Earth or on the moon prior to the live mission. It is probably impossible to land a rocket, and even if it is a theoretical possibility, no one has yet been able to come close to doing it. They can parachute an object onto a planet, they can glide a winged vehicle onto a planet, but landing an object under rocket power has never been done.

Some more moon landing trivia. Dunno if it's all true, AFAIK the apollo lander was never tested on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,175 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

No, it was tested in orbit around the Moon. The Apollo 10 mission brought the lunar module into lunar orbit and it decended to within 8 miles of the surface before rejoining with the CM and returning. It did not actually land until the mission itself which is ballsy to say the least. You could not realistically test it on Earth as the gravity is too strong, it would just crash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

its a long way to the moon and back yeah? like a 500,000 km or mile journey? not sure which

has this ever been done again? if not why? and how far have manned crafts gone since?

i am led to believe that since then all the missions to space have just orbited the earth, cant remember the distances given but definitely nowhere near the round trip to the moon and back

i am intrigued as to why that would be if it is the case, since it is now over 40 years since we did apparently go to the moon, why havent we been able to progress?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,175 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

kryogen wrote: »
    has this ever been done again? if not why? and how far have manned crafts gone since?

i am led to believe that since then all the missions to space have just orbited the earth, cant remember the distances given but definitely nowhere near the round trip to the moon and back

No-one has been to the moon since the 1970s. People lost interest. The US won the race so Russia didn't bother and it cost alot of money to do it. There is no point to go back unless you plan to construct a proper base. Which can only be considered now but again expense.

People have only gone to Skylab, Mir (both gone) and the ISS in the mean time at an orbit height of around 250 miles. The longest trips were the service missions to the Hubble at around 400 miles up. Thats as far as the shuttle can go and they have only 4 flights left. To go farther and carry a crew we need to go back to the big heavy rockets of the 1960s and 70s. Russia use smaller ferry rockets with the Soyuz to rotate crews to the ISS for the next 10 years.

Again its all cost, like supersonic civilian flight with Concorde now gone, its an expensive luxury unless you go all out. We still fly, just not as fast and more economical. When the time and tech is there we will.

You should ask in the space forums as you are asking serious questions which will get mulled around and pulled apart in circles here.

Theres a long read on the subject if anyone's interested. I read through it a while ago and found this guys comments very humourous. Some of the stuff we've been through on this thread and some stuff I haven't even thought of!

http://www.davesweb.cnchost.com/Apollo1.html
    Am I the only one, by the way, who finds it odd that people would move in slow motion on the Moon? Why would a reduced gravitational pull cause everything to move much more slowly? Given the fact that they were much lighter on their feet and not subject to air and wind resistance, shouldn’t the astronauts have been able to move quicker on the Moon than here on Earth? Was slow motion the only thing NASA could come up with to give the video footage an otherworldly feel?
    One last thing we’re going to need is a whole lot of batteries. Lots and lots of batteries. That’s going to be the only way to power the ship while we’re on the Moon, and we’ll definitely need to run the communications systems, and the oxygen supply system, and the heating and cooling system, and the cabin lights, and the television cameras and transmitters, and all the testing equipment, and our spacesuits, and that damn rover. And we won’t be able to recharge any of the various batteries, so we’re going to need a lot of back-ups. Especially of the really big batteries that run the ship. We may need a separate ship just to carry all the batteries we’re going to need.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

squod wrote: »
    Theres a long read on the subject if anyone's interested. I read through it a while ago and found this guys comments very humourous. Some of the stuff we've been through on this thread and some stuff I haven't even thought of!

think i have read that before, isnt it pretty biased? if its what im thinking of its completely biased anyway so it cant be taken too seriously

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,326 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

FYI as was pointed out the feather was stored in the outside pocket of the aastronaughts space suit.
    So? I'm not getting the point youre trying to make with this. So at most it was body temp. Unlikely given the insulation on the suits. Even so, its not gonna burst into flames is it?

