Turn a Car around ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

No death, harm, destruction of property, murder, aldultery or anything going on.
    Not the point: little sh!ts annoying honest members of the public for their own juvenile kicks = not the world i'm prepared to accept living in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

Surely the solution is switch the gear to neutral, then give it a few revs, they'll soon scarper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

The ONLY time something like that would be funny is if the people pushing the car happen to know the person driving, and know they'll take it as a joke. Also, doing it on a public road is just crazy. Thoughtless stuff.

Doing it to a stranger's car.... you've no idea who is in the car. It could be an elderly person who will feel scared & intimidated, could be someone on their way to the doctor/hospital etc.

In these conditions, most people are only driving when absolutely necessary, so interfering with someone's car while they're trying to get from A to B is just a scummy thing to do.

Anyone who does it is an idiot. Anyone who thinks there's no harm in it is obviously a bit thick also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,291 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Was driving home from work there during the week and I could see four lads (18/19 I guess) firing snowballs at cars up ahead.
    One of the cars ahead was hit and swerved and skided off the road up onto the footpath.
    As I approached, slowing down, i was their next target. Wrong move assholes. Two of them got a smack of a steering wheel lock for their troubles. Other two had legged it. I made them apologize to the lady driver who had swerved off the road before me before sending them on their way. No time for dickheads. If it wasn't for the other car I probably would have left it. Two people that came along said they had seen the same bunch of lads the day before doing the exact same thing.

I'd do it again in a heartbeat

The_Edge wrote: »
    Was driving home from work there during the week and I could see four lads (18/19 I guess) firing snowballs at cars up ahead.
    One of the cars ahead was hit and swerved and skided off the road up onto the footpath.
    As I approached, slowing down, i was their next target. Wrong move assholes. Two of them got a smack of a steering wheel lock for their troubles. Other two had legged it. I made them apologize to the lady driver who had swerved off the road before me before sending them on their way. No time for dickheads. If it wasn't for the other car I probably would have left it. Two people that came along said they had seen the same bunch of lads the day before doing the exact same thing.

I'd do it again in a heatbeat

Excellent, you're my hero! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭Buford T Justice

Hello, sense of humour. Are you out there? Anywhere?

There's nothing funny about this shit.

These **** are what causes drivers to swerve suddenly and lose control and cause accidents.

Would you find this funny if you were hit by a car because of this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭m@cc@

These **** are what causes drivers to swerve suddenly and lose control and cause accidents.

Exactly. The highways are not a f****n playground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,314 ✭✭✭sink

If he was doing the throwing I certainly would.

Now that is what I call proper order. More of this I say

sink wrote: »
    If he was doing the throwing I certainly would.

Again, question was,

This being - **** throwing snowballs at cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,800 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

unklerosco wrote: »
    Wear some golf shoes.. Thats what my dads been doing. Genius:D

Yes but it'll ruin your golf shoes. Astro boots have been my footwear of choice whe going running

With a temper like yours you should be locked up, giving somebody a dig or kick in the hole is one thing but a steering wheel lock? That could cause serious injury.
    And if somebody is put into enough shock to loose control of their car by getting pelted with snowballs then they should leave the car at home

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Again, question was,
    [/I]

Actually, I think Sink was agreeing with you and saying that the people who did this stupid shít would deserve to get hit by a car.

Onkle wrote: »
    With a temper like yours you should be locked up, giving somebody a dig or kick in the hole is one thing but a steering wheel lock? That could cause serious injury.
    And if somebody is put into enough shock to loose control of their car by getting pelted with snowballs then they should leave the car at home

In fairness, it doesn't take much to lose control in the current conditions. People should know better than to pelt a car with snowballs.

Again, question was,
    [/I]

If someone threw a snowball at a car which then lost control and hit said person, I would break my bollix laughing. If someone else threw a snowball at a car which subsequently lost control and hit a third party (including myself), I would not find that funny and would have nothing but utter contempt for the snowball thrower.

Does that answer your question?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Meh. If you don't like how people react, don't fcuk with them.

Fair enough.
    Next time I'll let them hit the car, swerve 'out of control', and mow them all down.
    "It was an accident Garda".

Not a steering wheel lock in sight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

In fairness, it doesn't take much to lose control in the current conditions. People should know better than to pelt a car with snowballs.

Then people should also know not to drive in such bad conditions.
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around. It won't cause anyone to be injured unless the driver acts irrationally. People should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves in situations like this. The extent of damage caused will be entirely up to how you react to the situation.

So what do you recommend they do when they need to get to the shop etc....?
    Actually, I think Sink was agreeing with you and saying that the people who did this stupid shít would deserve to get hit by a car.

Aah, my bad. Sorry Sink
    If someone threw a snowball at a car which then lost control and hit said person, I would break my bollix laughing. If someone else threw a snowball at a car which subsequently lost control and hit a third party (including myself), I would not find that funny and would have nothing but utter contempt for the snowball thrower.

Yes thanks. Took you up wrong there Sink... Oh and btw, if the wanker got hit by the car himelf as a result of his actions, that would be extremely funny

bluto63 wrote: »
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around. It won't cause anyone to be injured unless the driver acts irrationally. People should stop trying to remove all fault from themselves in situations like this. The extent of damage caused will be entirely up to how you react to the situation.

So if you live a mile or two from the shop, will you walk there and back with your milk & bread etc??

