Pete Doherty's ex found dead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

seamus wrote: »
    This guy's an even bigger waste of space than Sid Vicious. At least Sid Vicious was slightly attractive.

Apparently.
    Ew! They're both rotten!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Sheeps wrote: »
    Can't beat a bit of the aul mayo.
    Never been myself. What's it like? :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

And why does it keeping jumping back to the top of page 1 on AH??
    That's down to people's love of chicken dippers and a lack of any decent threads in AH.

phasers wrote: »
    People die of heroin overdoses all the time. Someone in my area does every few weeks, why is this one in the news? Pete Doherty isn't even high profile, never mind his ex girlfriend
    Reminds me of an anti-drug talk I got in secondary school. It didn't focus on hard drugs like heroine or cocaine etc but more so to alcohol. The speaker had news paper articles with him. One with a headline of someone dying from taking too many ecstasy. The other had, buried within the pages of the paper, a story of 3 young lads dying from alcohol poisoning. We were all asked how many people used heroine. Nobody put their hand up. How many in here drink? Nearly everyones hand went up. We were then asked by the speaker why is some junkies life more important than 3 lives of lads as young as yourselves. Nobody had a proper answer. The speaker himself was an ex drug user who got himself clean. He had the right attitude IMO. Targeted the drugs that was relevant to us using as teens and ignored the bigger drugs. All he done was lightly educate us about what there is out there, what's in them and what they do and experiences he had with them and advised us to stay well away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

and a lack of any decent threads in AH.

Rather than complain about it, how about you post a "decent" thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

TheZohan wrote: »
    Rather than complain about it, how about you post a "decent" thread. :)
    I wasn't complaining, I was answering a guy's question.

Kiera wrote: »
    Ew! They're both rotten!
    I don't think rotten covers it TBH :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,190 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

That Pete Doherty is Toxic to be around .Even on his last court appearence for drug use he was found with Heroin in his pocket .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

seamus wrote: »
    This guy's an even bigger waste of space than Sid Vicious. At least Sid Vicious was slightly attractive.

Apparently.

I get tired of this bullsh1t, and it's usually from people who make absolutely zero effort to judge the man on his music, but just see "OMG DRUGS HES A WASTE OF SPACE".

The fact is, he is one of the greatest and most influential musicians of the past decade. Everything he's done with libertines, babyshambles and solo has been amazing.

If you can watch this and still tell me he's a "waste of space", and not a very talented musician, then you are deluded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bfkU-LBBcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

Why do the media always have to bring it back to pete's drug problem, they are practically blaming him for this girl O.Ding, these people in the media only know him for his heroin problems, Pat Kenny couldnt even name one of his songs.

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I get tired of this bullsh1t, and it's usually from people who make absolutely zero effort to judge the man on his music, but just see "OMG DRUGS HES A WASTE OF SPACE".

The fact is, he is one of the greatest and most influential musicians of the past decade. Everything he's done with libertines, babyshambles and solo has been amazing.

If you can watch this and still tell me he's a "waste of space", and not a very talented musician, then you are deluded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bfkU-LBBcc
    Everyone has different tastes. If I were to dislike that I'm not deluded it just means his music doesn't appeal to me so it'd be no loss to me if he were to disappear TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

Bonito wrote: »
    Everyone has different tastes. If I were to dislike that I'm not deluded it just means his music doesn't appeal to me so it'd be no loss to me if he were to disappear TBH

I know but you can't argue that he's a "waste of space" and hasn't made substantial contributions to the world of music.

I don't like listening to mozart or beethoven, their music doesn't appeal to me, but christ they were fantastic musicians.

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I know but you can't argue that he's a "waste of space" and hasn't made substantial contributions to the world of music.

I don't like listening to mozart or beethoven, their music doesn't appeal to me, but christ they were fantastic musicians.
    I wont argue against that my friend :) Admittedly in whole, yes, he has considerable contributions to the music world. It's just a pity he couldn't kick drugs and turn out to be the true musician he had the capabilities of being. To myself he means nothing but others he can be everything. Suppose one mans trash is another mans treasure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

gmonov1 wrote: »
    really boiled my píss all the sympathy around katie french when she bought the farm. do ye think theres gonna be anything on the front pages of our papers this time next year reminding us of this girls anniversary? not a lot of difference in the 2 cases as far as i can see.

I agree 1000% on this. They are trying to put on trial French's dealers - do you ever see them doing that for nobodies found dead of heroin. God no...

Another example of two societies in this country... One for the wealthy and famous - and the other for the joe soaps...

/rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Solvo Slep wrote: »
    Only because it reminds me of something Captain Planet would say.

