Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Miseducation of Jimbo Slice

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 21,981 ✭✭✭✭Hanley

well Hanley,
    what's the story with the vitargo?
    when do you find is the best time to take it?
    number of scoops?
    anything else you'd fire into it?
    cheers.

I just take it post workout. It's meant to be good before/during as well.

I'm using 3/4 of a scoop.

PWO shake for me;
    2 scoops whey
    3/4 scoop vitargo
    2 heaped teaspoons of glutamine

gonna add in creatine post CF comp. I'll be loading it heavily too.
    do you think you;ll ever go back to the 5/3/1?

Nope definitely not. Just didn't do anything for me!

22-1-10

Smolov Pull Ups:
    bodyweight +10kg 5x7

Power Snatch:
    40kg x3
    50kg x2
    55kg x1
    60kg x1
    65kg x1
    70kg x1
    75kg 3x1

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack +25kg 2x5

Squats:
    60kg x5
    90kg x5
    120kg x5
    140kg x5

CFI September Invitational WOD 1:
    7 rounds for time
    7 overhead squats w/ 45kg
    7 wall balls
    7 pull ups
    TIME: 7 minutes 45 seconds - 15 second PR

<<You know what they say... when you great, it ain't murder, it's assassinate>>

Power Snatch:
    40kg x3
    50kg x2
    60kg x1
    65kg x1
    70kg x1
    75kg x1
    77.5kg x1
    80kg x1
    67.5kg 3x2

SLDL:
    70kg x5
    100kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg 2x5

Smolov Pull Ups:
    bodyweight +12.5kg 7x5

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    75kg x5
    85kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack +25kg 2x5

2008 CF Games DL/Burpee WOD:
    5 rounds for time;
    5 deadlifts w/ 125kg
    10 burpees
    TIME: 3 minutes 43 seconds

*10 minute rest, then*

10 rounds for time;
    5 dumbbell snatches w/ 30kg (alternating arms each round)
    7 hyper bench sit ups
    12 air squats
    TIME: 9 minutes 25 seconds

Press Outs:
    70kg x10, x20

Actually managed to get quite a bit done in that session... The power snatching was alright. Still A LOT of refinement needed. I'm right at my limits now when it comes to getting a solid lock at the top of the snatch. Should it come up in the CF Invitational tho I believe press outs are ok, so there's scope for a bit more weight there. Maybe 85-90. It won't be pretty tho. Went back to just under 85% for a few doubles.

SLDL's were grand. I'm gonna become a bit of a Dan John whore and subscribe to his "if it's important do it every day" attitude. It served well with the pulldown abs in the past when I didn't know Dan recommended it so hopefully it'll come good again.

Smolov Pull Ups were alright... didn't feel too bad at all. I imagine 15kg 10x3 will be easy enough tomorrow.

Incline bench was smooth today.... nothing crazy to report. Will probably stick with 85kg on it again tomorrow and repeat 160 on the SLDLs too.

Pulldown Abs were fairly handy. I think my PR with them's around 10-12 reps at that weight, I wouldn't be surprised if I could do that right now. I'll go to 27 2x5 next time cos 25's just too easy now.

WOD's were nice. Only 90% effort on the DL/burpee one again... In spite of that, here's what I said on the CFI website;

"The DL/burpee workout hit me really hard about 1 minute after I finished. I only went at it with about 90% intensity, but the oxegen debt it creates is incredible. It just seems to be so highly anerobic that your body doesn’t know what to do to get back to normal once you’re finished"

Short enough rest and then back into the 10 rounder, which wasn't really too bad. Again, only an 85-90% effort there mainly because I wouldn't be able to recover if I was pushing really hard. The volume should see me thru better I hope.

Frun tomorrow... that's gonna suck a massive amount of balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,462 ✭✭✭cardio,shoot me

btw, do you still have my squat vid on that camera ?

