Bye George!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Ah, politics, along with religion is the greatest device man created to divide people even further and making it "ok"...

Typical degenerate bases of society, I laugh at their lack of intelligence... lol...

ejmaztec wrote: »
    Celebrity or no, he still had a lot more vote-gathering power than many of the FG non-entities that he was sitting alongside. It was probably the egos of these people that kept him outside the loop.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Ah, politics, along with religion is the greatest device man created to divide people even further and making it "ok"...

Typical degenerate bases of society, I laugh at their lack of intelligence... lol...
    I don't know whether to thank your post or rolleyes :P

As for George, I say fair play to him.

He was obviously promised more and after 9 months those promises were not coming, so like any of us, if you get a job and are promised x&y and they don't arrive you eventually decide I either stay here and say nothing or I air my feelings and if nothing changes I leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 812 ✭✭✭friendface

George on Frontline now = RTE1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I don't know whether to thank your post or rolleyes :P

Oh? Why is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Sulmac wrote: »
    He was elected in June and expected to be playing some sort of senior role within Fine Gael by now, basically.

Celebrity or not, that's a hell of an ego.

Hold on, in fairness that's not what he expected. I think it was fairly clear from his intereview tonight what he expected. Look, Enda Kenny offered him a front bench role didn't he? He would have took it if he wanted a senior role in the party. I find it incredible that Richard Bruton never once asked his opinion on matters (bar a 2 min conversation that George mentioned). I believe he was made chairman of some economic committee within Fine Gael, I'd be more interested in finding out what happened to this?

In fairness, I thought he was a bit quick to give up the "politican" role. Surely he should know better than most that change does not just happen overnight given he worked in RTE prior to becoming a TD. I would have thought he would have gave the job a year at least.

George could have stayed, taken massive salaries, massive pensions, amassed huge expenses annually, enjoyed the luxuries of Dail life, but he was bigger then all that and believed in his own potential.

He was used by Fine Gael and used by the system but had the b**locks to stand up and blow the whistle on the PR charade.

I agree he was probably too honest for Dail life and i think it is a sad reflection of Irish politics that it cant accommodate the George Lees of this world.Men of true integrity and class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

It was pure political naivety on George Lee's part to think that he would be allowed to have any sort of meaningful input inside 8 months in the Dail. I think he thought his popularity with the public would be matched amongst the ranks of the TD's in FG. Politicians are tribal animals. Its all about who ya know, who knows you, and how much influence you can exert on others. The more slippery a politician is, the higher up the ranks he gets.
    If George wasnt prepared to play that game, he had no business trying to get elected.

I admire his honesty. It wasnt what he expected so hes stood down and is now explaining himself to the whole country. He could have just stayed where he was, collected his fat salary and let the charade roll on. There alots of people in the Dail like that at the moment.

George could have stayed, taken massive salaries, massive pensions, amassed huge expenses annually, enjoyed the luxuries of Dail life, but he was bigger then all that and believed in his own potential.

He was used by Fine Gael and used by the system but had the b**locks to stand up and blow the whistle on the PR charade.

I agree he was probably too honest for Dail life and i think it is a sad reflection of Irish politics that it cant accommodate the George Lees of this world.Men of true integrity and class.

Hold on a minute....

The world is full of politics. The guy / girl you work for is probably a useless so and so. However, you don't go kicking your toys out of the pram. Shouting and roaring won't get you anywhere. You need to bring people along with you; softly, softly.

I think it's more a poor reflection on Enda Kenny as leader of Fine Gael more than anything else really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

No matter what your opinion is on George Lee he was very obviously annoyed on six-one and very obviously upset on Frontline. To me, is either a very good actor or feels very strongly that he was led up the garden path.

Nieve - probably, Gutless - no way!

stepbar wrote: »
    Hold on a minute....

The world is full of politics. The guy / girl you work for is probably a useless so and so. However, you don't go kicking your toys out of the pram. Shouting and roaring won't get you anywhere. You need to bring people along with you; softly, softly.

I think it's more a poor reflection on Enda Kenny as leader of Fine Gael more than anything else really.

throwing his toys out of the pram? :rolleyes: i think its unfair that he is being criticised for walking away from all the perks and blatant liars and people are criticising this man for wanting to change the world in 8 months. that's the kind of politician we need in this country, people who strife to change the world today. 400,000 people out of work, we need people who will roll up their sleeves and work their bo*llocks off instead of the current clowns who look after no1.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I agree he was probably too honest for Dail life and i think it is a sad reflection of Irish politics that it cant accommodate the George Lees of this world. Men of true integrity and class.
    Hold on a minute....

Ye both have good points - no buts...

