Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Attitudes to Porn... Mod Warning Post 719

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭serenacat

12-17 year old boys are the highest users of internet porn. They are easily influenced at this age.

http://xxxchurch.com/ i found this great website that is against porn ages ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

serenacat wrote: »
    12-17 year old boys are the highest users of internet porn. They are easily influenced at this age.

XXXchurch? Are you for real?

Why are you constantly trying to get your information from extremists?

You need to get your information from balanced, unbiased sources.

No wonder your opinions are so extreme.

This issue has become very black and white ...how come people cant see ..that while someone mightn't be activity against something (porn in this case ).....they might have concerns about it.....people cant seem to see shades of grey in an argument...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

I actually think this point is being ignored on purpose at this stage :confused:.

Why can't it just be taken as a given that different people are into different things? What turns one person on will leave someone else cold & visa versa, what one person finds hum-drum & insipid another sees as the height of adventurous. What is so difficult to grasp about that? Why does it have to be a case of judging your own personal tastes to be impeccable while assuming everybody else's predilections are somehow morally reprehensible?

There is enormous demand for all manner of porn, from submission to hardcore, from foot fetishes to overweight people, from old people to gay & lesbian, BDSM, you name it; it's out there - and you can guarantee that every single one of those niches in porn are also being enjoyed in real life by real people in bedrooms across the world every night, it's not just some depraved internet phenomena.

There are some people who are delighted to have no sex, others who are swinging from the chandeliers every night - and everything in-between. As long as it's between consenting adults, it's all good as far as I'm concerned. I don't see the need for anyone to be limited according to one narrow definition of what is or is not "acceptable porn".

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Another gross generalisation.

I understand you don't like porn, that's grand, but you are wrong to project your own fears onto everyone else. Just because you think porn is a problem doesn't mean everyone else should.

I also think most of your opinions on porn are quite extreme. I hope you realise extremist opinions are not healthy, and tend to be incorrect. Certainly I would be more fearful of someone like you than someone who looks at porn.
    what are you afraid of?

i watched the 'great porn debate' before it was great http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P3dDXppgUpI

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

12-17 year old boys would knock one out to a Debenhams catalogue if it had some pics of women in bras in them, doesnt mean anything

That site is pretty rubbish as well, its just Christian hyperbole and Maud Flanders "wont someone think of the children?" hysteria, take this for example:

" Studies have shown that ninety-nine percent of all masturbation involves lust and mental fantasy, which disconnects you from real relationships with real people."

Masturbation involves lust, fcuking DUH, you'd hardly be sitting there pleasuring yourself to the 6 o'clock news now would you? that'd be much more worrying tbh than someone thinking of a pair of boobs or a woman he/she saw and fancied,also their reasoning that people who watch porn will suddenly need more and more extreme images to satisfy their sexual hunger, what a load of shyte, I've been looking at porn since my teens and I dont suddenly want to start watching a guy in a gimp mask spray peanut butter over a woman being dangled from the ceiling by her feet (and you could probably find a site that caters to this)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

what are you afraid of?

Extremists are not balanced, reasonable people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,477 ✭✭✭✭Raze_them_all

What is it, everytime somebody makes a point you can't argue with you ignore it and say something completely new?

krudler wrote: »
    12-17 year old boys would knock one out to a Debenhams catalogue if it had some pics of women in bras in them, doesnt mean anything

That site is pretty rubbish as well, its just Christian hyperbole and Maud Flanders "wont someone think of the children?" hysteria, take this for example:

" Studies have shown that ninety-nine percent of all masturbation involves lust and mental fantasy, which disconnects you from real relationships with real people."
    Masturbation involves lust, fcuking DUH, you'd hardly be sitting there pleasuring yourself to the 6 o'clock news now would you? that'd be much more worrying tbh than someone thinking of a pair of boobs or a woman he/she saw and fancied,also their reasoning that people who watch porn will suddenly need more and more extreme images to satisfy their sexual hunger, what a load of shyte, I've been looking at porn since my teens and I dont suddenly want to start watching a guy in a gimp mask spray peanut butter over a woman being dangled from the ceiling by her feet (and you could probably find a site that caters to this)

that is a good point, i don't masturbate myself as i am in a relationship however doing this while thinking about something its hurting any women like porn. and this is the reason why i'm not against erotic books as they are words on a page not are not phyiscally harming and hurting women and degrading women

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Extremists are not balanced, reasonable people.
    not liking porn doesn't make me an extremist, but i am not a harmful person i wouldn't hurt a fly.

