Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mocks/Pres Discussion Thread

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 7,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭suitcasepink

French was grand, history now... :(
    Im scared!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,321 ✭✭✭Jackobyte

Spanish was grand but letter didn't really suit. CSPE was a laugh. I'd be disappointed with anything less than 90% in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Closed ac

Had the same English P1 as the rest of ye, was grand. :D

Maths P1 on the other hand was very difficult! I'm hoping I got a B, but I think it's unlikely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,419 ✭✭✭WanderingSoul

I didn't have that English 1 paper :(

I had English 2 today; overall it was fine; the Poetry & Fiction essay questions were brilliant, the Drama one was irritating though.

I also had Geography which I found very easy.

Tomorrow I have Science (yay!) and History (not so good . . .). What about you guys?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,049 ✭✭✭CookieMonster.x

Religion and history today were both disasters. In history, we had to be removed from where we were (this was study time) because there was a problem with the boiler and there was a really bad smell in the gym and it was filling up with smoke :eek: and there was smoke outside above too :eek::eek:
    Then we started the history exam 1 hour after that late aswell, might I add. Then the bloody fire alarm went off. So out we all went and that was like loads of time gone and they didn't give us extra time so I didn't get history finished and some of the questions were like what?
    And then religion. Bahhhhhh :mad: I was finished the short q's in like 5 minutes. So I went on. Then I realised I had less than 15 minutes for each of the really really long questions in section 4. Have you seen the questions they ask?!? :confused: So then basically, I had five minutes left to do the essay and I didn't even finish the other questions. I just left them and started the essay and I wrote like a really really crappy paragraph with 1 word sentences :(

Whyyyyy meee :( It was going great time wise until maths p2 yesterday. Bah don't wanna do anything now.

/rant over, sorry

Atleast tomorrow's my last day, suppose that's one good thing :D Science and Home Ec tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭padocon

Yes English too was hard! I barely had enough time!

English Paper 1 and 2
    The Play about the student and pupil in theshowers was so funny! And you know the Q1 on paper one about the Safari how many questions did you have to answer on it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,849 ✭✭✭bluejay14

Both business papers were really easy!I finished paper 1 with an hour left so I just sat there after I had checked all of my answers.

During the break between normal classes while we were doing our exam people set the new fire alarm off 16 times in 10 minutes!!!!!!:mad::mad:The wiring of the whole school is being redone and they put new yokes on the walls that you press to set off the fire alarm to replace the old ones but the old ones had glass over them that you had to break if you wanted to set off the alarm but the new ones don't so people just keep pressing them!!!:mad: I can just imagine the story of the boy who cried wolf now.

I'm dreading both histiry and franch tomorrow.We were supposed ot have french first but they switched it and now history syarts at 5 past nine instead of french at 10:(

Both business papers were really easy!I finished paper 1 with an hour left so I just sat there after I had checked all of my answers.

During the break between normal classes while we were doing our exam people set the new fire alarm off 16 times in 10 minutes!!!!!!:mad::mad:The wiring of the whole school is being redone and they put new yokes on the walls that you press to set off the fire alarm to replace the old ones but the old ones had glass over them that you had to break if you wanted to set off the alarm but the new ones don't so people just keep pressing them!!!:mad: I can just imagine the story of the boy who cried wolf now.

I'm dreading both histiry and franch tomorrow.We were supposed ot have french first but they switched it and now history syarts at 5 past nine instead of french at 10:(

Thought Business was easy too!
    Did you do Q6 Paper 2 Cash flow? If so did it work out?

padocon wrote: »

English Paper 1 and 2
    The Play about the student and pupil in theshowers was so funny! And you know the Q1 on paper one about the Safari how many questions did you have to answer on it?

I think you had to answer all of them.I realised when I was half way through the 2nd one and I saw that 10+15 didn't make up 40 so you had to do them all.

Thought Business was easy too!
    Did you do Q6 Paper 2 Cash flow? If so did it work out?

no but my trial balance Q1 didn't:(
    I am not giving anything away here - they're on every year.

I think you had to answer all of them.I realised when I was half way through the 2nd one and I saw that 10+15 didn't make up 40 so you had to do them all.
    no but my trial balance Q1 didn't:(
    I am not giving anything away here - they're on every year.

Lots of peoples TB didn't work out

English
    I only did 2 of the 3 as that is all I thought. Miss read the Q :(

English Paper 1 and 2
    Ya, play was funny. I answered all the comprehension questions i think and then after the test that i wasn't sure how many you were meant to answer. Ah well.

