Tesco fire "King"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,137 ✭✭✭✭28064212

Kivaro wrote: »
    There is relevance but you obviously cannot see it.
    What's the relevance? If the story was about a "Kerry king-in-waiting", who went back to Kerry and took 6 weeks off instead of 4, the point of the story would be identical. I'm not saying that I think this was a just and right decision, I'm saying that his nationality had nothing to do with it
    I did not realize that Nigeria was part of the EU and their citizens could immigrate here legally. My mistake.
    If a person wanted to move and work in Ireland from the US, a visa is required.
    Whether they want to move from the US or Nigeria, the requirements are the same. You were wondering how he could get immigrant status from "a country like Nigeria". What does the EU have to do with it? If someone moves to Ireland from outside the EU, do you think the only way is through seeking asylum?
    It's all this terminology that is confusing. If a person is an asylum seeker and gains refugee status, are they not then an immigrant and entitled to work? Or removing the work 'immigrant', isn't a refugee allowed to work?

I'm trying to figure out how it was clear he was an immigrant from an earlier post.
    They are not allowed work while seeking asylum. If they're granted asylum, they are allowed work. Or if they've moved here and been granted a work permit, they're allowed work

Boardsie Enhancement Suite - a browser extension to make using Boards on desktop a better experience (includes full-width display, keyboard shortcuts, dark mode, and more). Now available through your browser's extension store.

Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/addon/boardsie-enhancement-suite/

Chrome/Edge/Opera: https://chromewebstore.google.com/detail/boardsie-enhancement-suit/bbgnmnfagihoohjkofdnofcfmkpdmmce

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

5 pages in and no sign of Nodin? It's a miracle:D

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭IrishManSaipan

28064212 wrote: »
    Whether they want to move from the US or Nigeria, the requirements are the same. You were wondering how he could get immigrant status from "a country like Nigeria". What does the EU have to do with it? If someone moves to Ireland from outside the EU, do you think the only way is through seeking asylum?

Only 500 Nigerians have been issued with work permits since the system came into place. The vast majority of Nigerians came into the state as asylum seekers. Chances are his royal highness was an asylum seeker.

Why is he going on his holidays to a country he claims to have fled? If he can holiday there, he can live there.

Deport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

5 pages in and no sign of Nodin? It's a miracle:D

I'm watching......:cool:

Only 500 Nigerians have been issued with work permits since the system came into place. The vast majority of Nigerians came into the state as asylum seekers. Chances are his royal highness was an asylum seeker.

Why is he going on his holidays to a country he claims to have fled? If he can holiday there, he can live there.

Deport.

Ye see ye go from "chances are" to "Why is he going on his holidays to a country he claims to have fled? ".

Bad. Very bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Barname

As a citizen of this country I want to know upon what basis this man established residency.

It is quite clear he is not here on a skilled workers visa.

Anyone know more about him?

Nodin wrote: »
    Ye see ye go from "chances are" to "Why is he going on his holidays to a country he claims to have fled? ".

Bad. Very bad.

Tesco headhunted this chap, did they?:rolleyes:

No idea what he did in Tesco. No idea how he came to Ireland. No idea if he was an Asylum seeker, following from which logically I've no idea whether his was a valid case or not. Neither do you, from the looks of things.

I do know that Tesco fucked up by not following procedure and lost the case accordingly. I do know that had they followed procedure they could have slung him out on his ear and not paid him a bean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

Unless someone can produce proof he's an "asylum seeker" your assumptions are just making an ass out of "u" and "umptions".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,284 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I do not know his status, but IF it's found that he is or was an asylum seeker, then why is he holidaying in the country he is supposed to be fleeing?

If he is not an asylum seeker, which I would find quite surprising, then he can freely work
    and holiday and perform all his regal duties whilst getting serious overtime thrown in (10k):)

Hey, you don't know if Tesco did or didn't follow procedure, maybe it was the courts that
    screwed up here and shafted Tesco. In Ireland, an employee can get away with
    a hell of a lot before an employer can sac him/her.

From my reading of it, albeit little, it appears that tis guy was taking the absolute piss

walshb wrote: »
    I do not know his status, but IF it's found that he is or was an asylum seeker, then why is he holidaying in the country he is supposed to be fleeing?

If he is not an asylum seeker, which I would find quite surprising, then he can freely work
    and holiday and perform all his regal duties whilst getting serious overtime thrown in (10k):)

The universal translator says ''Screw the facts - I want my rabble rabble rabble'
    walshb wrote: »
    Hey, you don't know if Tesco did or didn't follow procedure, maybe it was the courts thatscrewed up here and shafted Tesco.

In Ireland, an employee can get away with
    a hell of a lot before an employer can sac him/her.

From my reading of it, albeit little, it appears that tis guy was taking the absolute piss[/QUOTE]

Some of where they went wrong is listed in the OP. You did read it?

