Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pete Doherty's ex found dead

• 28-01-2010 3:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭

Sisters boyf has just come in from Dublin. On the massive TV screen they have in Connolly station there was a news cast that Pete Doherty was found dead. It's in fact his ex girlfriend. The last line particularly hits home.
    An ex-girlfriend of rocker Pete Doherty has been found dead from a suspected drug overdose.
    Robin Whitehead was found dead aged 27 at a flat in London, where Doherty used to live.
    She is part of the Goldsmith family and had previously made a film about Doherty, 30, who recently escaped prison for attending court in possession of drugs.
    A pal said: 'Robin had problems with heroin over the years but Pete and his circle sucked her in even further.
    'There is an attitude among that crowd that heroin is somehow cool. The only thing cool about it is the morgue you end up in.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,691 ✭✭✭Lia_lia

Aw. So it's not Kate Moss then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Solvo Slep

Bonito wrote: »
    The last line particularly hits home.

Only because it reminds me of something Captain Planet would say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,399 ✭✭✭Bonito

Lia_lia wrote: »
    Aw. So it's not Kate Moss then.
    Nope it would seem not. Feck the loss of any of them IMO. Results of being stupid enough to do drugs and being "cool"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,419 ✭✭✭✭jokettle

Solvo Slep wrote: »

Reminds me of Horatio Caine :cool:

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Famous person we don't know or like possibly dead - RIP, aww, too soon etc.
    Non-famous person vaguely connected to amous person we don't know or like possibly dead - don't waste our time making us read words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Junkies ex junkie girlfriend dies from suspected drug overdose.

And the world moves on.

He'll be next judging by the way he's going, no loss there either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Thread title was close to perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

In other equally interesting news, I just ate some chicken dippers and they were delicious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭Wagon

TheZohan wrote: »
    He'll be next judging by the way he's going, no loss there either.
    That's harsh. The Libertines were good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

"I have very limited sympathy for people who get messed up by heroin, because you'd think that by now they would have heard something bad about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

horatio cane

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Pete Doherty 's ex found dead

Dear Jesus,

I know you have a lot on your plate and that quote-edit voodoo is technically outlawed in your teachings, but could you see your way to helping me out here.

Yours with continuing love and respect,

~Stove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Scoobydoobydoo

Sheeps wrote: »
    In other equally interesting news, I just ate some chicken dippers and they were delicious.

Chicken dippers are bad for you, and so is heroin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭gmonov1

really boiled my píss all the sympathy around katie french when she bought the farm. do ye think theres gonna be anything on the front pages of our papers this time next year reminding us of this girls anniversary? not a lot of difference in the 2 cases as far as i can see.

No way!!! I have some in the oven too :D

How cool are we :cool:

Well... I'm definitely more cool than you are, but you're pretty cool too I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

That's the problem with Heroin isn't it, Hmm? Very moreish.

Well... I'm definitely more cool than you are, but you're pretty cool too I guess.
    Oh Yeah!! Well guess what? Neither of us are cooler than whats-her-name in the morgue :P

Maybe they mean doing heroin ENDS UP with you being cool :pac:

cjt156 wrote: »
    That's the problem with Heroin isn't it, Hmm? Very moreish.
    Perhaps they should take a leaf out of Pringles books :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

As cool as the morgue you'll end up in. (high salt content)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Man im defiantly getting some chicken dippers and heroin when i get home..

Ill be the coolest cat around!!!

davyjose wrote: »
    As cool as the morgue you'll end up in. (high salt content)
    *Checks salt content*

Well I never! :rolleyes:

They're Irish chicken dippers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41 Solvo Slep

Perhaps they should take a leaf out of Pringles books :pac:

Pringles have a book out too? Heh, and I bet Tayto thought they had the "crisp book" market aaallll sewn up. :cool:

Chicken dippers sound mighty fine. What are you dipping them in?

A sauce consisting of Mayonaise, Ketchup, Drop of vinegar, squeeze of lemon juice and a pinch of paprika. :cool:

And yes I mixed them myself :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

This guy's an even bigger waste of space than Sid Vicious. At least Sid Vicious was slightly attractive.

Apparently.

Can't beat a bit of the aul mayo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Doherty got fined the other day for having heroin on his person while in court for a drink/drive related hearing.....you couldn't make it up. You don't have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

People die of heroin overdoses all the time. Someone in my area does every few weeks, why is this one in the news? Pete Doherty isn't even high profile, never mind his ex girlfriend

phasers wrote: »
    People die of heroin overdoses all the time. Someone in my area does every few weeks, why is this one in the news?

And why does it keeping jumping back to the top of page 1 on AH??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,130 ✭✭✭✭Kiera

seamus wrote: »
    This guy's an even bigger waste of space than Sid Vicious. At least Sid Vicious was slightly attractive.

Apparently.
    Ew! They're both rotten!

Can't beat a bit of the aul mayo.
    Never been myself. What's it like? :pac:

And why does it keeping jumping back to the top of page 1 on AH??
    That's down to people's love of chicken dippers and a lack of any decent threads in AH.