Maths paper 2 and history tomorrow. Not confident...=/

Has anyone else done Maths P1 yet?

DKZ wrote: »
    Has anyone else done Maths P1 yet?
    Yea did it Friday! :)
    Mine went pretty well, I was done after an hour!

I've both maths papers done.

Last two exams tomorrow!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 cmccarra

Why do people need a watch that beeps on the hour every hour.

Thanks to a few wise guys in the exam hall I can now accurately predict the turn of the hour.

Is it that bad? The bell is louder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 cmccarra

Believe me, when 60 watches go off simultaneously, it's like a bad orchestra. Then there's the late guys who don't have their watches set to the right time, don't get me started about them :D

well, today during my spanish paper some old bat of a supervisor decided she was cold so she put on the heaters in the hall. There are massive yokes that hang from the ceiling of the hall and are 30 years old. The sound off them is ridiculous. I actually had to stop working for the 15 minutes they were on. It didn.t help that i was directly below the blower meaning it repeatedly blew my answer book off the table and turned the pages of my paper!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,840 ✭✭✭Luno

Jackobyte wrote: »
    well, today during my spanish paper some old bat of a supervisor decided she was cold so she put on the heaters in the hall. There are massive yokes that hang from the ceiling of the hall and are 30 years old. The sound off them is ridiculous. I actually had to stop working for the 15 minutes they were on. It didn.t help that i was directly below the blower meaning it repeatedly blew my answer book off the table and turned the pages of my paper!!!
    Haha!! Same in my PE hall, the heaters are extremely loud!

Today actually in Science I have never been so much frustrated by the teachers!!:mad:
    I was doing a diagram (in pencil) and this teacher took my pen and started writing something on a sheet with it while I waited for her to give me it back, she didn't ask just took it.

Then these two complete nutters! (& when I say that they are bonkers one of them bought me a box of Pringles one time when I was out because he recognized me from school) They were chatting away about women or something of that sort and I just sat there waiting for them to shut up or move!

Next thing to happen was when we were signing the roll thing this teacher made me point out every person in my class and came back again because she got confused! :(

Last time I'll ever sit in the front row again!

deise_girl wrote: »
    Yea did it Friday! :)
    Mine went pretty well, I was done after an hour!

You must have had a different paper to me then! Everyone was ranting about hard it was afterward.. unless you're a genius at maths. :D
    Did question 1 have a sets question on music?

You must have had a different paper to me then! Everyone was ranting about hard it was afterward.. unless you're a genius at maths. :D
    Did you get that question in the spoiler? I couldn't get x :(

I didn't get your maths paper either!

Did anyone get these papers, by any chance? (The spoilers are vague enough that they shouldn't give anything of value away):

Business:
    (Paper 1 - Section B) A budget [comes up every year] with an Ernst and Virginia Watson?
    (Paper 2) A Book of First Entry, Ledger and Trial Balance Question [comes up every year] with a HARMON Ltd.?

English:
    (Paper 1) Reading comprehension to do with the D-day landings?
    (Paper 2)An Unseen Shakespearean Drama with a character called Isabella?

Geography:
    (Section B) A diagram in Q1 with numbers 1 - 5 marked in?

Maths:
    (Paper 1) Q5a to do with a garden?
    (Paper 2) Q6a to do with mobile phones?

Maths:
    (Paper 1) Q5a to do with a garden?
    (Paper 2) Q6a to do with mobile phones?
    Im almost certain thats the maths paper I got.
    In paper one
    was the sets question like digital camera, tv and something?
    Actually I cant remember if that was the sets question or one I practiced :o
    It sounds like my paper though!
    How'd you find it? Thought paper 2 was hard.

My history paper..(It went bad)
    one of the documents was about the Irish rebels and for one of the picture questions you had two name what style(romansque/gothic)

After looking through my history papers for the first ever time, i honestly believe i could fail.

Yep! That's the same paper!

I thought paper 2 was quite hard, it could be have been easier, it could have been harder.

I haven't done History. It's my last exam which is . . . tomorrow afternoon! \o/

I know what you mean, Jack.

M&S* wrote: »
    Did you get that question in the spoiler? I couldn't get x :(

Nope, couldn't get it either! Not many people in my class did.. it was such a hard exam wasn't it!

Yep sure was! Done the first two questions thinking this isn't so hard, harder and harder as it went on . . . . :( Can't see paper 2 being any easier!