They also say that
    In finding he was unfairly dismissed the tribunal said there was "an element of contribution" on the part of Mr Agbaje.

Unless someone can produce proof he's an "asylum seeker" your assumptions are just making an ass out of "u" and "umptions".

Il bet a grand against a tenner that he was an asylum seeker, you game?

No idea what he did in Tesco. No idea how he came to Ireland. No idea if he was an Asylum seeker, following from which logically I've no idea whether his was a valid case or not. Neither do you, from the looks of things.

Only 500 Nigerians have been issued with work permits since the scheme started. Work permits are not issued to future Tesco employees.

The universal translator says ''Screw the facts - I want my rabble rabble rabble'

The facts? Fact of the matter is the chances of this Nigerian getting into the state through claiming asylum and then getting leave to remain under the IBC scam are very, very high. So high in fact, Id put me gaff on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,944 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

I'm watching......:cool:

Oh there you are, knew u couldn't stay away for long:(.

”If I offended you, you needed it!!” - Corey Taylor

The facts? Fact of the matter is the chances of this Nigerian getting into the state through claiming asylum and then getting leave to remain under the IBC scam are very, very high. So high in fact, Id put me gaff on it.

So its a fact that you're presuming, based on assumptions. Yes. I'll agree with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,182 ✭✭✭dvpower

Stee wrote: »
    WTF is €31 after expenses?? So he's got thirty odd quid left after he does his shopping, pays his bills, buys food etc? So ****ing what?

Once he pays for the upkeep of the palace and wages for his courtiers, there's just not much left over.

Is a Tesco fireking better than a Bord na Mona Firelog?

Deport.

He may well have been an asylum seeker, but since asylum seekers are not allowed either to work or to leave the state, it is clear that he is not now an asylum seeker.

So deporting him isn't an option.

Is a Tesco fireking better than a Bord na Mona Firelog?

Well, no one will accuse you of racism if you set the Bord na mona one on fire.......

dvpower wrote: »
    He may well have been an asylum seeker, but since asylum seekers are not allowed either to work or to leave the state, it is clear that he is not now an asylum seeker.

So deporting him isn't an option.

Leave to remain can always be revoked by the Minister of Justice.

He should be deported.

So its a fact that you're presuming, based on assumptions. Yes. I'll agree with that.

Its an assumption based on the stats. The vast majority of Nigerians in this state were asylum seekers at one stage. The majority of whom were given leave to remain under the IBC scam.

Only 500 work permits were issued to Nigerians since the scheme was put in place. On the other hand, tens of thousands have been given leave to remain under the IBC scheme.

Do you think his royal highness was headhunted by Tesco Offaly?:rolleyes:

Now I wonder which assumption is more logical......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,304 ✭✭✭✭K-9

He should be deported.

Or maybe he wasn't a refugee or just packing shelves?

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Its an assumption based on the stats. ..

No, its a series of assumptions. A house of cards, in many ways.

K-9 wrote: »

No, he definitely wasnt a refugee, I guarantee you he was an asylum seeker though.

Nigerians, of the non asylum seeking variety, need a work permit to commence employment in Ireland. Unless you are a full time student, work permits for non EU citizens are not approved for future shelp stackers.

If they were, half the third world would be heading our way.

He should be deported.

You clearly know more about this case than I do (his previous status as an asylum seeker; the Minister for Justice granting him Leave To Remain; some subsequent misbehaviour that might lead the minister to revoke this Leave To Remain and have him deported...).

Can you provide us all with more details (or are you just talking through your hat)?

No, its a series of assumptions. A house of cards, in many ways.

Based on the stats.

-Vast majority of Nigerians were, at one stage, asylum seekers.
    -Work permits not issued to shelf stackers.
    -He is now a taxi driver, so he wasnt here on a language visa either as non EU students are not allowed become self employed.

Id say its safe to say this man was an asylum seeker at one stage.

No, he definitely wasnt a refugee, I guarantee you he was an asylum seeker though.

...then its "put up" time on your part, isn't it?

dvpower wrote: »
    You clearly know more about this case than I do (his previous status as an asylum seeker; the Minister for Justice granting him Leave To Remain; some subsequent misbehaviour that might lead the minister to revoke this Leave To Remain and have him deported...).

Can you provide us all with more details (or are you just talking through your hat)?

-Only 500 work permits issued to Nigerians since their introduction.
    -The vast majority of Nigerians in the Irish state were, at one stage, asylum seekers.
    -Work permits not issued to shelf stackers.
    -Not on a language visa either, as he is now a taxi driver.
    -98% of all Nigerians failed their claims for asylum, refused refugee status but given leave to remain, mainly due to the IBC scam.

As I said to the other poster, I bet you a grand against a tenner that the King was an asylum seeker.

If he can holiday in Nigeria, he can live in Nigeria. Deport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,350 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

K-9 wrote: »

I'm sure that Tesco would have had him sent home in a crate of returned Fair Trade goods, if they knew that they could get away with it.