People die of heroin overdoses all the time. Someone in my area does every few weeks, why is this one in the news? Pete Doherty isn't even high profile, never mind his ex girlfriend
    Reminds me of an anti-drug talk I got in secondary school. It didn't focus on hard drugs like heroine or cocaine etc but more so to alcohol. The speaker had news paper articles with him. One with a headline of someone dying from taking too many ecstasy. The other had, buried within the pages of the paper, a story of 3 young lads dying from alcohol poisoning. We were all asked how many people used heroine. Nobody put their hand up. How many in here drink? Nearly everyones hand went up. We were then asked by the speaker why is some junkies life more important than 3 lives of lads as young as yourselves. Nobody had a proper answer. The speaker himself was an ex drug user who got himself clean. He had the right attitude IMO. Targeted the drugs that was relevant to us using as teens and ignored the bigger drugs. All he done was lightly educate us about what there is out there, what's in them and what they do and experiences he had with them and advised us to stay well away from them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

and a lack of any decent threads in AH.

Rather than complain about it, how about you post a "decent" thread. :)

TheZohan wrote: »
    Rather than complain about it, how about you post a "decent" thread. :)
    I wasn't complaining, I was answering a guy's question.

Kiera wrote: »
    Ew! They're both rotten!
    I don't think rotten covers it TBH :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

That Pete Doherty is Toxic to be around .Even on his last court appearence for drug use he was found with Heroin in his pocket .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

seamus wrote: »

Apparently.

I get tired of this bullsh1t, and it's usually from people who make absolutely zero effort to judge the man on his music, but just see "OMG DRUGS HES A WASTE OF SPACE".

The fact is, he is one of the greatest and most influential musicians of the past decade. Everything he's done with libertines, babyshambles and solo has been amazing.

If you can watch this and still tell me he's a "waste of space", and not a very talented musician, then you are deluded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bfkU-LBBcc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 524 ✭✭✭Jordonvito

Why do the media always have to bring it back to pete's drug problem, they are practically blaming him for this girl O.Ding, these people in the media only know him for his heroin problems, Pat Kenny couldnt even name one of his songs.

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I get tired of this bullsh1t, and it's usually from people who make absolutely zero effort to judge the man on his music, but just see "OMG DRUGS HES A WASTE OF SPACE".

The fact is, he is one of the greatest and most influential musicians of the past decade. Everything he's done with libertines, babyshambles and solo has been amazing.

If you can watch this and still tell me he's a "waste of space", and not a very talented musician, then you are deluded.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bfkU-LBBcc
    Everyone has different tastes. If I were to dislike that I'm not deluded it just means his music doesn't appeal to me so it'd be no loss to me if he were to disappear TBH

• Closed Accounts Posts: 50 ✭✭ContyHooks

Everyone has different tastes. If I were to dislike that I'm not deluded it just means his music doesn't appeal to me so it'd be no loss to me if he were to disappear TBH

I know but you can't argue that he's a "waste of space" and hasn't made substantial contributions to the world of music.

I don't like listening to mozart or beethoven, their music doesn't appeal to me, but christ they were fantastic musicians.

ContyHooks wrote: »
    I know but you can't argue that he's a "waste of space" and hasn't made substantial contributions to the world of music.

I don't like listening to mozart or beethoven, their music doesn't appeal to me, but christ they were fantastic musicians.
    I wont argue against that my friend :) Admittedly in whole, yes, he has considerable contributions to the music world. It's just a pity he couldn't kick drugs and turn out to be the true musician he had the capabilities of being. To myself he means nothing but others he can be everything. Suppose one mans trash is another mans treasure :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

gmonov1 wrote: »
    really boiled my píss all the sympathy around katie french when she bought the farm. do ye think theres gonna be anything on the front pages of our papers this time next year reminding us of this girls anniversary? not a lot of difference in the 2 cases as far as i can see.

I agree 1000% on this. They are trying to put on trial French's dealers - do you ever see them doing that for nobodies found dead of heroin. God no...

Another example of two societies in this country... One for the wealthy and famous - and the other for the joe soaps...

/rant over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,783 ✭✭✭Hank_Jones

Solvo Slep wrote: »

Ahhh Captain Planet, when cartoons actually said something, instead of being complete snoozefests.

Queen-Mise wrote: »
    I agree 1000% on this. They are trying to put on trial French's dealers - do you ever see them doing that for nobodies found dead of heroin. God no...

Another example of two societies in this country... One for the wealthy and famous - and the other for the joe soaps...

/rant over
    Also agree with this. Made me sick to my teeth the amount of publicity her death got compared to Mr/Ms. Joe Soap. She was nothing special IMO. I have breezed past girls in the street infinitely better looking than her!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,595 ✭✭✭bonerm

Hank_Jones wrote: »
    Ahhh Captain Planet, when cartoons actually said something, instead of being complete snoozefests.

I know he's already done so much for place, but the people of Belfast could really use the Captain again right about now.

WHERE ARE YOU CAPTAIN PLANET!!! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

It's a pity it wasn't the skinny little drug sucking p1ick himself, ironically the talentless fcuk will probably see 80.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭muffy

It's a pity it wasn't the skinny little drug sucking p1ick himself, ironically the talentless fcuk will probably see 80.

Now now, he is a junkie scumbag but he ain't talentless by a long run. His music mightened be your bag, but to others he's great. Could say the same for countless musicians, all the best ones are junkies. But who am I to not appreciate their music if it pleases my ears.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

muffy wrote: »
    Now now, he is a junkie scumbag but he ain't talentless by a long run. His music mightened be your bag, but to others he's great. Could say the same for countless musicians, all the best ones are junkies. But who am I to not appreciate their music if it pleases my ears.

Remove the Kate Moss debacle and the drug use attention seeking behaviour and no one would have probably heard of the Twat!