Give up internet for Lent?

• 16-02-2010 12:22AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭

I saw an advertisement on TV for Trócaire. They mentioned lots of things to give up for lent, drink, sweets yada yada yada. They also mentioned the internet :eek:

I know it not possible for me, but could you give up the internet for lent?
    My excuse is I need it to find a job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

No way. When you see what I've seen on the internet, you can't go back to Playboy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Is it lent? Does that mean tomorrow is shrove Tuesday?

I havent made any batter...

/ menopause face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

those trocaire ads are only about giving it up for one day , its instead of focusing on the 24hr food fast every year . . .

but it would be difficult to give up internet for lent!! I can't imagine you'll find many boards users who'll give it up . . .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Haha I considered it for a moment there, but it would actually be impossible for me, I rely on the internet for my coursework

Kinda scary how much I depend on it really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

What good is it giving up something for lent? If you want to follow Christianity's silly tradition, why not do something for lent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Lent = smegma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I couldn't give up internet:eek: what else would I do with my evenings since I haven't got a t.v. I wouldn't be able to email, text, msn or skype.. No thanks.

Just forsaking the sugar, sweets and chocolate for Lent myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I thought they were only on about giving something up for the day, in replacement of the traditional day long fast.
    I could give up internet for day or even a fortnight, but then I start to miss it alot.
    Don't think I could give it up for as long as Lent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I might try and get fit/healthy this lent*...

*he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

bryaner wrote: »
    Lent = smegma

Just googled that :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Don't do it man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I saw an advertisement on TV for Trócaire. They mentioned lots of things to give up for lent, drink, sweets yada yada yada. They also mentioned the internet :eek:

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

I think id have better luck trying to give up breathing....

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'm giving up Lent, for Lent

I do it every year

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The idea of giving up something for lent is to put the money you save into your Trócaire box. Now how can I give up the internet for lent as I signed a contract with 3 for 12 months, they will still take the money if I stop using the internet. So giving up the internet in my case leaves no money for Trócaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Who is this Lent :confused:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,257 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The idea of giving up something for lent is to put the money you save into your Trócaire box. Now how can I give up the internet for lent as I signed a contract with 3 for 12 months, they will still take the money if I stop using the internet. So giving up the internet in my case leaves no money for Trócaire.
    Yeah, that's why Jesus did it, for Troícaire

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

brummytom wrote: »
    he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes[/SIZE]

On a school night? Fair play! I used to drink beer and have a few smokes before school each morning myself and never did me any harms.....breakfast of champions!!!

*Goes back to shining shoes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

brummytom wrote: »
    I might try and get fit/healthy this lent*...

*he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes

I'm tellin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,943 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i googled it cos you googled it. ah shyte man, you coulda said!!

and here was me thinking of nutella and banana pancakes tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

super-rush wrote: »
    I'm tellin

Tell tale tattler, you're a dirty rascal.

BTW feck no, I'm not giving up 'tinternet. What would I do all day at work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

They also mentioned the internet :eek:

Gtfo. They'll be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'd rather give up lent for the internet to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

ugh so did i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

My boss would fire me if I didn't use the internet for 40 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Not a chance in hell.

I'd go mad, there'd be nothing to do all day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i wouldn't even give up lickin dogs arseholes for lent, and i don't even enjoy that.

godless livin ftw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

no way ...my interweb was down for a week and a half and i had withdrawl sympthoms....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ah Lent ....

Another reminder of Childhood :pac: