Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Turn a Car around ?

• 09-01-2010 11:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭

Has anyone ever seen or heard of kids run up to a stopped car in traffic, in icy conditions like this, and rotate the car around 180deg ?
    My dad just mentioned it to me last night and if it happened to me i would be out like a bolt with a few kicks to the head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

Nearly happened to us on Christmas Day. Was driving out of my parents estate and skidded on a corner, stopped the car to try again and a group of young fellas ran up and started trying to push the car. Only for I knew one of them and he stopped them doing it. I had my one year old in the back of the car too.

Scumbags.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Never heard of it. Gotta admit though - it'd be a fcukin error on their part if they tried it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭niceirishfella

samhail wrote: »
    i would be out like a bolt with a few kicks to the head.

No you would'nt because you'd fall flat on your arse on the ice, the same ice your car is on.:D
    Use the noodle!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,285 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

*Note to self* move tyre power bar from boot to under seat. Some people are just mouth breathing morons. Right across the board too. Mate of mine was driving through blackrock yesterday trying to get supplies to his GF's grannie. A couple of muppets were throwing snowballs at cars. Caused a woman in front of the mate to skid with shock. Wouldnt be so bad if they were kids. These morons were 17/18. Mate gets outa the car and asks them to stop. They got all aggressive. Bad move. One of them is nursing seriously bruised nuts today. Dead right too. Sod being nice. I take a dim view of someone endangering me or others.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

davyjose wrote: »
    Never heard of it. Gotta admit though - it'd be a fcukin error on their part if they tried it.
    Nearly happened to us on Christmas Day. Was driving out of my parents estate and skidded on a corner, stopped the car to try again and a group of young fellas ran up and started trying to push the car. Only for I knew one of them and he stopped them doing it. I had my one year old in the back of the car too.

Scumbags.
    Has anyone ever seen or heard of kids run up to a stopped car in traffic, in icy conditions like this, and rotate the car around 180deg ?
    My dad just mentioned it to me last night and if it happened to me i would be out like a bolt with a few kicks to the head.

Hello, sense of humour. Are you out there? Anywhere?

Saw this done when I was younger, but no ice. One of those itty bitty Diahatsu jeeps. Woman was stopped, talking to someone on the street, 3 other lads joined the 4th, the one she was talking to, one at each corner, quick lift, turned 180 and down.

No death, harm, destruction of property, murder, aldultery or anything going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

No you would'nt because you'd fall flat on your arse on the ice, the same ice your car is on.:D
    Use the noodle!

oh but so are the kids ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Polar Girl

Eh regardless of no death or murder. It is still intimidating and scary for some people. If I was sitting in my car and guys ran up trying to push it or move it I would be terrified as I wouldn't know what they were at.

I consider anyone who messes with someone else or their property for their own sick amusement to be some of the lowest forms of scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭rejkin

Saw this done when I was younger, but no ice. One of those itty bitty Diahatsu jeeps. Woman was stopped, talking to someone on the street, 3 other lads joined the 4th, the one she was talking to, one at each corner, quick lift, turned 180 and down.

No death, harm, destruction of property, murder, aldultery or anything going on.

Yeah its funny but not when the person they're doing it to is visible stressed and scared that their car will get damaged. The scumbags are the ones who keep doing it even when it's obvious that its scaring the people inside the car.

oh but so are the kids ! :)

true, but they are younger than you and used to the ice, you would'nt be coming out of the car - and there's only 1 of you and 4 of them. Plus you'd never leave your car unattended to chase them. The chances of you given them a hiding is ZERO!

It all about critical thinking.
    You'd NEVER survive in a Zombie Attack Situation!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Polar Girl wrote: »

I consider anyone who messes with someone else or their property for their own sick amusement to be some of the lowest forms of scum.

I'd probably reserve "lowest form of scum" label for bankers who caused crisis, rapists, murderers, dissident terrorists, child molesters. I think I'll leave snowball throwers off my list for the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭samhail

"In common law, assault is the tort of acting intentionally and voluntarily causing the reasonable apprehension of an immediate harmful or offensive contact. Because assault requires intent, it is considered an intentional tort, as opposed to a tort of negligence. ..."
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Assault_%28tort%29

If you have a little old lady alone in a car and this happens to she wouldnt be too happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

Round our way lads are building snowmen in the middle of the street and putting bricks in the middle so it wrecks cars when they drive through them.

Another one is when people are stopped in their cars they open the doors and pelt them with snowballs.

Another one is that lads are dragging out of the backs of cars so they don't go anywhere.

...I'm not driving til it stops snowing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,827 ✭✭✭unklerosco

Use the noodle!

