More trouble for Galvin as he hits pupil with a duster

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I suggest the students in that school toughen up.

Big deal. It's not like he boxed the kid around the head. The kid wasn't even injured it says in the report.

Kids these days, they think they're brilliant with their greased back hair and their switchblades and their rock and roll music but they go crying to Mama as soon as one big bad teaching Daddio does one little thing.

Wazdakka wrote: »
    WTF??

Overreacting much?

This was an accepted way of getting a spaced out students attention when I was in school.

WHAM.. Duster to the chest or
    side of the head. Woke you right up. And discourages you from pricking about in the first place.

When the hell did the nation pussyify itself to the point that this is "Totally unacceptable behaviour" and "He obviously has anger issues"??

It wasn't forty years ago down the bog that I was in school either.
    I'm 26 and live in south county Dublin.

Im slightly older than 26 and was in many schools in south dublin and this never happened to me. In fact it was not allowed to happen during my time in school.

Edit: it was banned in 1982, so before you were born. http://www.nospank.net/boland.htm

So fair play to you and your parents for putting up with un-acceptable behaviour from adults abusing their responsibility over young children, because abuse of position/power has never gone wrong in this country especially in regards of children :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,202 ✭✭✭partyguinness

To be fair...it is the downmarket Indo that is running the story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:mad:He's a bloody thug pure and simple, of course he wont get suspended because down there they love him and footballers are untouchable, time for the department of education to act me thinks.

Im slightly older than 26 and was in many schools in south dublin and this never happened to me. In fact it was not allowed to happen during my time in school.

Edit: it was banned in 1982, so before you were born. http://www.nospank.net/boland.htm

So fair play to you and your parents for putting up with un-acceptable behaviour from adults abusing their responsibility over young children, because abuse of position/power has never gone wrong in this country especially in regards of children :eek:

Thats should put him firmly in his place...."Mr Condescending"

O

K

What was the benefit of putting "Mr condescending" in quotes?
    (Its funny though to call me condescending is in fact quite patronizing, wouldn't you say?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭who the fug

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    "The chances of you breaking a window by throwing something at you are slim"

TBH their are a lot of things wrong with that

1) What are you doing throwing stuff at yourself?
    2) What are you doing missing yourself?
    3) They probably should have beat you if you were throwing stuff at yourself
    4) Emo forum is that way.

me bad,maybe my English teacher was right

:mad:He's a bloody thug pure and simple, of course he wont get suspended because down there they love him and footballers are untouchable, time for the department of education to act me thinks.

IMO...he wont get supended because he is a footballer but rather because he is a teacher....they stick together and you would need to bomb the school before even getting a warning letter not to mind a suspension.

I had a (female) teacher who came into school drunk many times and was simply driven home and no more said about it. I left that school at Junior Cert.

In fact its time for the garda to act if the Dept of Education wont, assaulting or attacking students is a criminal offence and at minimum he should be warned by the garda and suspended by the dept of education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,186 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Why are so many of our 'GAA HEROES!' teachers aswell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Your living in the golden era I am afraid, you put a hand on a student now a days and you will have the parents down with a can of Dutch Gold quicker than you can say "Dole office".

So teachers can avail of a free Dutch Gold delivery service to the staff room (with guaranteed light-speed delivery times) just by touching a child?

And those bastards have the temerity to go on strike all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Wazdakka wrote: »
    Not quite,

But sweet Jebus.. School is meant to be a place that you learn the basics of life in both education and social interaction.
    It's meant to help prepare you to be able to be a productive, interactive and capable member of society.
    Not wrap you in a soft fluffy cloud of cotton wool and keep away all the bad people who might be an ickle bit mean to the itty bitty wuvums...

Where the hell di you get THAT from...? School is supposed to prepare you for two weeks of exams and that's about it - anything else you pick up is a bonus.
    I believe he is over compensating for the fact he had no underage/college career as a footballer with Kerry or UCC and now he is now trying to compensate. He has no class (boom boom) and is a bad example for kids.

He is a twat...end of.

Doesn't sound like the kind of guy I'd like to have educating my kids and teaching them the ways of life and how to handle adult interactions and conflict resolution, to be honest.
    glanman wrote: »
    Similar incidents had happened in Criost Ri School in Cork when he taught there, allegedly, before he was moved on to Kerry...

Same county they line up to shake the hand of a rapist, I beleive...? It's got Christian Brother move-him-on-in-case-someone-says-something-but-he's-too-important-to-prosecute-over cover up all over it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

stovelid wrote: »
    So teachers can avail of a free Dutch Gold delivery service to the staff room (with guaranteed light-speed delivery times) just by touching a child?