The watch would have been fine as it was sealed (airtight). No comparison with the camera here.
    It was designed to be water resistant and anyone who has one of the originals(I had) would never consider it for diving as it's not water resistant enough. Big diff to air tight. In any case the other watch used on the eva's wasn't up to the omega's standard and functioned fine. Indeed a completely airtight mechanism would have more heat/cold issues than one with equalised pressure. Hence the cooling systems required for the suits/spacecraft.
    Some more moon landing trivia. Dunno if it's all true, AFAIK the apollo lander was never tested on earth.
    The rocket engine was. The electronics were. The physics of the craft were and it's systems were tested in vacuum chambers. It would have been utterly pointless to test it in earth atmosphere and gravity. It's pointless. The parameters are wildly different. They didnt test the shuttles RCS reaction control systems in atmosphere either.

Simply put, you don't test a submarine in a desert do you? So that argument hardly holds water or vacuum.

As for the contention that "It is probably impossible to land a rocket, and even if it is a theoretical possibility, no one has yet been able to come close to doing it. They can parachute an object onto a planet, they can glide a winged vehicle onto a planet, but landing an object under rocket power has never been done".

People should actually attempt to get a basic knowledge of the history of spaceflight before throwing out statements like that. *Ahem* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Viking_program#Viking_landers The two viking landers landed under rocket power, remotely, in atmosphere and in higher gravity. A much harder task considering the lack of the Mk 1 Human eyeball. The Russians did it too and there have been in atmosphere tests of other systems. The reason they use parachutes for landing probes now is that its several orders of magnitude cheaper(viking cost billions) and massively less complex. They've lost a shed load attempting it too as its less reliable. The beagle for one.

They dont use rocket landers to return to earth either. Again massive expense and another complex system that could fail. So using the atmosphere is a better bet, either parachute as the russians still use or teh shuttel(plus in apollo days they didnt have the materials required to make a winged return vehicle survive reentry).

OK objects dont move in slow motion on the moon. Look at the objects the astronauts use. A vid I linked to previously showed mission cards and tools on the belt moving as you would expect. Objects in the moons gravity drop slower because of the lower gravity so some slo mo will be seen. As for the guys themselves they move more clumsily as they're in pressure suits. Look at them in the vomit comet suited up and compare them to the movements of the normally dressed helpers. OF course the CT'rs in one vid will say things are moving too quickly, yet the same vid will be used as "evidence" to show them moving too slowly.

Again anyone out there on the CT side, post one video, just one, that was done as a special effect in a movie or documentary, that is as good as the Apollo movie footage. say 30 seconds long. Not even the 100+ hours of footage from apollo. Just one.

Batteries? Again these guys need to have more understanding. They're of a similar bent to creationists, knowledge wise. I have to use the phrase this stuff isnt exactly rocket science..

They had fuel cells. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Apollo_Command/Service_Module#Electrical_power_system Same as the shuttle. The shuttle can stay up for 10 days running off them and with a much greater electrical load. The LEM had heavy duty batteries as the added bulk of fuel cells(of the time) was not required for the mission. The CM/SM and the LEM had very frugal power requirements. It was designed that way for obvious reasons. Indeed when Apollo 13's fuel cells lost O2, that was the biggest hurdle(other than CO2 buildup). Keeping the already low power use even lower.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭EvilMonkey

They dont use rocket landers to return to earth either. Again massive expense and another complex system that could fail. So using the atmosphere is a better bet, either parachute as the russians still use or teh shuttel(plus in apollo days they didnt have the materials required to make a winged return vehicle survive reentry).

I think Soyuz uses landing engines to cushion the landing on earth in combination with parachutes.

kryogen wrote: »
    think i have read that before, isnt it pretty biased? if its what im thinking of its completely biased anyway so it cant be taken too seriously
    I thought it better to read the link as you never know. But, the guy has literally little or no clue about the physics of spaceflight among other things. I feel like a longwinded post(be seriously feckin afraid)

Example: To put that into more Earthly terms, U.S. astronauts today travel no further into space than the distance between the San Fernando Valley and Fresno. The Apollo astronauts, on the other hand, traveled a distance equivalent to circumnavigating the planet around the equator nine-and-a-half times! And they did it with roughly the same amount of fuel that it now takes to make that 200 mile journey, which is why I want NASA to build my next car for me. I figure I’ll only have to fill up the tank once and it should last me for the rest of my life. You feel that if you were talking to him you would say "here comes the science bit"...

