Krystle used cash settlement to avoid closure over discrimination

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Regarding travellers, I hate to sound harsh but they are trouble, I admit there are some good ones but most of my experiences with them have been negative.

A few mates of mine worked in hotels and bars over the years hotel business if a traveller books a wedding or social function in your estabishment you have two choices:

A: let them in and have the place wrecked
    B:get sued

That's not exactly a fair comparison to this case.. how is one girl going to wreck a nightclub?

She bought a ticket and was already in the place before been refused re-entry

It's plain as day that she was discriminated against by the bouncer, and she's dead right to kick up a fuss about it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 pennylane22

I have a business connection with the guys who run Krystle and I am very surprised they can afford to turn people away. The place is half empty most of the time. I only go there occasionally and I honestly don't see any difference in the place to other clubs except I am normally getting free booze when I am there! You get the same up their a**e knobs everywhere so I don't think its any worse, although I can understand how some men may find it threatening as its one of those places where certain women go to meet men with money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭happyfriday74

I have a business connection with the guys who run Krystle and I am very surprised they can afford to turn people away. The place is half empty most of the time. I only go there occasionally and I honestly don't see any difference in the place to other clubs except I am normally getting free booze when I am there! You get the same up their a**e knobs everywhere so I don't think its any worse, although I can understand how some men may find it threatening as its one of those places where certain women go to meet men with money.

To be fair its empty a lot of the time particulary downstairs. The upper floors is where apparently all the faces about town are whisked away to(i've never actually been up there)

You get a few of the women mentioned there but youll find their type in pretty much any bar in town now. Mind you you get the tullips who try buy woman bottles of champagne to impress girls if thats the case you play with fire you get brunt!

She walked out into diceys and tryed to come around, this type of thing has happened to me and I presume everyone at some stage or another, it happens. She's bringing her background in to help her case as the travelling community is well versed in pleading minority when it comes to legals.

actually been up there)

You get a few of the women mentioned there but youll find their type in pretty much any bar in town now. Mind you you get the tullips who try buy woman bottles of champagne to impress girls if thats the case you play with fire you get brunt!

People can buy me champers all they want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭actuallylike

She's bringing her background in to help her case as the travelling community is well versed in pleading minority when it comes to legals.
    Reminds me of when I got kicked out of Redz for laughing at a girl who was trying drunkenly to flirt with me and my mate (she was black which had nothing to do with it by the way). She told her mates I called her the n word, they tried to start a fight with me, I tried to stop it, bouncers came over, heard their story, kicked me out on my ass!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Choke

Mind you you get the tullips who try buy woman bottles of champagne to impress girls if thats the case you play with fire you get brunt!
    Brunt?

You kids and your slang words for getting jiggy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 95 ✭✭Choke

Reminds me of when I got kicked out of Redz for laughing at a girl who was trying drunkenly to flirt with me and my mate (she was black which had nothing to do with it by the way). She told her mates I called her the n word, they tried to start a fight with me, I tried to stop it, bouncers came over, heard their story, kicked me out on my ass!

By any chance did you offer to buy her a Bannana Daquiri?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

WindSock wrote: »
    How does she know he wouldn't let her in because she was a traveller?

She just pulled the traveller card.
    Ive been refused from there for no reason, where's my €5K for discrimination

oh, Im a young white male its impossible to discriminate me....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Maruney wrote: »
    She just pulled the traveller card.
    Ive been refused from there for no reason, where's my €5K for discrimination

oh, Im a young white male its impossible to discriminate me....

Had you already paid for your ticket for a charity event, got in, then popped outside for a bit, get a stamp on your hand then get refused re-entry with a lame excuse about your shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭Maruney

WindSock wrote: »
    Had you already paid for your ticket for a charity event, got in, then popped outside for a bit, get a stamp on your hand then get refused re-entry with a lame excuse about your shoes?

Sure, why not.

If anything I blame the fact she was let in the first time around, as someone stated earlier either let them in and wreck the place or be sued.

You might say 1 woman cant wreck the place but you let 1 in....
    Plenty of examples around the country, they have brought this opinion people have of them on themselves.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Plenty of examples around the country, they have brought this opinion people have of them on themselves.

You kind of hung yourself on your own rope there. You started trying to claim that she wasn't refused re-entry because she was a traveller and ended up by saying that she shouldn't be let in because she is a traveller and other travellers have been guilty of crimes.

