Winning Streat - Eligibility Criteria

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't care what kind of a show it is if I come out a few grand richer, I'll take the slagging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rubadub wrote: »
    I expect if you people do win they stick their granny on instead. Imagine the abuse you would get going on that crap.

are you that sensitive that around, at least, €5k wouldnt numb all the pain of appearing on such a show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 32,684 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

aDeener wrote: »
    are you that sensitive that around, at least, €5k wouldnt numb all the pain of appearing on such a show?

That's what I was trying to say, you said it a bit better though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,503 ✭✭✭dambarude

aDeener wrote: »

€5k? You're guaranteed at least €20k nowadays. I've three stars sent in this week- wish me luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,626 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

dambarude wrote: »

lmao, that's classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,250 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Watched it tonight and was surprised to see that 4 out of the 5 names picked out to appear next week are from cork........*goes to look in conspiracy theories thread*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

As attractive as she is Katherine Thomas is a poor presenter (I feel ashamed for having seen enough Winning Streak to form the basis for an opinion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

G'wan Babs.

G'wan Babs.

It's because of gems like Babs that Winning Streak can be, the rare time, somewhat watchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

...London?

phasers wrote: »
    ...London?

Par'n me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,537 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

That_Guy wrote: »
    The only way to get on that show it seems is to be old and from the countryside.

never been to dublin before seems another way to get on :D

i would say nobody has ever gone on the holiday won, they all ask for the money value instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,787 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Nari85 wrote: »
    From these entries, 100 envelopes are drawn by Tom a member of the Garda Siochana under the supervision of me sister Cline and me uncle John Joe independent observers KPMG and National Lottery personnel.
    We gave ourselves fancy titles at work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

Lets be perfectly honest about it that show is the reason this country is in a recession in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Fracture wrote: »
    I sent in a ticket before, just for showing up you leave with a small fortune. Don't they call out who is gonna be on next weeks show from a glass barrell thing each week? So long since i watched it.

The killer is that they'll just call out "Joe Bloggs from Dublin 9" or whatever, one Saturday evening a couple of years back I was inundated with texts from wellwishers after I was apparently drawn to be on next weeks show. Knowing that I hadn't sent in a three stars for several months beforehand, I knew it wasn't me (despite my name not being common at all) but I played along, I was getting phone calls all week from dickhead cousins and "friends" who I hadn't seen in years wishing me well.

I nearly weeweed myseld when "I" turned out to be an octogenerian oul lad. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

kippy wrote: »
    I've been sitting down here half watching winning streak with the missus. That alone is enough to attract mass slagging but anyway,
    I havent seen all the contestents but at least 4 out of the five are in their sixties or older. In other episodes I have "watched" the pattern seems to be a large amount of 60 plus contestants.
    Do this age group gamble more in buying these tickets? Are the poxed with luck? Is Winning Streak fixed to only allow this age group on the show? Are the national lottery funded by the pensions of the elderly?

They can read and write, unlike the the shíteheads going round today.

That's probably why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Marty is a card though isnt he! He plays the "Howya Betty, sure y'ere the bell of ballygobackwards so ya are" schtick to perfection just like Mike Murphy used to, but the knowing glint is always in his eye. Its obvious hes thinkin to himself - Jesus what happened to my career, I used to be on Open House 5 days a week and was a 2FM DeJaaaay, ah well its afew bob I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

my father (yes over 60 and from the country) was on it last year. It was a great day out and you get treated very well there but my god as cheap as the game looks on tv does not compare with reality. The games look like they were put together by 3rd year students doing their woodwork project. They started bashing one of the games to get the lights working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Pingu-D wrote: »
    Lets be perfectly honest about it that show is the reason this country is in a recession in the first place!

Thought provoking and well argued point....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Absurdum

TheZohan wrote: »
    Thought provoking and well argued point....

it's a well known fact that Anglo were dishing out hundreds of millions to punters to buy scratch cards

What gets me is how bloody miserable most of the contestants look.
    I've seen more life in a morgue.
    If I ran the show I'd fine them for not being happy with their winnings.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

Absurdum wrote: »
    it's a well known fact that Anglo were dishing out hundreds of millions to punters to buy scratch cards

They'd nearly have been better off if they were.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,302 ✭✭✭sunnyjim

rubadub wrote: »
    I expect if you people do win they stick their granny on instead. Imagine the abuse you would get going on that crap.

No way mate - just get on the sauce with your mates during the day before the show. Then make sure they are in the crowd. It'll be the talk of every session for years!!