Real basic? Think of the earth as a big hill. Takes a lot of energy/petrol to drive to the top of the hill(launch into orbit). When you get there so long as you dont roll back down its easy to stay. Think of the moon as another hill, not so big. across a big valley from the earth. So when you use half your tank getting to the top of earth hill, you then accelerate down the earth hill towards the moon hill. switch off the engine and coast down the hill across the valley and up the moon hill(lunar insertion burn). So you sit at the top of the moon hill(orbit). Have a picnic, few beers enjoy the view. You want to come home, so you accelerate down the moon hill and head back to the earth hill and because the moon hill is "steeper" your petrol goes further. Earth insertion burn. You've only used the car engine twice. QED.

The loss of the moon tapes? They lost the 11 ones, though they had copies or the CT'rs wouldnt have anything to mull over. They did not "lose" the rest. Ditto for the telemetry and other records. They did lose the LEM build instructions which was a major Doh! Rather than see this as sinister, I would see this as dopeyness. I mean they're hardly important to the did they or didnt they debate. Indeed this lack of cop on suggests the wherewithal to keep a hoax secret would be lacking.

Antarctic moon rocks? Well we've been through that. Though he does add to my previous contention when he reports NASA "confirmed" the Dutch moon rock as real over the phone. Now Ive got an iphone and funky though it is, it does not have a remote geological analyser app available for download....

Photos of the landing site: The luna probes are/were not of a similar size to the LEM. Utterly daft.

The Russians were ahead and didnt go to the moon: They were ahead at first and they were going to the moon. There had even been some talk of a joint mission. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soviet_Moonshot They had a heavy lifting rocket built especially for the task. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/N1_rocket They had a moon EVA suit and they had a lander http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/LK_Lander. They didnt go for a couple of reasons. Cost. The death of their brilliant head designer and main push behind such things. And the fact the yanks got their first. Cosmonaut Alexi Leonov was the man set to go. Some nerve to do it on your own. They may have canceled the mission as they couldnt get a suit big enough to accommodate his balls....

The other aspect of the soviet space programme was it was done in secret until they got a result. A very interesting and far more provable CT is how many cosmonauts died in this programme in the early days.

http://www.lostcosmonauts.com/default.htm worth a read. If one case is true, somewhere out in really deep space, ahead of voyager beyond the orbit of pluto, is a lone russian capsule containing the preserved body of a cosmonaut. The furthest a human has ever traveled, even if dead.

His stuff on the mechanics of the LEM or the physics of leaving the moon dont even bear arguing with. He says he's not a rocket scientist. The only clear truth in his writings. Ditto with his radiation notions which have been covered back and forth here already. Including the erroneous notion of 6 or 4 feet of lead. Ditto again with his lack of knowledge of film and how they loaded it.

The lack of science in much of the online CT'r stuff is laughable and sad too.

OK objects dont move in slow motion on the moon. Look at the objects the astronauts use. A vid I linked to previously showed mission cards and tools on the belt moving as you would expect. Objects in the moons gravity drop slower because of the lower gravity so some slo mo will be seen.

Again anyone out there on the CT side, post one video, just one, that was done as a special effect in a movie or documentary, that is as good as the Apollo movie footage. say 30 seconds long. Not even the 100+ hours of footage from apollo. Just one.

Mythbusters have already done this. Their movements were certainly faster and more agile on the TV docmentary.
    So? I'm not getting the point youre trying to make with this. So at most it was body temp.

Are you actually suggesting the outside pocket of the aastronaughts suit was cooled to body temperature? I don't for sure know what effects of heat on the feather in a vacuum are. I suggest the easiest explanation for the experiment was that it was filmed on earth.
    I read through it a while ago and found this guys comments very humourous. Some of the stuff we've been through on this thread and some stuff I haven't even thought of!

I don't think this bloke is taking himself or the subject so seriously. Such a long rebuttle Wibbs, he woulda found that amusing.

Mythbusters have already done this. Their movements were certainly faster and more agile on the TV docmentary.
    Unless their budget runs to pressurised space suits wandering on the moon in 1/6th gravity I cant see how you can compare.

Again to all pro hoaxers, show us just one faked/special effect movie of people doing an EVA on another world that looks as good. Just one out of all the sci fi/space movies of the last damn near 100 years of cinema and TV. Doesnt even have to be the moon. Can't be that difficult if it was so easy to dupe the world, scientists, engineers, viewers and the scientists and engineers of a hostile country 40 years ago.