There are some people who are delighted to have no sex, others who are swinging from the chandeliers every night - and everything in-between. As long as it's between consenting adults, it's all good as far as I'm concerned. I don't see the need for anyone to be limited according to one narrow definition of what is or is not "acceptable porn".

Well said, some couples are happy to have sex one a week or month and never deviate from the missionary position, and some people want to wear their wifes underpants while dancing around to techno music and covering themselves in jelly, whatever floats your boat, nobody has the right to say what is and isnt acceptable in sexual preferences, sex is an amazing thing, at its base its one of our primary functions on this planet, to procreate, but as a society we've turned and enchanced it into something that makes life just that little bit sweeter, ths country just needs to do a bit of catching up. Look at the Greeks and Romans, they were depraved by Irish standards and while we were barely out of caves and picking spuds out of the ground with our bare hands they were the most advanced civilisations on earth, Catholic guilt has a lot to answer for in this country when it comes to Irish attitudes to sex

What is it, everytime somebody makes a point you can't argue with you ignore it and say something completely new?
    is their a point in practicular you are referring to? anyways just adding info to this topic, while i do this others have more points for me, i have alot of get to can't possibly argue all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,479 ✭✭✭✭philologos

This is a really good ministry. They go all over the world promoting a lifestyle free from porn at porn shows, and the addiction that it can cause. Extreme is hardly the word to call these people. I think they are worthy of respect for promoting this point of view, and helping people with their problem.

that is a good point, i don't masturbate myself as i am in a relationship however doing this while thinking about something its hurting any women like porn. and this is the reason why i'm not against erotic books as they are words on a page not are not phyiscally harming and hurting women and degrading women
    1) what does one have to do with another?
    2) One of my female friends showed me a rape scene in one of her books, in it the guy raped and beat the girl, to stop her passing out he stabbed her, and to stop her passing out he shoved his fingers inside the wounds so he could be more inside her.

That is more twisted than any porn I've ever seen and the book was written by a woman IIRC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

that is a good point,i don't masturbate myself as i am in a relationship however doing this while thinking about something its hurting any women like porn. and this is the reason why i'm not against erotic books as they are words on a page not are not phyiscally harming and hurting women and degrading women

Do you think there is something wrong with masturbating when you're in a relationship? :eek:

Seriously? I'd have no problem whatsoever with a girl I was seeing masturbating, its human nature to pleasure ourselves when we see fit, regardless of whether we're in a relationship or not, obviously I'd prefer sex as nothing can beat the real thing, but in a relationship where me and my gf dont see each other much, maybe 1 night a week and every 2nd weekend where she can stay over, i wouldnt begrudge her taking care of herself when I'm not around and vice versa, if we lived together and had sex more it'd probably be a different story but as it stands, doesnt bother me in the slightest, its actually a turnon to think of your partner doing that when you're not around:)

Jakkass wrote: »
    This is a really good ministry. They go all over the world promoting a lifestyle free from porn at porn shows, and the addiction that it can cause. Extreme is hardly the word to call these people. I think they are worthy of respect for promoting this point of view, and helping people with their problem.

i watched some of there shows and 'the great porn debate' it really is great what he does.

1) what does one have to do with another?
    2) One of my female friends showed me a rape scene in one of her books, in it the guy raped and beat the girl, to stop her passing out he stabbed her, and to stop her passing out he shoved his fingers inside the wounds so he could be more inside her.

That is more twisted than any porn I've ever seen and the book was written by a woman IIRC

1) i have sex with my boyfriend so don't have a need to, am not judging those that do. this is my personal preference.
    2) that is sick didn't need to know this as i know not all erotic novels are romantic. i am no expert in the subject, just read the odd book,internet blog.

I think so too, I just think people get very defensive over the subject. People will get hostile when any alternative view to the promotion and objectification of women is promoted. I'd share their view that the porn industry is damaging, especially in family situations.