Yeah I have sorry, keep at me until I get it uploaded ok? (I'm not doing it tonight cos my camera's in my car!)

ill remind you tomorow then :P

<<I'm on an Enter Shikari buzz>>

Squats (beltless):
    60kg 2x3
    100kg x3
    130kg x2
    160kg x1
    182kg x1
    162kg x3
    142kg x5

SLDL:
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    142kg x5

Pendlay Rows:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    92kg 2x5

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    82kg 2x5

"Frun":
    21 thrusters w/45kg
    200m run
    21 pull ups
    200m run
    15 thrusters w/45kg
    200m run
    15 pull ups
    200m run
    9 thrusters w/ 45kg
    200m run
    9 pull ups
    200m run
    TIME: 11 minutes 7 seconds

Squats were pretty handy. 180 was a bit out of the groove, but 160 x3 and 140 x5 were popping. Squat seems to be there or thereabouts still, hoping the extra week off isn't gonna screw up Smolov intense.

Took some weight off yesterday's SLDLs cos my hamstrings were a bit tight and I was comin off the squats. Nice and handy tho. Gonna do em again tomorrow, probs with 150kg.

Pendlay's were grand. Haven't done em in a while, did em strapless. Probably 95kg on them tomorrow.

Incline bench was ok as well... feeling a bit more grooved already. Hopefully see some increases soon.

Frun was a weird animal... I got thru the first round of thrusters unbroken (I actually did all the thrusters unbroken), but on the first run I couldn't feel my legs for about 50m, I guess it's a similar feeling to the Litvinov's... Was literally stumbling and shaking as I ran. Flew thru the first round of pull ups. Could probably have got 21 in a row, but stopped at 15 cos I didn't want to push too hard. The run after pull ups was a hell of a lot easier than the run after the thrusters obviously!!! It's a nice workout, someone give it a shot!!

End of week 2 on the Smolov pull ups to come tomorrow.... bodyweight +15kg 10x3.

<<Anything Can Happen In The Next Half Hour>>

Smolov Pull Ups:
    bodyweight +15kg 10x3

Powah Snatch:
    40kg x3
    50kg x3
    60kg x2
    65kg x1
    70kg 3x2

SLDL:
    70kg x5
    110kg x5
    150kg 2x5

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    85kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack +27.5kg 2x5 - PR

Glute and Hip Flexor stretching

Maaaaaaaan that was an easy session. Feels nice to have a bit of a break from the last few weeks of madness. I'll probably take it easy enough again tomorrow... Power Cleans w/ 105-110 2x3 Squats w/ like 180 x1, 160 x3 and 140 x5 beltless, Pendlay Rows 95 2x5, Incline Bench 80 2x5 and Pulldown Abs 25 2x5
    Pull ups were nice. I'm actually surprised how little the 15kg reps are bothering me. Reckon I'd do a set of 5 with 20kg now if I pushed it. Once again, Smolov kills.

Snatches were decent today... Worked on keeping my hips lower at the start and I was extending with more power and attacking the middle better as a result. The bar's still geting a bit away from me. Gonna have to work on fixing that.

SLDL's were handy. Gonna keep ticking away with them.

Incline benches were grand... I'd knock out a few sets of stress free 90kg 2x5's at the moment, and that's after doing them like 4 times in the past week so it's not like I'm 100% fresh.

Pulldown abs were cool. They drove my squat up last time, hoping they'll do it again. 30 2x5 would be a big milestone. Hopefully I'll get to tackle it in a few weeks time.

Worked hard on loosening up my hips and could really feel them tearing apart, it's hard to describe, but ya know that "nice" feeling where you can feel fibres being almost pulled apart.. well I got that!!

Pow-ah Snatc - 70kg x2 (note the camo tee)

since ya have your camera, throw up my vid!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,660 ✭✭✭G86

Hanley wrote: »
    <<You know what they say... when you great, it ain't murder, it's assassinate>>

2008 CF Games DL/Burpee WOD:
    5 rounds for time;
    5 deadlifts w/ 125kg
    10 burpees
    TIME: 3 minutes 43 seconds

You should sooo try the deadlift/burpee WOD with the 400m run's thrown in..fun timesbiggrin.gif

G86 wrote: »
    You should sooo try the deadlift/burpee WOD with the 400m run's thrown in..fun timesbiggrin.gif

I'm probably gonna have to pass on that one to be honest....