Are you actually suggesting the outside pocket of the aastronaughts suit was cooled to body temperature?
    Nope just responding to your previous post and how I couldnt see its point.
    I don't for sure know what effects of heat on the feather in a vacuum are.
    That's the problem. You're missing the point about how heat is transmitted or lost in a vacuum. It can be only transmitted by radiation. Close contact isnt really in play as that removes the vacuum enitirely
    I suggest the easiest explanation for the experiment was that it was filmed on earth.
    equally considering the other evidence was that it was filmed on the moon.

I don't think this bloke is taking himself or the subject so seriously. Such a long rebuttle Wibbs, he woulda found that amusing.
    Well his points are word for word what 90% of the hoax proponents believe. Plus it fills 5 pages. Even at the speed I write, I'd need to be taking it fairly serious.

I also notice when pro hoaxers are faced with alternatives, scientifically based alternatives at that, they either shout "you're wrong! or change the subject to avoid the alternative. The goal post shifting I spoke of earlier. They make statements backed up if at all with very ill informed science aimed at a non scientifically minded audience of fellow believers. In the US where the average persons scientific education is parlously lacking when compared to the past, I can see the appeal. In this part of the world where such education is of a better average standard it does make me think.

• Site Banned Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭Brown Bomber

Most of this stuff goes over my head but I have to say this thread has made for facinating reading.

Unless their budget runs to pressurised space suits wandering on the moon in 1/6th gravity I cant see how you can compare.

Should we then (convenietly) ignore myth busters? The armchair enthusiast will be disappointed to learn they're just hoaxers.
    Again to all pro hoaxers, show us just one faked/special effect movie of people doing an EVA on another world that looks as good. Just one out of all the sci fi/space movies of the last damn near 100 years of cinema and TV. Doesnt even have to be the moon. Can't be that difficult if it was so easy to dupe the world, scientists, engineers, viewers and the scientists and engineers of a hostile country 40 years ago.

So then you want an exact re-enactment of something that never happened. That's gonna be a tough one! :D
    I also notice when pro hoaxers are faced with alternatives, scientifically based alternatives at that, they either shout "you're wrong! or change the subject to avoid the alternative. The goal post shifting I spoke of earlier. They make statements backed up if at all with very ill informed science

Well, you were asked earlier to make your case, you've heard my points (post 141 in particular). Off you go.....

Should we then (convenietly) ignore myth busters? The armchair enthusiast will be disappointed to learn they're just hoaxers.
    Huh? :confused: sorry dont get you. Mythbusters footage looks feck all like the apollo footage.

So then you want an exact re-enactment of something that never happened. That's gonna be a tough one! :D
    Seems an easy enough one. OK lets look at it from another angle. Apollo was faked. Why out of all the faked sci fi special fx ones, do none look like the apollo faked one? If it is that easy to fake or easy enough for 60's sci fi technology, then why that inconsistency?

Either way my request for a faked "copy" should be a much easier task.

Well, you were asked earlier to make your case, you've heard my points (post 141 in particular). Off you go.....
    And maybe you've missed my longwinded posts in the interim. Easy enough in fairness. :D The dark astronaut in video compared to brighter in still? Previous reply
    Im sorry, you need to read up on cameras or have some basic understanding of the differences between a low resolution black and white video camera and a large format colour film camera with a wide angle lens.

The video camera is a fixed frame rate for a start with only aperture changes available. There's absolutely nothing "magical" about it. OK lets break it down into easily digestible chunks for you. Ever watch crimeline/watch? See the blurred low def security pics of scumbags a robbing? You would barely recognise yourself in one of them shots. Now imagine if you will a 70mm format still camera with a zeiss lens in the same position. Basically you're nicked mate and if all in shop security cameras captured the same detail as a 70mm stills camera, scumbags would be an endangered species. The difference is huge.

OK lets go to moving images. Are you telling me the video setting on your phone can capture the same quality, depth of field as a 70mm panavision camera? Is the latter "magic"? Could you capture the Ben Hur chariot race with your nokia? Eh no. You couldnt.