Ahhh Captain Planet, when cartoons actually said something, instead of being complete snoozefests.

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    I agree 1000% on this. They are trying to put on trial French's dealers - do you ever see them doing that for nobodies found dead of heroin. God no...

Another example of two societies in this country... One for the wealthy and famous - and the other for the joe soaps...

/rant over
    Also agree with this. Made me sick to my teeth the amount of publicity her death got compared to Mr/Ms. Joe Soap. She was nothing special IMO. I have breezed past girls in the street infinitely better looking than her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Ahhh Captain Planet, when cartoons actually said something, instead of being complete snoozefests.

I know he's already done so much for place, but the people of Belfast could really use the Captain again right about now.

WHERE ARE YOU CAPTAIN PLANET!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It's a pity it wasn't the skinny little drug sucking p1ick himself, ironically the talentless fcuk will probably see 80.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

It's a pity it wasn't the skinny little drug sucking p1ick himself, ironically the talentless fcuk will probably see 80.

Now now, he is a junkie scumbag but he ain't talentless by a long run. His music mightened be your bag, but to others he's great. Could say the same for countless musicians, all the best ones are junkies. But who am I to not appreciate their music if it pleases my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

muffy wrote: »
    Now now, he is a junkie scumbag but he ain't talentless by a long run. His music mightened be your bag, but to others he's great. Could say the same for countless musicians, all the best ones are junkies. But who am I to not appreciate their music if it pleases my ears.

Remove the Kate Moss debacle and the drug use attention seeking behaviour and no one would have probably heard of the Twat!

TBH I never heard of him 'til Kate Moss and I never heard of her 'til Pete Doherty :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

I have a couple of Libertines albums and I bought them before that whole Kate Moss thing.

I hate to be promoting him (as he is junkie scum) but the Libertines were pretty fcuking good.
    He's certainly talented, pity about the drugs though.
    Of course a lot of great music has been made by people off their heads on drugs (Bowie, Beatles, Rolling Stones).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

I have a couple of Libertines albums).

you have all the libertines albums then ha, but seriously i dont think any celeb has got so much negative press and hatred because of drug use, cobain definetly didnt, it must be hard to kick the habit
    waking up every morning and seeing yourself blamed for a girls death and reading forum where people say 'pity he didnt die instead of this girl'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

I guess I'm biased, I heard of him when The Libertines started releasing music :D I really don't think he is attention seeking, well not to the press but probably within his personal life of whatever. Going out with Kate Moss did bring him within the general tabloid radar though. I wonder what state he'd be in now if he never gone out with her.

<Pete Fan> This is all Carl Barat's fault... </end Pete Fan>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

He's a modern day Byron.

Or Jimmy Corkhill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭gmonov1

People die of heroin overdoses all the time. Someone in my area does every few weeks, why is this one in the news? Pete Doherty isn't even high profile, never mind his ex girlfriend

Id be careful there if i were you. i wouldn't let a heroin addict anywhere near my "area". you never know where they've been

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,587 ✭✭✭Pace2008

Feck the loss of any of them IMO. Results of being stupid enough to do drugs and being "cool"
    Pete Doherty was frontman of one the most popular indie bands of the last decade and still has legions of adoring female fans even with half his teeth missing - I'd say his heroin use stems from a chronic addiction rather than a childish attempt to appear 'cool.'
    Attention seeking? A few years ago the bloke couldn't take a **** without some paparrazzi twat sticking his camera through the door; he was absolutely hounded and turned into some sort of comic book villian by the gutter press in order to sell papers. Any time I've seen him featured on TV he came across as a likeable mess. He has serious problems and probably just wants to be left alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

He's a troubled troubadour playing by his own roles, never gonna give in to "the man", yet lost in the wilderness...

Nah, I agree with what you're saying, Pace2008, but I can understand aspects of where the others are coming from too.

Pace2008 wrote: »
    Pete Doherty was frontman of one the most popular indie bands of the last decade and still has legions of adoring female fans even with half his teeth missing - I'd say his heroin use stems from a chronic addiction rather than a childish attempt to appear 'cool.'

Selective reading much? You obviously missed these posts -
    I wont argue against that my friend :)Admittedly in whole, yes, he has considerable contributions to the music world. It's just a pity he couldn't kick drugs and turn out to be the true musician he had the capabilities of being. To myself he means nothing but others he can be everything. Suppose one mans trash is another mans treasure :)

I never denied how popular or influential he is/was over fans/other musicians. I merely stated I have not got an interest in his music so if he was to disappear I wouldn't bat an eye-lid.

Remind you though that I admitted he is a substantial figure to some people. Just not myself. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I think it'll take a bit more than Captain Planet to save Belfast!