George was looking for perhaps too much - too soon.
    That said, as one that has worked in the politics arena, its VERY damn hard to get anyone above you to hear your voice when - as with George - they use you for what ever reason, and throw you aside.

George could have hung on for all the perks and pensions - even got a further role. He however given his own self worth, decided the equivalent of "Stuff this, I'm seriously running the risk of becoming exactly what the hell I want to change but can't" - and in the meantime even my own party is not listening to me - even in the topic areas that I was appointed for.

This farce shows 2 things.
    1. Enda has GOT TO GO!
    2. Its dog eat dog and politics will chew you up and spit you out as quick as a flash - and all current sides will do this to you to suit the inner boys club that runs in inner circles within each organisation.

Irish politics at present are a disgusting joke and am unwanted stain on ideology and/or hope of those that died in 1916 and what they were wished for in Irelands future. :mad:

laugh wrote: »
    What a massive fuck you to the people who voted him in. From someone like Seamus Brennan, who helped break the Aer Lingus monopoly, to that wimp.

or who ran up a bill of a few grand for unpaid brandy and cigars in Dublin airport, yeah great man, great man. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,102 ✭✭✭✭zuroph

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Hold on, in fairness that's not what he expected. I think it was fairly clear from his intereview tonight what he expected. Look, Enda Kenny offered him a front bench role didn't he? He would have took it if he wanted a senior role in the party. I find it incredible that Richard Bruton never once asked his opinion on matters (bar a 2 min conversation that George mentioned). I believe he was made chairman of some economic committee within Fine Gael, I'd be more interested in finding out what happened to this?

In fairness, I thought he was a bit quick to give up the "politican" role. Surely he should know better than most that change does not just happen overnight given he worked in RTE prior to becoming a TD. I would have thought he would have gave the job a year at least.

Forgetting the fact he wasn't a member of FG for a moment- he never worked as a party adviser, he never worked as a Government adviser. He cannot, nor has he ever fed the masses, turned water into wine or risen from the dead. Obviously then, hes got to put in time learning the actual process of Government and Party politics before he can rub shoulders with people who've been involved for large parts of their lives.

Therefore, unless Enda Kenny did something monumentally stupid and offered him a specific position at the beginning, I'd suggest it was his ego that led him up the garden path.

throwing his toys out of the pram? :rolleyes: i think its unfair that he is being criticised for walking away from all the perks and blatant liars and people are criticising this man for wanting to change the world in 8 months. that's the kind of politician we need in this country, people who strife to change the world today. 400,000 people out of work, we need people who will roll up their sleeves and work their bo*llocks off instead of the current clowns who look after no1.

If you're depending on the Government to deliver jobs, well god help you that's all I'll say.

He sure did throw his toys out of the pram. In any organisation in this land (including boards may I add :D) people do not generally call the shots if they are new to the organsiation. Can you imagine someone coming on here, first post in announcing, "Guys, I want to be a mod now!!!". What do you think you'd say?

Anyone who thinks they will / can change an organisation in 9 months is either deluded or on something. I think George should perhaps read the book "how to influence people and make friends"..... Unfortunatly, he won't do much now to change the way Government is run.

If you're depending on the Government to deliver jobs, well god help you that's all I'll say.

He sure did throw his toys out of the pram. In any organisation in this land (including boards may I add :D) people do not generally call the shots if they are new to the organsiation. Can you imagine someone coming on here, first post in announcing, "Guys, I want to be a mod now!!!". What do you think you'd say?

Anyone who thinks they will / can change an organisation in 9 months is either deluded or on something. I think George should perhaps read the book "how to influence people and make friends"..... Unfortunatly, he won't do much now to change the way Government is run.

The guy got 27 thousand votes. More then any candidate in FG. Why shouldn't he be given a more integral role? politics should be down to who people demand to have power at the end of the day. The people in a democratic society voted him in. I agree its a more gradual process but i can understand why anyone could become disillusioned with modern day politics.

You cannot correlate votes with influence within an organisation. That's not how it works.

So what are our votes worth so? Without them, Enda Kenny, Bertie Ahern, Michael Lowry, Richard Bruton and whoever else,...none of them would have TD at the end of their name. We make them who they are. If 27000 Irish citizens think that George lee can influence the way Irish politics are then Enda Kenny and co needs to recognise this. George Lee was economics correspondent for as long as i can remember, so why on gods name do you ask rte's economics correspondent to run for TD the party you represent without seeing a way to fit him in to the party's plans for the future. Its like Arsene Wenger or Alex Ferguson signing a top striker, not starting him, then when the player puts in a transfer request offering to play him left back.
    The whole sorry business was a PR stunt and it will backfire on FG the next election, when the people cast their votes. Now do you see how us mere mortals fit into the democratic political system??