You are comparing apples and oranges with little or no understanding of fruit.
    Short answer. Diff tech, diff exposure latitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭bazza1

Everyone knows the moon is made of cheese. The Apollo astronauts never confirmed the were jumping around on any known type of cheese, therefore they were not there! QED!:D:D:D

The dark astronaut in video compared to brighter in still? Previous reply Short answer. Diff tech, diff exposure latitude.

Yeah, that's the one I read alright. To which I said something like 'either the aastronaught was in darkness or he wasn't'. This shot has been recreated also. The recreation couldn't make the dark aastronaught as bright as NASA claim BTW. The aastronaught was in darkness on video and bright on still images. Any amount of going on about this won't change that fact.
    lets break it down into easily digestible chunks for you. Ever watch crimeline/watch? See the blurred low def security pics of scumbags a robbing? You would barely recognise yourself in one of them shots. Now imagine if you will a 70mm format still camera with a zeiss lens in the same position. Basically you're nicked mate and if all in shop security cameras captured the same detail as a 70mm stills camera, scumbags would be an endangered species. The difference is huge.

What's bigger than huge............. aastronomical maybe. Having worked with security cameras for many moons and taken some pictures I can safely say this is untrue.

Hang on. So you're seriously suggesting that the exposure quality and latitude of a late 60's era black and white video camera transmitting live is the same as a 70mm hassleblad? Seriously? Because if you are you're ignoring major facts, understanding of photography and optics here and you are effectively suggesting you can film the chariot scene from ben hur on your nokia phone. A cheap crappy stills camera nowadays will capture more light and detail than a security camera.

OK.... Look, outside of the absence of light, "darkness" is not a set value. It's only a value depending on exposure length and sensitivity of the film/video in question. Its also dependent on viewing point.

Text diagram

(darker) object (brighter)--- light source.

Now darker and brighter in film/video cameras depends on sensitivity of film stock and the video light collecting tech and aperture of the lens(a few other things but basically that). Ditto with the human eye. It changes its aperture(iris) in response to low or high light conditions(and pot:)). Can you see in the "dark"? No but a cat can. Why? Bigger iris(aperture) and more sensitive retina(film stock)

Now we take in reflected light.

reflected light ---(less dark) object (brighter)--- light source.

Lets look at your example

Any camera set to expose for bright light when pointed at an area of subdued light will not register detail. Look again at the video. Armstrong is bathed in bright light in the background. If the camera was set for low light he would have been completely washed out(and the camera may have been damged too).

Now look at the still picture. Look at the areas in the background. They're over exposed when one compares it to pictures of the surface exposed correctly. This is a surface like asphalt. a low to mid tone. In that picture its brighter. The film stock has more sensitivity, its exposed for a lower light condition and accordingly you can see the astronaut.

Before believing this stuff learn about exposures and f stops and get a camera and see for yourself.

As I said it's been done. The comparison has been made etc.
    you're ignoring major facts,

See who is now ignoring stuff?
    A cheap crappy stills camera nowadays will capture more light and detail than a security camera.

Yeah, and the'll both still tell me about light and shade funnily enough. We've been over this. No facts have not changed, the photos don't match up. Your argument just doesn't stand up.

As I said it's been done. The comparison has been made etc.
    in la la land. Where a very basic knowledge of cameras and how they work is lacking.
    See who is now ignoring stuff?
    So you are saying that the exposure quality and latitude of a late 60's era black and white video camera transmitting live across a radio signal is the same as a 70mm colour hassleblad stills camera? All these photographers over the years shouldn't have bothered spending so much on cameras and lenses, when a box brownie would have sufficed.

Yeah, and the'll both still tell me about light and shade funnily enough. We've been over this. No facts have not changed, the photos don't match up. Your argument just doesn't stand up.
    You keep ignoring the fact that "Light" and "shade" are relative terms.

OK tonight, go outside and take a picture of your, I dunno car/garden/whatever with your phone camera. Better yet if it has the facility take video of it. Then tell me you can't see more detail and light with your eyes, even if you're in a town under street lights. And that's a lot "darker" than the surface of the moon and video capture technology has come on in leaps and bounds(far more than film technology). Actually its about the same "brightness" as the surface of Titan and yet they were able to get still shots of that. The surface of Mars is about the same light levels as dusk here on earth, yet it looks "bright" in the photos from the various rovers. Try running a modern standard video camera without light intensification hardware on Mars and you'll get little detail. The photos wont "match up"

While myself and uprising2 dont agree on a few things as a photographer he'll tell you much the same.

