What are the army doing?

13»

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

davyjose wrote: »
    US Soldier: "I killed fifty Iraqi militia men yesterday."

British Soldier: "I killed sixty Al Qaeda yesterday"

Irish Soldier: "I eh ... I cleared away some snow"
    True Grit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 300 ✭✭thethedev

FFS
    The army arent going to do anything until, they are told to do something.
    Its the people who do the ordering you should be angry at.
    And I'm no expert but I don't think the army has the equipment to grit roads or even grit. At best they probably have JCB or something that might be used as a snow plow.(probably make a **** snow plow too)
    Ya they could be out with the jeeps making sure people in remote areas are OK but ffs they cant do anything until they're told too.

Why does everyone take such a dim view of the army in this country???
    Remember back 05 when Robert Houlihan went missing?
    The Army were out searching and did a ****ing fine job too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,428 ✭✭✭sunnyside

and just point blame at the easiest group, ie the Army. The council fecked up with grit supplies,blame them.

Just to mention that the Air Corp are flat out as Air ambulances. No cribbing from them flying all day in dangerous conditions. Fair play!

I don't think people are blaming the army. I certainly amn't. How could any of this be their fault:confused: It's just they might be able to help alleviate some of the problems people are having. In exactly the same way as the Air Corp you've just mentioned.

I'm not sure about blaming the councils for lack of road grit either. This weather wasn't forseeable, they only had the amount of road grit required for a normal Irish winter. If they had ordered the amount that is now required people would have been saying "What a waste, there's a recession, this isn't Siberia, what did we need all that expensive road grit for? They should have been spending money filling pot holes...."

It's not about blaming people, it's more about fixing the problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

sunnyside wrote: »
    I don't think people are blaming the army. I certainly amn't. How could any of this be their fault:confused: It's just they might be able to help alleviate some of the problems people are having. In exactly the same way as the Air Corp you've just mentioned.

I'm not sure about blaming the councils for lack of road grit either. This weather wasn't forseeable, they only had the amount of road grit required for a normal Irish winter. If they had ordered the amount that is now required people would have been saying "What a waste, there's a recession, this isn't Siberia, what did we need all that expensive road grit for? They should have been spending money filling pot holes...."

It's not about blaming people, it's more about fixing the problem.

Exactly,I agree,but there is people who give their stupid, ill-informed opinions on what they think the army do. When I was blaming the council, I mean the higher-ups aswell as the goverment. No harm in having few extra bags of grit lying about,it does keep.

Just think about all the old people who are stuck in the country,and then the logistics of finding these old people, and sending troops out to help him when its just as handy for neighbours to pop around twice a day to make sure they are well. Thats what happens around my area, and nobody is panicking yet tbf.

But can the neighbours even get to them in some places? I don't know how it would work in practice, in city estates like mine people don't answer the door unless expecting someone because we get plagued with door-to-door sales people. Knock on doors out the country you might frighten people. I'm just thinking of the army delivering water in Cork after the floods and it was a lifesaver for loads of people.

Should probably point out that the army watch television in the barracks because they live as well as work there while on duty. Just in case people reading think the army people are paid to watch television! It's like the firemen watching television while sitting around waiting for calls.

But can the neighbours even get to them in some places? I don't know how it would work in practice, in city estates like mine people don't answer the door unless expecting someone because we get plagued with door-to-door sales people. Knock on doors out the country you might frighten people. I'm just thinking of the army delivering water in Cork after the floods and it was a lifesaver for loads of people.

I can understand that some people are not easliy got too, it took me about 10 minutes to get to my neighbours which is only about 30-40 m away!! I know I cant speak for everybody but I live in the country and we are just used to giving a knock wile walking into the neighbours house,everybody knows everybody. I can understand about estates but if it was needed Iam sure a shout into the letterbox just to let them know who it is would do the job.

The media have been blowing it out of proportion tbh. Has anybody in Ireland died because of the cold yet? I mean I can still get about,it just takes a hell of alot longer. Not a problem though as I only make the important trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭ddef

I Heard on the Radio this morning some muppet talking about how the Army should go around in the Mowags picking up pedestrians at the bus stops and driving around the
    bus route...
    Come on now, really! its one thing to ask the Army to get involved in helping out clear the snow, but its a completely different thing asking them to become a public transport for the day.

Heres a link: http://www.military.ie/dfhq/pubrel/news/2010/january/new6jana.htm

I have only heard about the work carried out through this website,not in the media (except the Air Corp work)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 EasyPeasyBud

What are the army doing?