What's your opinion on Jackie Healy Rae as the next Taoiseach? Apparently he's popular in Kerry..... Or John O'Donohue? Bertie? Michael Ring? Jimmy Jo Bob from Timbuktu whose running his first election? Should he be the next Taoiseach? 50 thousand people voted for him.....

They're all popular people amoungt the people who vote them in. It doesn't mean they're popular amoungst their peers within their organisation. This is where influence and power comes in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Choke

What's your opinion on Jackie Healy Rae as the next Taoiseach? Apparently he's popular in Kerry..... Or John O'Donohue?
    Willie O'Dea's three quotas makes him eligible for Supreme Ruler of the British Isles by those standards.

He should journey to England to press suit with the Queen.

Well the people of Kerry obviously felt that they were good enough to be voted in and that there was no better alternative and repetitively voted them in and will do so again.

Now given both their past im not a fan of either. i believe lee is of better character then both. OK people can get it wrong but what was the alternative in Kerry?? i think if the people vote them in then they should have the power to dictate their immediate future. Its either that or dictatorship

Well the people of Kerry obviously felt that they were good enough to be voted in and that there was no better alternative and repetitively voted them in and will do so again.

Now given both their past im not a fan of either. i believe lee is of better character then both. OK people can get it wrong but what was the alternative in Kerry?? i think if the people vote them in then they should have the power to dictate their immediate future. Its either that or dictatorship

Seriously, you've got a very nieve view of the world if that's what you think.

But sure why bother asking us to vote in the first place then??? Whats the use in people bothering to vote for George Lee if he has no influence on the running of the country whatsoever. A waste of peoples time and effort. At the end of the day its a democracy. me or you may not like some of the candidates that are being voted in to Govt but like it or not, if a majority votes, then we may grin and bear it. Thats how democracy works.
    I don't agree that Enda Kenny should ultimately decide what is the best role for a man who people in their droves voted for. Granted he should have influence but the people who voted him should have a major say.
    I think Lee was cut of good cloth and politics will be worse off without him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭DamoDLK

Choke wrote: »
    He went in thinking he could change things for the better, by being in Fine Gael.
    Turns out that no he couldn't, that he was just a face for a poster, and to give FG the PR boost of winning a bi-election.
    The people of his constituency voted for him so that FG could utilise his economic knowledge, they had no intention of doing so, so he left.

I agree here with you fully.
    Did he run for election to the position of finance spokesperson? He ran to become an ordinary TD, and clearly was too egotistical to carry on that job or accept the responsibility it entailed.

Whether or not he ran with intention or actually had an ulterior motive, he most certainly was elected on this basis.
    Nodin wrote: »
    What experience would that be? Talking on a microphone?

His experience as finance editor ought to qualify him I would imagine? Or maybe a couple of economics degrees?

1. Bigger: He knew full well what the job entailed, don't be fooled by any of this, he of all people knew the cogs of the Dail.
    2. Used: Ffs, he didn't seem to mind at the time!?! did he?
    3. Integrity? Class? So, by contrast a politician who remains to do the job he is paid and elected to do lacks such qualities?!?

Look, If George believed, which I doubt he did, that he could change the world in 8 months he'd be the laughing stock of the Finance/Economist world, and would loose ALL creditability of an authority on the subject.

I doubt it was a wise move for him to begin with, but he committed to the job when he started, the role deserved at least one term, if at that point by all means throw in the towel if you can't make a difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

i'm hearing and reading alot of wiffle waffle

well my opinion in a nutshell is......he couldn't hack it, he didn't like it.

he should just simply put his hands up and say i made a mistake by entering public office

and don't you thinks its a bit odd that all this time there was a job waiting for him back in RTE:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,588 ✭✭✭femur61

TitoPuente wrote: »
    You're obviously just speculating. He was offered a front bench position when he handed in his resignation and refused it.

The man has to be admired for refusing to take the post and honest enough not to continue on being paid by our money when he saw he could not change anything.

I would sincerely hope more of people in all the parties refuse to become swallowed up by the system. Its true i don't think we have time to wait.

The guy got 27 thousand votes. More then any candidate in FG. Why shouldn't he be given a more integral role?

Because he has SFA experience, for starters.

DamoDLK wrote: »

His experience as finance editor ought to qualify him I would imagine? Or maybe a couple of economics degrees?

emmm...no? He's no experience of either government or politics. He's never been a party adviser or Government adviser.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 103 ✭✭starling.

Listening to him on Today fm now.
    It's a pity - he could have done Irish politics some good. It's really disheartening that he had to leave because of pure frustration.
    Call me naive, but surely all TDs should be able to effect change in some respect. There is just so much wrong with the political system.