Basically you're not comparing like with like to a bull headed degree.

in la la land. Where a very basic knowledge of cameras and how they work is lacking.

None of your posts has come close to explaining that photo. Not even close. The aastronaught is in darkness.
    Even your magic hasselblad theory can't explain the reflected secondary lightsource seen as a hotspot on the asstronaughts boot. I suggest the original photo may have been taken in lala land. By the people who would fall for this kind of thing.

He is not in darkness. He's in relative darkness to the low res video camera. Why cant you see or understand this?

hassleblad stills camera with wide angle lens stopped down for lower light(as can be seen in the overexposed background)--- reflected light---astronaut--- shadow---low res video camera.

The "hotspot" isnt one. For a few reasons. In order to have a hotspot on his boot the secondary light source would have to be close. Indeed the "expert" who was measuring angles of such secondary light source said the same(which was also noodling BS too). Now a light source that could cause such a hot spot would not cause just the one and the shadows of the fill in would be much harsher. If it was a bigger secondary light source, the background behind the LEM would not be over exposed as it plainly is(about a stop if not a little more from what I can see). It was a bigger secondary light source. The moon surface itself.

While the moon has a reflectivity similar to asphalt on earth and that seems low, its the only reflectivity source on the moon. Depending on camera setting, such a reflectivity would bounce light off objects relative to the source light.

If I build a huge room and paint it mid tone grey. Then have a single light source from above, any photos I take will be set for that. As I said it would be easier to meter a shot for the moon than on earth, where many more reflective surfaces with wildly varying reflective indexes are present.

The photos themselves how this. When they take photos in the full sun, the moons surface appears darker as they are exposing for sunlit objects. In more shaded areas it appears brighter as they are exposing for less sunlit objects. Indeed someone with time and knowledge could work out the exposure settings based on the near constant reflectivity of the lunar surface.

OK better example. heres a photo of pete conrad exiting the LEM taken with a hassleblad. from the same perspective lightwise of the video camera .
    AS12-46-6716.jpg
    Look at him. He's in shadow. Pretty much full shadow. But you can see much more detail than in a grainy black and white video image. Well duh of course you can. Now look at the exposure of the surface behind. It's relatively "brighter".

Now look at al bean coming out from the other perspective.
    AS12-46-6725.jpg
    The left hand side is massively overexposed. Look at the relative brightness of the lunar surface. But the same lighting conditions as the very first shot. Same "magic" :rolleyes: hassleblad, yet oh look he's not in "darkness".

Now this shot. Same mission.
    AS12-46-6783.jpg
    Now the surface looks more like asphalt reflectivity wise. But look at how overexposed the suit is. It's completely washed out.

There's nothing "magic" about this. Though science imperfectly understood may appear like magic(If I may paraphrase Arthur C. Clarke).

OK better example. heres a photo of pete conrad exiting the LEM taken with a hassleblad. from the same perspective lightwise of the video camera .
    AS12-46-6716.jpg
    Look at him. He's in shadow. Pretty much full shadow. But you can see much more detail than in a grainy black and white video image. Well duh of course you can. Now look at the exposure of the surface behind. It's relatively "brighter".

Now look at al bean coming out from the other perspective.
    AS12-46-6725.jpg
    The left hand side is massively overexposed. Look at the relative brightness of the lunar surface. But the same lighting conditions as the very first shot. Same "magic" :rolleyes: hassleblad, yet oh look he's not in "darkness".

FFS Wibbs, you're essentially making my point for me here again. These photos were discussed here before and probably on every conspiracy wesite for donkeys years. No fact has changed. No one has reproduced these shots and no one has reproduced the hot spot.

If we're to make the comparisson with your previous argument;

There is no similar recreation of the photo of the aastonaught on the steps of the lander. We can see from the above quote that only the impossible will satisfy you. That's simply not going to happen. Believe in whatever fairy story you choose, but asking someone else to believe the same story is.......... well, I dunno.

Sometime after 2020 the first manned moon landing will take place. I suggest then the faked photos, the moonwood and all the other guff and nonsense will be clear to everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,779 ✭✭✭Ping Chow Chi

Didnt myth busters recreate the shots in the desert on one of their shows, I'll try and dig it out

They did try and that's my point.