Eh, nuffin. You see, the country is not at war.

Next you will be asking for Hitler to come back and look after the disabled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

What are the army doing?

Eh, nuffin. You see, the country is not at war.

Next you will be asking for Hitler to come back and look after the disabled.
    Well someone has to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

The army should be deployed. Councils need more manpower. Supplies need to be delivered too.

I don't give a **** what they are supposed to do, we need thier help, now.

Also, flame throwers :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

the army should be literally laying down in the middle of the road to allow vehicles some traction.

A noble sacrifice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,194 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

the army should be literally laying down in the middle of the road to allow vehicles some traction.

A noble sacrifice.

Lead by example General ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

cars would break if they tried to drive over me.

back on topic.

I got a mail from a guy who runs Krav Maga classes in Dublin. Usually, he just sends out mailshots selling his classes. here's what he said today, and It's one of the best thing's I've read about the weather/ people complaining about the weather
    This is a different type of mail than i normally send.

As i write this I am in my ski jacket and boots getting ready to
    walk /hike from pembroke rd to the Mater Hospital, a reasonable walk
    in these conditions but I AM DELIGHTED

Yesterday we had a bad weather day , but that didnt stop the surgeons /nurses/ staff
    of the mater hospital who performed a life saving operation on my Dad, who
    was diagnosed with cancer just before Christmas.

Im Glad they didnt let constant complaining/blaming/whining from the media
    about Salt and Grit stop them going to work. Apparently the recession is going to
    end soon (ended technically couple of weeks ago - but thats not news) so they
    have to whine and blame about something else.

The doctors ,nurses and other staff had all the grit they needed INSIDE THEM.

I'm not going to drive, nor take public transport .Im going to walk, because
    I can trust my own two feet to get me there and I am so looking forward to
    the walk and seeing my Dad.

About 10 billion people have lived on the earth, and we are among the
    fraction who have lived in the best conditions that any people have ever lived
    in.

Yes, we will have some challenges and difficulties, but it will BE OK!

We will get over it !

So here's a thought Dig Deep and get your OWN GRIT, be careful,
    dont take unnecessary risks, keep on eye on the old folks, help out
    and if you have nothing better to do

GRAB A F*K*N Shovel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,369 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

A noble sacrifice.

Mincing up a load of farmers and scattering them all over the roads would be better, they supposedly being salt of the earth etc. Kill two birds with one stone.

To the army people who posted on this thread---are ye used to extreme weather conditions:confused: Enda Kenny seems to think ye are. Unless I'm missing something the army are used to the same weather conditions as the rest of us. Apart from overseas missions of course but they seem to be to hot places.

http://deirdreclune.ie/general-news/fine-gael-three-point-plan-for-icebound-ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,968 ✭✭✭✭Praetorian Saighdiuir

To the army people who posted on this thread---are ye used to extreme weather conditions:confused: Enda Kenny seems to think ye are. Unless I'm missing something the army are used to the same weather conditions as the rest of us. Apart from overseas missions of course but they seem to be to hot places.

http://deirdreclune.ie/general-news/fine-gael-three-point-plan-for-icebound-ireland

In Kosovo on a winter mission the weather is diabolical, it snows heavily and the temp regulary goes below -10 degrees, sometimes colder.

Some winter trips in Lebanon were also cold, not as cold as Kosovo.

We also conduct operations and are deployed as part of the Nordic Battlegroup in Sweden. The climate is roughly the same as kosovo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭Faithless

What are the army doing?

.......each other?

Faithless wrote: »
    .......each other?

No, thats the Navy!!

From the RTE weather updates. 10.46am The army will move into Co Leitrim today to help the County Council deal with the consequences of the extreme weather conditions.

Are the army people really offended about being sent to Leitrim?

From the RTE weather updates. 10.46am The army will move into Co Leitrim today to help the County Council deal with the consequences of the extreme weather conditions.

Are the army people really offended about being sent to Leitrim?

Not really, its being treated like an overseas mission.....we are even getting a medal!

benwavner wrote: »
    Not really, its being treated like an overseas mission.....we are even getting a medal!

:D It'll be great fun! Ye can confirm for the people in AH that Leitrim does really exist!

I think we are planning to cordon Leitrim off, I heard its gona be used for exercises, we are gona use the locals as refugees in our live fire tactical training.

Not really though...im half Leitrimese...dont tell anyone!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,588 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Don't bother the CT people will see through the lies.