Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More trouble for Galvin as he hits pupil with a duster

• 27-01-2010 9:37am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭

Bit of a temper me thinks. should he be suspended as he was for knocking the refs book out of his hand?

Source.
    [KERRY football star Paul Galvin is at the centre of controversy again after accidentally striking a pupil with a duster in the classroom.

The All-star and former Kerry captain is understood have thrown the duster while teaching a class at St Brendan's College in Killarney on Monday.

The duster ricocheted and struck a pupil on the head, but the student was not injured. Galvin left the school but returned to class yesterday.

The incident has plunged Galvin back into controversy after his notorious suspension during the 2008 championship.

His dream of captaining the Kingdom to All-Ireland glory was shattered after he slapped the notebook from referee Paddy Russell's hand in Kerry's championship opener against Clare.

St Brendan's College staff have remained tight-lipped about the incident. Principal Ed O'Neill has also refused to comment. However, it is understood no immediate disciplinary action is to be taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,225 ✭✭✭Ciaran500

WTF are you talking about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

I hope he hits them then says

"You've been Galvinized."

If he does he should get away with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Bogball forum that way =>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,073 ✭✭✭sam34

jesus has he no cop on

thats ridiculous
    there i sno excuse for that sort of behaviour

i'd imagine he could well be suspended from his job, or even lose it altogether

from what i read today, the gardai havent received a complaint so arent investigating it yet

surely the dept of education will do an internal investigation

apparently the kid ended up needing stitches

edit: just read full article now, swa that he didnt throw it at a student per se, but that it ricocheted and hit him, that changes things imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Cool.

OP have you a source for that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,203 ✭✭✭partyguinness

Hold on..a similar incident happened a few months back..maybe 18 months ago...I wonder is it the same incident just making itself public now or a repeat. He parades around the school like he is untouchable. I dont leave to far away and now plenty of incidents. This is one of the milder ones.

He is a complete headcase...sure look at the inbred Kerry head on him...:rolleyes:

ps Does he remind anyone else of the Penguin in Batman

galvin.bmp

penguin.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

ps Does he remind anyone else of the Penguin in Batman

galvin.bmp

penguin.jpg

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 g.whizz

He is a complete headcase...sure look at the inbred Kerry head on him...:rolleyes:
    say that to his face... he'd have you in the next diocese with a kickin' so fast you wouldn't have had time to roll your eyes...

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Throw the book at him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,562 ✭✭✭connundrum

g.whizz wrote: »
    say that to his face... he'd have you in the next diocese with a kickin' so fast you wouldn't have had time to roll your eyes...

Alrigh Paul's ma..

I have....:D

the "next diocese".....LMAO...what decade are you living in....LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭high heels

We allways got dusters chalk and books thrown at us... And we dident go to the papers!

These days kids are weak!! He dident even aim for the kid by the sounds of the report..

Man the Fúck up kids!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

WTF??

Overreacting much?

This was an accepted way of getting a spaced out students attention when I was in school.

WHAM.. Duster to the chest or
    side of the head. Woke you right up. And discourages you from pricking about in the first place.

When the hell did the nation pussyify itself to the point that this is "Totally unacceptable behaviour" and "He obviously has anger issues"??

It wasn't forty years ago down the bog that I was in school either.
    I'm 26 and live in south county Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Woah, are you his stalker or something?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

A duster? I thought they were obsolete what with whiteboards and projectors and crack cocaine.

WindSock wrote: »
    A duster? I thought they were obsolete what with whiteboards and projectors and crack cocaine.

Whiteboards, projectors and crack cocaine can get dusty.

Wazdakka wrote: »
    WTF??

Overreacting much?

This was an accepted way of getting a spaced out students attention when I was in school.

side of the head. Woke you right up. And discourages you from pricking about in the first place.

When did the nation pussyify itself to the point that this is "Totally unacceptable" and "He obviously has anger issues"??

Your living in the golden era I am afraid, you put a hand on a student now a days and you will have the parents down with a can of Dutch Gold quicker than you can say "Dole office". I remember getting hit by a book off a teacher and she panicked and apoligised loads she was bricking it I would report, even though she did it as a joke and I was hardly gonna report it, that's how little you can touch the kids (I say kids I was like 15 at the time)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,880 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Who cares.... Even the "Should weed be legalised" threads have more merit than this non event.

Kid gets accidentally hit by duster.

No action looks likely.

GAA jock possibly has a temper?

Reganio 2 wrote: »
    Your living in the golden era I am afraid, you put a hand on a student now a days and you will have the parents down with a can of Dutch Gold quicker than you can say "Dole office". I remember getting hit by a book off a teacher and she panicked and apoligised loads she was bricking it I would report, even though she did it as a joke and I was hardly gonna report it, that's how little you can touch the kids (I say kids I was like 15 at the time)

Indeed. "Bring back the industrial schools!" That's what I always say.