So rather than respond to the points laid out we change the goalposts yet again and again you're avoiding discussion of those points raised. It hardly helps the pro hoaxer case.

Early on in this debate, the pro Apollo side were asked by yourself IIRC to put forward their angles on this. I think we've done this. With as good, indeed IMHO much better science, logic and knowledge too.

The responses from the pro hoaxer side hasnt changed. You're wrong/its been "discussed" before/you don't get it/You're easily duped/You dont understand[insert dubious science here]. Delete as applicable.

Hotspots? There's a "hotspot" on the first pete conrad shot above.There are a few. The buttons on the lower left and another on the left of his chest control panel. Another fill in/secondary light. Jeez they're all over the place now. There are "hotspots" on the second shot too. My contention is simply this. They're not hotspots from a secondary light source(excepting reflected light).

Here's an earth orbit EVA, which the hoax camp feel did happen(beyond the minority loony fringe)
    5226435WnHMWYcFZO_ph.jpg
    Light is coming from the top left about 11 o clock as far as his or her suit shadows are concerned. Yet details are clearly visible in the "shaded" areas. Indeed there are hotspots on the rails behind them in the same shadow areas.

eva_sts112_709_073k.sized.jpg

In full "shadow" and there are hotspots on the astronaut. Shoulder area for one.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/9/96/ISS_Expedition_18_EVA_2.jpg

Very big shot of russian guy in same conditions where the light is much more diffuse and not as stark as its exposed for the shadow areas.. Indeed can even spot his omega mechanical EVA watch. How come he's not in darkness. After all he's not in direct light and there's no large surface to act as a reflector. Exposure settings. That's why.

EVA.jpg

Yet another where the astronaut is in direct light, yet the shadow details are full of perfectly visible detail. Including oh look another "hotspot" in shadow. The top of his chest control panel. Fill in light here too its seems.

An even better example

ISS_EVA-Oleg_Kotov-14-01-2010-22E.jpg

Russian bloke again in full shadow out of direct sunlight and full details visible. With yet another "hotspot" in his visor.

331a.jpg
    Russian in even more stark light. Spot the over exposure in the left hand side where details are washed out. Now look at the detail still remaining in the shadow areas. Similar to the LEM shots.

3_62_iss_exp19_eva2.jpg
    Here's a shot almost identical to the LEM shots as far as light direction and taking a photo in shadow, without the moon to reflect any light and detail is still perfectly fine and indeed there are hotspots here too. On the toe of the guy on the right for a start. Granted its not a heel but....

You could fill a hard drive with similar images, that if picked over with little knowledge of photography and a fervent wish to believe it's fake, would yield "smoking guns" aplenty.

By your posts so far, it seems you feel it near impossible to capture detail in shadow and that B&W video is the same as 70mm colour film in light capture. They must all be fake then or hassleblad should be renamed the Harry Potter Magic Camera Company.

OK TL;DR? alright clear straightforward question?

In your opinion is the amount of information and light captured by a low res black and white 1960s video camera the same as the amount of light captured by a 70mm film format stills camera of the same vintage? Yes or no should pretty much cover this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,718 ✭✭✭SkepticOne

They will both tell you about light and darkness but with different characteristics.

The important concept here is dynamic range. For example all thermometers tell you about temperature but each of them have a specific range within which they are accurate. Some will measure between -10 and 105 C. Some will have wider ranges and some narrower. If you have one with a narrow range, say, 10 C to 90 C then if the temperature you are measuring is 100 C, all you can say using your thermometer is that it is above 90 C. The information that you need is simply not there.

Similarly with photographic equipment. The video cameras of that day had a very narrow dynamic range. The cosequence of this is that the bright areas come out white and the dark areas come out black. An instrument with a greater dynamic range would show information in those white and black areas.

Take the photo someone posted earlier.

4378764029_53c9afed9e.jpg

Here's the same photo with the dynamic range reduced. I also added in a bit of blurring to reduce the resolution as you would expect from the video camera but the main effect is the lowering of the dynamic range. See how it starts to resemble the television pictures.

4378732297_d2ac765e87.jpg

Even today, film such as would have been used in the cameras of the day has a higher dynamic range than the the best digital still cameras let alone the very crude video cameras of the late 60s and early 70's.