That's how you lose a court case like this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

l would have discriminated against her. Until her 'community' learn to respect the laws of the land then i think it's fair.

Refusing entry on the basis on somebody being a traveller isn't like refusing entry to somebody in the basis of the colour of their skin or their religion. In my opinion, it's reasonable prejudice based on factual sociological reasons, not random discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,000 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Sure, why not.

If anything I blame the fact she was let in the first time around, as someone stated earlier either let them in and wreck the place or be sued.

You might say 1 woman cant wreck the place but you let 1 in....

You know what - why are we putting up with this biggotry? Reported.

As i said before, the lady was there having paid money for a charity to help other people. Have you paid 30EUR into a charity gig lately only to get kicked out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

l would have discriminated against her. Until her 'community' learn to respect the laws of the land then i think it's fair.

Refusing entry on the basis on somebody being a traveller isn't like refusing entry to somebody in the basis of the colour of their skin or their religion. In my opinion, it's reasonable prejudice based on factual sociological reasons, not random discrimination.

So, by this logic, no members of the settled community should be allowed in anywhere until all crime by this section of the population is eradicated?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

So, by this logic, no members of the settled community should be allowed in anywhere until all crime by this section of the population is eradicated?

'The settled community' isn't an entity. It's the general population. It's not like the world has a traveller 'community' and then everybody else.

White people, black people, Muslims, Christians, homosexuals, the disabled - these are all categorised groups in society. All of the these groups have members who commit crime. Discriminating against these groups based on the the actions of the small criminal element is not reasonable because the crime has nothing to do with the make up of the group. The traveller community is different - it is a group categorised by the way they behave in society. I believe (and i may be wrong but it's my belief) that the traveller community deserve no sympathy until they start behaving as a majority group in line with the basic laws of this country.

To defend them is like defending the criminal element of the Hells Angels in the States and saying they are being discriminated against when you react differently to them that you would to a 'normal'** person in society.

**Definition of normal up for debate. Lets say a standard, everyday looking person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,173 ✭✭✭✭seamus

To be fair, the facts assert that a traveller is more likely to be involved in crime than someone from the general population.

Travellers make up 0.6% of the Irish population, however, they make up 6.5% of the prison population. At face value, that means that a traveller is more than 10 times more likely than a non-traveller to be involved in serious crime (i.e. one which involves a custodial sentence).

Now, that's not an entirely fair assessment since the vast majority of travellers are quite poor and very uneducated, whereas the vast majority of the general population are not. And poverty and ignorance are directly related to crime.

However, the problem with the likes of Pavee Point is that they don't see this as a traveller problem, they see this as a settled problem. They see this as biase/discrimination against travellers causing them to be arrested & jailed, instead of admitting that yes, travellers need to combat poverty and ignorance in their communities and educate those who are lawless in their community.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I actually heard the woman talking on Matt Cooper yesterday.

She said that one bouncer let them in and then they went outside (they didn't know their way around the place) and were then told by another bouncer that they wouldn't be getting in, and that if he had been on the door earlier, they wouldn't have been allowed in in the first place.

Not once did she mention that he said anything about them being travellers.
    I don't want to be biased or anything, but I can't imagined that they were dressed in the height of fashion. If I was a bouncer and saw two knackers (not travellers) coming to the door, I'd certainly have no problem turning them away.

Of course knackers aren't a minority group, so they couldn't take it to court...

I remember hearing a story recently about a social worker booking a hotel for a traveller wedding under her name (as the hotel wouldn't take a booking from travellers) and then when the beautiful day came along....
    The travellers trashed the hotel and the social worker was stuck with the bill.

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    IIf I was a bouncer and saw two knackers (not travellers) coming to the door, I'd certainly have no problem turning them away.

Of course knackers aren't a minority group, so they couldn't take it to court...

So how do you define a knacker? Is it simple a case of how they are dressed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Roro4Brit wrote: »
    She had paid for an event which she had already been in attendance at. This is discrimination, pure and simple!
    Aye. They accepted her money, a form of monetary contract was entered into in return for services rendered.
    They did not live up to their end of the deal but used possible discriminatory reasons for doing so.