Are you saying that it would be the driver's fault because they are a vicitm of circumstance and possiblt got scared, and the bastards that did it would be right to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 749 ✭✭✭Spastafarian

How does a snowball make a car lose control? I was pelted by snowballs the other day and it took about 30 seconds of going "Did you hear something?" before I realized it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭bluto63

So you're saying it would be the driver's fault because they are a vicitm of circumstance and possiblt got scared, and the bastards that did it would be right to do it?

Of course, the scumbag is the main cause of the situation, but if you're first reaction is to swerve onto the path rather than brake, you're not very good at acting on your feet and shouldn't be driving in such harsh conditions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Polar Girl

The people who have said that people who can't control the car when these people are throwing snowballs or whatever should stay at home-

Are you saying that a person who has been driving for years. Can drive reasonably well in these conditions even though we don't get a chance to practice in these conditions much and has passed their driving test deserve to lose control of their cars when someone decides to interfere with their car/driving should not be allowed out for this reason.

The fact is that we hardly ever need to drive in snow. I never have until the last few weeks and I drive carefully. I have read up about how to drive in icy/snow conditions. Why should I stay at home just because some idiots decide to mess with me and make me panic. It is not a pre requisite of passing a driving test to learn out to react when tossers go at your car while your in it.

How does a snowball make a car lose control? I was pelted by snowballs the other day and it took about 30 seconds of going "Did you hear something?" before I realized it.

It can startle the driver, who if they're inexperienced, could immediately break hard; which on an icy surface will cause them to loose traction and therefore control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The ONLY time something like that would be funny is if the people pushing the car happen to know the person driving, and know they'll take it as a joke. Also, doing it on a public road is just crazy. Thoughtless stuff.

Doing it to a stranger's car.... you've no idea who is in the car. It could be an elderly person who will feel scared & intimidated, could be someone on their way to the doctor/hospital etc.

In these conditions, most people are only driving when absolutely necessary, so interfering with someone's car while they're trying to get from A to B is just a scummy thing to do.

Anyone who does it is an idiot. Anyone who thinks there's no harm in it is obviously a bit thick also.

Again, question was,
    [/i]

Woah, woah, woah. Hang on a second. Nowhere, absolutely nowhere did I condone throwing snowballs at a car. Thats stupid, dangerous and irresponsible.

What I was saying, and what the thread was originally about was turning a stopped car around, so it was facing the other way.

There is nothing life threatening about that. Nothing. You cannot get hit by a parked car. Well, you can, but you're a 'tard.

If this is the type of thing that scares you, don't drive. The unknown can happen. Infact, if its icy enough for a couple of young lads to spin the car on the ice, then maybe you shouldn't be on it in the first place.

Are you for real?
    Maybe we should add "Spin 180" test and "Hurl objects at car" test to the full driving licence test to weed out all these people?

The point is they shouldn't be throwing snowballs at cars. I'd expect that from 10/11 year olds, not feckin adults.

They could have easily annoyed someone else who may have reacted far worse then I did. You'd be surprised how affective a steering wheel brace can be.

True. Which is why I said in an earlier post that most people out driving in these conditions are people who have no choice. They HAVE to be somewhere. For example, my elderly father has to get to a certain hospital on a particular day each week for treatment (I'm not going into details). Taxi's are expensive. He'd rather not, but he has to drive in this weather for the sake of his health.

What if it happens at a junction controlled by traffic lights, where there's traffic all around you, and you can't get the car turned back around facing the right direction? There are hundreds of scenarios that would mean it's difficult or practically impossible to get a car turned back around.
    I can see the funny side of turning the car around
    Again, as I said before, thoughtless stuff.

Woah, woah, woah. Hang on a second. Nowhere, absolutely nowhere did I condone throwing snowballs at a car. Thats stupid, dangerous and irresponsible.

What I was saying, and what the thread was originally about was turning a stopped car around, so it was facing the other way.

There is nothing life threatening about that. Nothing. You cannot get hit by a parked car. Well, you can, but you're a 'tard.

If this is the type of thing that scares you, don't drive. The unknown can happen. Infact, if its icy enough for a couple of young lads to spin the car on the ice, then maybe you shouldn't be on it in the first place.

I don't see it happening tbh. They'd have as much trouble as the car. No grip for their feet on the road either, so unlikely

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

For example, my elderly father has to get to a certain hospital on a particular day each week for treatment (I'm not going into details). Taxi's are expensive. He'd rather not, but he has to drive in this weather for the sake of his health.

What if it happens at a junction controlled by traffic lights, where there's traffic all around you, and you can't get the car turned back around facing the right direction? There are hundreds of scenarios that would mean it's difficult or practically impossible to get a car turned back around.

Both perfect examples as to why anyone who messes with cars under these circumstances is a complete retard.

And while I normally never condone violence, any of the examples that I've read on this thread are perfectly warranted in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,879 ✭✭✭Coriolanus

If people are supposed to relax and go with the flow when their car is being interfered with in dangerous weather, I think people should relax and go with the flow when their balls are interfered with via a foot applied at speed.

Seems fair

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

I don't see it happening tbh. They'd have as much trouble as the car. No grip for their feet on the road either, so unlikely

Right. So apology for ranting, and taking this WAY off topic?

When it comes to throwing things at cars, thats a bloody stupid and wreckless thing to do. Especially seeing as its not really snow anymore, but balls of ice. Shattering windowscreens, distracting peoples attention from the road, in ice, bad.