<<Crashing, as his eyes split in two>>

Run - 4.4km in 21 minutes 27 seconds.

That's about a 4 minutes 48 second km, which is pretty good for more. I'm probably gonna run 2x next week while I'm stuck down in back-ar$e-of-nowhere-Mayo, so I might target a couple of km in 9 minutes or something one of the days.

Not having any joy finding my last 5km time, but I think it was around 28 minutes so needless to say things are going the right way. I did 2 laps of my local park, had I known that'd bring me so close to 5km I'd have the found the extra 700m somewhere and gone sub 25 minutes, which has been a goal for a while now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

Where are you in Mayo? I know there's a gym in Castlebar but don't know where, just see the signs. think it might be connected to the Breaffy hotel, or else a club in the town. Sorry I can't be more helpful.

Kiltimagh dude!! I heard there's one in Castlebar alright, might be attached to the GAA club? I'm probably not going to have loads of time to train anyway, or will I have the inclination to push too hard with the CF invitational coming up.

The tentative plan for the next week is (just throwing this down so I can see for myself too!!);

Today (AM);
    4.4km run

Today (PM);
    Power Snatch - near max single, 65kg 3x3
    SLDL - 160kg 2x5
    Pendlay Row - 95kg 2x5
    Incline Bench - 80kg 2x5
    Pulldown Abs - stack +25kg 2x5
    Total FRANness - 15/12/9 60kg thrusters & 10kg pull ups

Sunday:
    Squats - 160kg 3x3
    SLDL - 140kg x5
    Pendlay Row - 95kg x5
    Incline bench: 90kg x5
    CF's Linda - 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 w/ 1.5x DL, 1x bench, .75x cleans

Monday:
    off

Tuesday:
    5km run

Wednesday:
    off probably

Thursday:
    2km for time

Friday:
    off

Saturday:
    CF Invitational

lol wtf are you doing in kiltimagh?? You bringing your skipping rope down with you?

Gotta go down with work... Grr's all I can say!!

<<I'm on a boat muthafcuka>>

Power Snatch:
    40kg x3
    50kg x2
    60kg x1
    65kg x1
    70kg x1
    75kg x1
    80kg x1
    65kg 2x3

SLDL:
    70kg x5
    110kg x5
    150kg 2x5

Pendlay Rows:
    70kg x5
    95kg 2x5

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack +25kg 2x5

Total FRANness:
    15/12/9
    60kg thrusters
    +10kg pull ups
    TIME: 6 minutes 26 seconds - 50 second PR

Good solid workout. The power snatches were good. Sharp enough like. worked on pulling a bit harder near the top.

SLDL's were the usual, same with Pendlays which are actually feeling very strong and incline benches which felt smeh.

Pulldown abs were good... reckon there's a set of 10 in me.

Total FRANness was good today... surprised how much my time's down, but it was like 4 months since I last did it.

Feeling good... Linda tomorrow. Sketch!

Did a 9 minute 40 second 2.2km run this morning. Trying to drag myself to the gym now to go after Linda. Soooo not ar$ed!!

<<YOU'RE THE VOICE TRY AND UNDERSTAND IT, MAKE A NOISE AND MAKE IT CLEAR...>>

Power Snatch:
    40kg x2
    50kg x2
    60kg x2
    65kg x2
    70kg x2
    75kg x2 - PR I believe

SLDL:
    70kg x5
    110kg x5
    140kg x5
    160kg x6

Pendlay Rows:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg x5

Incline Bench:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    90kg x5

Crossfit's Linda;
    10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1
    Deadlift - 145kg
    Bench - 95kg
    Clean - 72.5kg
    TIME: 29 minutes 57 seconds

So... 4th session in a 36 hour period. Saved the hardest for last too, REAL smart. I'm ashamed to say that last two nights have been absolutely mental as well, like REALLY bad. So I asked a fair bit of myself this weekend and just about survived.

