Men Who Cry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,540 ✭✭✭Giselle

Men who cry at Riverdance = no
    Men who cry when their dog dies = yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

Pussies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Men should never, ever go into a full bodied crying session. Its just not right. If a man hasnt learned at an early age how to swallow the lump in the throat and hold back the tears, well..............he aint no kinda man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

I cried when Man Utd lost to Leeds in the FA Cup third round. Not proud of it, not ashamed of it either.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭hinault

Death of a loved one.

I do have to say that I did get a tear in my eye when :

1.Carruth won the gold medal in Barcelona in 1992.
    2.National anthems at Croke Park when Ireland played England in 2007.
    I'm weak!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Kaizer Sosa

Jesus, I read the book the Road and found it absolutely devastating (Won't ruin it but take my word). I haven't ever really had a great relationship with my dad but love him to bits and know he loves me and would do anything for me. I just kept picturing myself and himself as the two characters even though I'm a grown man. To be honest, it nearly broke me. I wasn't right for days. Bawled my eyes out properly which i hadn't done in years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Dave147 wrote: »
    My dog died 2 weeks ago and I'd say in the last two weeks I've cried more than I had in my whole life previous..
    ScumLord wrote: »
    :( Ah don't you'll get me started an all.
    Ah lads! You've got me goin here too! My dog of 14 yrs was put to sleep 2 weeks ago too. Im a girl and cant remember the last time i cried up until then.Some unreal sobbing went on and i couldnt have cared less who seen me..she was worth every heart wrenching tear :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Don't think i've cried in front of another person since i was a kid. I cried while reading "The lovely bones" but it's the saddest book ever written. Also i suppose i've shed a tear or two over the odd girl... because i am really into odd girls :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,305 ✭✭✭✭K-9

I tend to build it all up and then the floodgates go! Had a good cry 2 weeks ago on the night of the ould mans funeral. Tears had been in my eyes a good few times but managed to keep it together. All came out that night though, helped by drink and exhaustion!

Before that was a couple of times after a big relationship break up. Found it worse when I was denied access to my son for 6 months over a year spell. Went from tears a few times to a numbness to protect myself then. Floodgates opened when I knew I'd see him again but again the self defence mechanism kicked in when I seen him again!

Barring those 2, death of a dog, definitely, but I was 13! Donegal winning the All Ireland for the only time so far still brings a tear to the eye as does Liverpool winning the Champions League in 05.

Films, the Champ and the Insider bring a wee tear as did David Tennant on New Years Day!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

Birth of a child, hell i cried on the way down to the delivery room with the sheer excitement, probably aswell cos i knew once the screaming and blood and stuff started flying i was gonna be too transfixed to think of even crying.

And first time holding said child.

First time she opened her eyes.

First time she smiled.

**** it, every time i think of her i wanna cry, she makes everything worthwhile. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,594 ✭✭✭bonerm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭cleremy jarkson

Ireland winning the world cup would probably see me close to tears...sure clips of Italia 90 and usa 94 give me a lump in my throat.

Apart from this, I think that the deaths of my parents or yonger siblings would make me cry.

I wouldn't like to be seen crying in front of a woman; I don't think they'd feel comfortable wth it and neither would I really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Dave147 wrote: »
    My dog died 2 weeks ago and I'd say in the last two weeks I've cried more than I had in my whole life previous..

I had a tear in my eye when I'd to tell my daughter that 'Tigger' our cat had died in the Vets, that was three years ago and she still remember's my reaction to breaking the news to her.

I balled my eye's out when my son was born.

Christmas 2000 I was serving in Lebanon, we had a Christmas party for the children from Tibnine orphanage. When we'd to return the kids I welled up.

My eye's were streaming at U2's 360 concert in Croker, best concert I've ever been to in my life.

Other moments are private, very private.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,594 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

God damn film "The Green Mile". Gets me every time! :mad:

I think there is something very wrong when someone can't cry when they are sad.

The only time I would find crying off putting, in when it motive is clearly manipulative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Moocawn

I haven't cried since late 2004 and don't cry at funerals, all men are different, some need to cry to grieve and express emotions and others do not. I used to work with a woman who would cry on cue, eventually it lost its effect and no-one took any notice. Whatever the guy feels like doing himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Shivers26 wrote: »
    Just to get things started my last bf was a massive crier.
    he bawled watching The Notebook and he cried when our son was born (although I'd let him away with that one)
    In general though I like my men to be men.

I hope these sentences are in no way related.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,333 ✭✭✭✭itsallaboutheL

All you men saying you don't cry, i defy you to drink a couple of bottles of whiskey and not ball your eyes out...

granted it's 'cause you'll be after ****ting yourself and killing two of your cousins but stil....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 560 ✭✭✭nicegirl

I cried last week, and also when I was having an attack not so long ago, cried over a friend, my grannys funeral, and when the cats died at home. Cried over a few lads as well. Whenever i get test results from doctors, I also always end up crying :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

Just to get things started my last bf was a massive crier. He bawled his eyes out both times we saw Riverdance .

If I had to sit through Riverdance once, I would cry. The second time, I would probably take my own life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

nicegirl wrote: »
    Whenever i get test results from doctors, I also always end up crying :o

Contraception is the cure for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,420 ✭✭✭Dionysus

My gf is always giving out to me that I don't cry. A few months ago, however, shortly after Ted Kennedy died, RTÉ showed a documentary on his life. There was one scene in it, from June 1968.
    It was Robert Kennedy's funeral (he had just been assassinated) and a 36-year-old Ted Kennedy went up to the podium in the church to make a reading. Bobby was his third, and last, brother to bury (Joe was killed in WW2, and JFK was obviously assassinated) and I just felt so much for the man at that moment that the tears flowed. I wasn't sobbing or anything, but I definitely cried. It took me by surprise as much as it did her.

That photo of the man waving the white handkerchief on Bloody Sunday as a dying kid was being carried across the street is about the only image that never fails to move me. It's an emotionally huge scene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭bUILDERtHEbOB

I cry a lot, mainly because it keeps the weapon wielding psychopath locked inside of me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,911 ✭✭✭Zombienosh

According to a study of over 300 adults, on average, men cry once every month, and women cry at least five times per month,[2] especially before and during the menstrual cycle, when crying can increase up to 5 times the normal rate, often without obvious reasons (such as depression or sadness).[4] In many cultures, it is more socially acceptable for women and children to cry, and less socially acceptable for men to cry.[2]
    WIKI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

AlcoholicA wrote: »
    WIKI

The average??? Wow, well I must have had relations with some very abnormal people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Shivers26

m@cc@ wrote: »
    I hope these sentences are in no way related.

The first 2 are about the same person. The 'I like my men to be men' is just a general thing. I like that most men have that practical, reliable, protective thing going on and I dont only mean guys I might be in a relationship with. I mean my dad, bothers, male friends etc. I generally find men are pretty solid when it comes to dishing out advice as well (as long as its not about waxing or periods).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭hobochris

Times a man may cry(without being branded a pussy):

-Death of a family member/close friend.
    -Death of a pet.
    -Discovering that there is no more alcohol, after having consumed your own body weight in alcohol(In that session).

</end of list>

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 14,190 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

I feel bad for not crying at funerals, I can't help but think people assume I don't care.

I suppose I could try to force it, but there's just something wrong about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭JimmyCrackCorn

So women want men to not cry and to be real men but still want them to be sensitive, tough but sensitive.

When women figure out what they actually want can we have it on the back of a post card.

Im not bitter at all :P (newly single)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Niall Keane

Crom laughs at you crybabies!!!