Not quite,

But sweet Jebus.. School is meant to be a place that you learn the basics of life in both education and social interaction.
    It's meant to help prepare you to be able to be a productive, interactive and capable member of society.
    Not wrap you in a soft fluffy cloud of cotton wool and keep away all the bad people who might be an ickle bit mean to the itty bitty wuvums...

What the hell man?
    I loose more faith in society every day..

I was boarding and we had started pelting sausage rolls at the 1st Years on Friday evening after supper...

I remember getting a fantastic running full force slap across the face from the Priest in charge..I swear to God he ran over over students just to get to me...

I fully deserved it and had no complaints...:o and it was a good story.

Not quite,

But sweet Jebus.. School is meant to be a place that you learn the basics of life in both education and social interaction.
    It's meant to help prepare you to be able to be a productive, interactive and capable member of society.
    Not wrap you in a soft fluffy cloud of cotton wool and keep away all the bad people who might be an ickle bit mean to the itty bitty wuvums...

What the hell man?
    I loose more faith in society every day..

Most lads who came out of industrial schools became socially marginalised, alcoholics, abusive towards spouses, could not read or write and died sad lonely premature deaths...

I know this becuse I was involved with the Redress Board and read many many sad stories from survivors...

If anyone thinks that Industrial Schools were good then there is an awful lot you need to learn...I assume it was tongue in cheek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,463 ✭✭✭twinytwo

WTF??

Overreacting much?

When the hell did the nation pussyify itself to the point that this is "Totally unacceptable behaviour" and "He obviously has anger issues"??

But he does have anger issues... and prob an over inflated ego.. when kerry lost to cork in the football this year on the way back to the train glavin and 2 other kerry footballers were given a bit of guff by some young fellas as you do nothing serious the other 2 just laughed it off and kept walking but galvin nearly attacked the lads and they were no more than 14/15

Most lads who came out of industrial schools became socially marginalised, alcoholics, abusive towards spouses, could not read or write and died sad lonely premature deaths...

I know this becuse I was involved with the Redress Board and read many many sad stories from survivors...

If anyone thinks that Industrial Schools were good then there is an awful lot you need to learn...I assume it was tongue in cheek.

Ooooorrrr...
    You could read the first two words of my post..
    Because they are the only two that have anything whatsoever to do with an industrial school reference :)

The rest is to do with how I feel about the current "coddeling" of students in school.

You seem a bit ready to fire about the industrial school thing though..
    The redress board must have been tough on you.

I believe he is over compensating for the fact he had no underage/college career as a footballer with Kerry or UCC and now he is now trying to compensate. He has no class (boom boom) and is a bad example for kids.

He is a twat...end of.

the same goes for that idiot Tadhg Kenneally...they live in such a small little world in Kerry (aka "The Shire") that behaviour there is generally unaccepatble elsewhere

Ooooorrrr...
    You could read the first two words of my post..
    Because they are the only two that have anything whatsoever to do with an industrial school reference :)

The rest is to do with how I feel about the current "coddeling" of students in school.

You seem a bit ready to fire about the industrial school thing though..
    The redress board must have been tough on you.

They whipped him and everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

First rule of school, always sit by the window, Teacher never throws the duster at you in case of a broken window, plus the chances of you breaking a window by throwing something at you are slim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭glanman

Similar incidents had happened in Criost Ri School in Cork when he taught there, allegedly, before he was moved on to Kerry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Bogball/stick-fighting forum TBH.

First rule of school, always sit by the window, Teacher never throws the duster at you in case of a broken window, plus the chances of you breaking a window by throwing something at you are slim

"The chances of you breaking a window by throwing something at you are slim"

TBH their are a lot of things wrong with that

1) What are you doing throwing stuff at yourself?
    2) What are you doing missing yourself?
    3) They probably should have beat you if you were throwing stuff at yourself
    4) Emo forum is that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I suggest the students in that school toughen up.

Big deal. It's not like he boxed the kid around the head. The kid wasn't even injured it says in the report.

Kids these days, they think they're brilliant with their greased back hair and their switchblades and their rock and roll music but they go crying to Mama as soon as one big bad teaching Daddio does one little thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

WTF??

Overreacting much?

Im slightly older than 26 and was in many schools in south dublin and this never happened to me. In fact it was not allowed to happen during my time in school.