Power Snatches were alright. My form's still a work in progress. Tried to keep the bar closer today and pull a bit harder in the middle, sorta worked. The second rep with 75kg was still fairly solid like.

SLDL's were grand, nothing special there.

Pendlay's were fine... I'll need to start using straps again on them to keep pushing the weight.

Incline bench was cool... surprisingly solid on the 90kg!!

Linda was just the worst thing I've ever done. I'm literally KO'd and unable to form a coherent sentence which describes how bad it was. I wanted to die all the way thru. I had to use 2 bars, one for DL and one for bench and cleans, which meant moving the bar outta the rack and changing weights after my benches which i reckon cost me at least 45 seconds a round, maybe 60+. It was complete and utter negative craic the whole way thru.

Spent a week in Mayo with work... nothing to report. Literally.

THEN, LAST SATURDAY (6th FEB)

think I’ve finally recovered enough to give my account of the Crossfit Ireland February Invitational…

The week leading up to it wasn’t a great one for me. I was stuck down in rural Mayo with work in a small hotel with no pool or gym. Normally I don’t do full deloads but this one was enforced. I was stiff as a board by the end of the week because I was sitting down all day and then had almost a 4.5 hour drive back thanks to traffic jams. The only actual “exercise” type work I did for the week was 2 nights of stretching to try and keep loose.

Got back in to Dublin at 7.30pm on Friday and was back in town for 8.30 for a work reunion party. Told myself I was only having 3 drinks. Ended up having a 3x that amount, and a bit on the way to a brilliant night with lots of laughter and stories, so it was worth it. Decided the best was to counteract the alcohol was with copious amounts of water, so 5l was consumed between 11.30pm and 2am when I eventually made it to bed.

Was on the road to CFI at 8.15am feeling remarkably fresh. It was nice to get there a few hours before the WOD’s commenced, gave me lots of time to wake up properly and get stretched out.

First WOD was a Tabata mash up (20 seconds on, 10 rest for 8 rounds of each);

-Deadlifts w/ 100kg
    -Chest to bar pull ups

I knew I was going to kill the deadlifts, but would probably suffer on the C2B pull ups so I gamed accordingly. I averaged about 4 pull ups per round, slightly less perhaps, but managed to score 113 which was good enough for first. I think second place came in at 107. So I woulda pulled 89 deadlifts during the 8 rounds – 11 per round or a deadlift every 2 seconds, fairly happy with that.

I generally don’t do recovery well. I have absolutely no problem turning off that little part of my brain that tells me to stop, but I usually suffer for it afterwards because I can’t move. I knew that coming into the day so sandbagged the first workout a bit. Call it 95% effort to try and keep a bit in reserve for WOD 2 and 3.

By the time WOD 2 rolled around I still wasn’t feeling 100% so thank god I took the first one easy. It was max rounds in 10 minutes of;

3 snatches w/ 40kg
    6 toes to bars
    9kcal row

I scored 7 rounds plus 1 snatch and promptly fell on my ass attempting the second snatch right as the clock ran out. That was good enough for 3rd place. It was a tough WOD but manageable, mainly thanks to the cycle time of the snatches and the strapping in and out of the rower giving an extra bit of time to catch my breath. The hardest part of the WOD was the toes to bar. My left shoulder’s extremely dodge and tends to try and subluxate if I spend any time handing or kipping on a bar. I can bust out a strict set of 10-12 when I’m fresh without any trouble but as I got fatigued my ability to lock my shoulder down just disappeared, so even tho the 6’s woulda been ok, I had to drop off mid set each time and shake my shoulder out. I wouldn’t have gotten thru this WOD as well as I did if it wasn’t for 3 reasons – chasing Dominic beside me, Garvan shouting abuse the whole way thru and having Will give constant encouragement and tips, so thanks a million for that guys. Will had to take a few snatches off me for not hitting full extenstion (musta been 5 or 6?) and I dropped the bar on my head mid way thru. Good fun other than that.

