Krystle used cash settlement to avoid closure over discrimination

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

geeky wrote: »
    I heard a story that Richard Gere shoved a hamster up his @ss to get his rocks off and had to get it removed at a hospital.

Therefore, all movie stars abuse animals for sexual pleasure and should be turned away from any zoo they try to enter.

The difference is that the hamster up ehh there was an isolated incident (plus, it's not true).

Travellers trashing bars and hotels is certainly not isolated.

I also hear that Jamie Lee Cutis is a hermaphrodite.
    Since you're going down that road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    The difference is that the hamster up ehh there was an isolated incident (plus, it's not true).

Source? Either evidence that my story is fake, or yours is true.
    Travellers trashing bars and hotels is certainly not isolated.

Source?

My point was that it's best to deal with established fact, not hearsay.

Less than 200 years ago, it was an article of faith that the Irish were a pack of lazy, thieving, drunken good-for-nothings that couldn't be trusted to run their own affairs, and didn't deserve 'handouts' when something bad - like mass crop failure - happened.

This is just a denial by Gere - reported as truth, indeed, by AOL, who are clearly just a bunch of celeb-supporting luvvies.

I'm afraid you'll have to do more to convince me that movie stars aren't into sexually abusing animals. Sure, some might be ok to let into my zoo, but I can't take a chance.

I can list loads of sites that list the Gere story as fake, but I can't imagine that you could find somebody who knows Richard Gere, saying that he stuck a gerbil up there.
    You won't find a source saying that the story is true, because it isn't.

http://www.tmz.com/2006/12/13/how-that-gerbil-story-really-started/

I can't find any source for the story about the social worker booking the hotel, I'm fairly sure that I didn't read the story in a paper.
    I'll gladly retract it.

I can list loads of sites that list the Gere story as fake, but I can't imagine that you could find somebody who knows Richard Gere, saying that he stuck a gerbil up there.
    You won't find a source saying that the story is true, because it isn't.

http://www.tmz.com/2006/12/13/how-that-gerbil-story-really-started/

I can't find any source for the story about the social worker booking the hotel, I'm fairly sure that I didn't read the story in a paper.
    I'll gladly retract it.

TBH, man, I was trying to illustrate how ludicrous it is to smear an entire group of people based on hearsay. Sorry if you felt I was having a go - I just think this woman acted in a really dignified manner to being treated as a second-class citizen. To my mind, the only thing that would have made her more of a hero would be if she'd donated the settlement to the charity!

Yeah, she probably was treated in a terrible manner.
    She did say that she was only going to the event was because she wanted to support the charity, as her child has cerebral palsy.
    I would think that she obviously wasn't a trouble maker.
    But then again, due to the trouble that travellers have caused around the country,
    a lot of them are going to be tarred with the same brush, unfortunately.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

To my mind, the only thing that would have made her more of a hero would be if she'd donated the settlement to the charity!

She has done.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,566 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Victor wrote: »
    Have you ever heard of someone not allowed in a club because their shoes were too big?

Sorta like: "Sorry, no clowns"?

Sounds like a good policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 369 ✭✭Michael B

No harm giving Krystle a bit of a bollocking. I haven't been there in 2 years now so maybe things have changed but besides one guy (older guy) who was grand the rest (one ape in particular) are thugs. I hear it's half empty these days, no surprise, rudest bouncers I've ever come across.

She had already paid and had a stamp on her hand so unless she was screaming and shouting on the street before she went to the door the second time she should have been left in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

Source? Either evidence that my story is fake, or yours is true.

Source?

My point was that it's best to deal with established fact, not hearsay.

Less than 200 years ago, it was an article of faith that the Irish were a pack of lazy, thieving, drunken good-for-nothings that couldn't be trusted to run their own affairs, and didn't deserve 'handouts' when something bad - like mass crop failure - happened.

how frigging deluded are you that you need a source to know its not isolated?

heres bloody video evidence for you to watch thats if you can see it from all the way up there:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_WNvNQUYAU

aDeener wrote: »
    how frigging deluded are you that you need a source to know its not isolated?

heres bloody video evidence for you to watch thats if you can see it from all the way up there:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6_WNvNQUYAU

Are the 'pikeys' the ones standing around the video-recorder (advising the Gardaí at one point to get out their dildo)? Or are they in the pub itself? And aside from the labeling of the video, how am I to know that they are travellers?