The girl has "cause of action"
    She took her case to court.
    Judge agreed according to the statues of the law...
    The rest is history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Right, we'll have no more name calling in this thread. "Knacker" is a derogatory phrase, so don't use it.

Also I will be keeping a close eye out for and racist or bigotted comments from now on.

You have been warned, I really don't want to have to ban anyone, all you need to do is use your head and choose your words a bit more carefully.
    According to the United Nations conventions, there is no distinction between the term racial discrimination and ethnic discrimination.
    An ethnic group is a group of humans whose members identify with each other, through a common heritage that is real or assumed.[1][2] This shared heritage may be based upon putative common ancestry, history, kinship, religion, language, shared territory, nationality or physical appearance.

So how do you define a knacker? Is it simple a case of how they are dressed?

Partly I suppose, it would also have to do with attitude and accent as well I suppose.
    I'm from Dublin and have nothing against a Dublin accent.
    There is a difference between a Dublin accent and a complete scanger accent though.

I don't mean that they would have to be wearing designer labels or anything (Penneys all the way :D) but they should at least make an effort to dress smart.

Partly I suppose, it would also have to do with attitude and accent as well I suppose.
    I'm from Dublin and have nothing against a Dublin accent.
    There is a difference between a Dublin accent and a complete scanger accent though.

I don't mean that they would have to be wearing designer labels or anything (Penneys all the way :D) but they should at least make an effort to dress smart.

But sure there are tons of well spoken, well dressed scumbags out there, you can't deny people entry anywhere based on a perceived notion of their class.

Well I'd imagine if you're a bouncer, that would be a judgement call.
    You want to let people in that look like they are respectable and turn away the trouble makers.
    I certainly not sticking up for bouncers, but obviously if you have a business (club,pub,hotel etc),
    then you want said business to safe for people to use.
    Or else you will have a bunch of law suits about how things happened to people in your establishment due to a small number of people fighting etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

seamus wrote: »
    To be fair, the facts assert that a traveller is more likely to be involved in crime than someone from the general population.

Travellers make up 0.6% of the Irish population, however, they make up 6.5% of the prison population. At face value, that means that a traveller is more than 10 times more likely than a non-traveller to be involved in serious crime (i.e. one which involves a custodial sentence).

Or more likely to be convicted of crimes when they're accused, and receive custodial sentences on conviction. It's a similar situation to the statistic showing a disproportionate number of prison places in the U.S. are filled by black guys: racists argue that it proves afro-americans are more likely to commit crime,* while race equality activists say it's a sign of discrimination in the justice system.

* Many non-racists also cite the social and cultural issues that you did.

This might be a bit off topic and I don't mean to be slating travellers.

I was called in for jury duty a couple of years ago and that day while I was sitting waiting to be called, there were a large number of sexual assault cases.
    Pretty much all of these cases involved somebody from the travelling community.
    I suppose that me now thinking that travellers are more likely to commit sexual assault than a settled person is me being prejudiced.

I was called in for jury duty a couple of years ago and that day while I was sitting waiting to be called, there were a large number of sexual assault cases.
    Pretty much all of these cases involved somebody from the travelling community.

Out of curiosity (genuinely not having a go here) how did you know these people were from the travelling community?
    I suppose that me now thinking that travellers are more likely to commit sexual assault than a settled person is me being prejudiced.

Well, if your opinion is based on reliable first-hand info, then no. Though I'd suggest official statistics (if available) are a more reliable indicator than your experience one day at court.

geeky wrote: »
    Out of curiosity (genuinely not having a go here) how did you know these people were from the travelling community?

It was mentioned by their representation.
    I suppose they were trying to paint a picture of how tough life was for travellers, or something along those lines.
    Shunned by society etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Her shoe's were obviously made by Hugo Boss :P

I think her shoes were actually made by Howya Boss

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

Hazys wrote: »
    I think her shoes were actually made by Howya Boss

I remember hearing a story recently about a social worker booking a hotel for a traveller wedding under her name (as the hotel wouldn't take a booking from travellers) and then when the beautiful day came along....
    The travellers trashed the hotel and the social worker was stuck with the bill.

I heard a story that Richard Gere shoved a hamster up his @ss to get his rocks off and had to get it removed at a hospital.

Therefore, all movie stars abuse animals for sexual pleasure and should be turned away from any zoo they try to enter.