Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Give up internet for Lent?

• 15-02-2010 11:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭

I saw an advertisement on TV for Trócaire. They mentioned lots of things to give up for lent, drink, sweets yada yada yada. They also mentioned the internet :eek:

I know it not possible for me, but could you give up the internet for lent?
    My excuse is I need it to find a job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

No way. When you see what I've seen on the internet, you can't go back to Playboy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭Red_Marauder

Is it lent? Does that mean tomorrow is shrove Tuesday?

I havent made any batter...

/ menopause face

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭thetonynator

those trocaire ads are only about giving it up for one day , its instead of focusing on the 24hr food fast every year . . .

but it would be difficult to give up internet for lent!! I can't imagine you'll find many boards users who'll give it up . . .;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭gamgsam

Haha I considered it for a moment there, but it would actually be impossible for me, I rely on the internet for my coursework

Kinda scary how much I depend on it really!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

What good is it giving up something for lent? If you want to follow Christianity's silly tradition, why not do something for lent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Lent = smegma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭Alessandra

I couldn't give up internet:eek: what else would I do with my evenings since I haven't got a t.v. I wouldn't be able to email, text, msn or skype.. No thanks.

Just forsaking the sugar, sweets and chocolate for Lent myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Little Acorn

I thought they were only on about giving something up for the day, in replacement of the traditional day long fast.
    I could give up internet for day or even a fortnight, but then I start to miss it alot.
    Don't think I could give it up for as long as Lent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

I might try and get fit/healthy this lent*...

*he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,647 ✭✭✭brian ireland

bryaner wrote: »
    Lent = smegma

Just googled that :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Don't do it man...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I saw an advertisement on TV for Trócaire. They mentioned lots of things to give up for lent, drink, sweets yada yada yada. They also mentioned the internet :eek:

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

Lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

I think id have better luck trying to give up breathing....

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I'm giving up Lent, for Lent

I do it every year

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The idea of giving up something for lent is to put the money you save into your Trócaire box. Now how can I give up the internet for lent as I signed a contract with 3 for 12 months, they will still take the money if I stop using the internet. So giving up the internet in my case leaves no money for Trócaire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

Who is this Lent :confused:

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,238 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Sam Kade wrote: »
    The idea of giving up something for lent is to put the money you save into your Trócaire box. Now how can I give up the internet for lent as I signed a contract with 3 for 12 months, they will still take the money if I stop using the internet. So giving up the internet in my case leaves no money for Trócaire.
    Yeah, that's why Jesus did it, for Troícaire

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭InkSlinger67

brummytom wrote: »
    he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes[/SIZE]

On a school night? Fair play! I used to drink beer and have a few smokes before school each morning myself and never did me any harms.....breakfast of champions!!!

*Goes back to shining shoes*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

brummytom wrote: »
    I might try and get fit/healthy this lent*...

*he says drinking beer and eating Jaffa Cakes

I'm tellin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

i googled it cos you googled it. ah shyte man, you coulda said!!

and here was me thinking of nutella and banana pancakes tomorrow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

super-rush wrote: »
    I'm tellin

Tell tale tattler, you're a dirty rascal.

BTW feck no, I'm not giving up 'tinternet. What would I do all day at work?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

They also mentioned the internet :eek:

Gtfo. They'll be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I'd rather give up lent for the internet to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,997 ✭✭✭Grimebox

ugh so did i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

My boss would fire me if I didn't use the internet for 40 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Not a chance in hell.

I'd go mad, there'd be nothing to do all day!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

i wouldn't even give up lickin dogs arseholes for lent, and i don't even enjoy that.

godless livin ftw :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

no way ...my interweb was down for a week and a half and i had withdrawl sympthoms....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Ah Lent ....

Another reminder of Childhood :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭CuriousOne

Yes, I saw that advertisement, and like the OP, was astounded to see, my fellow Corkonian, Derval O'Rourke, profess to the nation, that she was going to give up 'the internet' for lent. It reminded me of the time, in primary school, when the teacher went around to each individual student, enquiring, which one of our pre-pubescent vices we were willing to give up for (G)god?(don't want to offend anyone)

Anyhow, when it came to my turn, and being the individual that I am, I said "Cheese."

Now, let me tell you, at that time, I loved cheese. Therefore, in my mind, I was making an incredible sacrifice, one worthy of sainthood, but at the same time, was equally aware, that I preferred sweets.

Overnight, I became somewhat of a legend and the next day found my mother, inundated with phone calls from other boys' mothers, as they sought confirmation of my rather peculiar tastes.

My mother betrayed me of course.

Nevertheless, in relation to the original airing of the advertisement, did anyone else notice, that the only person who had his name printed at the bottom of the screen was, Danny O’Reilly, the Corona’s singer.

The advertisement has since changed, to include, all of the ‘personalities’ names at the bottom of our beloved screens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 179 ✭✭thekid9

I wouldn't last a day not to mind 40 days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Giving up the internet, in this day and age, is like giving up food (for many).

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

/ menopause face
    Abigayle wrote: »
    Gtfo. They'll be grand.

Lol!
    Dudess wrote: »
    Giving up the internet, in this day and age, is like giving up food (for many).
    I'd rather have a go at the food tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭owenmul

dont google this!!!:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Is it lent? Does that mean tomorrow is shrove Tuesday?

I havent made any batter...

/ menopause face

I'm sorry but that last line had me creasing up with laughter. :D
    I'm going to do my yearly plan of attempting to give up chocolate only to suscumb to the temptations of a Galaxy bar after 3 hours...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,115 ✭✭✭Pdfile

Im giving up manners - dont use them anyways :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 412 ✭✭MCMLXXXIII

Well, I have one question. How far do you go by giving it up?

Think about it, every time you use a credit card to pay for something - it is verified via the internet. What do you use at work that can be done without the internet? Does your home have a new "smart meter" to read your utilities over the internet?

...the list goes on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

bryaner wrote: »
    Lent = smegma

Yep... Lent is very much akin to a big dollop of knob cheese...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 edvedfan

Pass on giving up internetz!

I think the idea of giving something up is very negative and depressing so I'm going to make an effort to take something up...

more internetz :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

I think if I was unemployed I could consider giving up the internet for 6 weeks. But c'mon, I have a job, be reasonable!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

You have to love the ones that give up smoking for lent, then go right back on them after. That was the hard part done ffs! =/
    tman wrote: »
    Yep... Lent is very much akin to a big dollop of knob cheese...

O gad...

/facetoilet

Considering I sit on boards for my bus to and from work, where I also have to use the internet.. And then get home where I throw open the laptop, I wouldn't last a day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Logic in After Hours? Get out! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I hate this bs about giving shít up for lent. (especially the part where people go back on it harder than ever afterwards) If you're doing something that you think you'd be better off not doing, then just give it up. Dont wait around for some bogus antiquated religious idea like lent. This applies to the vast majority of people who only observe lent, not out of any religious necessity, but only to give them a reason to stop eating their body weight in chocolate or whatever.
    For people who observe lent for religious purposes, well, Im not a qualified psychiatrist so I cant help ya! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,329 ✭✭✭Xluna

Trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

No way. I couldn't give up sex for six weeks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

No way. When you see what I've seen on the internet, you can't go back to Playboy.

And whats been seen can not be unseen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,262 ✭✭✭witnessmenow

0 chance of me being able to give it up for a week

How long did 6th last giving up posting on boards for lent?

Bless he even started posting on boards.tv but that was like a crack head trying to get his fix from calpol

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I once gave up sex for Lent - worst five minutes of my life.