Weird people you've worked with

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

watna wrote: »
    Were they penney's knickers or more fancy expensive ones? If if it were me and they were my nice expensive ones I'd be raging as well as creeped out!

they were one of my "special occasion" pairs ;)

but i sure as hell didnt want him to return them when he was finished :eek:

even if he had left my house without them, i dont think i could have worn them again *shudder*

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Ok, maybe someone can help me out here...

I never did understand the madness over knickers.

Firstly.. Why the hell would any man want a pair of knickers??
    Clean dirty or otherwise.. I just don't see the appeal...
    What the hell would he do with them??
    Is there some amazing sexual practice out there involving underwear from the opposite sex that I just don't know about?:

clearly, some guys get off on them. not everyone, but some guys.

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Secondly, Why are women so freaked out by it?
    A lot of women seem convinced that all men are secretly out to get there hands on a pair of their knickers and run off with them into the bushes..
    If a pair of my boxers went missing off the line, I wouldn't automatically think that some filthy bint is sniffing them and fidgeting with herself.

in my case a colleague called uninvited to my house, being polite i asked him in, and very shortly thereafter he went uninvited into my bedroom, rooted through my clothes and proceeded to steal an item of underwear.

i think it's reasonable to be freaked out by that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭TheBastard

Another guy i worked with in a Supermarket was around 6'2" and around 17 stone. he used to just on the 17 year old lads- he was around 30 and wrestle them to the ground and stand on their backs to show the girls what a man he was. He was a manager too. He used to bang a few of the 17 year old girls as they thought he was cool and could buy them drink. He was a bit of a nut job though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,017 ✭✭✭Mike 1972

Charco wrote: »
    Someone told a joke in the office once which mentioned STDs and he asked with a straight face what it stands for.

Subscriber trunk dialling ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Worked with a pathetically loyal Lidl worshipper, worked for them for yeeeeeeeaarrs. This guy was your typical lick-arse bad guy from a movie, he'd rat on you, always be early for work, attempt to boss you around as if he was boss, and ring you up at 6am on your day off demanding you come in and work (If you didn't, he'd rat you out). Thing was he was just floor-staff, like everyone else.

He got many friendly managers and security gaurds fired for something he shouldn't even had interest in and , him being from Longford living in my town, got a lot of locals fired.

He lived in my mate's flat which he rented out to him. Strangely, he wondered why the elecricity bill was so low (he thought the guy maybe wasn't staying there). So one day he calls over and finds a pretty empty flat full to the brim with candles. Naturally you'd assume this guy had money woes but, nah, he was a gadget whore with a pretty swanky car...............just a tight-arsed bastard.

In the end he got his proud-as-punch moment when he got promoted...............only to be fired 2 weeks later for losing the company quite a lot of money in delivery mistakes and locking doors which should've been open to deliverymen :pac:

Another time a lazy manager (Who I'm still sure was Doug from The King Of Queens) would come in first thing at 7am, tell everyone to work harder / hurry up to which he would disappear until opening. We didn't realise what he was at until I discovered when I went into the canteen on the CCTV monitor (yea, strange place to put it) I'd find him asleep in the office with his feet up on the table. The fùcker did this every morning until we told him we knew what he was up to and threatened to report his lazy ass unless he started to actually work with us. He never pulled that crap again. :P

Duggy747 wrote: »
    ring you up at 6am on your day off demanding you come in and work (If you didn't, he'd rat you out). Thing was he was just floor-staff, like everyone else.

eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭lcrcboy

So have you worked with any really weird people in the past or now, got any funny storys about something that happend with the individual please share.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

I've always been the weirdo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

A friend of mine swears her Boss unlockes his desk drawer every morning, looks in for a few minutes and then locks it again.

Someone got a look in there one time and saw one piece of paper only in there, which read:

Debits on the right and Credits on the left!!!

Abitar wrote: »

yeah, me too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Years ago I worked with a guy who was into musical theatre, and always dreamed of making it in Hollywood.
    His name was Penis van Lesbian, so I gently explained to him that he would have to change his name to make it in the movies.
    We had a blazing row and he roared that the van Lesbian name was centuries old, and that he would not disrespect his grandfather by changing his name.
    He left the job shortly after and I didn't hear from him until five years later when I recieved a letter with a $50,000 cheque all the way from hollywood
    The note attached just read.....

Thank you for your advice.
    Yours Sincerely, Dick van Dyke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,789 ✭✭✭Caoimhín

Worked in Amsterdam with a group of lads, one guy from Bray was totally mad. Friday night he came home from work, downed a bottle of whiskey, 5 or 6 E's and a bag of Coke. Then off he went for a good drive around the city.

We fully expected the Police to bring him back in a bin liner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭star.chaser

Elenxor wrote: »
    A friend of mine swears her Boss unlockes his desk drawer every morning, looks in for a few minutes and then locks it again.