Edit: it was banned in 1982, so before you were born. http://www.nospank.net/boland.htm

So fair play to you and your parents for putting up with un-acceptable behaviour from adults abusing their responsibility over young children, because abuse of position/power has never gone wrong in this country especially in regards of children :eek:

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

To be fair...it is the downmarket Indo that is running the story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:mad:He's a bloody thug pure and simple, of course he wont get suspended because down there they love him and footballers are untouchable, time for the department of education to act me thinks.

Im slightly older than 26 and was in many schools in south dublin and this never happened to me. In fact it was not allowed to happen during my time in school.

Edit: it was banned in 1982, so before you were born. http://www.nospank.net/boland.htm

So fair play to you and your parents for putting up with un-acceptable behaviour from adults abusing their responsibility over young children, because abuse of position/power has never gone wrong in this country especially in regards of children :eek:

Thats should put him firmly in his place...."Mr Condescending"

O

K

What was the benefit of putting "Mr condescending" in quotes?
    (Its funny though to call me condescending is in fact quite patronizing, wouldn't you say?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

"The chances of you breaking a window by throwing something at you are slim"

TBH their are a lot of things wrong with that

1) What are you doing throwing stuff at yourself?
    2) What are you doing missing yourself?
    3) They probably should have beat you if you were throwing stuff at yourself
    4) Emo forum is that way.

me bad,maybe my English teacher was right

:mad:He's a bloody thug pure and simple, of course he wont get suspended because down there they love him and footballers are untouchable, time for the department of education to act me thinks.

IMO...he wont get supended because he is a footballer but rather because he is a teacher....they stick together and you would need to bomb the school before even getting a warning letter not to mind a suspension.

I had a (female) teacher who came into school drunk many times and was simply driven home and no more said about it. I left that school at Junior Cert.

In fact its time for the garda to act if the Dept of Education wont, assaulting or attacking students is a criminal offence and at minimum he should be warned by the garda and suspended by the dept of education

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,679 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Why are so many of our 'GAA HEROES!' teachers aswell?

Your living in the golden era I am afraid, you put a hand on a student now a days and you will have the parents down with a can of Dutch Gold quicker than you can say "Dole office".

So teachers can avail of a free Dutch Gold delivery service to the staff room (with guaranteed light-speed delivery times) just by touching a child?

And those bastards have the temerity to go on strike all the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Not quite,

Where the hell di you get THAT from...? School is supposed to prepare you for two weeks of exams and that's about it - anything else you pick up is a bonus.
    I believe he is over compensating for the fact he had no underage/college career as a footballer with Kerry or UCC and now he is now trying to compensate. He has no class (boom boom) and is a bad example for kids.

He is a twat...end of.

Doesn't sound like the kind of guy I'd like to have educating my kids and teaching them the ways of life and how to handle adult interactions and conflict resolution, to be honest.
    glanman wrote: »
    Similar incidents had happened in Criost Ri School in Cork when he taught there, allegedly, before he was moved on to Kerry...

Same county they line up to shake the hand of a rapist, I beleive...? It's got Christian Brother move-him-on-in-case-someone-says-something-but-he's-too-important-to-prosecute-over cover up all over it.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

stovelid wrote: »
    So teachers can avail of a free Dutch Gold delivery service to the staff room (with guaranteed light-speed delivery times) just by touching a child?

I'm on the phone to the INTO recruitment hotline as we speak!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

I'm sure the Department of Education will hold a full inquiry into the incident.

I doubt any teacher on boards would disagree that nothing should be thrown around in a classroom by anyone, and that includes teachers.

It's all fun a games 'til someone loses an eye you see.

TheZohan wrote: »
    It's all fun a games 'til someone loses an eye you see.

Not very well with one eye.

kowloon wrote: »
    Why are so many of our 'GAA HEROES!' teachers aswell?

Yes teachers and guards or the elusive....."company representative" are the careers of choice for the GAA players just like:-

1. The Shawshank Redemption is their favourite film.
    2. Steak and chips is their favourite meal (espec hurlers)
    3. Kylie Minogue is their favourite singer.

Easy one...flexible hours (when they bother to turn up), and the summer holidays and like 90% of newly qualified teachers generally....laziness. Cldnt be arsed or have the imagination to do anything else.

The teachers have the advantage of surprise now.

Anybody who went to school in the 80s was always wide to a blindside duster throw when they were messing about in class.

Managing to avoid (or better still nonchalantly catch) a propellant duster won much kudos from the more feral pupils in your class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,776 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Question: Did he ever complete teaching education? Anyone know?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,771 ✭✭✭jebuz

FFS It Rick O' Shea'd, he didn't intentionally throw it at the ruddy student. Just because he is a public figure it merits a news article? It happens every day, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

lol.

Jaysus, we got hit wit alot more than little wooden dusters hen we were in school..and it didnt even make the local press..