I don't doubt that there are members of the travelling community who disgrace themselves, but this woman wasn't doing that by any stretch of the imagination. Some posters seem to think that, because of the rep travellers have, the bouncer was justified in turning her away.

The reason I went on the 'richard gere and gerbils -> celebs = sex abusers' tangent was to point out what ridiculously low standards of proof seem acceptable when we want to smear travellers. I've 'heard a story' about lots of things and lots of people. That doesn't give me the right to discriminate against them.

Are the 'pikeys' the ones standing around the video-recorder (advising the Gardaí at one point to get out their dildo)? Or are they in the pub itself? And aside from the labeling of the video, how am I to know that they are travellers?

I don't doubt that there are members of the travelling community who disgrace themselves, but this woman wasn't doing that by any stretch of the imagination. Some posters seem to think that, because of the rep travellers have, the bouncer was justified in turning her away.

The reason I went on the 'richard gere and gerbils -> celebs = sex abusers' tangent was to point out what ridiculously low standards of proof seem acceptable when we want to smear travellers. I've 'heard a story' about lots of things and lots of people. That doesn't give me the right to discriminate against them.

they barricaded themselves in the pub and made shite of the place.

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/garda-injured-after-riot-squad-called-to-traveller-pub-battle-1728497.html

more evidence here to prove this is far from an isolated incident:
    http://www.mayonews.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=5197&Itemid=38

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/battles-follow-traveller-wedding-85823.html

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2004/1103/1097847334576.html

http://www.kerryman.ie/news/gardaiacute-quell-street-brawl-outside-abbeyfeale-court-557203.html

http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/national-news/mullingar-gardai-step-up-security-after-feud-brawl-1443099.html

i suggest you take a read of those before condemning the poor bouncer who was only looking out for the best interests of the nightclub. however he did discriminate and that is against the law but i still feel sorry for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

Great minds think alike!!

Thanks for the links.
    i suggest you take a read of those before condemning the poor bouncer who was only looking out for the best interests of the nightclub. however he did discriminate and that is against the law but i still feel sorry for him.

Your argument would be far more reasonable if it had been a small army of fellahs heading to the pub looking up for a fight, but a woman acting in a responsible way who'd already paid in to a charity event? I'm afraid I've no sympathy for the guy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Bouncer07

In fairness had she been refused in the first place it'd have been grand. Someone let her in earlier in the night before the Doorman came on duty or whatever. If I or any of you got refused from a club we wouldn't make an issue of it. There's plenty of great places around the city. Travellers in particular make a job or getting refused purely so they can pull the race card. We say not tonight, they hear compo compo compo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

It's not unknown for people to be refused back into somewhere.

I've had it happen to me before. Usually I was absolutely fcuked off my head too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Bouncer07 wrote: »
    If I or any of you got refused from a club we wouldn't make an issue of it.
    Of course we would. If I got dragged out to some charity event and that happened to me I'd be very pissed off and seeing as all my friends where in there I'd have little option but to go home.

Thanks for the links.

Your argument would be far more reasonable if it had been a small army of fellahs heading to the pub looking up for a fight, but a woman acting in a responsible way who'd already paid in to a charity event? I'm afraid I've no sympathy for the guy.

No bother, they aren't too hard to find. For future reference, just type "travellers" into google and an abundance of similiar links will come up :)

I don't know the ins and outs, but i doubt she was a lone traveller? Also paying in should not guarantee you re-entry. If someone goes out and tries to get back in and they are drunk and disorderly they should not automatically be let back in just because they have paid

In fairness had she been refused in the first place it'd have been grand. Someone let her in earlier in the night before the Doorman came on duty or whatever.