Someone got a look in there one time and saw one piece of paper only in there, which read:

sounds familiar. accountant jokes by any chance?? not a great one but would have been better if you told the full joke ;)

op, if you search you'll find a few of these threads over the last few months. some great stories there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Abitar wrote: »
    Ahem...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

lcrcboy wrote: »
    So have you worked with any really weird people in the past or now, got any funny storys about something that happend with the individual please share.

Its a bit vague because I dont know who the weird worker was but I worked for a small company(30 or 40 people) a few years ago with a phantom shitter .

One friday lunchtime one of my female co-workers discovered an enormous poo on the floor of the toilets, not in a cubicle but on the floor in front of the sink for washing your hands....

Whoever that was was weird as fnuk

sounds familiar. accountant jokes by any chance?? not a great one but would have been better if you told the full joke ;)

op, if you search you'll find a few of these threads over the last few months. some great stories there...

didint realise there were threads on this already but ah shure might aswell let people tell their storys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,713 ✭✭✭keano_afc

I think this has been done before, a few times in fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

I work with lots of Americans and Nordics.

Does that count?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,094 ✭✭✭jd007

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Ahem...

You've been waiting for someone to start this thread for ages haven't you?!:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

"If you can't spot the weirdo in your first half an hour in your new job, you are the weirdo."

consultech wrote: »
    "If you can't spot the weirdo in your first half an hour in your new job, you are the weirdo."

def agree with that haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,030 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I was told I was too technical in my job role. Which is a technical job role.

So I got sent on some one on one training where I was told I needed to hug people. So I went around the office hugging people for a few months.

Then I was told I needed to distance myself from people and not invade their personal body space after a large number of complaints. I didn't understand that bit, I give great hugs.

So I distanced myself from people and was given out to for being too irate with people, standing away and talking in short simple bursts. So I got sent on a course with a number of other people(they learned their lesson on that one) on how to deal with irate customers and not to get angry yourself. Long story short, apparently I was too irate during the course and the person teaching the course on "how to deal with irate people which maintaining calm" lost the head and said she would never do anything with our company again.

Apart from the odd dance session in the middle of the office floor and hugging I'm pretty much left alone now.

Is that what your looking for OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Well, I used to be the mystery man in my workplace who "clogged the sewer pipes so badly we need to lock the toilets for the time-being"

:o I was eating well at the time!

Elenxor wrote: »

If he is an accountant then he's being doing it backwards for years

External auditors ftw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Half expecting to find a post about me in this one...

''That Hank guy, he's fcuking crazy...''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I worked with a guy once who'd do that wide-eyed staring thing until you looked at him. Then when you did look at him he'd say something completely inappropriate about murdering/raping/bludgeoning a co-worker or celebrity.
    After you gave him the obvious response (i.e. :confused:), he'd continue to stare at you, and say, deadpan, "Ah I'm only messin, would you relax, why do you look so worried? What, do you think I'm gonna do something?"

He'd always come into work with stories about how much damage he did to a guy after he was started on in a nightclub or whatever, or how he'd punched a taxi driver in the back of the head because the fare was too much.

As usual, he decided to latch onto me and everytime there was a work do or something, he ended up sitting beside me and I'd have to listen to this crap all night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭bazmaiden

''That Hank guy, he's fcuking crazy..

Edit: already done by himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

seamus wrote: »
    I worked with a guy once who'd do that wide-eyed staring thing until you looked at him. Then when you did look at him he'd say something completely inappropriate about murdering/raping/bludgeoning a co-worker or celebrity.
    After you gave him the obvious response (i.e. :confused:), he'd continue to stare at you, and say, deadpan, "Ah I'm only messin, would you relax, why do you look so worried? What, do you think I'm gonna do something?"

He'd always come into work with stories about how much damage he did to a guy after he was started on in a nightclub or whatever, or how he'd punched a taxi driver in the back of the head because the fare was too much.

As usual, he decided to latch onto me and everytime there was a work do or something, he ended up sitting beside me and I'd have to listen to this crap all night.

Your avatar is pretty apt for that post.

Posted this a while back in R&R but what the hell...........
    Mike 1972 wrote: »
    In our place theres a guy who listens to phone in shows on the radio (via headphones) and shouts comments (mostly abusive) at the various callers (and the presenter) for everyone around to hear even though nobody else knows what hes shouting about.

I moved into this department about a year ago. At first I didnt realise what was going on (the headphones were pretty discreet and he was sitting a few desks away from me) and initially thought he was shouting at the people sitting beside him (and couldnt understand why they werent reporting him) then I noticed that him doing it it when noone was sitting beside him and decided that our company must have some particularly enlightened policies regarding hiring the mentally ill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Ahem...

I thought you were his Mexican non-union equivilant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 485 ✭✭Elenxor

ND 1978 wrote: »
    If he is an accountant then he's being doing it backwards for years

External auditors ftw

Well....Possibly...I got it wrong...

and don't be so pedantic:D