I was joint first after all that, and staring down the barrel of a straight slug off with David S in the final WOD.

WOD 3 was always gonna suuuuuuuuuuuuck. I just knew by the look of it that it’d be my weakest event by a mile, and probably David’s strongest!! Total reps scored decided placings, it was 3 rounds of;

-1 minute of thrusters w/ 45kg
    -1 minute of box jumps to a 24 inch box
    -1 minute of KB swings with a 24kg ‘bell
    -1 minute rest

Decided my best option was to try and get my reps on the thrusters and swings, and I was right – I nearly fell off the box about a million times trying to get up onto it, left some of my skin on it too. Myself and David were dead even coming into the final round, I’d won the first by 6, he won the second by the same margin. During the last round of KB swings is probably the single hardest I’ve ever pushed myself in any Metcon. I’m pretty sure I was out on my feet for the last 5 reps. All I remember is blurry tunnel vision, a big crowd screaming encouragement, and pain, that horrible burning pain EVERYWHERE. I could see David all the way thru outta the corner of my eye and could sense myself pulling away a bit on them, but I didn’t know how many box jumps more he had done than me so I just pushed as hard as I could. As soon as time was called I didn’t even bother trying to stop the swing of the ‘bell, I just let it go between my legs and got catapulted forward to the floor. I don’t think I moved for about 20 minutes after it. I didn’t feel even 90% for a solid 2 hours afterwards either.

In the end, David edged me out by 4 reps. 162 versus my 158. Speaking to him afterwards, I got 1 more thruster on the final round, and I think 3 or 4 more swings. The bloody box jumps got me in the end!! Fair play to the guy tho, I pushed absolutely as hard as I could, and came up short.

A thousands thanks to David S and Dominic B for being such hard ass competitors (and really nice guys too!), I don’t think any of us woulda done what we did without us all being so close together, thanks to Shane for keeping his top on and to all the other competitors and spectators for making it a great day. Thanks to Tony for spotting me in WOD 1, Will in WOD 2 and Stephen (Special K) in WOD 3, I wouldn’t have gotten thru the workouts as well as I did without their help and encouragement. Same goes for the crowd all the way thru. Hitting WOD’s with a wall of sound behind me gives that extra 5% that isn’t always there in the gym on your own.

As I’ve said elsewhere, thanks to Colm, Will and Tom for organising, Amy for keeping things running smoothly, Louise and Marianne (I think?) for their treats (which I barely got to sample, but all reports said were delish) and to anyone else I’m forgetting (sorry!!).

I can’t wait to see the videos and photos of the day!! It was great meeting everyone again, and getting to meet others for the first time. Not gonna single anyone out at all, because you’re all worth a mention for one reason or another!!

In summation, I went from 13th as a fat 110kg powerlifter with like a 41 inch waist and 21mm calliper reading at the May ’09 Invitational to a 2nd place finish as an almost lean 95kg powerlifter with a waist under 34 inches and calliper reading of sub 10mm on Saturday. I’m stronger, fitter, in better condition and in much better shape now than I was then, and you can bet your life on me coming back even stronger, leaner and with a much higher level of conditioning on May 22nd for the next one.

First day of prep for the national powerlifting championships tonight...

Smolov Intense Meso - Day 1

Squats:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    137kg x3
    157kg x3
    182kg 3x4
    182kg x5 w/ wraps (APT Strangulators)

Sumo Pulls (beltless):
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    142kg x5

Close Grip Bench:
    60kg x5
    92kg 2x5

Pendlay Rows:
    60kg x5
    80kg x5
    100kg 2x5

Bat Wings:
    2.5kg 'plates 3x5 w/ 5 second holds

*s/s with*

Deep Lunges (to stretch my hips):
    30 seconds per leg x3

First session back tonight... Have been crazy busy in work, and it's set to continue. It'll be a rare day over the next couple of months that I'm out before 6 I'd imagine. Not ideal, but it is what it is

Gonna run Smolov over 6 weeks, squatting 2x per week instead of 3. It'll bring me right up to the national champs so it makes more sense to delay the peak a bit.