I think if she had a ticket for the event and was refused, simply because she was a traveller, that there still would be an issue.

If I or any of you got refused from a club we wouldn't make an issue of it. There's plenty of great places around the city.

So we should just accept bad treatment from door staff, and go some where else and then maybe try again when the door man isn't having a bad day?:rolleyes:
    Travellers in particular make a job or getting refused purely so they can pull the race card. We say not tonight, they hear compo compo compo!

OH now i see how rational and fair your being, thats right all travllers only ever go out to get compo :rolleyes:

ScumLord wrote: »
    Of course we would. If I got dragged out to some charity event and that happened to me I'd be very pissed off and seeing as all my friends where in there I'd have little option but to go home.

But in her case home was parked outside on Harcourt Street

I don't know the ins and outs, but i doubt she was a lone traveller? Also paying in should not guarantee you re-entry. If someone goes out and tries to get back in and they are drunk and disorderly they should not automatically be let back in just because they have paid

You're right in what you say but there's no evidence that this woman was being drunk and disorderly - I'd hazard a guess that, if there was any, Krystle would have it on CCTV and would have used it in court. (The bouncer didn't say it at the time either, but made a lame excuse about her heels being too high).Ditto if she was at the head of a small band of people (travellers or otherwise) who looked like they were up for a scrap. AFAIK, she was out with one or two friends that she knew from the charity, but I'm open to correction. In any case, I know the judge made a point of praising how she handled the situation, and her conduct in general.

But in her case home was parked outside on Harcourt Street

Classy. IMO, the 'personal abuse' rule should be relaxed in cases of posts like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,661 ✭✭✭✭Helix

WindSock wrote: »
    How does she know he wouldn't let her in because she was a traveller?

coz shes a traveller

anything she doesnt like happens because shes a traveller, whether or not thats the case

theyre like liverpool supporters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭LionelNashe

In fairness had she been refused in the first place it'd have been grand.

Would it have been grand, though? I mean, what are the legitimate reasons that somebody can be refused at a door these days, (assuming they're not already drunk).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 snowbunny21

Really we all know that travellers - NOT all mind you - but alot of them just are money scamming who rob your grave kinda people who would do anything to con a person to get money. And the reason Im saying this is because a family memeber was unfortunate enough to be conned by one.

Before travellers start giving out about getting refused entry into a nightclub where the exact same thing happens to loads of people on a night out - they should clean up the parks where they destroy after staying there for weeks on end giving the neighbourhoods hell.
    :mad::mad::mad: clearly this girl is trying to use her 'traveller' name just to get money from the club. alot (and again, not all) of travellers are just knackers and yes i will call them that because they always look for fights and will rob off their own family at times to look after themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

A friend of mine was thrown out of coppers for being gay.
    He kissed his OH (Not even a snog or anything) and the doorman came over and said, I'm afraid we don't cater to your tastes and carted him and his family and friends out.

He tried to sue and as there was no CCTV of the bouncer actually asking them to leave he couldn't prove it. Despite having 6 witnesses the bar staff etc all covered for the doorman

Nice to see some power tripping bastard getting his commupance, whatever about the travellers

Oh btw.....I'm not in anyway suggesting all bouncers are this and that, I work in a venue and our bouncers are very polite and gentlemanly if you dont give them any ****e and are very good friends of mine

Really we all know that travellers - NOT all mind you - but alot of them just are money scamming who rob your grave kinda people who would do anything to con a person to get money. And the reason Im saying this is because a family memeber was unfortunate enough to be conned by one.

Before travellers start giving out about getting refused entry into a nightclub where the exact same thing happens to loads of people on a night out - they should clean up the parks where they destroy after staying there for weeks on end giving the neighbourhoods hell.
    :mad::mad::mad: clearly this girl is trying to use her 'traveller' name just to get money from the club. alot (and again, not all) of travellers are just knackers and yes i will call them that because they always look for fights and will rob off their own family at times to look after themselves.

I smell a ban coming on...

For someone infringing the "no back seat modding" rule?