Wear some golf shoes.. Thats what my dads been doing. Genius:D

unklerosco wrote: »

Great for traction!

Even better for kicking little scumbags up the hole with!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 sxylilminx

God what will they think of next, but have to admit it is kind of funny, but dont condone it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,723 ✭✭✭Cheap Thrills!

Interfering with peoples cars is serious stuff.

The person inside could have a heart condition, be pregnant etc

Drive around in Golf Shoes...............like WTF?:p

Eh, sense of humour when my child is crying in the back seat because she's scared? Don't think so buddy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭sesna

Eh, sense of humour when my child is crying in the back seat because she's scared? Don't think so buddy.

Maybe you should give her a bottle and tell her to enjoy it. Shes scared because you are freaking her out.

sesna wrote: »
    Maybe you should give her a bottle and tell her to enjoy it. Shes scared because you are freaking her out.

Dude wtf... she was scared because there was a bunch of scumbags pushing the car and shouting. I wasn't saying anything while they were doing it.

Me thinks you might be one of these fools that like to try push cars around in ice...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Your one year old is oblivious to what is going on outside the car. She's crying because you were scared, and sensed it from you.

And to the person who called them the lowest form of scum, exaggeration much?

Lowest form of scum would be a cold heartless murderer of children, or child pr0n peddlers.

Now the lads building the snowmen with the bricks in is just plain not nice. That is destruction of property. (Although why anyone would be stupid enough to drive through a snowman, I don't know!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭lostdesign

The teenagers are causing all sorts of trouble and it seems they dont understand the dangers involved one bit, either to theselves or the road users!

Checkout this thread from a few days ago.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055790679

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

That's such an awesome Idea.
    I've gotta try that.

Ehh yea... damn kids.

Lighten up people. If that happened to me I'd piss myself laughing.
    Mind you it'd take a bit of shoving to spin my Saab :P

It's non destructive and funny, what are so many people getting their panties in a bunch over?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,503 ✭✭✭adamski8

Wibbs wrote: »
    *Note to self* move tyre power bar from boot to under seat. Some people are just mouth breathing morons. Right across the board too. Mate of mine was driving through blackrock yesterday trying to get supplies to his GF's grannie. A couple of muppets were throwing snowballs at cars. Caused a woman in front of the mate to skid with shock. Wouldnt be so bad if they were kids. These morons were 17/18. Mate gets outa the car and asks them to stop. They got all aggressive. Bad move. One of them is nursing seriously bruised nuts today. Dead right too. Sod being nice. I take a dim view of someone endangering me or others.
    In the nuts???? thats poor form

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Polar Girl

sesna wrote: »
    I'd probably reserve "lowest form of scum" label for bankers who caused crisis, rapists, murderers, dissident terrorists, child molesters. I think I'll leave snowball throwers off my list for the moment.

I said some of. I didn't say THE lowest for that exact reason. But I am of the belief that people who carry on like this end up doing far worse also. There is no need to belittle what they are doing to make your point. They are not snowball throwers, they are physically moving cars with people in them.

My point is that people do do this knowing that the person inside is feeling very scared have little morals and that is probably not the worst thing they will do in their lifetime.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

They're welcome to try it with my car. The conditions, however, mean that I have reduced control over my car and with them standing right beside it, I may run over one of them by mistake.

Which would be terrible.

stovelid wrote: »
    They're welcome to try it with my car. The conditions, however, mean that I have reduced control over my car and with them standing right beside it, I may run over one of them by mistake.

Which would be terrible.

a very good defence.........I like.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

adamski8 wrote: »

He totally deserved it.

Read the post, they got aggressive when asked to stop doing something stupid and dangerous (messing with drivers when they're on bad roads is very dangerous btw.)

And they were old enough to cop themselves on. They chose not to. So yeah, he deserved it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

This sounds hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

adamski8 wrote: »

**** them. If they want to make life more dangerous and more hazzardous for others then they should expect the same level of respect.

Not the point: little sh!ts annoying honest members of the public for their own juvenile kicks = not the world i'm prepared to accept living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Surely the solution is switch the gear to neutral, then give it a few revs, they'll soon scarper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

The ONLY time something like that would be funny is if the people pushing the car happen to know the person driving, and know they'll take it as a joke. Also, doing it on a public road is just crazy. Thoughtless stuff.

Doing it to a stranger's car.... you've no idea who is in the car. It could be an elderly person who will feel scared & intimidated, could be someone on their way to the doctor/hospital etc.

In these conditions, most people are only driving when absolutely necessary, so interfering with someone's car while they're trying to get from A to B is just a scummy thing to do.

