Turn a Car around ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Right. So apology for ranting, and taking this WAY off topic?

Are you asking a question, or making a statement there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

The_Edge wrote: »
    As I approached, slowing down, i was their next target. Wrong move assholes. Two of them got a smack of a steering wheel lock for their troubles. Other two had legged it. I made them apologize to the lady driver who had swerved off the road before me before sending them on their way.

I'd do it again in a heatbeat

Wow you're my hero. Good luck defending yourself in the civil action they take against you though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Are you asking a question, or making a statement there?

The question mark generally denotes a question.

sesna wrote: »
    Wow you're my hero. Good luck defending yourself in the civil action they take against you though

Haha.

Yes. Civil action is usually all that's going on in the head of a bunch of scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Faithless

Last night I was looking out my window when a riot van did a full 360 on the ice outside my house. Funny ****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭ninalucy1985

Jesus!
    I heard out in tipperary they were running and skidding in front of moving cars from one end of the road to the other, trying to get passed before the car hits them

idits

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,589 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

why 180 degrees ?

wouldn't 90 offer more inconvenience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Hello, sense of humour. Are you out there? Anywhere?

Saw this done when I was younger, but no ice. One of those itty bitty Diahatsu jeeps. Woman was stopped, talking to someone on the street, 3 other lads joined the 4th, the one she was talking to, one at each corner, quick lift, turned 180 and down.

No death, harm, destruction of property, murder, aldultery or anything going on.
    Yeah, but think of it in this day and age of scumbags, drugs and *****, some strange scumbag and his friends gang around a car and turn it? I'd lose the ****ing head, imagine a mother with her children? It'd frighten the **** out of them. Disgraceful. One of the few times I'd nearly agree with American gun laws.

jumpguy wrote: »
    Disgraceful. One of the few times I'd nearly agree with American gun laws.

I'm suddenly very grateful that you werent a policy maker in this country when I was growing up :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,152 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

bluto63 wrote: »
    Then people should also know not to drive in such bad conditions.
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around. It won't cause anyone to be injured unless the driver acts irrationally. People should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves in situations like this. The extent of damage caused will be entirely up to how you react to the situation.

Absolute and utterly sickening bull****.

The conditions have been allowed for, and it's safe.

Having some pricks throw snowballs or turn a car is an EXTRA hazard.

As for the "people should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves" crap, why do you say this and still try to remove all fault from the scum that are doing it ?

The extent of the damage (to the scum) will hopefully be entirely proportional to their input into causing the danger.

How I'd react is irrelevant; I shouldn't be put in a position to have to react. :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

No problem with getting pelted with snowballs when in the car, as long as they don't have stones in them or they're not ice-balls.

Just don't want stuff done like turning the car. This will incur my wrath, although not wrath on the level of belting a kid with a steering lock which is either a spoof or way OTT.

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Absolute and utterly sickening bull****.

The extent of the damage (to the scum) will hopefully be entirely proportional to their input into causing the danger.

How I'd react is irrelevant; I shouldn't be put in a position to have to react. :mad:

And we banned marijuana, why ?

I'm suddenly very grateful that you werent a policy maker in this country when I was growing up :D
    Haha, no I passionately disagree with American gun laws. If I was ever a policy maker in the future I'd greatly oppose any such laws. However, if I was sitting in a car and a bunch of scumbags came up and started fiddling with the car, the temptation I'd have to pull out a big gun and frighten the **** out of them would be great.

There is nothing life threatening about that. Nothing. You cannot get hit by a parked car. Well, you can, but you're a 'tard.

It's not a "parked car", it's a car stopped in a line of traffic with the engine running.

And if some scum tried doing this, I'd automatically turn the steering and floor the accelerator to try to spin the car back......and if they were still standing beside it they'd deserve everything they got.

Rule 1 : Don't do something illegal and dangerous and imposing on others if you don't accept the consequences.

Rule 2 : If someone breaks rule 1, they're fair game; it's 100% their choice.

And we banned marijuana, why ?

Haven't a clue what this stupid comment has to do with anything, but I'll take a guess.....

.....because people who smoke it when they should be teaching their kids right from wrong have left us with the little ****s that do stuff like this ?

I'm probably wrong, but who cares considering your question has nothing to do with the thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,426 ✭✭✭testicle

Wibbs wrote: »
    *Note to self* move tyre power bar from boot to under seat. Some people are just mouth breathing morons. Right across the board too. Mate of mine was driving through blackrock yesterday trying to get supplies to his GF's grannie. A couple of muppets were throwing snowballs at cars. Caused a woman in front of the mate to skid with shock. Wouldnt be so bad if they were kids. These morons were 17/18. Mate gets outa the car and asks them to stop. They got all aggressive. Bad move. One of them is nursing seriously bruised nuts today. Dead right too. Sod being nice. I take a dim view of someone endangering me or others.

So it's OK to take policing matters into your own hands these days and assault someone?

testicle wrote: »
    So it's OK to take policing matters into your own hands these days and assault someone?
    Did you read? They got aggressive first.

Rule 2 : If someone breaks rule 1, they're fair game; it's 100% their choice.

I'm sure the courts might have a different interpretation than this. There is such thing as a proportionate response.

Regarding the marijuana comment, I am concerned about idiots like you clogging up our health service with strokes, high blood pressure,etc precipitated from stress about trivial matters.

So it's OK to run riot and do what you damn-well like ?

The original post makes it clear that they were asked/told repeatedly to stop.

