Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Winning Streat - Eligibility Criteria

• 16-01-2010 8:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭

I've been sitting down here half watching winning streak with the missus. That alone is enough to attract mass slagging but anyway,
    I havent seen all the contestents but at least 4 out of the five are in their sixties or older. In other episodes I have "watched" the pattern seems to be a large amount of 60 plus contestants.
    Do this age group gamble more in buying these tickets? Are the poxed with luck? Is Winning Streak fixed to only allow this age group on the show? Are the national lottery funded by the pensions of the elderly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

I think it cos they are the only ones that bother sending in the ticket if ya get three stars.
    Does you man Derek "hhhiiiiiiiiii" Mooney still do that show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

The only way to get on that show it seems is to be old and from the countryside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

What has 100 legs & smells of p*ss?

The front row of the Winning Streak audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Do that many people actually attend that sh*t?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

I sent in a ticket before, just for showing up you leave with a small fortune. Don't they call out who is gonna be on next weeks show from a glass barrell thing each week? So long since i watched it.

That_Guy wrote: »
    Do that many people actually attend that sh*t?

You'd be surprised the amount of people who'll show up when you've a chance of winning a few quid.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Must know correct name of show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Nari85

Ha op, i sent off an email during the week messing about the contestants on the show.
    This is the email i sent To winning streak.

I am complaining about how contestants are picked every week, it is obvious that the cards Marty picks out have been picked out already. This is very misleading, what is the point of the draw if RTE already know who next weeks contestants are. My other grievance is that the majority of contestants are middle aged women usually from Donegal. I am surprised the show hasn't been investigated already. If these problems are not solved I will have to make it my duty to tell the public.

This is the reply
    Thank you for your email regarding the 3 Star draw.

Each week the National Lottery receives several thousand 3-star draw entries. All tickets received up to 10.00am on a Thursday are entered in a preliminary draw held every Thursday at the National Lottery Headquarters. All entries are placed in a large drum that rotates a number of times, thereby mixing the envelopes. From these entries, 100 envelopes are drawn by a member of the Garda Siochana under the supervision of independent observers KPMG and National Lottery personnel.

These 100 envelopes are opened and carefully checked for correct and legible signatures, names, addresses and eligibility. The tickets are then re-enveloped and brought to RTE for the final draw on Saturday, where 5 entries are drawn to appear the following week. Draws are conducted in accordance with approved National Lottery procedures, which ensure that every envelope received has a fair and equal chance of selection. As the procedure takes a considerable amount of time it would not be feasible to include this as part of the TV Game show.

I have attached the Winning Streak rules, which includes the 3 Star draw procedures and these can be found from page 11 in the document.

The National Lottery greatly appreciates the views and comments of players, and would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us with yours.

Kind Regards

Im still hoping the ticket i sent off last week gets pulled out tonight

Nari85 wrote: »

From these entries, 100 envelopes are drawn by a member of the Garda Siochana

I'm glad to see that our taxes are being put to good use.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Must know correct name of show.

Indeed, My spealing has never bean the best.

Just noticed, some of the games aren't very elderly friendly......they could do with some help.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 592 ✭✭✭Black Magic

That was Daniel O'Donnell's concert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

Ha ha ha Nari - kudos for sending that email!!!! :D

Anyone see the old one couldn't get the thing open. This is comedy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I expect if you people do win they stick their granny on instead. Imagine the abuse you would get going on that crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Nari85

More bad news, my name wasn't pulled out this week. I am starting to lose hope now;) At least i don't have to watch it anymore, that show has gone to the dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,658 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Anyone watching tonight?

Pretty typical Alzheimers r us show - honestly does anyone under 70 or with their wits about them buy a scratch card

Typical Exchange

Marty: Pick a number Mary, between 1 and 6
    Mary: 7 Marty! 7!
    Marty: Ah fair play to ya Mary

And not a gun-slinging audience maniac in sight. Its a nursing home show in all but name. Bring on Daniel o Donnel for the entertainment

:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,572 ✭✭✭✭brummytom

Bring on Daniel o Donnel for the entertainment

Nothing's that bad, nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Marty: "Pick a number Mary"

Mary: " 4 Marty"

Marty: "You already picked that Mary"

Mary: "Emmm, 4 Marty"

God love them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,984 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Anyone watching tonight?

Pretty typical Alzheimers r us show - honestly does anyone under 70 or with their wits about them buy a scratch card

Typical Exchange

Marty: Pick a number Mary, between 1 and 6
    Mary: 7 Marty! 7!
    Marty: Ah fair play to ya Mary

And not a gun-slinging audience maniac in sight. Its a nursing home show in all but name. Bring on Daniel o Donnel for the entertainment

Mary has had three strokes in the past few years, not doing too badly considered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

What's the name of that woman standing in for Kathryn Thomas tonight?

Sile Seoige

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Marty: "Pick a number Mary"

Mary: " 4 Marty"

Marty: "You already picked that Mary"

Mary: "Emmm, 4 Marty"

God love them!

I'll give you a clue, you live there....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭Reoil

Sile Seoige
    Absolutely stunning!

7! :p
    Haven't laughed so hard in ages. :) God love 'em.

Oh aye, and - "Have you arranged this with your Dad"? "Yeah, half of it!".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭jk86

Anyone see the old one couldn't get the thing open. This is comedy.

Yes, arthritis is HILARIOUS:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 158 ✭✭annabellee77

Actually sent in card for it couple of times and worried if I won, HOW would I appear...........would be mortified!!!!! Would prob end up trying to get someone to go for me and half the winnings.
    CRINGE is all I can think!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,221 ✭✭✭BluesBerry

Its funny to see some contestants who have put their kids name on the scratch card and dont get to see any of the money
    I remember a few years ago a man put his 6 month old baby's name on the card and "played" on his behalf won the biggest amount spinning the wheel and his son could collect it when he was 18 hahahaha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

Actually sent in card for it couple of times and worried if I won, HOW would I appear...........would be mortified!!!!! Would prob end up trying to get someone to go for me and half the winnings.
    CRINGE is all I can think!!:D

I would not care one jot, I'd sit there in nothing but my underwear if I had to...who cares, you're getting money/cars and holidays thrown at you.

And whats this crap these days with two presenters, oul Mike Murphy must look on in shame.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,183 ✭✭✭✭Atavan-Halen

rubadub wrote: »
    I expect if you people do win they stick their granny on instead. Imagine the abuse you would get going on that crap.

TBH, I wouldn't really care. The amount of crap they win on it is worth the abuse. If anyone gave me grief over it, I'd just slap them across the face with my envelope of winnings :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Buy ticket. Get three stars. Post ticket off. Result.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 2,503 Mod ✭✭✭✭dambarude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

I don't care what kind of a show it is if I come out a few grand richer, I'll take the slagging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

rubadub wrote: »

are you that sensitive that around, at least, €5k wouldnt numb all the pain of appearing on such a show?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,969 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

aDeener wrote: »
    are you that sensitive that around, at least, €5k wouldnt numb all the pain of appearing on such a show?

That's what I was trying to say, you said it a bit better though!

aDeener wrote: »

€5k? You're guaranteed at least €20k nowadays. I've three stars sent in this week- wish me luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

dambarude wrote: »

lmao, that's classic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Watched it tonight and was surprised to see that 4 out of the 5 names picked out to appear next week are from cork........*goes to look in conspiracy theories thread*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

As attractive as she is Katherine Thomas is a poor presenter (I feel ashamed for having seen enough Winning Streak to form the basis for an opinion).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Rev. BlueJeans

G'wan Babs.

G'wan Babs.

It's because of gems like Babs that Winning Streak can be, the rare time, somewhat watchable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

...London?

phasers wrote: »
    ...London?

Par'n me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,375 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

That_Guy wrote: »
    The only way to get on that show it seems is to be old and from the countryside.

never been to dublin before seems another way to get on :D

i would say nobody has ever gone on the holiday won, they all ask for the money value instead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Nari85 wrote: »
    From these entries, 100 envelopes are drawn by Tom a member of the Garda Siochana under the supervision of me sister Cline and me uncle John Joe independent observers KPMG and National Lottery personnel.
    We gave ourselves fancy titles at work too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Pingu-D

Lets be perfectly honest about it that show is the reason this country is in a recession in the first place!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

Fracture wrote: »
    I sent in a ticket before, just for showing up you leave with a small fortune. Don't they call out who is gonna be on next weeks show from a glass barrell thing each week? So long since i watched it.

The killer is that they'll just call out "Joe Bloggs from Dublin 9" or whatever, one Saturday evening a couple of years back I was inundated with texts from wellwishers after I was apparently drawn to be on next weeks show. Knowing that I hadn't sent in a three stars for several months beforehand, I knew it wasn't me (despite my name not being common at all) but I played along, I was getting phone calls all week from dickhead cousins and "friends" who I hadn't seen in years wishing me well.

I nearly weeweed myseld when "I" turned out to be an octogenerian oul lad. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

kippy wrote: »
    I've been sitting down here half watching winning streak with the missus. That alone is enough to attract mass slagging but anyway,
    I havent seen all the contestents but at least 4 out of the five are in their sixties or older. In other episodes I have "watched" the pattern seems to be a large amount of 60 plus contestants.
    Do this age group gamble more in buying these tickets? Are the poxed with luck? Is Winning Streak fixed to only allow this age group on the show? Are the national lottery funded by the pensions of the elderly?

They can read and write, unlike the the shíteheads going round today.

That's probably why.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Marty is a card though isnt he! He plays the "Howya Betty, sure y'ere the bell of ballygobackwards so ya are" schtick to perfection just like Mike Murphy used to, but the knowing glint is always in his eye. Its obvious hes thinkin to himself - Jesus what happened to my career, I used to be on Open House 5 days a week and was a 2FM DeJaaaay, ah well its afew bob I suppose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭pipeliner

my father (yes over 60 and from the country) was on it last year. It was a great day out and you get treated very well there but my god as cheap as the game looks on tv does not compare with reality. The games look like they were put together by 3rd year students doing their woodwork project. They started bashing one of the games to get the lights working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Pingu-D wrote: »
    Lets be perfectly honest about it that show is the reason this country is in a recession in the first place!

Thought provoking and well argued point....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

TheZohan wrote: »
    Thought provoking and well argued point....

it's a well known fact that Anglo were dishing out hundreds of millions to punters to buy scratch cards