I don't know why anyone wouldn't be offended to know that their partner isn't satisfied with them and with them alone.

krudler wrote: »
    Seriously? I'd have no problem whatsoever with a girl I was seeing masturbating, its human nature to pleasure ourselves when we see fit, regardless of whether we're in a relationship or not, obviously I'd prefer sex as nothing can beat the real thing, but in a relationship where me and my gf dont see each other much, maybe 1 night a week and every 2nd weekend where she can stay over, i wouldnt begrudge her taking care of herself when I'm not around and vice versa, if we lived together and had sex more it'd probably be a different story but as it stands, doesnt bother me in the slightest, its actually a turnon to think of your partner doing that when you're not around:)

i'm sure my boyf wouldnt mind. and he does himself but i prefer to save it for him, not judging anyone that does.

I think so too, I just think people get very defensive over the subject. People will get hostile when any alternative view to the promotion and objectification of women is promoted. I'd share their view that the porn industry is damaging, especially in family situations.

I don't know why anyone wouldn't be offended to know that their partner isn't satisfied with them and with them alone.

true. i wouldn't be too happy with it either

I would be offended if my partner wasn't satisfied with me, but him watching porn doesn't make him unsatisfied.

I watch porn. I still love having sex. Porn can't replace the intimacy shared between two people when they have sex.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,485 ✭✭✭✭Ickle Magoo

Again, that just comes down to your own narrow definition of relationship and relationship boundaries. There are those that are happily in non-monogamous relationships, those that don't view porn or masturbation as infidelity and aren't at all insecure or uncomfortable with any aspect of pornography or masturbation.

I'm not sure what you mean by damaging in family situations, I don't think many people sit their kids down on a Sunday afternoon to watch porn as a family. There are, of course, people who get addicted to porn but - much like cream buns - I don't think one persons inability to monitor their own consumption is grounds to ban it for the rest of the world.

1) i have sex with my boyfriend so don't have a need to, am not judging those that do. this is my personal preference.
    2) that is sick didn't need to know this as i know not all erotic novels are romantic. i am no expert in the subject, just read the odd book,internet blog.
    Many couples masturbate in front of each other which can be a great turn on and show their partners how they like to be touched. You would be against this also?

Ah but it's out there, you said novels don't degrade women, surely nothing is more degrading than what I just described?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭hippiechickie

Again, that just comes down to your own narrow definition of relationship and relationship boundaries. There are those that are happily in non-monogamous relationships, those that don't view porn or masturbation as infidelity and aren't at all insecure or uncomfortable with any aspect of pornography or masturbation.

This is typical of what I was talking about. Calling people who have a different view of pornography to be "narrow". It's overly defensive. All XXXChurch, and other Christians do is promote marital fidelity, and purity, and I certainly feel they are right to do this.

The vast majority, the vast majority of people in marriages are in monogamous relationships, this is indeed the cultural norm. Pornography, under the pretext of this monogamous relationship no doubt is going to make people feel betrayed.

I think they have a right to be betrayed, and I think it is inevitable that people will get hurt from this. It would certainly be my opinion that the encouragement of pornography merely encourages brokenness.
    I'm not sure what you mean by damaging in family situations, I don't think many people sit their kids down on a Sunday afternoon to watch porn as a family. There are, of course, people who get addicted to porn but - much like cream buns - I don't think one persons inability to monitor their own consumption is grounds to ban it for the rest of the world.

It damages marriages, in some cases causes disputes, and most likely causes strain to a marriage, it may even be a cause for divorce in some cases.

If ones partner is not satisfied with them, that's very hurtful.

You're introducing a strawman now. I don't think I've suggested banning it, but I do think it is a harmful influence in our world, and I would promote the view that people should abstain from it.

The porn industry gains $50 billion dollars a year. Money which could probably be better spent rather than fuelling the sexual objectification of others.

She signed the consent form. She walked away with the money in her pocket.

This real woman decided to this as a job. I did not say here you better do this so I can get my rocks off.
    Believe it or not the men in porn are real too, they've to go home and be somebody's father,brother, husband, boyfriend too an you can be guaranteed he's getting paid alot less than the female.

this was the point i was trying to get across, couldn't have said it better myself