Considering trying to sumo again. Gonna work the sh!t outta it cos it's probably the only way I'm going to hit a decent deadlift. I've just spent too much time working my squat and not enough time on it. Based on passed performances, my conventional deadlift is around 90% of my suit sumo. Basically I just need to get over 270kg at this comp, so hopefully everything comes together.

CGBP was fairly crappy.. took my grip in closer than normal and tucked like a muthfcuka!!

Pendlay's were Pendlay's.... Gonna have to strap up for them going forward tho.

Feeling good. Rack Pulls, 2 board press, Pendlay's and Pulldown Abs tomorrow... ToteVOLUMEcore Like Woah.

<<I NEED A WINN DIXIE GROCERY BAG>>

Smolov Intense - Week 1, Day 2

Squats:
    60kg 2x5
    100kg x3
    130kg x3
    150kg x3
    170kg x3
    *belt*
    190kg 2x3
    *wraps*
    190kg x3
    *wraps off*
    180kg 2x5

Sumos:
    worked up to 240kg - it was crap

Convo Deads:
    worked up to 240kg and didn't bother pulling it - crap

SLDL:
    160kg 2x5

2 Board Press:
    110kg 2x5 (paused)

Bleh tbh!! Got thru the squats ok, suppose that's the important part!! Deads are a work in progress. Gonna make a plan tomorrow to get after them.

<<It's amazing... I'm the reason everyone's cried up this season>>

Deadlifts:
    60kg x5
    100kg x3
    140kg x1
    167.5kg 3x9

3 Board Bench (paused):
    60kg x5
    100kg x5
    120kg 2x5

Pulldown Abs:
    stack x5
    stack +25kg 2x5

Chuck V Pulldowns:
    plate 60 x12
    plate 67 2x12

Pressouts:
    50kg x20
    70kg 2x20

Batwings:
    2.5kg plates, 5 second hold 2x8

I'm attempting something monumentally stupid. Something that I would chastise and abuse anyone else for doing, but once again my arrogance and self believe shines thru.... I'm trying to pull off the following each week for the next 6 weeks;
    -3 deadlift sessions (smolov base spread over 6 weeks)
    -2 squat sessions (smolov intense over 6 weeks)
    -2 equipped squat sessions (after the 2 raw ones)
    -2 equipped bench sessions
    -2/3 board press 4x a week
    -Pulldown Abs 3x a week

4 years of training to be peaked in 6 weeks for my last powerlifting competition as a junior lifter. No pressure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭brutusthebarber

Hanley wrote: »

I'm attempting something monumentally stupid. Something that I would chastise and abuse anyone else for doing, but once again my arrogance and self believe shines thru.... I'm trying to pull off the following each week for the next 6 weeks;
    -3 deadlift sessions (smolov base spread over 6 weeks)
    -2 squat sessions (smolov intense over 6 weeks)
    -2 equipped squat sessions (after the 2 raw ones)
    -2 equipped bench sessions
    -2/3 board press 4x a week
    -Pulldown Abs 3x a week

4 years of training to be peaked in 6 weeks for my last powerlifting competition as a junior lifter. No pressure.

That just looks disgusting!

your going to die :P have fun, btw i really hope you werent putting up a quote from "kanye west amazing" cause its totally wrong if you where :D

You're insane. btw what do chuck v pulldowns look like?

your going to die :P have fun, btw i really hope you werent putting up a quote from "kanye west amazing" cause its totally wrong if you where :D

Listen, you can hate me now, but I won't stop now. You can hate me nooooooowwww!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,640 ✭✭✭podge57

It doesn't look that hard :p

just kidding, don't think I would last a week...

It's also kinda weird that I can instantly identify all the lyrics you are posting