Anyone who does it is an idiot. Anyone who thinks there's no harm in it is obviously a bit thick also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Was driving home from work there during the week and I could see four lads (18/19 I guess) firing snowballs at cars up ahead.
    One of the cars ahead was hit and swerved and skided off the road up onto the footpath.
    As I approached, slowing down, i was their next target. Wrong move assholes. Two of them got a smack of a steering wheel lock for their troubles. Other two had legged it. I made them apologize to the lady driver who had swerved off the road before me before sending them on their way. No time for dickheads. If it wasn't for the other car I probably would have left it. Two people that came along said they had seen the same bunch of lads the day before doing the exact same thing.

I'd do it again in a heartbeat

The_Edge wrote: »
    Was driving home from work there during the week and I could see four lads (18/19 I guess) firing snowballs at cars up ahead.
    One of the cars ahead was hit and swerved and skided off the road up onto the footpath.
    As I approached, slowing down, i was their next target. Wrong move assholes. Two of them got a smack of a steering wheel lock for their troubles. Other two had legged it. I made them apologize to the lady driver who had swerved off the road before me before sending them on their way. No time for dickheads. If it wasn't for the other car I probably would have left it. Two people that came along said they had seen the same bunch of lads the day before doing the exact same thing.

I'd do it again in a heatbeat

Excellent, you're my hero! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,265 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

There's nothing funny about this shit.

These **** are what causes drivers to swerve suddenly and lose control and cause accidents.

Would you find this funny if you were hit by a car because of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

There's nothing funny about this shit.

These **** are what causes drivers to swerve suddenly and lose control and cause accidents.

Exactly. The highways are not a f****n playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

If he was doing the throwing I certainly would.

Now that is what I call proper order. More of this I say

sink wrote: »
    If he was doing the throwing I certainly would.

Again, question was,

This being - **** throwing snowballs at cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Yes but it'll ruin your golf shoes. Astro boots have been my footwear of choice whe going running

With a temper like yours you should be locked up, giving somebody a dig or kick in the hole is one thing but a steering wheel lock? That could cause serious injury.
    And if somebody is put into enough shock to loose control of their car by getting pelted with snowballs then they should leave the car at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Again, question was,
    [/I]

Actually, I think Sink was agreeing with you and saying that the people who did this stupid shít would deserve to get hit by a car.

Onkle wrote: »
    With a temper like yours you should be locked up, giving somebody a dig or kick in the hole is one thing but a steering wheel lock? That could cause serious injury.
    And if somebody is put into enough shock to loose control of their car by getting pelted with snowballs then they should leave the car at home

In fairness, it doesn't take much to lose control in the current conditions. People should know better than to pelt a car with snowballs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

Again, question was,
    [/I]

If someone threw a snowball at a car which then lost control and hit said person, I would break my bollix laughing. If someone else threw a snowball at a car which subsequently lost control and hit a third party (including myself), I would not find that funny and would have nothing but utter contempt for the snowball thrower.

Does that answer your question?

Meh. If you don't like how people react, don't fcuk with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,287 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Fair enough.
    Next time I'll let them hit the car, swerve 'out of control', and mow them all down.
    "It was an accident Garda".

Not a steering wheel lock in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

In fairness, it doesn't take much to lose control in the current conditions. People should know better than to pelt a car with snowballs.

Then people should also know not to drive in such bad conditions.
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around. It won't cause anyone to be injured unless the driver acts irrationally. People should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves in situations like this. The extent of damage caused will be entirely up to how you react to the situation.

So what do you recommend they do when they need to get to the shop etc....?
    Actually, I think Sink was agreeing with you and saying that the people who did this stupid shít would deserve to get hit by a car.

Aah, my bad. Sorry Sink
    sink wrote: »
    If someone threw a snowball at a car which then lost control and hit said person, I would break my bollix laughing. If someone else threw a snowball at a car which subsequently lost control and hit a third party (including myself), I would not find that funny and would have nothing but utter contempt for the snowball thrower.

Does that answer your question?

Yes thanks. Took you up wrong there Sink... Oh and btw, if the wanker got hit by the car himelf as a result of his actions, that would be extremely funny

bluto63 wrote: »
    Then people should also know not to drive in such bad conditions.
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around. It won't cause anyone to be injured unless the driver acts irrationally. People should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves in situations like this. The extent of damage caused will be entirely up to how you react to the situation.

So if you live a mile or two from the shop, will you walk there and back with your milk & bread etc??

Are you saying that it would be the driver's fault because they are a vicitm of circumstance and possiblt got scared, and the bastards that did it would be right to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

How does a snowball make a car lose control? I was pelted by snowballs the other day and it took about 30 seconds of going "Did you hear something?" before I realized it.