I'm on the phone to the INTO recruitment hotline as we speak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm sure the Department of Education will hold a full inquiry into the incident.

I doubt any teacher on boards would disagree that nothing should be thrown around in a classroom by anyone, and that includes teachers.

It's all fun a games 'til someone loses an eye you see.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

TheZohan wrote: »
    It's all fun a games 'til someone loses an eye you see.

Not very well with one eye.

kowloon wrote: »

Yes teachers and guards or the elusive....."company representative" are the careers of choice for the GAA players just like:-

1. The Shawshank Redemption is their favourite film.
    2. Steak and chips is their favourite meal (espec hurlers)
    3. Kylie Minogue is their favourite singer.

Easy one...flexible hours (when they bother to turn up), and the summer holidays and like 90% of newly qualified teachers generally....laziness. Cldnt be arsed or have the imagination to do anything else.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

The teachers have the advantage of surprise now.

Anybody who went to school in the 80s was always wide to a blindside duster throw when they were messing about in class.

Managing to avoid (or better still nonchalantly catch) a propellant duster won much kudos from the more feral pupils in your class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,779 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Question: Did he ever complete teaching education? Anyone know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

FFS It Rick O' Shea'd, he didn't intentionally throw it at the ruddy student. Just because he is a public figure it merits a news article? It happens every day, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,556 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

lol.

Jaysus, we got hit wit alot more than little wooden dusters hen we were in school..and it didnt even make the local press..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Because those that can't, teach.

(you might need to have seen some UK adverts to get that).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Ah,

You seem to have misunderstood me somewhere.
    My apologies if I wasn't clear..

I was not sexually abused by a teacher... Or threatened and physically beaten. There was no perlonged psychological abuse.

A teacher used to throw something that weighs slightly more than a copy book in the direction of any student that was either not paying attention or was messing about.

It's lobbing a duster ffs!
    What the hell is all this issue about??

If a 12 year old girl was punched full force in the face by a 18 stone 44 year old man for not bringing her calculator to class I could see an issue.

I have no interest in GAA and as a result have absolutly no idea who this man is. He could be sitting next to me right now for all I know.

But even I can see this is just over the top PC búll**** witch hunt.
    He wasn't even aiming near the kid ffs... It bounced in his direction.

Not very well with one eye.

Thats reminds me...my cousin lost an eye in school.

He was a good 10 yrs older than me but one of his class mates bakc in the very early 80s threw a compass which hit him in the eye which he lost...not good.:(

It sounds like an urban legend but it's true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Ikky Poo2 wrote: »
    Doesn't sound like the kind of guy I'd like to have educating my kids and teaching them the ways of life and how to handle adult interactions and conflict resolution, to be honest.

funny, i'd expect an irish teacher to teach the kids irish.

"ways of life, handling adult interactions and conflict resolution" is not part of the irish curriculum.

sam34 wrote: »

"ways of life, handling adult interactions and conflict resolution" is not part of the irish curriculum.

Tell that to the Unions when they ****e on about how much more than just teaching their members do and preparing our precious kids for life after school when they are looking for their pay increases and expenses for...oh yeah...outside of school activities like sports which is not part of the curriculum either..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

Tell that to the Unions when they ****e on about how much more than just teaching their members do and preparing our precious kids for life after school when they are looking for their pay increases and expenses for...oh yeah...outside of school activities like sports which is not part of the curriculum either..

what they do ooutside class hours is another matter.

during a scheduled irish class, i would expect the teacher to be teaching irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

They probably just can't get a real job.

jebuz wrote: »
    FFS It Rick O' Shea'd, he didn't intentionally throw it at the ruddy student. Just because he is a public figure it merits a news article? It happens every day, get over it.

Teachers are throwing stuff around the classroom every day?! Bollox they are.

Unfortunately, no, they aren't. Which is why we have so much difficulty in that area. I'd expect an Irish teacher (or whatever subject) to be a teacher of a lot more than just a language.

what they do ooutside class hours is another matter.

during a scheduled irish class, i would expect the teacher to be teaching irish.

It's best not to expect too much only leads to dissappointment...;)

Was he teaching Irish? I didnt see that in the report.

Am open to correction on this but I am 99.99999% certain that he did not do Irish for his BA or H.Dip which begs the question why he is teaching Irish in the first place...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭bryaner

high heels wrote: »
    We allways got dusters chalk and books thrown at us... And we dident go to the papers!

These days kids are weak!! He dident even aim for the kid by the sounds of the report..

Man the Fúck up kids!!

100% correct