Even with the backward Irish laws that protect scum and criminals and give them more rights than law-abiding folk, you're entitled to defend yourself if you feel you're in danger.

Regarding the marijuana comment, I am concerned about idiots like you clogging up our health service with strokes, high blood pressure,etc precipitated from stress about trivial matters.

Lay off the pathetic personal comments, and to be honest if you think objecting to scumbags doing as they please makes someone an "idiot", then I'm glad to be considered one.....especially by someone who doesn't seem to know the difference between right and wrong.

As for the health service, are you OK with it being clogged by little ****s who do this stuff and get their comeuppance ?

Or does your view of what comprises "clogging" directly relate to your biased and unacceptable view of the person being treated ?

Because I'd much prefer to have to avail of the health service due to standing up for decent people's rights than for being a prick of a scumbag.

BTW, I prefer to debate actual facts and actions rather than throw in snide comments like "idiot", so I won't call you any pathetic names......do feel free to come up with one for yourself based on your pathetic remark above, though.

Lay off the pathetic personal comments, and to be honest if you think objecting to scumbags doing as they please makes someone an "idiot", then I'm glad to be considered one.....especially by someone who doesn't seem to know the difference between right and wrong.

As for the health service, are you OK with it being clogged by little ****s who do this stuff and get their comeuppance ?

Or does your view of what comprises "clogging" directly relate to your biased and unacceptable view of the person being treated ?

Because I'd much prefer to have to avail of the health service due to standing up for decent people's rights than for being a prick of a scumbag.

BTW, I prefer to debate actual facts and actions rather than throw in snide comments like "idiot", so I won't call you any pathetic names......do feel free to come up with one for yourself based on your pathetic remark above, though.

I prefer to get worked up about more important matters. Good luck on your crusade against snow ball throwers and snowmen

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Honestly? If there isnt a agency of government around at the time or on their way and I or others feel in any way threatened or the safety of others is in doubt then yes I see it as reasonable to take action. If a person saw someone in difficulty while swimming and potentially drowning and they were a strong swimmer, should they ring the relevant authority and wait? If so then.. well I dont know what to say. Actuall I do. I would think of them as morally and socially spineless and weak. IMH its the same damn thing and if the majority thought the same we would have a helluva lot less anti social behavior. BTW these werent kids having fun as kids will. These were of an age that should know better and if their moronic or absent parents won't step up to the task, well then society should.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭philstar

didn't this sort of thing happen up in Cabra during the week?? heard someone on the joe duffy complaining about it

I prefer to get worked up about more important matters. Good luck on your crusade against snow ball throwers and snowmen

OOoooohh....... [cue Fr Jack voice]......you're SOOOOOoooooo clever!

I've nothing against "snowball throwers and snowmen", as you well know.

Just as I've nothing against guns........ON A RIFLE RANGE or SOMEWHERE SUITABLE.

On the roads is a completely different story.

But you already knew that, I'd say.......I mean, I am the only "idiot" around here, after all, so you must be clever enough to know that ?

Then again, you might not be, considering your earlier comments.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Honestly? If there isnt a agency of government around at the time or on their way and I or others feel in any way threatened or the safety of others is in doubt then yes I see it as reasonable to take action. If a person saw someone in difficulty while swimming and potentially drowning and they were a strong swimmer, should they ring the relevant authority and wait? If so then.. well I dont know what to say. Actuall I do. I would think of them as morally and socially spineless and weak. IMH its the same damn thing and if the majority thought the same we would have a helluva lot less anti social behavior. BTW these werent kids having fun as kids will. These were of an age that should no better and if their moronic parents won't step up to the task, well then society should.

I think you'll find police would arrest, not assault. Of course there is always the option of a citizens arrest if you cant wait for relevant authorities.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I think you'll find police would arrest, not assault. Of course there is always the option of a citizens arrest if you cant wait for relevant authorities.
    Meanwhile back in the real world.....

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

I think you'll find police would arrest, not assault.

The "police" have no authority within this state.

Lay off the marijuana.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

jumpguy wrote: »
    Yeah, but think of it in this day and age of scumbags, drugs and *****, some strange scumbag and his friends gang around a car and turn it? I'd lose the ****ing head, imagine a mother with her children? It'd frighten the **** out of them. Disgraceful. One of the few times I'd nearly agree with American gun laws.

No, ye see apparently that's ok. Cos if the mother stays calm so will the kids. According to one poster earlier on anyways :rolleyes:

The "police" have no authority within this state.

Lay off the marijuana.

Really - you think the Gardaí (a police force, an organised force for maintaining law and order) have no authority in this state? Now your paranoid and aggressive reactionary responses to kids make sense.

Really - the Gardaí (a police force, an organised force for maintaining law and order) have no authority in this state? Now your paranoid and reactionary responses to kids make sense.

Yawn!

And anyone with half a brain would realise that I said nothing paranoid.

But feel free to bull**** away in a pathetic attempt to discredit my opinion.

As for "reactionary", well I've already admitted that the scum shouldn't have given me anything to react to.

And again, you've attempted to victimise the thugs.....why use the word "kids" ? And why should that excuse them from responsibility for their actions ? Do you think the two "kids" that murdered Jamie Bolger [ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Murder_of_James_Bulger ] should get off scot-free, because they're "kids" ?

Would it be OK if my kid got out and beat them up instead ? After all, he's just a "kid" and - if I get your point - doesn't know any better, right ? :rolleyes: